DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea as discussed below. This abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application for the reasons discussed below. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons discussed below.
Step 1 of the 2019 Guidance requires the examiner to determine if the claims are to one of the statutory categories of invention. Applied to the present application, the claims belong to one of the statutory classes of a process or product as a computer implemented method or a computer system/product.
Step 2A of the 2019 Guidance is divided into two Prongs. Prong 1 requires the examiner to determine if the claims recite an abstract idea, and further requires that the abstract idea belong to one of three enumerated groupings: mathematical concepts, mental processes, and certain methods of organizing human activity.
Claim 1 is copied below, with the limitations belonging to an abstract idea being underlined.
A system, comprising:
a metering system at a location downstream from a substation on a utility grid that distributes electricity, the metering system comprising memory and one or more processors to:
receive data samples of a voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location;
determine a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
determine a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform;
construct a data structure comprising the first plurality of metrics, the second plurality of metrics, and an identifier for the location; and
provide the data structure to a data processing system remote from the metering system to cause the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Claim 11 is copied below, with the limitations belonging to an abstract idea being underlined.
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a metering system comprising memory and one or more processors, data samples of a voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location, the metering system at a location downstream from a substation on a utility grid that distributes electricity;
determining, by the metering system, a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
determining, by the metering system, a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform;
constructing, by the metering system, a data structure comprising the first plurality of metrics, the second plurality of metrics, and an identifier for the location; and
providing, by the metering system, the data structure to a data processing system remote from the metering system to cause the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Claim 19 is copied below, with the limitations belonging to an abstract idea being underlined.
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising processor executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a metering system, cause the metering system to:
receive data samples of a voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location;
determine a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
determine a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform;
construct a data structure comprising the first plurality of metrics, the second plurality of metrics, and an identifier for the location; and
provide the data structure to a data processing system remote from the metering system to cause the data processing system to evaluate a performance of a utility grid.
The limitations underlined can be considered to describe a mathematical concept, namely a series of calculations leading to one or more numerical results or answers, obtained by a sequence of mathematical operations on numbers and/or mental steps. The lack of a specific equation in the claim merely points out that the claim would monopolize all possible appropriate equations for accomplishing this purpose in all possible systems. These steps recited by the claim therefore amount to a series of mental and/or mathematical steps, making these limitations amount to an abstract idea.
In summary, the highlighted steps in the claim above therefore recite an abstract idea at Prong 1 of the 101 analysis.
The additional elements in the claim have been left in normal font.
The additional limitations in relation to the claimed system, i.e. metering system comprising a processor and a memory and data processing system, does not offer a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of the method to a computer/computers (see ALICE CORP. v. CLS BANK INT’L 573 U. S. 208 (2014)). The claim does not recite a particular machine applying or being used by the abstract idea.
The additional limitations of receiving data samples equates to extrasolution data activity, i.e. data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The additional limitation of providing data, i.e. transmitting data, to a data processing system equates to extrasolution data activity, i.e. data reporting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional limitation of wherein the metering system is located downstream from a substation on a utility grid is recited at a high level of generality and does not equate to something significantly more than the recited abstract idea, nor does it tie the claims to a practical application.
The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Various considerations are used to determine whether the additional elements are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim does not recite a particular machine applying or being used by the abstract idea. The claim does not effect a real-world transformation or reduction of any particular article to a different state or thing. (Manipulating data from one form to another or obtaining a mathematical answer using input data does not qualify as a transformation in the sense of Prong 2.)
