DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 28 March 2026.
Priority
The status of the application as a CON of PCT/JP2021/045515 is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Group I invention in the reply filed on 1 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 December 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
Imayoshi does not teach or suggest at least one element of the claimed subject matter. For example, Imayoshi does not teach or suggest "(a) a support having a first planar surface; (b) a release layer in direct contact with the first planar surface of the support, the release layer has a planar shape, the release layer consists of an organic resin; (c) a laser absorption layer in direct contact with the release layer, the laser absorption layer has a planar shape; the laser absorption layer is configured to absorb a laser light" as amended claim 1 recites.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 28 March 2026) at 6. The Examiner respectfully asserts that Imayoshi in view of Matsuura discloses each of the abovementioned claimed features, detailed in the rejection of currently amended independent claim 1, below.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 2, 3, and 6 under § 112(b) is withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
The rejections of claim 7 under §§ 112(b) and (d) is withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s cancellation of the claim.
The rejection of claim 1 under § 112(b) is maintained.
Regarding Claim 1: Claim 1 states, in relevant part, “wherein the at least one first wiring layer has a first surface provided with electrodes that can be bonded to at least one semiconductor element; and the at least one first wiring layer has a second surface provided with second electrodes that can be bonded to a second wiring board.”
The phrase "can be bonded" is susceptible to more than one plausible construction. Namely, it is unclear whether the limitation refers to a capability that is required to be present in the invention or whether it refers to a device capability that is a mere possibility that is not required. In other words, it is unclear whether a semiconductor package device can practice the invention of claim 1 by satisfying all the limitations of claim 1 without necessarily being required to possess the capability to be bonded to other structures. For the purposes of examination, the phrase “can be bonded” has been interpreted to mean "is configured to be bonded" everywhere it appears.
Claims 2-6, 11, and 12, which depend from claim 1, are rejected under § 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims, or present a sufficient showing that the claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication No. WO2020085382A1 (published Apr. 30, 2020) (hereinafter “Imayoshi”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0223456 (filed May 18, 2020) (hereinafter “Matsuura”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Imayoshi discloses: A board unit with support, comprising:
(a) a support (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, carrier substrate 5; “As shown in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, the second wiring substrate 3 is formed on a carrier substrate 5 made of a material such as a glass substrate which is thin and has good flatness and a thermal expansion coefficient close to that of a silicon wafer.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 4) having a first planar surface (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, depicting wherein the carrier substrate 5 has a surface that is planar);
(b) a release layer (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, peeling layer 6; “The peeling layer 6 is a material that decomposes with infrared or ultraviolet laser to cause delamination, and for example, amorphous silicon or carbon dispersed acrylic resin can be preferably used.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 5) in direct contact with the first planar surface of the support (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, depicting wherein the peeling layer 6 is in direct contact with the carrier substrate 5), the release layer has a planar shape (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, depicting wherein the peeling layer 6 has a shape that is planar);
(c) a laser absorption layer (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b; “Ti is formed as an inorganic adhesive layer with the underlying insulating resin 15. Is common. The inorganic adhesion layer is not limited to Ti, and may be a material having adhesion between the conductive layer and the insulating resin 15, such as TiW or ITO.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 6; “The inorganic adhesive layer 9b formed here may be removed together with the intermediate layer 8 after being mounted as the second wiring board 3.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 6) in direct contact with the release layer (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, depicting wherein the inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b, as a part of the layer 11 depicted as a dashed line in FIG. 4B, is in direct contact with the peeling layer 6), the laser absorption layer has a planar shape (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, depicting wherein the inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b has a shape that is planar); the laser absorption layer is configured to absorb a laser light (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b; “Ti is formed as an inorganic adhesive layer with the underlying insulating resin 15. Is common. The inorganic adhesion layer is not limited to Ti, and may be a material having adhesion between the conductive layer and the insulating resin 15, such as TiW or ITO.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 6; “The inorganic adhesive layer 9b formed here may be removed together with the intermediate layer 8 after being mounted as the second wiring board 3.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 6); and
(d) at least one first wiring board (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, second wiring substrate 3; “As shown in FIG. 3A, the multilayer wiring layer 25a of the second wiring substrate 3 having the solder bumps 24 formed on the carrier substrate 5 is placed on the separately manufactured FCBGA wiring substrate 1 at a position where flip chip mounting is possible.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 4) on the laser absorption layer (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, depicting wherein the second wiring substrate 3 is on the inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b),
wherein the at least one first wiring board has a first surface provided with electrodes that can be bonded to at least one semiconductor element (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, copper posts 14 provided on a first surface of the second wiring substrate 3 that can be bonded to a semiconductor chip 4; “In addition, the pitch of the copper posts 14 is preferably 40 to 55 μm in accordance with the pitch of the pad portions of the semiconductor chip 4.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 3); and
the at least one first wiring board has a second surface provided with second electrodes that can be bonded to a second wiring board (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, pad electrodes 20 provided on a second surface of the second wiring substrate 3 that can be bonded to a FCBGA wiring board 1; “As shown in FIGS. 3A to 3E, the second wiring board 3 including the multilayer wiring layer 25a accompanied by the carrier board 5 obtained as described above is flipped to the FCBGA wiring board 1 (first wiring board).” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 7).
