Status of Claims
Claims 1, 14, and 19 are amended to overcome the claim objections/rejections of the Examiner.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on provisional Application 63/440,336, filed on 01/20/2023.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Claim Interpretations Under 35 U.S.C.§112(f)
Applicant argues that the 112(f) is improper. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not totally persuasive. The 35 USC § 112 has not been withdrawn. “configured to” and what is proper and what is a 112(f) varies and is subjective, depending on the TC and AU, and also with relies on the description of what is “configured to” in the Specification. This examiner has always considered that is can be software or hardware, then the 112(f) is given and a suggested solution would be provided. Examiner provided such suggestions to make the claim/limitations stronger and clearer.
Applicant further argues “Applicant also addresses the broader assertion that the terms "control board "computing device," "processor," and "security device" are "software." The specification repeatedly distinguishes between software instructions (stored on non-transitory computer-readable medium 416) and the hardware that executes those instructions.”
Examiner agrees that the Applicant does distinguish but the arguments do not take into consideration the BRI of the claims. Note that under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. The words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless the plain meaning is inconsistent with the specification. 2111.01 (I). See also In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ("'[C]laims are not to be read in a vacuum, and limitations therein are to be interpreted in light of the specification in giving them their ‘broadest reasonable interpretation.'"2111.01 (II)
With respect to the interpretation of claim terms, MPEP 2111 states:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1).
The words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless the plain meaning is inconsistent with the specification In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 13 USPQ2d 1320 (Fed. Cir. 1989).
"Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).(see MPEP 2111.01).
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The broadest reasonable interpretation does not mean the broadest possible interpretation. Rather, the meaning given to a claim term must be consistent with the ordinary and customary meaning of the term (unless the term has been given a special definition in the specification), and must be consistent with the use of the claim term in the specification and drawings. Further, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims must be consistent with the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach. In re Cortright, 165 F.3d 1353, 1359, 49 USPQ2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (see PMEP 2111).
Accordingly, the claims herein will be interpreted in accordance with the MPEP 2111.
Applicant further argues that the references are not obvious to combine. Examiner would like to point out that; factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Examiner believes that obviousness rejection has been achieved in the 103 rejection below.
Applicant further argues; ”Claims 1-20 stand rejected over various combinations of Yang (US20160077652, Yang), Pinilla et al (US20150178034, Pinilla), Hyde et al (US20130074111, Hyde), and Cohen et al (US20210266714, Cohen). Applicant respectfully submits that Independent Claims 1, 14, and 19 have been amended to make clear how the control board, processor, and computing device are connected. As such, in addition to Applicant's above arguments, Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner's arguments made in support of a 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection are now moot. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the § 103 Rejections set forth in the current Office Action is respectfully requested for at least this reason.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments. See the new 35 USC § 103 below for clarification. Also note that the BRI statement above also pertains to the arguments of the art rejection.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not persuasive, but to further prosecution, Examiner is adding additional reference to clarify the 35 USC § 103 for the applicant.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is: “configured to” in claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 10, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20. Note that I did not list Claims 2 and 15 since it says camera which is hardware. But a control board, computing device, processor, and security device can be software.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is: “configured to” in claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 10, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20. Note that I did not list Claims 2 and 15 since it says camera which is hardware. But a control board, computing device, processor, and security device can be software. Suggestions: change “and configured to” to something like, “and receives image data”; change “device is configured to transmit” to something like “device transmits image data”; etc.. Taking out the “configured to” (even if hardware, which in much of the application, can be either software or hardware), would make the limitations clearer and much stronger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 8 – 10, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang [US20160077652, now Yang], with Pinilla et al. [US20150178034, now Pinilla], further with Bass, [US20210275869, now Bass].