The claim does not contain additional elements which describe the functioning of a computer, or which describe a particular technology or technical field, being improved by the use of the abstract idea. (This is understood in the sense of the claimed invention from Diamond v Diehr, in which the claim as a whole recited a complete rubber-curing process including a rubber-molding press, a timer, a temperature sensor adjacent the mold cavity, and the steps of closing and opening the press, in which the recited use of a mathematical calculation served to improve that particular technology by providing a better estimate of the time when curing was complete. Here, the claim does not recite carrying out any comparable particular technological process.) In all of these respects, the claim fails to recite additional elements which might possibly integrate the claim into a particular practical application. Instead, based on the above considerations, the claim would tend to monopolize the abstract idea itself, rather than integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2b of the 2019 Guidance requires the examiner to determine whether the additional elements cause the claim to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The considerations for this particular claim are essentially the same as the considerations for Prong 2 of Step 2a, and the same analysis leads to the conclusion that the claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, claims 1, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Dependent claims 2-4, 12-14, and 20 are similarly ineligible. The dependent claims merely add limitations which further detail the abstract idea, namely further mathematical/mental steps detailing how the data processing algorithm is implemented, i.e. additional software limitations. These do not help to integrate the claim into a practical application or make it significantly more than the abstract idea (which is recited in slightly more detail, but not in enough detail to be considered to narrow the claim to a particular practical application itself).
Dependent claims 5-8 and 15-18 add additional insignificant hardware limitations, i.e. additional computer limitations or sensors recited at a high level of generality and/or add limitations which further detail the abstract idea, namely further mathematical/mental steps detailing how the data processing algorithm is implemented, i.e. additional software limitations. These do not help to integrate the claim into a practical application or make it significantly more than the abstract idea (which is recited in slightly more detail, but not in enough detail to be considered to narrow the claim to a particular practical application itself).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 reads as follows:
The system of claim 1, comprising: the metering system to generate at least one of the second plurality of metrics based on an error metric between the voltage waveform and the model waveform fit based on a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform.
Claim 10 reads as follows:
The system of claim 1, comprising: the metering system to generate at least one of the second plurality of metrics based on at least one of a mean amplitude or a mean frequency of the model waveform fit based on a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform.
Claims 9 and 10 recite the limitation "the model waveform fit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
In addition, the language of “based on a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform” is not clearly recited. The language appears to be incomplete as based on a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform does not clearly describe what is based on what. Is the error metric based on a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform. If so, what is a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform. Is the model waveform fit based on a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform. If so, once again what is a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform.
As best understood by the examiner, the claim is attempting to recite that the mean amplitude or mean frequency of the model waveform is based on fitting a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 20100082792) in view of Cook (US 20110156698), Lee (KR 20140013465), and Watson (Use of smart-meter data to determine distribution system topology).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses a system (see Abstract: system), comprising:
a metering system at located on a utility grid that distributes electricity (see paragraph 0022), the metering system comprising memory and one or more processors (see paragraphs 0022-0023: IED/metering system includes controller/processor and memory) to:
record a voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location (see paragraphs 0022, 0026, and 0029: IED can be a meter device that records and measures voltage waveforms; see paragraphs 0002 and 0049: IED installed in customer’s utility system, i.e. location in an energy distribution system);
determine a first characteristic metric for the voltage waveform over a time interval (see paragraphs 0022 and 0032: determines a plurality characteristic, i.e. including a voltage characteristic, to be transmitted at an interval);
determine a second characteristic metric for the voltage waveform over the time interval (see paragraphs 0022 and 0032: determines a plurality of characteristics, i.e. including a distortion characteristic, to be transmitted at an interval);
construct a data structure comprising the first metrics, the second metrics, and an identifier for the location and provide the data structure to a data processing system remote from the metering system (see Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0033 and 0035: Each IED 104a-d transmits their corresponding unique identifier stored in their respective memory 110 to the central server 116a along with their measured data (214), i.e. previously discussed first metric and second metric; data had to be structured for its communication via HTTP protocol over TCP/IP).
