DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally, regarding the contents of the interview discussed in applicant’s remarks, the amended claim language “metadata of the first pixel wise mask” is still broad enough to be interpreted to encompass metadata that is not saved as a component of the pixel wise mask but is merely associated with it or saved, stored, or transmitted alongside it.
Claim Interpretation
The following terms in the claims have been given the following interpretations in light of the specification:
“Metadata of the first pixel wise mask” (claims 1, 14, and 22):
Paragraph [0115] “In some examples, pixel wise masks can include metadata correlating the virtual camera views to the pixel wise masks. For example, a pixel wise mask can include metadata indicative of the virtual camera pose, field-of-view of the virtual camera, size of virtual sensor in the virtual camera, resolution of the virtual camera, aspect ratio of the virtual camera, and the like.”;
Paragraphs [0121] to [0127] refer multiple times to “pixel wise masks and their associated metadata”.
Thus, metadata must somehow be “included” with the pixel wise mask. The metadata may be stored as part of the mask’s image file itself, or the metadata may be stored alongside the image or transmitted in conjunction with it.
This definition is used for purposes of searching for prior art, but cannot be incorporated into the claims. Should applicant wish different definitions, Applicant should point to the portions of the specification that clearly show a different definition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 14, 21, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (“Real-Time Scene-Aware LiDAR Point Cloud Compression Using Semantic Prior Representation”. IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, vol. 32 no. 8 (Aug 2022), pp. 5623-5637. https://doi.org/10.1109/TCSVT.2022.3145513; hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of Cheng et al. (CN 113870271 A, hereinafter "Cheng"), Bogoslavskyi et al. ("Fast Range Image-Based Segmentation of Sparse 3D Laser Scans for Online Operation". 2016 IEEE/RSJ International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems (IROS), pp. 163-169 (09-14 Oct 2016). https://doi.org/10.1109/IROS.2016.7759050, hereinafter "Bogoslavskyi"), and Thomas et al. (US 20240203020 A1; hereinafter "Thomas").
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches: A method for point cloud processing, comprising:
obtaining point cloud data corresponding to a point cloud in a three dimensional (3D) space (fig. 2, point cloud from LiDAR sensor is input into the encoder);
projecting the point cloud in the 3D space to one or more two dimensional (2D) planes to generate one or more images (pg. 5626 col. 1 section IIIA: “For the encoder as shown in Fig. 2 (top part), it consists of three stages: 1) projecting 3D point clouds to a set of 2D range images for conducting scene-aware object segmentation…”; fig. 2 first step in encoder: “3-D to 2-D projection”; fig. 4 shows example of 2D range image);
inputting the one or more images into a logic model that is configured to generate pixel wise masks for respective object instances in the point cloud (pg. 5628 col. 1 “To label each pixel for the 2D range images obtained in Section III-B, a 2D semantic segmentation convolutional neural network (CNN) is exploited, which is a modified version of the RangeNet53 [43] by using its 2D processing part only to generate semantic labels for the 2D range images.”; pg. 5628 col. 1 also specifies that both semantic and instance segmentation is performed: “Furthermore, our algorithm is able to make further separation of the pixels within the same class according to the depth information; for example, a car at the foreground and the one on the background are considered as two different cars. Such scene-aware object segmentation is beneficial not only to the coding efficiency as a whole but also to the accuracy on the aspect of machine perception.”);
generating the pixel wise masks for the respective object instances in the point cloud according to the one or more images and through the logic model (fig. 4(d) shows a pixel-wise segmentation performed on a range image: “a colored version of (c), on which each color corresponds to a semantic region (or label) generated by [43].”), a first pixel wise mask in the pixel wise masks comprising first pixels that are associated with a first object instance in the object instances in the point cloud, each pixel in the first pixel wise mask being associated with (i) semantic information and (ii) instance information of the first object instance (pg. 5627 col. 1 “stage 2 finally generates… (pixel-wise) labels (e.g., car A, car B, pedestrian A, pedestrian B, etc.)” – each label contains both semantic and instance information; pg. 5628 col. 1 ““Furthermore, our algorithm is able to make further separation of the pixels within the same class according to the depth information; for example, a car at the foreground and the one on the background are considered as two different cars.”), the first pixel wise mask describing each pixel of the first object instance (pg. 5626 col. 2 “The 2D range images generated in stage 1 are subjected to conduct object segmentation in stage 2, i.e., assigning an object label to each pixel of the range image.” – if each pixel in the entire range image is assigned a label (“described”), then each pixel corresponding to a particular object must necessarily be described); and
processing the point cloud based on the first pixel wise mask (pg. 5629 section III.D. “SPR Lossy Encoding” describes how the labels generated via pixel-wise segmentation are encoded into a compressed point cloud; see fig. 5).
