DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-17, and 20-21 are pending. Claims 3, 11, and 18-19 have been canceled. Claims 1, 4, 9-10, 12, and 17 have been amended. By virtue of dependency, the depending claims 2, 5-8, 13-14, and 20 are also amended in scope.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-17, and 20-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0168570 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0323396 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” and Veitenhansl (5,564,627).
Regarding Claim 1: Lee teaches a process for cooling a heat generating component (electronics of 110) of a vehicle (abstract, Figures 1-6) comprising: pumping coolant from a first pump (419) while the first pump (419) is in a chiller mode (via 414, paragraph [0058], Figure 2) in a first loop (loop with 424) comprising a component heat exchanger (electronics cooled via 110) and a chiller module (414); and pumping coolant from said first pump (416) while the first pump (interpretated as a second pump, 630) is in a recirculation mode (paragraph [0051]) in a second loop (line with 601) comprising a heater module (412/422) and a cabin heat exchanger (600) or back to said component heat exchanger in said first loop (see Figures 1-6).
Lee fails to teaches wherein said first pump includes a first valve integrated with said first pump and a first outlet switchable by a first controller to direct coolant from said first valve to the first outlet and to said chiller module in said first loop and said first pump has a second outlet switchable by said first controller to direct coolant from said first valve to the second outlet and to said second loop or back to said component heat exchanger in said first loop.
Kim teaches a first pump (30) has a first outlet switchable by a first controller (50) to direct coolant from the first outlet to a first loop and said first pump has a second outlet switchable by said first controller to direct coolant from the second outlet to a second loop or back to a component heat exchanger (60) in said first loop (see Figures 1-3, paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided said first pump has a first outlet switchable by a first controller to direct coolant from the first outlet to said chiller module in said first loop and said first pump has a second outlet switchable by said first controller to direct coolant from the second outlet to said second loop or back to said component heat exchanger in said first loop to the structure of Lee as taught by Kim in order to advantageously provide automated control to the varied the pump discharge stream based on mode of operation (see Kim, paragraph [0054]).
Veitenhansl teaches a pump (8) has a valve (14) integrated with said pump (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first pump has a first valve integrated with said first pump to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Veitenhansl in order to advantageously provide a system to have various heat transfer medium cycles by flow control (see Veitenhansl, Column 1, lines 32-34).
Regarding Claim 2: Lee further teaches further comprising pumping coolant from a second pump (630) in said second loop while the second pump is in an isolated mode (closing the valve of 602, see Figure 5); and pumping coolant from said second pump (630) from said second loop (from 604) into said first loop (into line 424) while the second pump (630) is in a linked mode (valve 602 open, see Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 5: Lee teaches wherein an inlet to the first pump (419) receives coolant directly (fluid comes from the elements in the closed loop, no other fluid line connection) from the component heat exchanger (from 110 via line 424).
Regarding Claim 6: Lee teaches wherein an inlet to the second pump (630) receives coolant directly from the cabin heat exchanger (600, see Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 7: Lee teaches further comprising sensing the temperature of the coolant (via 423) entering the component heat exchanger (110) to determine to operate the first pump (419) in chiller mode (via 414) in chiller mode (paragraph [0058]) if the temperature of the coolant (via 423) entering the component heat exchanger (110) is higher than a set point (coolant is too hot and 110 needs cooling) and to operate the first pump (419) in recirculation mode (valve 420 open to line 603) if the temperature of the coolant entering the component heat exchanger is lower than a set point (coolant is too cool and radiator in cooling mode paragraph [0059]).
Regarding Claim 9: Lee teaches an apparatus (title, see Figures 1-6) for cooling a heat generating component (electronics of 110) of a vehicle (title) comprising: a first loop comprising a component heat exchanger (110) and a chiller module (414); a second loop (line with 601) comprising a heater module (412/422) and a cabin heat exchanger (600); a first pump switchable between a chiller mode (feed into 414 via control of 420, see Figure 5) and a recirculation mode (feed into 601 via 603 and control of 420, see Figure 6), the first loop in downstream communication with said first pump (see line 424 into 419, examination purposes second pump 630) while in said chiller mode (see Figure 5, water arrow) and the second loop (601) or the component heat exchanger (600) in downstream communication with said first pump (see Figure 6, water arrow into 603 into 601) while in said recirculation mode (see Figure 6, water arrow into 603 into 601).
