DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to the original filing of 06/08/2023.
Claims 1-9 are pending and have been considered below.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Inference model selection based on determined inference difficulty of input time series data”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 7:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
These limitations have been determined, under Step 1, to be statutory categories of invention:
An information processing apparatus comprising at least one processor [..] (claim 1)
An information processing apparatus comprising at least one processor [..] (claim 5)
A determination method [..] (claim 7)
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong One, mathematical concepts such as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, or mathematical calculations, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I):
calculating, on the basis of input data constituting a time series, difficulty in inference carried out by inputting at least one piece of the input data to a first-stage inference model [..] (claims 1, 7)
calculating, on the basis of training data constituting a time series, difficulty in inference carried out by inputting at least one piece of the training data to a first-stage inference model [..] (claim 3)
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] the at least one processor carrying out: [..] (claims 1 and 3)
[..] (a) and (b) each being carried out by at least one processor [..] (claim 7)
[..] a first difficulty calculation process for calculating [..] (claims 1, 3)
[..] a first determination process for determining [..] (claims 1, 3)
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] multiple-stage inference models which are configured such that use of a later-stage inference model achieves higher inference accuracy [..] (claims 1, 3 and 7)
[..] determining, on the basis of the difficulty, whether a second- or later-stage inference model will be used for inference with use of the input data [..] )(claims 1 and 7)
[..] determining, on the basis of the difficulty, whether the training data will be used for learning of a second- or later-stage inference model [..] (claim 3)
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] the at least one processor carrying out: [..] (claims 1 and 3)
[..] (a) and (b) each being carried out by at least one processor [..] (claim 7)
[..] a first difficulty calculation process for calculating [..] (claims 1, 3)
[..] a first determination process for determining [..] (claims 1, 3)
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, mere instructions to apply to obtain a solution/outcome, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] determining, on the basis of the difficulty, whether a second- or later-stage inference model will be used for inference with use of the input data [..] )(claims 1 and 7)
[..] determining, on the basis of the difficulty, whether the training data will be used for learning of a second- or later-stage inference model [..] (claim 3)
[..] multiple-stage inference models which are configured such that use of a later-stage inference model achieves higher inference accuracy [..] (claims 1, 3 and 7)
Regarding claim 2:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong One, mathematical concepts such as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, or mathematical calculations, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I):
[..] and in the first difficulty calculation process, the at least one processor calculates, as a value indicative of the difficulty in inference, a prediction error in the first data prediction process [..]
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] wherein the at least one processor carries out a first data prediction process for predicting the input data that is input to the first-stage inference model [..]
[..] the input data being predicted from past input data that is chronologically earlier than the input data [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, mere instructions to apply to obtain a solution/outcome, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] wherein the at least one processor carries out a first data prediction process for predicting the input data that is input to the first-stage inference model [..]
[..] the input data being predicted from past input data that is chronologically earlier than the input data [..]
Regarding claim 4:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] the multiple-stage inference models are generated on the basis of a single multilayer neural network model [..]
[..] the at least one processor carries out, in learning of the second- or later-stage inference model, an inference model learning process [..]
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] an inference model learning process for also updating a weighting value of an earlier-stage inference model [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] the multiple-stage inference models are generated on the basis of a single multilayer neural network model [..]
[..] the at least one processor carries out, in learning of the second- or later-stage inference model, an inference model learning process [..]
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, mere instructions to apply to obtain a solution/outcome, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] an inference model learning process for also updating a weighting value of an earlier-stage inference model [..]
Regarding claim 5:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong One, mathematical concepts such as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, or mathematical calculations, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I):
[..] and in the first difficulty calculation process, the at least one processor calculates, as a value indicative of the difficulty in inference with use of the training data at the certain time point, a prediction error in the first data prediction process [..]
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] wherein the at least one processor carries out a first data prediction process for using a first prediction model to predict training data at a certain time point among the training data constituting the time series [..]