Claim 1
Yang discloses a system for controlling displays within a vehicle, comprising: at least one display within a vehicle, wherein said at least one display comprises a control board having a processor and configured to receive image data [see at least Yang, Abstract (“A vehicle, a vehicle display device, and a method for controlling the vehicle display device are disclosed. The vehicle display device includes a display unit and a controller. The display unit displays a wide screen that is divided into a main display region and an auxiliary display region. The controller displays a first visual interface on the main display region, decides the second visual interface for performing a process different from that of the first visual interface according to the first visual interface, and displays auxiliary information related to the second visual interface on the auxiliary display region.”)],
wherein said control board presents said image data in a plurality of display windows of a display user interface of said at least one display [see at least Yang, ¶ 0006 (“A display device may be installed on a vehicle in order to provide a driver and/or a passenger with various kinds of information such as a traveling route or a traveling state. Various kinds of information displayed on the display device may include various images or moving images stored in a storage unit embedded in the vehicle. The information may also include terrestrial broadcasting or satellite broadcasting, navigation information, vehicle state information such as a vehicle traveling speed or trip information, user convenience information such as weather and news, information about reproduction sound or radio broadcasting, etc.”); 0009 (“Therefore, it is an aspect of the present disclosure to provide a vehicle display device to efficiently and effectively display various kinds of information for a user using a large-sized screen, a vehicle including the vehicle display device, and a method for controlling the vehicle display device.”)],
wherein said plurality of display windows splits a viewing area of said at least one display into at least two regions [see at least Yang, Fig. 4, ¶ 0032 (“FIG. 4 is a view illustrating respective regions of the wide screen of the display device according to an embodiment of the present disclosure.”)],
a computing device operably connected to said processor and having a user interface [see at least Yang, ¶ 0041 - 0042(“ Although an exemplary embodiment is described as using a plurality of units to perform the exemplary process, it is understood that the exemplary processes may also be performed by one or plurality of modules or units that are combined and arranged into fewer or more parts that provide the same functional advantages. Additionally, it is understood that the term controller/control unit refers to a hardware device that includes a memory, a processor and necessary peripheral hardware for operation of the same. The memory is configured to store the modules and the processor is specifically configured to execute said modules to perform one or more processes which are described further below. [0042] Furthermore, control logic of the present invention may be embodied as non-transitory computer readable media on a computer readable medium containing executable program instructions executed by a processor, controller/control unit or the like. Examples of the computer readable mediums include, but are not limited to, ROM, RAM, compact disc (CD)-ROMs, magnetic tapes, floppy disks, flash drives, smart cards and optical data storage devices. The computer readable recording medium can also be distributed in network coupled computer systems so that the computer readable media is stored and executed in a distributed fashion, e.g., by a telematics server or a Controller Area Network (CAN).”)],
wherein said user interface allows a user to choose content to present on said at least one display [see at least Yang, ¶ 0014; 0024 (“ The method may further include: according to the user manipulation or the predefined configuration, extending the first visual interface to the main display region and the auxiliary display region, and displaying the extended first visual interface. The method may further include: respectively displaying the first visual interface and information related to the first visual interface on the main display region and the auxiliary display region. The information related to the first visual interface may include a selection menu related to execution of the first application.”); 0026 (“The displaying the first visual interface on the main display region and the displaying auxiliary information related to the second application on the auxiliary display region may include: selecting a visual interface layer corresponding to the determined first visual interface from among a plurality of visual interface layers, and displaying the selected visual interface layer on the main display region; selecting an auxiliary information layer corresponding to the auxiliary information of the second visual interface of the determined second application; and displaying the selected auxiliary information layer on the auxiliary display region. The method may further include displaying gauge information related to vehicle driving and associated images on a gauge display region.”)],
wherein said computing device is configured to transmit image data to said control board [see at least Yang, ¶ 0006],
a non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to said processor, wherein said non-transitory computer-readable medium contains instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by said processor, cause said processor to perform operations [see at least Yang, ¶ 0024; 0042] comprising:
receiving said content from said computing device as chosen by said user, determining a layout of said display user interface based on said content, and presenting said layout containing said content via said at least one display [see at least Yang, ¶ 0055 (“The display unit 1 may also be implemented by combining a touch panel with the LCD panel, the TFT-LCD panel, the LED panel, or the OLED panel. If the display unit 1 is implemented as a touch panel, the display unit 1 detects the presence or absence of a touch action on the touch panel, and generates and outputs a predetermined electric signal on the basis of the detected touch action, so that the display unit 1 may receive a predetermined command from the user. In this case, the user may touch the touch panel using the user's finger or a touch pen. In addition, the touch action may include a touch action of a user who touches a specific position of the touch panel and a touch gesture performed on the touch panel.”); 0062 (“The controller 2 may receive a command from the user through the input unit 3, and may control the vehicle display device in response to the received command. For example, the controller 2 may receive either the selection command of the application related to the visual interface to be displayed on the main display region or the other selection command of the application related to auxiliary information to be displayed on the auxiliary display region from the user through the input unit 3. The controller 2 may also determine respective applications according to the respective selection commands.”); 0064 (“The input unit 3 may receive a variety of commands for controlling the vehicle display device from the user. The input unit 3 may generate an electric signal corresponding to an input instruction or command, and transmit the electric signal to the controller 2. The input unit 3 may be implemented by various physical buttons, a physical keyboard, a virtual keyboard, a knob, a manipulation wheel, a stick-type manipulation device, a touchpad, a touchscreen, etc. The input unit 3 may be provided at various positions inside the vehicle. For example, the input unit 3 may be provided at a center console of the vehicle, a spoke 221 of a steering wheel 210, or the like.”)].