Lee fails to teach wherein the first pump includes a first valve integrated with said first pump, the first pump switchable by a first controller; said first pump has a first outlet switched by said first controller to direct coolant from said first valve to the first outlet to and said first loop and said first pump has a second outlet switched by said first controller to direct coolant from said first valve to the second outlet and to said second loop or the component heat exchanger.
Kim teaches a first pump (30) switchable by a first controller (30); said first pump has a first outlet switched by said first controller to direct coolant from the first outlet to a first loop and said first pump has a second outlet switched by said first controller to direct coolant from the second outlet to a second loop or a component heat exchanger (60, see Figures 1-3, paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first pump switchable by a first controller; said first pump has a first outlet switched by said first controller to direct coolant from the first outlet to said first loop and said first pump has a second outlet switched by said first controller to direct coolant from the second outlet to said second loop or the component heat exchanger to the structure of Lee as taught by Kim in order to advantageously provide automated control to the varied the pump discharge stream based on mode of operation (see Kim, paragraph [0054]).
Veitenhansl teaches a pump (8) has a valve (14) integrated with said pump (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first pump has a first valve integrated with said first pump to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Veitenhansl in order to advantageously provide a system to have various heat transfer medium cycles by flow control (see Veitenhansl, Column 1, lines 32-34).
Regarding Claim 13: Lee further teaches wherein an inlet to the first pump (419) is in direct downstream communication with the component heat exchanger (from 600 to valve 602 to line 424, the system is a closed fluid system).
Claims 4, 10, 12, 14, 17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0168570 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0323396 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” and Veitenhansl (5,564,627), as applied to claims 2 and 9 above, and further in view of Borgstadt et. al. (US 2009/0053072 A1), hereafter referred to as “Borgstadt.”
Regarding Claim 4: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein said second pump includes a second valve integrated with said second pump and a first outlet switchable by a second controller to direct coolant from said second valve to the first outlet and to said second loop and said second pump has a second outlet switchable said second controller to direct coolant from said second valve to the second outlet and to said first loop.
Kim teaches a pump (30) has a first outlet switchable by a controller (50) to direct coolant from the first outlet to a second loop and said pump has a second outlet switchable said controller (50) to direct coolant from the second outlet to a first loop (see Figures 1-3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein said second pump has a first outlet switchable by a second controller to direct coolant from the first outlet to said second loop and said second pump has a second outlet switchable said second controller to direct coolant from the second outlet to said first loop to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Kim in order to advantageously provide automated control to the varied the pump discharge stream based on mode of operation (see Kim, paragraph [0054]).
Borgstadt teaches a second pump (2nd 110) switchable by a second controller (2nd 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein a second pump switchable by a second controller to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Borgstadt in order to advantageously provide individual controllers to measure information regarding each specific pump performance (see Borgstadt, paragraph [0023]).
Veitenhansl teaches a pump (8) has a valve (14) integrated with said pump (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein a second pump has a second valve integrated with said second pump to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Veitenhansl in order to advantageously provide a system to have various heat transfer medium cycles by flow control (see Veitenhansl, Column 1, lines 32-34).
Regarding Claim 10: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein a second pump has a second valve integrated with said second pump switchable by a second controller.
Borgstadt teaches a second pump (2nd 110) switchable by a second controller (2nd 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein a second pump switchable by a second controller to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Borgstadt in order to advantageously provide individual controllers to measure information regarding each specific pump performance (see Borgstadt, paragraph [0023]).
Veitenhansl teaches a pump (8) has a valve (14) integrated with said pump (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein a second pump has a second valve integrated with said second pump to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Veitenhansl in order to advantageously provide a system to have various heat transfer medium cycles by flow control (see Veitenhansl, Column 1, lines 32-34).