Zhao does not explicitly teach: processing the point cloud based on the first pixel wise mask, a portion of the point cloud corresponding to the first pixels in the first pixel wise mask being processed based on one or more processing parameters determined for the first object instance.
Cheng teaches: processing the point cloud based on the first pixel wise mask, a portion of the point cloud corresponding to the first pixels in the first pixel wise mask being processed based on one or more processing parameters determined for the first object instance ([n0043] “In this embodiment, different semantic regions correspond to different compression rates. For semantic regions with a lot of detail (such as face, hands, desktop and window, etc.), a lower compression rate can be used, while for semantic regions with a lot of detail (such as torso, limbs, walls and ground), a higher compression rate can be used.”; [n0050] “Step 130: Compress the point clouds in each 3D semantic region based on the compression ratio to obtain compressed RGBD data.” – the compression ratio corresponds to the claimed “processing parameter”, and the point cloud is compressed based on the compression ratio determined for each segmented object.).
Zhao and Cheng are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of point cloud segmentation and compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao with the teachings of Cheng to adaptively compress a point cloud based on the semantic regions detected during segmentation. The motivation would have been to leave the higher detail regions less compressed, which would help to reduce the size (and consequently memory/bandwidth capacity) of a point cloud as much as possible while still preserving necessary detail and “ensuring the quality of point cloud reconstruction”, as taught by Cheng ([n0003] to [n0004]).
The combination of Zhao in view of Cheng does not explicitly teach: generating pixel wise masks through a non neural network based logic model.
Bogoslavskyi teaches: generating pixel wise masks through a non neural network based logic model (fig. 4 shows the clustering method of segmentation taught by Bogoslavskiy, based on angles relative to different groups of points; fig. 2C shows the generated pixel wise mask: “We build up a range image not considering points lying on the ground plane and perform the segmentation in the range image directly.”). Bogoslavskyi is analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of point cloud segmentation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng with the teachings of Bogoslavskyi to substitute the original method of range image segmentation with the clustering method of Bogoslavskyi. The motivation would have been to use a method that is fast, has low computational demands, and runs online (Bogoslavskyi abstract).
Additionally, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng and Bogoslavskyi teaches metadata of the first pixel wise mask (Zhao pg. 5626 col. 2 “The 2D range images generated in stage 1 are subjected to conduct object segmentation in stage 2, i.e., assigning an object label to each pixel of the range image.”; the object labels can be considered metadata.), as well as information describing the angle of the input LiDAR sensor which is transmitted alongside the pixel wise mask. However, it is not relied upon to teach: processing the point cloud based on the first pixel wise mask and metadata of the first pixel wise mask, the metadata of the first pixel wise mask indicating one or more of a pose of a first virtual camera associated with the one or more 2D planes, a field-of-view of the first virtual camera, a size of a virtual sensor in the first virtual camera, a resolution of the first virtual camera, and an aspect ratio of the first virtual camera.