Penilla also teaches wherein said computing device is configured to transmit image data to said control board, a non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to said processor [see at least Pinilla, 0163 (“the vehicle computer 1906 has the ability to transmit, receive and process information using wired or wireless connections. One such wireless connection is provided by a wireless data sending and receiving antenna 1928 connected to a network interface 1910 useful for pairing with and communicating data with portable or stationary wireless devices which may or may not be part of a network 1902. Such wireless devices include but are not limited to wireless displays 210b, portable smart phones 210a, portable computers, 210c and even stationary objects, structures, buildings, toll bridges, other vehicles etc. The vehicle's network interface 1910 through antenna 1928 may also communicate with cloud services 120 to receive instructions from a remote location that invokes stored programs such as APPs 104 on the vehicle's computer. The vehicle may also send and receive data wirelessly in order to establish a connection with a peer-to-peer ad-hoc network. Invocations may result in output data streams interpreted by wireless devices 210b, 210a, 210c as well as wired devices such as wired displays 210d or vehicle integrated display devices such as windshield heads up projected display or integrated glass displays 210e. All data streams generated by APPs 104 stored on the vehicle's computer may also be triggered by wired devices such as vehicle sensors 1918, vehicle electrical systems 1920, vehicle electrical systems 1922, engine control systems 1924, vehicle diagnostics systems 1926, user input as well as environmental input.”); 0220 (“The invention can also be embodied as computer readable code on a computer readable medium. The computer readable medium is any data storage device that can store data, which can thereafter be read by a computer system. The computer readable medium can also be distributed over a network-coupled computer system so that the computer readable code is stored and executed in a distributed fashion.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Neither Yang or Pinilla specifically teach control board but do suggest a control board is present to control the components of their inventions, but Bass does specially teach a control board [see at least Bass, ¶ 0024 (“ As mentioned previously, some embodiments of the system 100 may further comprise a control board. The control board preferably comprises at least one circuit and microchip. In another preferred embodiment, the control board may further comprise a wireless communication device, which may allow the control board to receive workout data from a sensor. The microchip of the control board comprises a processor and memory. The processor may be defined as a multipurpose, clock driven, register based, digital-integrated circuit which accepts binary data as input, processes it according to instructions stored in its memory, and provides results as output. The processor is configured to perform the operations disclosed herein based on instructions stored within the system 100. The processor may process instructions for execution within the computing device, including instructions stored in memory or on a storage device, to display graphical information for a graphical user interface (GUI) on an external input/output device, such as a display. The processor may provide for coordination of the other components of a computing device, such as control of user interfaces, applications run by a computing device, and wireless communication by a communication device of the computing device.”); Thus showing all the features of the control board as described in the instant application.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, further with the “control board” comprising at least one circuit and microchip (as indicated in the instant Specification [¶ 0044]. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 2
Yang, Pinilla and Bass disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Yang further discloses a camera configured to collect image data in a way that allows said processor to determine a location of said user within said vehicle [see at least Yang, ¶ 0009; 0086 (captured by a camera).
Pinilla also teaches a camera configured to collect image data in a way that allows said processor to determine a location of said user within said vehicle [see at least Pinilla, ¶ 38; 0181 (“The remote communication can also allow a person to communicate remotely with people standing outside (or inside) of a vehicle. For instance, if a user is accessing his or her vehicle from a remote location, cameras installed in and/or on the vehicle allow the remote user to see a person standing proximate to the vehicle. The remote user can then communicate with a person standing proximate to the vehicle using microphones and speakers of the vehicle.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 3
Yang, Pinilla and Bass disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Yang further discloses additional instructions stored on said non-transitory computer-readable medium, which, when executed by said processor, cause said processor to perform additional operations comprising: receiving said image data from said camera, determining said location of said user within said vehicle using said image data [see at least Yang, ¶ 0019 (“The first application and the second application may include at least one of a sound playback application, an information provision application, a radio application, a still image display application, a vehicle management application, a digital media broadcast playback application, a navigation application, a conversation application, a voice recognition application, and a reversing assistance application. The display unit may further include a gauge display region on which gauge information related to vehicle driving and associated images are displayed.”); 0089, and
selecting a specific display of said at least one display based on said location of said user, wherein said specific display is said at least one display determined to be closest to said user [see at least Yang, ¶ 0010 (“It is another aspect of the present disclosure to provide a vehicle display device to effectively optimize various kinds of information for a user in response to a screen size, and to display and provide the optimized information to the user. Additional aspects of the subject disclosure will be set forth in part in the description which follows and, in part, will be obvious from the description, or may be learned by practice of the disclosure.”)].
Note: Having a display that takes into consideration a safety factor before displaying is most likely taking into the consideration location and position of the user – driver or passenger.
Pinilla also teaches determining said location of said user within said vehicle using said image data, and selecting a specific display of said at least one display based on said location of said user, wherein said specific display is said at least one display determined to be closest to said user [see at least Pinilla, ¶ 0038-0039].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 8
Yang, Pinilla and Bass disclose/teach the system of Claim 7.