In combination, Lee modified supra teaches wherein a second pump (630 of Lee modified by 30 of Kim) switchable by a second controller ( 2nd 108 of Borgstadt) between an isolated mode and a linked mode (via the controls of valve 602 of Lee), said second loop in downstream communication with said second pump (630 of Lee modified by 30 of Kim) while in said isolated mode (see Figure 5, line 602 see water arrows of Lee), and said first loop in downstream communication with said second pump (630 of Lee modified by 30 of Kim) while in said linked mode (see Figure 6, 630 to 602 to line 424, see water arrows of Lee).
Regarding Claim 12: Lee modified supra teaches wherein said second pump (630 of Lee modified by 8 and 14 of Veitenhansl) has a first outlet which directs coolant from said second valve (2nd 14 of Veitenhansl) to said second loop when switched by said second controller (2nd 108 of Borgstadt) into the isolated mode and said second pump (630 of Lee modified by 30 of Kim) has a second outlet which directs coolant from said second valve (2nd 14 of Veitenhansl) to said first loop when switched by said second controller (2nd 108 of Borgstadt) into the linked mode (see Figures 5-6 of Lee).
Regarding Claim 14: Lee further teaches wherein an inlet to the second pump (630) is in direct downstream communication with the cabin heat exchanger (see 600 to 630 in Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 17: Lee teaches a process (title, see Figures 1-6) for cooling a heat generating component (electronics of 110) of a vehicle (abstract) comprising: pumping coolant from a first pump first outlet (exit from 419) while a first pump (419) is in a chiller mode (via 414, Figure 5) in a first loop (loop with 424) comprising a component heat exchanger (exchanger 110) and a chiller module (414); pumping coolant from said first pump (419) while the first pump (see line 424 into 419, however for examination purposes second pump 630) is in a recirculation mode in a second loop (loop with 601) comprising a heater module (412/422) and a cabin heat exchanger (600); pumping coolant from a second pump first outlet (exit from 630) only in said second loop (601) while the second pump (630) is in an isolated mode (see Figure 5); and pumping coolant from said second pump (630) from said second loop (line 601) into said first loop (via control of 602) while the second pump is in a linked mode (see Figure 6, control to have 602 feed water into line 604).
Lee fails to teach pumping coolant from said first pump from a second outlet while the first pump is in a recirculation mode in a second loop; and pumping coolant from said second pump from a second outlet from said second loop; wherein said first pump first outlet is switchable by a first controller to direct coolant from a first valve integrated with the first pump to said first loop and said first pump second outlet is switchable by said first controller to direct coolant from said first valve to said second loop or to said component heat exchanger; wherein said second pump first outlet is switchable by a second controller to direct coolant from a second valve integrated with said second pump to said second loop and said second pump second outlet is switchable by said second controller to direct coolant from said second valve to said first loop.
Veitenhansl teaches a pump (8) has a valve (14) integrated with said pump (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein a first and second pump has a first and second valve integrated with said first and second pump to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Veitenhansl in order to advantageously provide a system to have various heat transfer medium cycles by flow control (see Veitenhansl, Column 1, lines 32-34).
Kim teaches pumping coolant from a first pump (30) from a second outlet while the first pump is in a recirculation mode in a second loop (see Figures 1-3); wherein a first pump first outlet is switchable by a first controller (50) to direct coolant to a first loop and a first pump second outlet is switchable by said first controller (50) to direct coolant to said second loop or to said component heat exchanger (60, see Figures 1-3, paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided pumping coolant from said first pump from a second outlet while the first pump is in a recirculation mode in a second loop; wherein said first pump first outlet is switchable by a first controller to direct coolant to said first loop and said first pump second outlet is switchable by said first controller to direct coolant to said second loop or to said component heat exchanger to the structure of Lee as taught by Kim in order to advantageously provide automated control to the varied the pump discharge stream based on mode of operation (see Kim, paragraph [0054]).
Borgstadt teaches pumping coolant from a second pump (2nd 110) from a second outlet from a second loop (see Figure 1); wherein a second pump first outlet (2nd 112) is switchable by a second controller (2nd 108, paragraph [0024]) to direct coolant to said second loop and said second pump second outlet is switchable by said second controller to direct coolant to said first loop (see Figure 1, paragraph [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided pumping coolant from said second pump from a second outlet from said second loop wherein said second pump first outlet is switchable by a second controller to direct coolant to said second loop and said second pump second outlet is switchable by said second controller to direct coolant to said first loop to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Borgstadt in order to advantageously provide individual controllers to measure information regarding each specific pump performance (see Borgstadt, paragraph [0023]).