Imayoshi does not specifically disclose wherein the release layer consists of an organic resin.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsuura discloses a release layer which may consist of an organic resin ([0041]: “The release layer 16 is a layer that allows or facilitates the release of the carrier 12, and the intermediate layer 14 when it is present. The release layer 16 may be either of an organic release layer and an inorganic release layer. Examples of the organic component used for the organic release layer include nitrogen-containing organic compounds, sulfur-containing organic compounds, and carboxylic acids.”).
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known release layer materials such as one consisting of an organic resin, as shown by Matsuura in [0041], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose an organic material over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding claim 2, Imayoshi in view of Matsuura further discloses wherein the release layer (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, peeling layer 6) is configured to transmit 50% or more of the laser light (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, “The peeling layer 6 is a material that decomposes with infrared or ultraviolet laser to cause delamination . . . .” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 5; Matsuura [0041]: “The release layer 16 is a layer that allows or facilitates the release of the carrier 12, and the intermediate layer 14 when it is present. The release layer 16 may be either of an organic release layer and an inorganic release layer. Examples of the organic component used for the organic release layer include nitrogen-containing organic compounds, sulfur-containing organic compounds, and carboxylic acids.”).
Regarding claim 3, Imayoshi in view of Matsuura further discloses wherein the laser light is infrared light (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, “The peeling layer 6 is a material that decomposes with infrared or ultraviolet laser to cause delamination . . . .” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 5).
Regarding claim 4, Imayoshi in view of Matsuura further discloses wherein the laser absorption layer is disposed in an area inside the release layer in plan view (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, depicting wherein the inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b overlaps with the peeling layer 6; “Next, as shown in FIG. 3C, a peeling layer formed on the interface between the carrier substrate 5 and the carrier substrate 5 from the back surface of the carrier substrate 5, that is, the surface of the carrier substrate 5 opposite to the FCBGA wiring substrate 1. The carrier substrate 5 which can be peeled off by irradiating 6 is removed from the second wiring substrate 3 as shown in FIG. 3D. Next, as shown in FIG. 3E, after the carrier substrate 5 is peeled off, the intermediate layer 8 made of a photosensitive resist is removed by a developing solution or a peeling solution of the photosensitive resist. . . . Finally, the inorganic adhesion layer 9a on the surface of the copper post 14 is wet-etched or dry-etched with a reactive gas to expose the copper post 14 connected to the semiconductor chip 4, as shown in FIG. 3E. As a result, the semiconductor package wiring board 100 is completed.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 7).
Regarding claim 5, Imayoshi in view of Matsuura further discloses wherein the laser absorption layer comprises a metal (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b; “Ti is formed as an inorganic adhesive layer with the underlying insulating resin 15. Is common. The inorganic adhesion layer is not limited to Ti, and may be a material having adhesion between the conductive layer and the insulating resin 15, such as TiW or ITO.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 6).