Yang does not specifically disclose by Pinilla teaches secondary security device is configured to collect at least one of biometric data, image data, and log data from said user, wherein said biometric data, image data, and log data is used by said control board to identify said user, wherein identification of said user causes said system to activate applications of said at least one display [see at least Pinilla, Fig. 10; ¶ 0029].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 9
Yang, Pinilla and Bass disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Yang does not disclose but Pinilla does teach. comprising additional instructions stored on said non-transitory computer-readable medium, which, when executed by said processor, cause said processor to perform additional operations comprising: receiving at least one of said biometric data, image data, and log data from said secondary security device, checking at least one of said biometric data, image data, and log data against login credentials, and activating vehicle features when at least one of said biometric data, image data, and log data matches said login credentials [see at least Pinilla, ¶ 0029 (“the method includes associating biometrics to the user account, the biometrics being used to monitor use of the vehicle and determine if the custom configuration is enabled, or if a guest custom configuration should be enabled, or if public custom configuration should be enabled, the user account includes profile data defining when particular configurations should be enabled based on the biometrics.”); 0033 (“he period of time is for a session that remains until logged out of the user account, or a period of inactivity, or when biometrics detects use by other than a person associated with the user account, or a second user account logs in to define a new session with a second custom configuration of the second user account.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 10
Yang, Pinilla and Bass disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Yang does not disclose but Pinilla teaches wherein said secondary security device is configured to send a computer readable signal to said control board, wherein said computer readable signal is used by said processor to activate said vehicle features [see at least Pinilla, Claim 9; ¶ 0032-0033; 0070].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 15
Claim 15 has similar limitations to claim 2, therefore claim 15 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim 17
Claim 17 has similar limitations to claim 10, therefore claim 17 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 10.
Claim 18
Claim 18 has similar limitations to claim 8, therefore claim 18 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 8.
Claim 19
Note that claim 19 is combining the limitations of numerous dependent claims into Independent claim 1.
Yang discloses a system for controlling displays within a vehicle [see at least Yang, Abstract],
comprising: at least one display within a vehicle, wherein said at least one display comprises a control board having a processor and configured to receive image data [see at least Yang, ¶ 0006],
wherein said control board presents said image data in a plurality of display windows of a display user interface of said at least one display, wherein said plurality of display windows splits a viewing area of said at least one display into at least two regions, [see at least Yang ¶ 0006; 0009],
a mobile computing device operably connected to said processor and having a user interface, wherein said user interface allows a user to choose content to present on said at least one display, wherein said mobile computing device is configured to transmit image data to said control board, a non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to said processor, wherein said non-transitory computer-readable medium contains instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by said processor, cause said processor to perform operations comprising: receiving said content from said mobile computing device as chosen by said user, receiving said image data from said camera, receiving said computer readable signal from said secondary security device, activating said at least one display when said computer readable signal matches a unique ID of said vehicle, determining said location of said user within said vehicle using said image data, selecting a specific display of said at least one display based on said location of said user, and presenting said content via said specific display within said plurality of display windows [see at least Yang, ¶ 0006 014; 0024; 0026; 0042; 0055].
Pinilla more specifically teaches a camera configured to collect image data in a way that allows said processor to determine a location of a user within said vehicle Pinilla also teaches a camera configured to collect image data in a way that allows said processor to determine a location of said user within said vehicle [see at least Pinilla, ¶ 0038; 0181 (“The remote communication can also allow a person to communicate remotely with people standing outside (or inside) of a vehicle. For instance, if a user is accessing his or her vehicle from a remote location, cameras installed in and/or on the vehicle allow the remote user to see a person standing proximate to the vehicle. The remote user can then communicate with a person standing proximate to the vehicle using microphones and speakers of the vehicle.”)].
a secondary security device operably connected to said processor, wherein said secondary security device is configured to send a computer readable signal to said control board, wherein said computer readable signal is used by said processor to activate said at least one display [see at least Pinilla, Fig. 10; ¶ 0029],
transmit image data to said control board, a non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to said processor [see at least Pinilla, ¶ 0163].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Neither Yang or Pinilla specifically teach control board but do suggest a control board is present to control the components of their inventions, but Bass does specially teach a control board [see at least Bass, ¶ 0024].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, further with the “control board” comprising at least one circuit and microchip (as indicated in the instant Specification [¶ 0044]. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claims 4-7, and 11-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang [US20160077652, now Yang], with Pinilla et al. [US20150178034, now Pinilla], with Bass, [US20210275869, now Bass], further with Hyde et al. [US20130074111 , now Hyde].
Claim 4
Yang, Pinilla and Bass disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Yang further discloses in general terms wherein said control board is configured to receive user data from said computing device, wherein said processor of said control board is configured to receive advertisement data based on said user data, wherein said processor of said control board organizes said advertisement data in said plurality of display windows of said display user interface of said at least one display [see at least Yang, ¶ 0006].