[..] the training data at the certain time point being predicted from training data at a time point chronologically earlier than the certain time point [..]
[..] a first prediction model learning process, the first prediction model learning process being a process, carried out by learning with use of the training data constituting the time series, for updating the first prediction model so that the prediction error is decreased [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, mere instructions to apply to obtain a solution/outcome, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] wherein the at least one processor carries out a first data prediction process for using a first prediction model to predict training data at a certain time point among the training data constituting the time series [..]
[..] the training data at the certain time point being predicted from training data at a time point chronologically earlier than the certain time point [..]
[..] a first prediction model learning process, the first prediction model learning process being a process, carried out by learning with use of the training data constituting the time series, for updating the first prediction model so that the prediction error is decreased [..]
Regarding claim 6:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] determines, in the first determination process, that the training data in which the difficulty exceeds a first threshold will be used for learning of the second- or later-stage inference model [..]
[..] carries out a first threshold updating process for updating the first threshold on the basis of a plurality of results of inference that are obtained by inputting, to the first-stage inference model, the training data constituting the time series [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, mere instructions to apply to obtain a solution/outcome, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] determines, in the first determination process, that the training data in which the difficulty exceeds a first threshold will be used for learning of the second- or later-stage inference model [..]
[..] carries out a first threshold updating process for updating the first threshold on the basis of a plurality of results of inference that are obtained by inputting, to the first-stage inference model, the training data constituting the time series [..]
Regarding claims 8 and 9:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] A computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing therein a determination program for causing a computer to function as an information processing apparatus .. the determination program causing the computer to carry out the first difficulty calculation process and the first determination process [..] (claims 8 and 9)
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] A computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing therein a determination program for causing a computer to function as an information processing apparatus .. the determination program causing the computer to carry out the first difficulty calculation process and the first determination process [..] (claims 8 and 9)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al., US 2023/0297852 A1 effective filing of 07/29/2020 [“ZHANG”].
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG discloses an information processing apparatus comprising at least one processor (¶7), the at least one processor carrying out:
a first difficulty calculation process for calculating, on the basis of input data constituting a time series (¶79-80: time series data input from ex. sensors, audio or video), difficulty in inference carried out by inputting at least one piece of the input data to a first-stage inference model among multiple- stage inference models which are configured such that use of a later-stage inference model achieves higher inference accuracy (¶38: calculating whether input data is easier to process or complicated by a light weight first stage model of the multi-stage models, later stage synthesized specialist combined model generates a final prediction, ¶34: accuracy of final predictions by combined model is higher); and
a first determination process for determining, on the basis of the difficulty, whether a second- or later-stage inference model will be used for inference with use of the input data (¶38: when the input is deemed complicated, later stage synthesized specialist combined model is used to make inference final prediction).
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the at least one processor carries out a first data prediction process for predicting the input data that is input to the first-stage inference model (¶29, ¶35, ¶94: initial prediction of the lightweight model), the input data being predicted from past input data that is chronologically earlier than the input data (¶108-110: training data for training the machine-learned prediction lightweight model, i.e. earlier data than received input to be predicted), and
in the first difficulty calculation process, the at least one processor calculates, as a value indicative of the difficulty in inference, a prediction error in the first data prediction process (¶29, ¶35, ¶94: determined confidence value of the initial prediction).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG discloses an information processing apparatus comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out:
a first difficulty calculation process for calculating, on the basis of training data constituting a time series (¶79-80: time series data input from ex. sensors, audio or video), difficulty in inference carried out by inputting at least one piece of the training data to a first-stage inference model among multiple-stage inference models which are configured such that use of a later-stage inference model achieves higher inference accuracy (¶109-110: machine-learned training prediction model is trained using the training input and generates an optional initial prediction based on the input, ¶38: initial prediction , ¶34: accuracy of combined model is higher); and
a first determination process for determining, on the basis of the difficulty, whether the training data will be used for learning of a second- or later-stage inference model (¶110: machine-learned prediction model generates plurality of combination values, based on the input training data, for synthesizing the combined model).