Johnson does not expressly disclose wherein the metering system is at a location downstream from a substation on a utility grid;
receiving data samples of a voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location;
wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform; and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Cook discloses wherein the metering system is at a location downstream from a substation on a utility grid (see paragraph 0004: substation transformers of a power distribution system reduce voltage from a distribution grid to suitable levels for consumers); and
receiving data samples of a voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0006 and 0021-0022: processor of digital power meter receives voltage samples corresponding to the power/electricity distributed to a customer/load).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Cook, placing the metering system downstream from a substation, for the advantageous benefit of using an upstream substation to transform high-voltage electricity from a power plant to safe voltage levels for consumer premises as well as sampling the voltage value at a suitable sampling rate for accurate power measurements of the power meter.
Johnson and Cook do not expressly disclose wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform; and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Lee discloses wherein determining total harmonic distortion, i.e. the previously recited second metric, includes determining a metric for the voltage waveform over a time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform (see Abstract and page 3 lines 24-27: detecting the harmonic signal from the difference between the voltage signal and the fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, and a step of calculating Total Harmonic Distortion (THD) by using the harmonic signal and the voltage signal).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Lee, i.e. determining toral harmonic distortion of a signal by determining a difference between the voltage signal and a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, for the advantageous benefit using an accurate method to obtain total harmonic distortion when compared to a FFT calculation method.
Johnson, Cook, and Lee do not expressly disclose wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval; and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Watson discloses wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique (see page 2 left column last paragraph: recorded the maximum and minimum voltages in each half-hourly period);
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval (see page 2 left column last paragraph and Fig. 5: also records THD, i.e. total harmonic distortion, for each half-hourly period); and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid (see Fig. 10 and pages 3-4 Section 3.3 first paragraph and page 5 section 4.1 first paragraph: uses obtained data samples from a plurality of customers to evaluate connectivity characteristics of the destitution system; page 6 right column last paragraph: central processing unit implements analysis).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Watson, i.e. having a power meter record a plurality of voltage metrics and THD metrics over a time period, for the advantageous benefit of using such data to evaluate topology characteristics of a power distribution network.
Regarding claim 11, Johnson discloses a method (see paragraph 0004: method), comprising:
recording, by a metering system comprising memory and one or more processors (see paragraphs 0022-0023: IED/metering system includes controller/processor and memory), data samples of a voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location (see paragraphs 0022, 0026, and 0029: IED can be a meter device that records and measures voltage waveforms; see paragraphs 0002 and 0049: IED installed in customer’s utility system, i.e. location in an energy distribution system);
determining, by the metering system, a first characteristic metric for the voltage waveform over a time interval (see paragraphs 0022 and 0032: determines a plurality characteristic, i.e. including a voltage characteristic, to be transmitted at an interval);
determining, by the metering system, a second characteristic metric for the voltage waveform over the time interval (see paragraphs 0022 and 0032: determines a plurality of characteristics, i.e. including a distortion characteristic, to be transmitted at an interval); and
constructing, by the metering system, a data structure comprising the first metrics, the second metrics, and an identifier for the location and providing the data structure to a data processing system remote from the metering system (see Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0033 and 0035: Each IED 104a-d transmits their corresponding unique identifier stored in their respective memory 110 to the central server 116a along with their measured data (214), i.e. previously discussed first metric and second metric; data had to be structured for its communication via HTTP protocol over TCP/IP).
Johnson does not expressly disclose receiving data samples of the voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location;
wherein the metering system is at a location downstream from a substation on the utility grid;
wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform; and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Cook discloses wherein the metering system is at a location downstream from a substation on the utility grid (see paragraph 0004: substation transformers of a power distribution system reduce voltage from a distribution grid to suitable levels for consumers); and
receiving data samples of the voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0006 and 0021-0022: processor of digital power meter receives voltage samples corresponding to the power/electricity distributed to a customer/load).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Cook, placing the metering system downstream from a substation, for the advantageous benefit of using an upstream substation to transform high-voltage electricity from a power plant to safe voltage levels for consumer premises as well as sampling the voltage value at a suitable sampling rate for accurate power measurements of the power meter.