When in combination, the pumps of Lee are switchable as taught by Kim and have individual controllers as taught by Borgstadt.
Regarding Claim 20: Lee teaches wherein an inlet to the first pump (419) receives coolant directly from the component heat exchanger (from 110 into line 424) and an inlet to the second pump (630) receives coolant directly from the cabin heat exchanger (600 to 630, see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 21: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein the first controller and the second controller are combined into a single controller.
Borgstadt teaches a first controller (first 108) and a second controller (second 108) are combined into a single controller (107, paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first controller and the second controller are combined into a single controller to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Borgstadt in order to advantageously provide integrated control of the pump operation (see Borgstadt, paragraph [0025]).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0168570 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0323396 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” and Veitenhansl (5,564,627), as applied to claims 2 and 9 above, and further in view of Stanek et. al. (US 2014/0070013 A1), hereafter referred to as “Stanek.”
Regarding Claim 8: Lee modified supra fails to teach further comprising sensing the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger to determine to operate the second pump in linked mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger is above a set point and to operate the second pump in isolated mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger is below a set point.
Stanek teaches sensing a temperature of a coolant (paragraph [0031], cabin temperature sensor is dependent on coolant temperature of 116) entering a cabin heat exchanger (116) to determine to operate a pump (118 or 112) in linked mode if a temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger (116) is above a set point and to operate the pump (118 or 112) in isolated mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger is below a set point (see Figure 3, paragraphs [0029]-[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided sensing the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger to determine to operate the second pump in linked mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger is above a set point and to operate the second pump in isolated mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger is below a set point to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Stanek in order to advantageously provide a controller to collect the sensed parameters to more efficiently control the HVAC system (see Stanek, paragraphs [0031] and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 15: Lee teaches further comprising a first sensor (423) for sensing the temperature of the coolant entering the component heat exchanger (110).
Lee modified supra fails to teach said first controller signaling the first pump to operate in the chiller mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the component heat exchanger is higher than a set point and to operate the first pump in recirculation mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the component heat exchanger is lower than a set point.
Stanek teaches a first controller (110) signaling a pump (118 or 112) to operate in a chiller mode (via 114) if a temperature of coolant entering a component heat exchanger (50) is higher than a set point and to operate the pump (18 or 112) in a recirculation mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the component heat exchanger (50) is lower than a set point (see Figure 3, paragraphs [0029] and [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided said first controller signaling the first pump to operate in the chiller mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the component heat exchanger is higher than a set point and to operate the first pump in recirculation mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the component heat exchanger is lower than a set point to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Stanek in order to advantageously provide a controller to collect the sensed parameters to more efficiently control the HVAC system (see Stanek, paragraphs [0031] and [0032]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0168570 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0323396 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” Veitenhansl (5,564,627), and Borgstadt et. al. (US 2009/0053072 A1), hereafter referred to as “Borgstadt,” as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Stanek et. al. (US 2014/0070013 A1), hereafter referred to as “Stanek.”
Regarding Claim 16: Lee modified supra fails to teach further comprising a second sensor for sensing the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger and said second controller signaling the second pump to operate in linked mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger is above a set point and to operate the second pump in isolated mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger is below a set point.
Stanek teaches a second sensor (paragraph [0031], cabin temperature sensor is dependent on coolant temperature of 116) for sensing a temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger (116) and a controller (110) signaling a second pump (112 or 118) to operate in linked mode (control of valves 106 and/or 108) if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger (116) is above a set point and to operate the second pump (112 or 118) in isolated mode (closing of valves) if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger (116) is below a set point (not to circulate via 114, paragraphs [0023], [0029]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a second sensor for sensing the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger and said second controller signaling the second pump to operate in linked mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger is above a set point and to operate the second pump in isolated mode if the temperature of the coolant entering the cabin heat exchanger is below a set point to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Stanek in order to advantageously provide a controller to collect the sensed parameters to more efficiently control the HVAC system (see Stanek, paragraphs [0031] and [0032]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Roettgen et al. (4,520,767).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763