Thomas teaches processing a point cloud based on various parameters of a virtual camera, which is used to select a particular viewpoint for the scene represented by the point cloud ([0054] “In some embodiments, for example between steps 504 and 506, or as part of step 506, a selected virtual camera is received. The virtual camera can include, for example, virtual camera extrinsics and intrinsics, such as, for example, a virtual camera pose, including position and orientation in a coordinate space of the point cloud or the line cloud generated in step 504, a virtual camera field of view, a virtual camera viewing window, and the like.”). The point cloud is previously segmented ([0052] teaches point cloud segmentation; [0054] teaches selecting virtual camera parameters including pose and field of view from the segmented point cloud; the virtual camera parameters may be considered metadata of the resulting image.
Thomas is analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of point cloud processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng and Bogoslavskyi with the teachings of Thomas to determine and store information associated with the position of a virtual camera. The motivation would have been to aid in reconstructing a point cloud from smaller sections, in the event that the 360-degree LiDAR measurements taught by Zhao are not available.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the point cloud comprises points representing a person, and the generating the pixel wise masks further comprises: generating the first pixel wise mask that includes a plurality of sub masks respectively associated with facial elements and body elements of the person (Cheng [n0040] “In this embodiment, after obtaining the target object image and the background image, the target object parts are segmented using artificial intelligence (AI) technology to obtain multiple 3D target object parts. For example, if the target object is the human body, the human body is divided into parts such as the head, hands, torso, and limbs.”), the metadata indicative of the facial elements and the body elements (Zhao pg. 5626 col. 2 “The 2D range images generated in stage 1 are subjected to conduct object segmentation in stage 2, i.e., assigning an object label to each pixel of the range image.”; the object labels can be considered metadata.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas with the additional teachings of Cheng to segment images of humans into higher detail regions (such as the head) and lower detail regions (such as the torso). The motivation would have been to apply the adaptive compression method taught by Cheng to leave the higher detail regions less compressed, which would help to reduce the size (and consequently memory/bandwidth capacity) of a point cloud as much as possible while still preserving necessary detail and “ensuring the quality of point cloud reconstruction”, as taught by Cheng ([n0003] to [n0004]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the processing the point cloud further comprises: determining first parameters for voxelating the first object instance (Cheng [n0044] “In this embodiment, the compression ratio corresponding to each 3D semantic region can be obtained by: establishing a correspondence between semantic information and compression ratio; and determining the compression ratio corresponding to each 3D semantic region based on the correspondence.”); and voxelating the portion of the point cloud corresponding to the first pixels in the first pixel wise mask according to the first parameters (Cheng [n0053] “Specifically, the process of compressing each 3D semantic region based on the compression ratio to obtain compressed RGBD data can be as follows: for each 3D semantic region, the 3D semantic region is divided into voxel grids according to the compression ratio to obtain multiple voxel grids; downsampling is performed on the multiple voxel grids to obtain the compressed semantic region.”; [n0054] “The compression ratio is proportional to the size of the voxel mesh. That is, the higher the compression ratio, the larger the voxel mesh size; the lower the compression ratio, the smaller the voxel mesh size.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas with the additional teachings of Cheng to apply a method of adaptively compressing the point cloud based on semantic regions. The motivation would have been to reduce the size (and consequently memory/bandwidth capacity) of a point cloud as much as possible while still preserving necessary detail and “ensuring the quality of point cloud reconstruction”, as taught by Cheng ([n0003] to [n0004]).
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected using the same references, rationale, and motivations to combine as claim 1 because its limitations substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining the first pixel wise mask from multiple virtual camera views (Zhao pg. 5627 section III.B: “3D to 2D Projection: Range Image Generation” discusses the generation of 100 separate range images projected into 2D from the input point cloud, each of which is labeled per pixel as shown in fig. 4 and contributes to the full segmentation).