Regarding claim 11, Imayoshi in view of Matsuura further discloses wherein the planar shape of the release layer is the same as the planar shape of the laser absorption layer (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, depicting wherein planar shapes of the peeling layer 6 and the inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b are the same).
Regarding claim 12, Imayoshi in view of Matsuura further discloses wherein the organic resin is selected from the group consisting of epoxy resins, polyimide resins, polyurethane resins, polyester resins, oxetane resins and maleimide resins (Matsuura [0041]: “The release layer 16 is a layer that allows or facilitates the release of the carrier 12, and the intermediate layer 14 when it is present. The release layer 16 may be either of an organic release layer and an inorganic release layer. Examples of the organic component used for the organic release layer include nitrogen-containing organic compounds, sulfur-containing organic compounds, and carboxylic acids.”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Imayoshi in view of Matsuura, and further in view of WIPO Publication No. WO2020105633A1 (published May 28, 2020) (hereinafter “Takagi”).
Regarding claim 6, Imayoshi further discloses a seed layer (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, conductive layer 13a/13b; “Next, after the surface of the insulating resin 15 is modified by UV plasma or oxygen plasma, Ti and Cu are continuously sputter-deposited to form the electrolytic copper plating 10b as shown in FIG. 4F. The seed layer 18a is formed. The fine pattern 7 is formed on the seed layer 18a, but since sputtered Cu used as a conductive layer has weak adhesion with the insulating resin 15, Ti is formed as an inorganic adhesive layer with the underlying insulating resin 15. Is common. The inorganic adhesion layer is not limited to Ti, and may be a material having adhesion between the conductive layer and the insulating resin 15, such as TiW or ITO.” Translation of WO2020085382A1 at 6) in direct contact with the laser absorption layer (FIGS. 1/2A-B/3A-3E/4A-4J, depicting wherein the conductive layer 13a/13b is in direct contact with the inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b). Imayoshi does not specifically disclose wherein a part of the laser absorption layer in contact with the seed layer is made of a material that is the same as a material of the seed layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Takagi discloses a semiconductor package (FIGS. 1/2/4A-4E, depicting a semiconductor package; “Next, a method of manufacturing the semiconductor package substrate 1 will be described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 3A to 12.” Translation of WO2020105633A1 at 5) wherein a seed layer is formed of titanium (FIGS. 1/2/4A-4E, seed layer 112; “Subsequently, as shown in a detailed enlarged view of FIG. 4E, a seed metal layer 112 is formed on the entire surface of the photosensitive resin pattern 140. The seed metal layer according to the present embodiment can be selected from Ti, Ni, Cr, Co, and Ta.” Translation of WO2020105633A1 at 7). Regarding the formation of the seed layer using titanium, Takagi states: “The seed metal layer according to the present embodiment can be selected from Ti, Ni, Cr, Co, and Ta. These metals can be selected from a vapor deposition method, a CVD method and a sputtering method. Alternatively, if electroless plating is used, electroless Ni plating can be used. According to the present embodiment, by selecting these metals, it is possible to suppress copper migration even with a fine pattern and form a multilayer wiring with good insulation reliability. Furthermore, it is desirable to select from these metals, because the adhesion with the insulating resin is good. These metals may be used alone or in multiple layers. Further, these elements may be mixed and used.” Translation of WO2020105633A1 at 7.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed semiconductor package of Imayoshi by substituting the titanium seed layer of Takagi for the conductive layer 13a/13b in order to improve suppression of copper migration and insulation reliability. See Translation of WO2020105633A1 at 7.
Moreover, regarding the materials of the seed layer and the laser absorption layer, it is well-established that “when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP § 2143(I)(E) (quoting KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, (2007)).
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create semiconductor packaging devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that manufacturing processes are simplified and shortened the production process, but use optimal materials in order to meet desired performance and manufacturing specifications. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including forming the seed layer and the laser absorption layer from the same material, or forming the seed layer and the laser absorption layer from different materials, each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the conductive layer 13a/13b and the inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b from the same material, titanium, and would result in a configuration wherein a part of inorganic adhesion layer 9a/9b in contact with the conductive layer 13a/13b would be made of a material that is the same as a material of the conductive layer 13a/13b.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813