Johnson and Cook do not expressly disclose wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform; and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Lee discloses wherein determining total harmonic distortion, i.e. the previously recited second metric, includes determining a metric for the voltage waveform over a time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform (see Abstract and page 3 lines 24-27: detecting the harmonic signal from the difference between the voltage signal and the fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, and a step of calculating Total Harmonic Distortion (THD) by using the harmonic signal and the voltage signal).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Lee, i.e. determining toral harmonic distortion of a signal by determining a difference between the voltage signal and a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, for the advantageous benefit using an accurate method to obtain total harmonic distortion when compared to a FFT calculation method.
Johnson, Cook, and Lee do not expressly disclose wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval; and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Watson discloses wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique (see page 2 left column last paragraph: recorded the maximum and minimum voltages in each half-hourly period);
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval (see page 2 left column last paragraph and Fig. 5: also records THD, i.e. total harmonic distortion, for each half-hourly period); and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid (see Fig. 10 and pages 3-4 Section 3.3 first paragraph and page 5 section 4.1 first paragraph: uses obtained data samples from a plurality of customers to evaluate connectivity characteristics of the destitution system; page 6 right column last paragraph: central processing unit implements analysis).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Watson, i.e. having a power meter record a plurality of voltage metrics and THD metrics over a time period, for the advantageous benefit of using such data to evaluate topology characteristics of a power distribution network.
Regarding claim 19, Johnson discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising processor executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a metering system (see paragraphs 0022-0023 and 0051: IED/metering system includes controller/processor and memory with machine readable instructions), cause the metering system to:
record a voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location (see paragraphs 0022, 0026, and 0029: IED can be a meter device that records and measures voltage waveforms; see paragraphs 0002 and 0049: IED installed in customer’s utility system, i.e. location in an energy distribution system);
determine a first characteristic metric for the voltage waveform over a time interval (see paragraphs 0022 and 0032: determines a plurality characteristic, i.e. including a voltage characteristic, to be transmitted at an interval);
determine a second characteristic metric for the voltage waveform over the time interval (see paragraphs 0022 and 0032: determines a plurality of characteristics, i.e. including a distortion characteristic, to be transmitted at an interval);
construct a data structure comprising the first metrics, the second metrics, and an identifier for the location and provide the data structure to a data processing system remote from the metering system (see Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0033 and 0035: Each IED 104a-d transmits their corresponding unique identifier stored in their respective memory 110 to the central server 116a along with their measured data (214), i.e. previously discussed first metric and second metric; data had to be structured for its communication via HTTP protocol over TCP/IP).
Johnson does not expressly disclose receiving data samples of a voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location;
wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform; and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Cook discloses receiving data samples of a voltage waveform corresponding to the electricity distributed at the location (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0006 and 0021-0022: processor of digital power meter receives voltage samples corresponding to the power/electricity distributed to a customer/load).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Cook, placing the metering system downstream from a substation, for the advantageous benefit of using an upstream substation to transform high-voltage electricity from a power plant to safe voltage levels for consumer premises as well as sampling the voltage value at a suitable sampling rate for accurate power measurements of the power meter.
Johnson and Cook do not expressly disclose wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform; and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Lee discloses wherein determining total harmonic distortion, i.e. the previously recited second metric, includes determining a metric for the voltage waveform over a time interval based on a difference between the voltage waveform and a model waveform (see Abstract and page 3 lines 24-27: detecting the harmonic signal from the difference between the voltage signal and the fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, and a step of calculating Total Harmonic Distortion (THD) by using the harmonic signal and the voltage signal).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Lee, i.e. determining toral harmonic distortion of a signal by determining a difference between the voltage signal and a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, for the advantageous benefit using an accurate method to obtain total harmonic distortion when compared to a FFT calculation method.
Johnson, Cook, and Lee do not expressly disclose wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique;
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval; and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid.