Pinilla teaches wherein said control board is configured to receive user data from said computing device, wherein said processor of said control board is configured to receive advertisement data based on said user data, wherein said processor of said control board organizes said advertisement data in said plurality of display windows of said display user interface of said at least one display [see at least Pinilla, ¶ 0130 (“advertisers can provide data to the user that is relevant to the user, such as discounts for the goods or services the user wishes to purchase. In still another embodiment, an application can be provide for the vehicle that provides a user the ability to set and to find certain things, such as goods and services the user needs. As the user drives around, and algorithm determines whether certain goods or services are available in the proximity of the vehicle's driving actions. If the vehicle approaches or is near certain goods and services, and such goods and services are advertised to have a discount or availability, the user can be notified on the user display, or by audio output by the vehicle. This functionality can be enabled or disabled on demand, as programmed by the user in the application that's added to the user interface.”); 0153 (“Charge grid load 624 data can also be collected, for example for electric vehicle data. Charge grid load 624 can obtain data from a grid power demand source 610, which can include power companies local utilities and the like. Route based discounts 626 can also be provided to the user, by collecting mapping data 614 as well as discounts provided by goods and services providers in the marketplace. Mapping data 630 can also be managed, to monitor the location of the vehicle in relation to goods and services that may be provided when the vehicle is in proximity. In some embodiments, discount data, advertisements, sales, goods and services offers, etc., can be provided to the user automatically based on the vehicle's location.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Neither Yang or Pinilla specifically teach control board but do suggest a control board is present to control the components of their inventions, but Bass does specially teach a control board [see at least Bass, ¶ 0024 (“ As mentioned previously, some embodiments of the system 100 may further comprise a control board. The control board preferably comprises at least one circuit and microchip. In another preferred embodiment, the control board may further comprise a wireless communication device, which may allow the control board to receive workout data from a sensor. The microchip of the control board comprises a processor and memory. The processor may be defined as a multipurpose, clock driven, register based, digital-integrated circuit which accepts binary data as input, processes it according to instructions stored in its memory, and provides results as output. The processor is configured to perform the operations disclosed herein based on instructions stored within the system 100. The processor may process instructions for execution within the computing device, including instructions stored in memory or on a storage device, to display graphical information for a graphical user interface (GUI) on an external input/output device, such as a display. The processor may provide for coordination of the other components of a computing device, such as control of user interfaces, applications run by a computing device, and wireless communication by a communication device of the computing device.”); Thus showing all the features of the control board as described in the instant application.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, further with the “control board” comprising at least one circuit and microchip (as indicated in the instant Specification [¶ 0044]. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Neither Yang, Pinilla, or Bass specifically disclose/teach but Hyde more specifically teaches configured to receive user data from said computing device, wherein said processor of said control board is configured to receive advertisement data based on said user data [see at least Hyde, Claim 164; ¶ 0100 (“Referring to the detailed flow chart of FIG. 15, various illustrated embodiment features 600 include previously described process aspects 502, 503, 504, 506, 507 in combination with providing passenger access via the interactive electronic media device to informational and/or advertising and/or entertainment content associated with one or more of the following type of demographic characteristics of the individual passenger or group of passengers: age, gender, ethnicity, religion, culture, nationality (block 602). Additional aspects may include providing passenger access via the electronic media device to passenger-related data including one or more of the following type or category: car rental, hotel rental, arrival instructions, map destination directions, destination weather, baggage status, travel status of related group members, pre-school content, school-age content (block 601).”); 0136-0137 (“ Referring to exemplary process features 780 shown in the flow chart of FIG. 28, a possible embodiment may include previously described aspects 702, 703, 704, 706 in combination with providing access via the interactive electronic media device to informational and/or advertising and/or entertainment content associated with one or more of the following type of demographic characteristics of the approved passenger or approved group of passengers: age, gender, ethnicity, religion, culture, nationality (block 781). Other process possibilities include providing access via the interactive electronic media device to content which is selected in accordance with a regulation or requirement or rule applicable to the geographic travel location of the multipassenger transport vehicle (block 782). [0137] In some instances an embodiment may further include selecting and/or monitoring and/or limiting content available to the interactive electronic media device associated with the passenger identifier code (block 783). A related aspect may include selecting and/or monitoring and/or limiting content available to the interactive electronic media device associated with one or more of the following types of location in the multitransport passenger vehicle: seat, room, dining area, lounge, game room, bedroom, library, cafe, bar, aisle, observation deck, theater (block 784). Further related aspects may include maintaining a data table indicative of one or more categories or types of content or program application or operation functionality available for correlation with the passenger identifier code (block 786).”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, with the “control board” comprising at least one circuit and microchip (as indicated in the instant Specification [¶ 0044], further with the “electronic media devices available to individual to individual users in a multipassenger vehicle, including techniques for content management and operational control, and related methods, systems, components, computerized apparatus, software program products, and communication techniques” of Hyde. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010: Hyde, ¶ 0250], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157; Hyde, ¶ 0053] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011; Hyde, ¶ 0232] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 5
Yang, Pinilla, Bass and Hyde disclose/teach the system of Claim 4.
Yang further discloses comprising a communication interface operably connected to said control board, wherein an input device transmits commands to said control board via said communication interface, wherein said commands instruct said processor as to a layout of said display user interface based on said user data and said advertisement data [see at least Yang, Abstract; ¶ 0048; 0052; 096].
Pinilla also teaches these limitations [see at least Pinilla, ¶ 0009; 0013; 0130; 0153].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Hyde also teaches these limitations [see at least Hyde, Claim 164; ¶ 0100; 0136, 0137].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, further with the “electronic media devices available to individual to individual users in a multipassenger vehicle, including techniques for content management and operational control, and related methods, systems, components, computerized apparatus, software program products, and communication techniques” of Hyde. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010: Hyde, ¶ 0250], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157; Hyde, ¶ 0053] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011; Hyde, ¶ 0232] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 6
Yang, Pinilla, Bass and Hyde disclose/teach the system of Claim 5.