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the multiple-stage inference models are generated on the basis of a single multilayer neural network model (¶33), and
the at least one processor carries out, in learning of the second- or later-stage inference model, an inference model learning process for also updating a weighting value of an earlier-stage inference model (¶68-70, ¶121).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the at least one processor determines, in the first determination process, that the training data in which the difficulty exceeds a first threshold will be used for learning of the second- or later-stage inference model (¶24, ¶29), and
the at least one processor carries out a first threshold updating process for updating the first threshold on the basis of a plurality of results of inference that are obtained by inputting, to the first-stage inference model, the training data constituting the time series (¶24, ¶120: single hyperparameter confidence threshold adjusted modified).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, claims 7 and 8 recite limitations similar to claim 1 and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites limitation similar to claim 3 and similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of Sim, US 2019/0385055 A1 published 12/19/2019 [“SIM”].
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the at least one processor carries out a first data prediction process for using a first prediction model to predict training data at a certain time point among the training data constituting the time series (¶120: initial prediction of the machine learned prediction model for input data by comparing initial prediction to ground truth),
in the first difficulty calculation process, the at least one processor calculates, as a value indicative of difficulty in inference with use of the training data at the certain time point, a prediction error in the first data prediction process (¶120: loss term value), and
the at least one processor carries out a first prediction model learning process, the first prediction model learning process being a process, carried out by learning with use of the training data constituting the time series, for updating the first prediction model so that the prediction error is decreased (¶121: performing backpropagation with the loss term on the model).
ZHANG fails to explicitly disclose wherein the training data at the certain time point being predicted is from training data at a time point chronologically earlier than the certain time point.
SIM discloses methods for learning machine models for data prediction. In particular, SIM discloses that it is well known that in time series data sets, that future time points are predicted from past time points in the data (¶4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the teachings of ZHANG and SIM before them to apply the known feature of predicting future time points of time series data from past time series data, as suggested by SIM, when applying the prediction process to the certain point of time series data of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to make this application to enhance prediction accuracy of the models, as suggested by SIM (¶9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Padmanabha Iyer; Anand et al.
US 12511219 B2
DEEP NEURAL NETWORKS (DNN) INFERENCE USING PRACTICAL EARLY EXIT NETWORKS
Ezrielev; Ofir et al.
US 12412108 B2
SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR INFERENCE GENERATION VIA OPTIMIZATION OF INFERENCE MODEL PORTIONS
Li; Zhaoyue et al.
US 12236362 B2
INFERENCE COMPUTING APPARATUS, MODEL TRAINING APPARATUS, INFERENCE COMPUTING SYSTEM
Schuster; Tal et al.
US 11886976 B1
EFFICIENT DECODING OF OUTPUT SEQUENCES USING ADAPTIVE EARLY EXITING
Shelhamer; Evan et al.
US 11763545 B2
GENERATING CONFIDENCE-ADAPTIVE PIXEL-LEVEL PREDICTIONS UTILIZING A MULTI-EXIT PIXEL-LEVEL PREDICTION NEURAL NETWORK
Achin; Jeremy at el.
US 10496927 B2
TIME-SERIES PREDICTIVE DATA ANALYTICS
Nicotera; Paul et al.
US 20230142161 A1
RESPONSE ABSTRACTION AND MODEL SIMPLIFICATION TO IDENTIFY INTERESTING DATA
Kouris; Alexandros et al.
US 20230128637 A1
METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR IMAGE SEGMENTATION
Nakata; Yohei et al.
US 20230117180 A1
INFORMATION PROCESSING METHOD AND INFORMATION PROCESSING SYSTEM
Akbari; Mohammad et al.
US 20230110925 A1
SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR UNSUPERVISED MULTI-MODEL JOINT REASONING
Chen; Hsing-Yu et al.