Watson discloses wherein determining the first metric includes determining a first plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over a time interval via a statistical technique (see page 2 left column last paragraph: recorded the maximum and minimum voltages in each half-hourly period);
wherein determining the second metric includes determining a second plurality of metrics for the voltage waveform over the time interval (see page 2 left column last paragraph and Fig. 5: also records THD, i.e. total harmonic distortion, for each half-hourly period); and
wherein the providing causes the data processing system to evaluate a performance of the utility grid (see Fig. 10 and pages 3-4 Section 3.3 first paragraph and page 5 section 4.1 first paragraph: uses obtained data samples from a plurality of customers to evaluate connectivity characteristics of the destitution system; page 6 right column last paragraph: central processing unit implements analysis).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Watson, i.e. having a power meter record a plurality of voltage metrics and THD metrics over a time period, for the advantageous benefit of using such data to evaluate topology characteristics of a power distribution network.
Regarding claim 2, Johnson and Cook do not expressly disclose wherein the metering system to generate the model waveform based on a sinusoidal waveform.
Lee discloses wherein the metering system to generate the model waveform based on a sinusoidal waveform (see Abstract and page 3 lines 24-27: fundamental frequency is generated from a voltage signal which is used to generate a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, i.e. previously discussed model waveform, sinusoidal signal is based on a sinusoidal waveform).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Lee, i.e. determining toral harmonic distortion of a signal by determining a difference between the voltage signal and a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, for the advantageous benefit using an accurate method to obtain total harmonic distortion when compared to a FFT calculation method.
Regarding claim 12, Johnson and Cook do not expressly disclose generating, by the metering system, the model waveform based on a sinusoidal waveform.
Lee discloses generating, by a metering system, the model waveform based on a sinusoidal waveform (see Abstract and page 3 lines 24-27: fundamental frequency is generated from a voltage signal which is used to generate a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, i.e. previously discussed model waveform, sinusoidal signal is based on a sinusoidal waveform).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Lee, i.e. determining toral harmonic distortion of a signal by determining a difference between the voltage signal and a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, for the advantageous benefit using an accurate method to obtain total harmonic distortion when compared to a FFT calculation method.
Regarding claim 20, Johnson and Cook do not expressly disclose generating the model waveform based on a sinusoidal waveform.
Lee discloses generating the model waveform based on a sinusoidal waveform (see Abstract and page 3 lines 24-27: fundamental frequency is generated from a voltage signal which is used to generate a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, i.e. previously discussed model waveform, sinusoidal signal is based on a sinusoidal waveform).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Lee, i.e. determining toral harmonic distortion of a signal by determining a difference between the voltage signal and a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, for the advantageous benefit using an accurate method to obtain total harmonic distortion when compared to a FFT calculation method.
Regarding claim 3, Johnson and Cook do not expressly disclose wherein the metering system to fit a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform to generate the model waveform.
Lee discloses wherein the metering system to fit a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform to generate the model waveform (see Abstract and page 3 lines 24-27: fundamental frequency is generated from a voltage signal which is used to generate a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, i.e. previously discussed model waveform, disclosed process fits a sinusoidal waveform the voltage waveform as it is a generated fundamental frequency with respect to the voltage signal fo the target).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Lee, i.e. determining toral harmonic distortion of a signal by determining a difference between the voltage signal and a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, for the advantageous benefit using an accurate method to obtain total harmonic distortion when compared to a FFT calculation method.
Regarding claim 13, Johnson and Cook do not expressly disclose fitting, by the metering system, a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform to generate the model waveform.