Yang does not disclose but Pinilla teaches additional instructions stored on said non-transitory computer-readable medium, which, when executed by said processor, cause said processor to perform additional operations comprising: receiving said advertisement data, determining said layout of said display user interface based on user data and advertisement data, and presenting said advertisement data within said display user interface based on said layout [see at least Yang, ¶ 0130; 0153].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Hyde also teaches these limitations [see at least Hyde, Claim 164; ¶ 0100; 0136, 0137].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, further with the “electronic media devices available to individual to individual users in a multipassenger vehicle, including techniques for content management and operational control, and related methods, systems, components, computerized apparatus, software program products, and communication techniques” of Hyde. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010: Hyde, ¶ 0250], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157; Hyde, ¶ 0053] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011; Hyde, ¶ 0232] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 7
Yang, Pinilla, Bass and Hyde disclose/teach the system of Claim 6.
Yang does not teach but Pinilla teaches a secondary security device operably connected to said control board and configured to communicate with said control board of said at least one display [see at least Pinilla, Fig. 10; ¶ 026].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Hyde also teaches these limitations [see at least Hyde, ¶ 0043].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, further with the “electronic media devices available to individual to individual users in a multipassenger vehicle, including techniques for content management and operational control, and related methods, systems, components, computerized apparatus, software program products, and communication techniques” of Hyde. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010: Hyde, ¶ 0250], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157; Hyde, ¶ 0053] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011; Hyde, ¶ 0232] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 11
Yang, Pinilla, Bass and Hyde disclose/teach the system of Claim 10.
Yang further discloses activating said vehicle features of said vehicle when said computer readable signal matches said unique ID [see at least Yang, ¶ 0006].
Pinilla teaches receiving said computer readable signal from said secondary security device, checking said computer readable signal against a unique ID, activating said vehicle features of said vehicle when said computer readable signal matches said unique ID [see at least Pinilla, ¶ 0092 (“The transfer of the custom UI to the vehicle can be made by Internet connection between the vehicle electronics and the Internet 110. As shown in FIG. 1, the transfer of the custom UI to the vehicle 160 can occur once the customization has occurred. In one embodiment, the customization configured by the user 121 can also be saved to the user account of user 121 in a database of the manufacturer. If the user 121 then buys another car from the same manufacturer, the custom user interface can be transferred to the other vehicle in a seamless manner. If the other vehicle has additional features not provided by the earlier, a mapping algorithm provided by cloud services 120 can adjust the settings for the new vehicle to match or substantially match those of the earlier vehicle based on the user's preferences. In one embodiment, the matching can be a best-fit or compatible scenario, which provides the user with substantially similar configuration. The configuration can then be updated by the user if the custom settings or configurations made by the cloud services do not meet the users desire or configuration.”); 0126; 0176 (“FIG. 22B describes how one of many types of inputs into an assumption and reasoning logic module 2216 can be compiled over time. Although inputs can come from many sources, this particular example focuses on input into the assumption and reasoning logic module 2216 from past data originating and triggered by user behavior in order for module 2216 to learn. Past actions 2210 are logged into a database either locally on the vehicle computer or remotely which are fed into to module 2216. In this example, data about when the user's actions are stored, along with unique identifiers that will allow assumptions to be made in the future. These identifiers include times, dates, rates, capacities, temperatures, frequency, degrees, distance, etc. In this example, the system has been keeping track of when the user has been starting his or her engine in the morning on weekday sand weekends. The system harvests all data points associated with given events. These data points 2210 are purely mined data points and no assumptions or reasoning occurs at this point. This data will be used by the assumption and reasoning logic 2216 to determine future actions.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Hyde also teaches these limitations [see at least Hyde, Abstract, ¶ 0043 (“in accordance with various timetable guidelines and security limitations.”); 0045 (“security”); 0152 (“ It will be understood that the security component 850 is adapted to provide protection against unauthorized on-board or off-board activity regarding the electronic media device 840 (e.g., limiting access and usage of the stored content in accordance with predetermined guidelines). In that regard the security component 850 of the on-board electronic media device 840 may be linked to scanner 865 for verification of a matching passenger authorization code 862 incorporated on a ticket document 864 of an approved passenger Leo 860. Based on confirmation of such verification, the on-board electronic media device 840 may be activated for usage of approved device capabilities 851 and to allow interactive engagement through user interface 861 by approved passenger Leo with the stored data (e.g., 846, 848) and application programs (e.g., 852, 854) maintained in the storage media 845.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, further with the “electronic media devices available to individual to individual users in a multipassenger vehicle, including techniques for content management and operational control, and related methods, systems, components, computerized apparatus, software program products, and communication techniques” of Hyde. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010: Hyde, ¶ 0250], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157; Hyde, ¶ 0053] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011; Hyde, ¶ 0232] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 12
Yang, Pinilla and Bass disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Neither Yang, Pinilla, or Bass specifically disclose/teach but Hyde does teach a locator node operably connected to said processor and said computing device, wherein said locator node has a known position within said vehicle, wherein said locator node transmits a computing device position to said processor, wherein said computing device transmits a position signal to said locator node and said processor [see at least Hyde, Abstract (“Exemplary methods, systems and components are implemented on a multipassenger transit vehicle to provide passenger access to a pre-assigned interactive electronic media device associated with a passenger identification (ID) code or associated with an on-board situs location. The electronic media device may include a storage component, and a battery module that can periodically be replaced or recharged. Security techniques may provide protection against unauthorized usage of each electronic media device, and also help prevent unauthorized removal of the electronic media device from its approved location in the transit vehicle. Selective content may be accessible or downloaded via a communication node, wherein such content may include application programs or informational data specifically correlated with a media device location or a designated vehicle passenger. Selective content and/or operation capability for the electronic media device may be varied based on predetermined qualifications or passenger request.”)].