US 20230085518 A1
VIDEO PROCESSING METHOD FOR DETECTING LOCATION, PIXELS, AND SKELETON OF OBJECT, AND ASSOCIATED VIDEO PROCESSING CIRCUIT
Nitta; Shuhei et al.
US 20230056947 A1
LEARNING APPARATUS, METHOD, AND STORAGE MEDIUM
He; Runxin et al.
US 20230052255 A1
OPTIMIZING MACHINE LEARNING MODELS
Guleryuz; Onar G. et al.
US 20220405569 A1
OBJECT TRACKING IN IMAGES USING ENCODER-DECODER MODELS
Yonetani; Ryo et al.
US 20220358749 A1
INFERENCE APPARATUS, INFERENCE METHOD, AND COMPUTER-READABLE STORAGE MEDIUM STORING AN INFERENCE PROGRAM
Chavoshi; Nikan et al.
US 20220121955 A1
AUTOMATED MACHINE LEARNING PIPELINE FOR TIMESERIES DATASETS UTILIZING POINT-BASED ALGORITHMS
Matsumoto; Daisaku et al.
US 20210209468 A1
LEARNING DEVICE, INFERENCE DEVICE, METHOD, AND PROGRAM
Itsumi; Hayato et al.
US 20210201503 A1
IMAGE ANALYSIS APPARATUS, IMAGE ANALYSIS METHOD AND PROGRAM RECORDING MEDIUM
Murugesan; Sugumar et al.
US 20210056386 A1
SELECTIVE USE OF DATA FOR PROBABILISTIC FORECASTING
Yaguchi; Atsushi et al.
US 20210012228 A1
INFERENCE APPARATUS, LEARNING APPARATUS, INFERENCE METHOD, AND LEARNING METHOD
Malaya; Nicholas
US 20190005377 A1
ARTIFICIAL NEURAL NETWORK REDUCTION TO REDUCE INFERENCE COMPUTATION TIME
Beye Florian
WO 2020250451 A1
TRANSFER LEARNING APPARATUS, TRANSFER LEARNING SYSTEM, METHOD OF TRANSFER LEARNING, AND STORAGE MEDIUM
Hirai, Riu et al.
WO 2019116985 A1
CALCULATION SYSTEM, SERVER, AND IN-VEHICLE DEVICE
Taylor, Ben, et al. "Adaptive deep learning model selection on embedded systems." ACM Sigplan Notices 53.6 (2018): 31-43.
Yokoo, Shuhei, Satoshi Iizuka, and Kazuhiro Fukui. "Mlsnet: Resource-efficient adaptive inference with multi-level segmentation networks." 2019 ieee international conference on image processing (ICIP). IEEE, 2019.
Marco, Vicent Sanz, et al. "Optimizing deep learning inference on embedded systems through adaptive model selection." ACM Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems (TECS) 19.1 (2020): 1-28.
Passalis, Nikolaos, et al. "Efficient adaptive inference for deep convolutional neural networks using hierarchical early exits." Pattern Recognition 105 (2020): 107346.
Wu, Zuxuan, et al. "A coarse-to-fine framework for resource efficient video recognition." International Journal of Computer Vision 129.11 (2021): 2965-2977.
Ghodrati, Amir, Babak Ehteshami Bejnordi, and Amirhossein Habibian. "Frameexit: Conditional early exiting for efficient video recognition." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition. 2021.
Park, Junyong, Jong-Ryul Lee, and Yong-Hyuk Moon. "Improved early exiting activation to accelerate edge inference." 2021 International Conference on Information and Communication Technology Convergence (ICTC). IEEE, 2021.
Lahiany, Assaf, and Yehudit Aperstein. "PTEENet: Post-trained early-exit neural networks augmentation for inference cost optimization." IEEE Access 10 (2022): 69680-69687.
Gómez-Carmona, Oihane, et al. "Optimizing computational resources for edge intelligence through model cascade strategies." IEEE Internet of Things Journal 9.10 (2021): 7404-7417.
/ANDREW L TANK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/Mariela Reyes/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2142