Lee discloses fitting, by a metering system, a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform to generate the model waveform (see Abstract and page 3 lines 24-27: fundamental frequency is generated from a voltage signal which is used to generate a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, i.e. previously discussed model waveform, disclosed process fits a sinusoidal waveform the voltage waveform as it is a generated fundamental frequency with respect to the voltage signal fo the target).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Lee, i.e. determining toral harmonic distortion of a signal by determining a difference between the voltage signal and a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, for the advantageous benefit using an accurate method to obtain total harmonic distortion when compared to a FFT calculation method.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Johnson discloses provide, i.e. providing by the metering system, the data structure to the data processing system over a batch upload process (see Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0033 and 0035: Each IED 104a-d transmits their corresponding unique identifier stored in their respective memory 110 to the central server 116a along with their measured data (214), i.e. previously discussed first metric and second metric; data had to be structured for its communication via HTTP protocol over TCP/IP, see paragraph 0044: monthly uploading)
Johnson, Cook, and Lee do not expressly disclose wherein the data structure comprises a plurality of data structures;
generate, i.e. generating by the metering system, a first data structure of the plurality of data structures with first values for the first plurality of metrics over a first time interval of the voltage waveform, and first values for the second plurality of metrics over the first time interval of the voltage waveform;
generate, i.e. generating by the metering system, a second data structure of the plurality of data structures with second values for the first plurality of metrics over a second time interval of the voltage waveform, and second values for the second plurality of metrics over the second time interval of the voltage waveform;
generate, generating by the metering system, a third data structure of the plurality of data structures with third values for the first plurality of metrics over a third time interval of the voltage waveform, and third values for the second plurality of metrics over the third time interval of the voltage waveform;
wherein the data structure comprises the plurality of data structures.
Watson discloses wherein a data structure comprises a plurality of data structures (see Fig. 5: graph is segmented into a plurality of time sample number segments);
generate, i.e. generating by the metering system, a first data structure of the plurality of data structures with first values for the second plurality of metrics over the first time interval of the voltage waveform (see Fig. 5: graph is segmented into a plurality of time sample number segments, 0-499 could be considered the first data structure);
generate, i.e. generating by the metering system, a second data structure of the plurality of data structures with second values for the second plurality of metrics over the second time interval of the voltage waveform (see Fig. 5: graph is segmented into a plurality of time sample number segments, 500-999 could be considered the second data structure);
generate, generating by the metering system, a third data structure of the plurality of data structures with third values for the second plurality of metrics over the third time interval of the voltage waveform (see Fig. 5: graph is segmented into a plurality of time sample number segments, 1000-1499 could be considered the third data structure);
wherein the data structure comprises the plurality of data structures (see Fig. 5: complete graph comprises the plurality of data structures).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Watson, i.e. segmenting the data into time sample number segments, for the advantageous benefit visually classifying and recording time increments associated with the recorded data. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to apply the same segmentation taught by Watson to the first plurality of metrics to create first values, second values, and third values for the first plurality of metrics for different time intervals since they are sampled as the same frequency as the THD values, thus teaching the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Johnson, previously modified, further discloses a second metering system at a second location on the utility grid (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0022: discloses a plurality of IEDs/meters, including a second meter at a second physical location, as they are physical meters) to:
generate, i.e. generating by a second metering system, a second data structure with values for the first plurality of metrics over the time interval of a second voltage waveform, and values for the second plurality of metrics over the time interval of the second voltage waveform and provide, i.e. providing by the second metering system, the second data structure to the data processing system (see Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0033 and 0035: Each IED 104a-d, including the second meter, transmits their corresponding unique identifier stored in their respective memory 110 to the central server 116a along with their measured data (214), i.e. previously discussed and modified first plurality of metrics and second plurality of metrics; data had to be structured for its communication via HTTP protocol over TCP/IP); and
a third metering system at a third location on the utility grid (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0022: discloses a plurality of IEDs/meters, including a second meter at a second physical location, as they are physical meters) to:
generate, i.e. generating by a third metering system, a third data structure with values for the first plurality of metrics over the time interval of a third voltage waveform, and values for the second plurality of metrics over the time interval of the third voltage waveform and provide, i.e. providing by the third metering system, the third data structure to the data processing system (see Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0033 and 0035: Each IED 104a-d, including the second meter, transmits their corresponding unique identifier stored in their respective memory 110 to the central server 116a along with their measured data (214), i.e. previously discussed and modified first plurality of metrics and second plurality of metrics; data had to be structured for its communication via HTTP protocol over TCP/IP).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Johnson, Cook, and Lee do not expressly disclose wherein the data processing system determines, i.e. determining by the data processing system, a topological relationship between the metering system, the second metering system, and the third metering system based on the data structure, the second data structure, and the third data structure.