Claim 20
Claim 20 has similar limitations to claim 4, therefore claim 20 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 4.
Claims 13, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang [US20160077652, now Yang], with Pinilla et al. [US20150178034, now Pinilla], with Bass, [US20210275869, now Bass], with Hyde et al. [US20130074111 , now Hyde], further with Cohen et al. [US20210266714, now Cohen].
Claim 13
Yang, Pinilla and Hyde disclose/teach the system of Claim 12.
Yang further discloses comprising additional instructions stored on said non-transitory computer-readable medium, which, when executed by said processor, cause said processor to perform additional operations [see at least Yang, ¶ 0019].
Pinilla also teaches additional instructions stored on said non-transitory computer-readable medium, which, when executed by said processor, cause said processor to perform additional operations comprising: receiving said position signal transmitted by said computing device, receiving said computing device position, determining a location of said using said position signal [ see at least Pinilla, ¶ 0038-0039].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Neither Yang, Pinilla, or Bass specifically disclose/teach but Hyde more specifically teaches said locator node, and selecting a specific display of said at least one display based on said location of said user, wherein said specific display is said at least one display determined to be closest to said user [see at least Hyde, Abstract (“node”); 0043; 0152].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, further with the “electronic media devices available to individual to individual users in a multipassenger vehicle, including techniques for content management and operational control, and related methods, systems, components, computerized apparatus, software program products, and communication techniques” of Hyde. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010: Hyde, ¶ 0250], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157; Hyde, ¶ 0053] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011; Hyde, ¶ 0232] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Neither Yang, Pinilla or Hyde specifically disclose/teach but Cohen specifically teaches triangulation [see at least Cohen, ¶ 0072 (“ Once the distances between the sensors 516A-C and the mobile device 520 are determined, the vehicle 500 may perform a triangulation to more precisely pinpoint the location of the device. In general, if a single sensor has determined that it is a distance d1 from the device, that determination will limit the three-dimensional position of the device to the surface of a sphere S1 of radius d1 centered around that sensor. If a second sensor determines a second distance d2, a second sphere S2 of radius d2 centered around the second sensor is defined. The position of the device is then limited to the intersection of S1 and S2, which may be a circle C1. If a third sensor is used, the device can be further limited to the intersection of a sphere S3 and the circle C1, which may be only two points in space. If a fourth sensor is used, the device can be pinpointed to a single point in space.”); 0079 (“The placement of the signal generators/sensors 740A-K in the exemplary vehicle cabin are designed to detect the location of a mobile device located in the vicinity of the passenger side seat 730B. The generators/sensors 740A-K are arranged around and close to the expected location of the mobile device in seat 730B. This arrangement allows any small changes in the position of the mobile device to be more accurately detected, so that the device's location can be measured with greater precision. The group of sensors/generators 740A-K may include a few sensors/generators (e.g., 740A, 740B, 740E, and 740F) that are farther away from the group. These farther sensors/generators enable the system to perform better triangulation. When a group sensors/generators are located too closely together, the intersection between the distance measurements by each of the sensor/generator becomes too large, and the location information that is generated by these sensors/generators becomes less informative. Furthermore, in the exemplary arrangement shown, most of the sensors/generators 740A-K are placed at the approximate expected height of the passenger's torso while the passenger is seated. This arrangement is useful because many useful applications of device location rely on detection of small changes of the device location or orientation in this plane. For example, most of the user controls in the vehicle are located at or around this height. Thus, precise location and orientation measurements at this height are important.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, with the “electronic media devices available to individual to individual users in a multipassenger vehicle, including techniques for content management and operational control, and related methods, systems, components, computerized apparatus, software program products, and communication techniques” of Hyde, further with the ability of “perform a triangulation to more precisely pinpoint the location [0072]” of Cohen. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010: Hyde, ¶ 0250], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157; Hyde, ¶ 0053] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011; Hyde, ¶ 0232] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 14
Yang discloses a system for controlling displays within a vehicle, comprising: at least one display within a vehicle, wherein said at least one display comprises a control board having a processor and configured to receive image data, wherein said control board presents said image data in a plurality of display windows of a display user interface of said at least one display, wherein said plurality of display windows splits a viewing area of said at least one display into at least two regions [see at least Yang, [see at least Yang, Abstract; Fig. 4; ¶ 0006; 0014; 0024; 0032; 0041-0042; ,
a mobile computing device operably connected to said processor and having a user interface, wherein said user interface allows a user to choose content to present on said at least one display, wherein said mobile computing device is configured to transmit image data to said control board [see at least Yang, ¶ 0046 (“The vehicle display device may include a navigation device installed in a vehicle. In addition, the vehicle display apparatus may include a portable terminal which can be used by a user who rides in the vehicle or can be installed at a specific stand mounted to the inside of the vehicle. In this case, the portable terminal may include a cellular phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a smart phone, a tablet PC, a laptop computer, etc. In addition, the vehicle display apparatus may include various kinds of display devices that may be used in the vehicle.”)],
a non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to said processor, wherein said non-transitory computer-readable medium contains instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by said processor, cause said processor to perform operations comprising: receiving said content from said mobile computing device as chosen by said user via said user interface, receiving said position signal transmitted by said mobile computing device, receiving said mobile computing device position from said locator node, determining a location of said user via triangulation using said position signal and said locator node, selecting a specific display of said at least one display based on said location of said user, and presenting said content within a plurality of windows of said display user interface of said specific display [see at least Yang, ¶ 0024; 0042; 0055].
