DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 06/10/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-6, 8-10, 13-19 and 23-24 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 13-19 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al (US 2020/0231736, ‘736 hereafter) in view of Sweeney et al (GB 2593752, ‘752 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-4, 8-10, 13 and 17, ‘736 discloses a curable composition comprising a curable cyanoacrylate component being an ethyl cyanoacrylate, butyl cyanoacrylate, or β-methoxy cyanoacrylate, which is a liquid curable cyanoacrylate ([0009]-[0019]); and at least one thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) component having a preferred mass average molar mass Mw from 10,000 to 150,000 overlapping presently claimed range, which comprises polyester segment ([0009], [0018]); wherein the glass transition temperature of the TPU can preferably be -50 to -30°C ([0013]), satisfying present claims 8-9. ‘736 does not set forth the TPU is derived from a polyol that is formed from at least one diol or dicarboxylic acid having 6 carbon atoms in its main chain. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘752 discloses a curable composition comprising a liquid curable component being one of acrylate including cyanoacrylate ([0055]-[0067]) and a thermoplastic polyurethane having molecular weight of 40,000 to 100,000 ([0020]) in a content range of 20 to 75 wt%, wherein the TPU contains a polyol formed from at least one diol or dicarboxylic acid having 6 carbon atoms in its main chain (Pearlbond 106 ([0075], Examples, table 1), to render the curable composition having sufficient adhesive performance and elastomeric properties being applicable to a substrate to be bonded ([0024]). In light of these teaching, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the TPU as taught by ‘752, to modify the curable composition of ‘736, in order to render a curable composition having desired adhesion performance and application properties. ‘752 discloses that the composition has two TPUs and one of the TPUs is Pearlbond 106 ([0075], Examples, table 1), which is identical to the TPU used in the present application, thus includes all the technical features as recited in the present claims 1, 8-10, 13 and 17. ‘752 also discloses that the liquid curable component has a preferred content range of 5 to 20 wt% in the composition to render the composition having sufficient adhesion and applicability on a desired substrate, satisfying the present claim 4.
Regarding claims 14-16, modified ‘736 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘736 also discloses that the composition also contains a stabilizer being boron trifluoride (BF3) or sulfur dioxide (SO2), wherein the content of the stabilizer is preferably of 5 to 50 ppm of cyanoacrylate ([0017], [0036]).
Regarding claims 18-19 and 23-24, modified ‘736 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘736 also discloses a curable composition being applied in tape form and a cured form between tow substrate ([0060]-[0064]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al (US 2020/0231736, ‘736 hereafter) in view of Sweeney et al (GB 2593752, ‘752 hereafter) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Ikuno et al (JPS53106734, of record, ‘734 hereafter).
Regarding claims 5-6, modified ‘736 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose the curable composition further including a solvent. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘734 discloses a curable composition comprising a cyanoacrylate and a polyester based polyurethane, wherein a solvent is used to dissolve polyurethane to prevent whitening during the application of the composition on to a substrate ([0002]), wherein the lower aliphatic ester such as methyl acetate and ethyl acetate can be used to render the composition having good stability ([0002], Table 1). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the solvent as taught by 734, to modify the curable composition of ‘736, in order to render a curable composition having better stability.
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 13-19 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikuno et al (JPS53106734, of record, ‘734 hereafter) in view of Barnes et al (US 2020/0231736, ‘736 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-6, 10, 13 and 17, ‘734 discloses a curable composition comprising a curable cyanoacrylate component being an ethyl cyanoacrylate, which is a liquid curable cyanoacrylate ([0002]); one polyester-based polyurethane with polyester formed from adipic acid (C6 dicarboxylic acid) and a diol ([0002]) reading upon thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), and a solvent preferably being a lower aliphatic ester ethyl acetate ([0002], table 1); wherein the content of cyanoacrylate can be 33.3 wt% (Table 1, Example 4, 100 parts cyanoacrylate with 200 parts polyurethane, 100/200=0.333) and the content of polyurethane can be 66.7 wt% (Table 1, Example 4, 200/300=0.667), satisfying present claims 1 and 4. ‘734 does not expressly set forth the molecular weight of polyurethane, however, in the same field of endeavor, ‘736 discloses a curable composition comprising a curable cyanoacrylate component being an ethyl cyanoacrylate, butyl cyanoacrylate, or β-methoxy cyanoacrylate, which is a liquid curable cyanoacrylate ([0009]-[0019]); and at least one polyester-based thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) component having a preferred mass average molar mass Mw from 10,000 to 150,000 overlap presently claimed range, which has sufficient solubility with curable cyanoacrylate monomers ([0009]-[0015]) to render the composition having desired adhesion and application properties ([0066]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the TPU as taught by ‘736, to modify the curable composition of ‘734, to take the advantage of the TPU having good solubility with cyanoacrylate monomers and thus render the curable composition having desired properties. It is noted that the TPU as taught by the prior also reads upon two of the TPU having identical technical features as in claim 17.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, modified ‘734 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘736 also discloses that the glass transition temperature of the TPU can preferably be in a range of -5°C to -30°C ([0013]).
Regarding claims 14-16, modified ‘734 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘736 also discloses that the composition contains a stabilizer being boron trifluoride (BF3) or sulfur dioxide (SO2), wherein the content of the stabilizer is preferably of 5 to 50 ppm of cyanoacrylate ([0017], [0036]).
Regarding claims 18-19 and 23-24, modified ‘734 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘736 also discloses a curable composition being applied in tape form and a cured form between tow substrate ([0060]-[0064]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art Barnes’736 and Sweeney’752 are not in the same filed of endeavor because Barnes is directed to cyanoacrylate chemistry and Sweeney is directed to anaerobic chemistry. However, the examiner’s position is that the cited prior art Barnes and Sweeney are in the same filed of endeavor because both references are directed radically curable compositions comprising an acrylate-based component and a TPU component. In addition, Sweeney expressly discloses that the acrylate-based component in the composition including cyanoacrylate ([0067]).
For the reasons set forth above and of record, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782