Watson discloses disclose wherein a data processing system determines, i.e. determining by a data processing system, a topological relationship between the metering system, the second metering system, and the third metering system based on the data structure, the second data structure, and the third data structure (see Fig. 10 and pages 3-4 Section 3.3 first paragraph and page 5 section 4.1 first paragraph: uses obtained data samples from a plurality of customers/meters to evaluate connectivity characteristics of the destitution system; page 6 right column last paragraph: central processing unit implements analysis; see Fig. 5 compares data from 4 meters, i.e. includes first second and third, in relation to determining transformer/phase connections).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Watson, i.e. having a power meter record a plurality of voltage metrics and THD metrics over a time period, for the advantageous benefit of using such data to evaluate topology characteristics of a power distribution network.
Regarding claim 7, Johnson, previously modified to take samples, further discloses wherein the metering system comprises one or more sensors to measure the voltage waveform to provide the data samples (see paragraph 0022: sensors for measuring characteristic, which includes voltage).
Regarding claim 17, Johnson, previously modified to take samples, further discloses detecting, by one or more sensors of the metering system, the voltage waveform to provide the data samples (see paragraph 0022: sensors for measuring characteristic, which includes voltage).
Regarding claim 8, Johnson, previously modified to take samples, further wherein the metering system is communicatively coupled with one or more sensors, the one or more sensors to measure the voltage waveform to provide the data samples (see paragraph 0022: sensors for measuring characteristic, which includes voltage, i.e. a voltage sensor, gathers voltage data for the meter).
Regarding claim 18, Johnson, previously modified to take samples, further wherein the metering system is communicatively coupled with one or more sensors, comprising detecting, by the one or more sensors, the voltage waveform to provide the data samples (see paragraph 0022: sensors for measuring characteristic, which includes voltage, i.e. a voltage sensor, gathers voltage data for the meter).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson and Cook do not expressly disclose wherein the metering system to generate at least one of the second plurality of metrics based on an error metric between the voltage waveform and the model waveform fit based on a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform.
Lee discloses wherein the metering system to generate at least one of the second plurality of metrics based on an error metric between the voltage waveform and the model waveform fit based on a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform (see Abstract and page 3 lines 24-27: calculating Total Harmonic Distortion (THD) by us a difference, i.e. an error metric, between the voltage waveform and fundamental sinusoidal signal/model waveform).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Lee, i.e. determining toral harmonic distortion of a signal by determining a difference between the voltage signal and a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, for the advantageous benefit using an accurate method to obtain total harmonic distortion when compared to a FFT calculation method.
Regarding claim 10, Johnson and Cook do not expressly disclose wherein the metering system to generate at least one of the second plurality of metrics based on at least one of a mean amplitude or a mean frequency of the model waveform fit based on a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform.
Lee discloses wherein the metering system to generate at least one of the second plurality of metrics based on at least one of a mean amplitude or a mean frequency of the model waveform fit based on a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage waveform (see Abstract and page 3 lines 24-27: determines a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal using a correlation process to fit the fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal to the measured voltage signal, thus the mean amplitude and mean frequency is based on fitting a sinusoidal signal the voltage signal).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johnson with the teachings of Lee, i.e. determining toral harmonic distortion of a signal by determining a difference between the voltage signal and a fundamental frequency sinusoidal signal, for the advantageous benefit using an accurate method to obtain total harmonic distortion when compared to a FFT calculation method.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luan (Distribution Network Topology Error Correction Using Smart Meter Data Analytics) discloses mapping topology of meters on a power distribution network based on a correlation of voltage data between meters.
Short (Advanced Metering for Phase Identification, Transformer Identification, and Secondary Modeling) mapping topology meters downstream a substation to respective phases and transformers of the power distribution system.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J DALBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857