Pinilla also teaches wherein said computing device is configured to transmit image data to said control board, a non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to said processor [see at least Pinilla, 0163].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Neither Yang or Pinilla specifically teach control board but do suggest a control board is present to control the components of their inventions, but Bass does specially teach a control board [see at least Bass, ¶ 0024]; Neither Yang or Pinilla specifically teach control board but do suggest a control board is present to control the components of their inventions, but Bass does specially teach a control board [see at least Bass, ¶ 0024]; Thus showing all the features of the control board as described in the instant application.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, further with the “control board” comprising at least one circuit and microchip (as indicated in the instant Specification [¶ 0044]. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Neither Yang, Pinilla, or Bass specifically disclose/teach but Hyde more specifically teaches a locator node operably connected to said processor and said mobile computing device, wherein said locator node has a known position within said vehicle, wherein said locator node transmits a mobile computing device position to said processor, wherein said mobile computing device transmits a position signal to said locator node and said processor [see at least Hyde, Abstract].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, further with the “electronic media devices available to individual to individual users in a multipassenger vehicle, including techniques for content management and operational control, and related methods, systems, components, computerized apparatus, software program products, and communication techniques” of Hyde. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010: Hyde, ¶ 0250], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157; Hyde, ¶ 0053] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011; Hyde, ¶ 0232] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Neither Yang, Pinilla, Bass or Hyde specifically teach but Cohen specifically teach triangulation [see at least Cohen, ¶ 0072].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “method for controlling the vehicle display [Abstract]” of Yang, with the more specific “methods and systems are provided, for automatically causing content items to shift to or from screens of a vehicle” discussed in Pinilla, with the “electronic media devices available to individual to individual users in a multipassenger vehicle, including techniques for content management and operational control, and related methods, systems, components, computerized apparatus, software program products, and communication techniques” of Hyde, further with the ability of “perform a triangulation to more precisely pinpoint the location [0072]” of Cohen. Providing a more effective [Yang, ¶ 0009; 0010: Hyde, ¶ 0250], efficient [Yang, ¶ 0009, 0157; Hyde, ¶ 0053] and safer [Pinilla, ¶ 0010, 0011; Hyde, ¶ 0232] technology for controlling a display within a vehicle.
Claim 16
Claim 16 has similar limitations to claim 13, therefore claim 16 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 13.
Examiners Note: The independent claims (Claims 14 and especially 19) appear to be a mix of Claim 1 with some of its dependent claims. It appears that each independent claims (especially 14 and 19) are variations of Claim 1 and dependent claims. The Examiner would be willing to have an interview to discuss the best limitations to include to try and bring the claims to an allowable state. Some of the limitations if listed in order of what they do and are required (use of “and” between the limitations- which it appears you do in the independent claims) might support the claims to be allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HOPKINS; Jason [US20190132395]
A system and method for displaying content from mobile devices on a plurality of displays in a vehicle are disclosed. Example methods may include receiving content from a first mobile device at a vehicle, and displaying the content on a plurality of displays installed in the vehicle, thereby forming a connected display area amongst the plurality of displays. In some example methods, additional content is received from a second mobile device. An example vehicle may include a plurality of displays and a telematics unit in communication with each of the displays. The telematics unit may be configured to share content received from one or more mobile devices on the plurality of displays, thereby providing a connected display area.[Abstract]
T. A. Ulrich, R. L. Boring and R. Lew, "Control board digital interface input devices - touchscreen, trackpad, or mouse?," 2015 Resilience Week (RWS), Philadelphia, PA, USA, 2015, pp. 1-6.
/JOAN T GOODBODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664
(571) 270-7952