Regarding claim 22, most of its limitations substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1, and are therefore rejected with the same references, rationale, and motivations to combine as claim 1, with the exception of the following limitations:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform an encoding method (Cheng [n0087]), and
transmitting a bitstream indicating the processed portion of the point cloud (Zhao pg. 5629 col. 2 “Finally, three categories of encoded SPR data are encapsulated to generate the final bitstream for storage and/or transmission.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas with the additional teachings of Cheng to use standard methods of storing and executing programs on standard computational hardware, for purposes of convenience and compatibility.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the pixel wise masks are used to generate a voxel grid from the point cloud, the voxel grid having a first voxel size for a first portion of the point cloud corresponding to the first pixel wise mask and a second voxel size for a second portion of the point cloud, the first voxel size being different from the second voxel size (Cheng [n0044] teaches determining different compression ratios for different semantic segmentation regions of the point cloud: “In this embodiment, the compression ratio corresponding to each 3D semantic region can be obtained by: establishing a correspondence between semantic information and compression ratio; and determining the compression ratio corresponding to each 3D semantic region based on the correspondence.”;
Cheng [n0053] teaches generating differently sized voxel grids for the previously discussed semantic segmentation regions: “Specifically, the process of compressing each 3D semantic region based on the compression ratio to obtain compressed RGBD data can be as follows: for each 3D semantic region, the 3D semantic region is divided into voxel grids according to the compression ratio to obtain multiple voxel grids; downsampling is performed on the multiple voxel grids to obtain the compressed semantic region.”; [n0054] “The compression ratio is proportional to the size of the voxel mesh. That is, the higher the compression ratio, the larger the voxel mesh size; the lower the compression ratio, the smaller the voxel mesh size.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas with the additional teachings of Cheng to apply a method of adaptively voxelating the point cloud based on semantic regions. The motivation would have been to reduce the size (and consequently memory/bandwidth capacity) of a point cloud as much as possible while still preserving necessary detail and “ensuring the quality of point cloud reconstruction”, as taught by Cheng ([n0003] to [n0004]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao ("Real-Time Scene-Aware LiDAR Point Cloud Compression Using Semantic Prior Representation") in view of Cheng (CN 113870271 A), Bogoslavskyi ("Fast Range Image-Based Segmentation of Sparse 3D Laser Scans for Online Operation"), and Thomas (US 20240203020 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xie et al. (US 20200082207 A1, hereinafter "Xie").
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the projecting the point cloud further comprises:
determining respective parameters of one or more virtual cameras associated with the one or more 2D planes for a projection of the point cloud, the one or more virtual cameras including the first virtual camera, the parameters of the first virtual camera including the pose and an orientation of the first virtual camera (Thomas [0054] “In some embodiments, for example between steps 504 and 506, or as part of step 506, a selected virtual camera is received. The virtual camera can include, for example, virtual camera extrinsics and intrinsics, such as, for example, a virtual camera pose, including position and orientation in a coordinate space of the point cloud or the line cloud generated in step 504, a virtual camera field of view, a virtual camera viewing window, and the like.”).
The combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas does not explicitly teach: determining respective parameters of one or more virtual cameras associated with the one or more 2D planes for a projection of the point cloud according to pretrained data.
Xie teaches: determining respective parameters of one or more virtual cameras associated with the one or more 2D planes for a projection of the point cloud ([0045] “At block 330, each point cloud target region is projected onto a scene image according to parameters of the laser radar and the imager, to determine a respective image target region associated with each point cloud target region.”; [0046] “The parameters may include a posture (such as a position and an orientation) and the like.”) according to pretrained data ([0029] “Both the point cloud feature extraction model and the image feature extraction model may be obtained by training a convolutional neural network in advance.”; [0033] explains that the target regions are identified using the aforementioned models).
Xie is analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of point cloud processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas with the teachings of Xie to use a pretrained machine learning algorithm to select angles that focus on objects in the field of view. The motivation would have been to improve the results of object recognition (as taught by Xie), or, analogously, segmentation.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao ("Real-Time Scene-Aware LiDAR Point Cloud Compression Using Semantic Prior Representation") in view of Cheng (CN 113870271 A), Bogoslavskyi ("Fast Range Image-Based Segmentation of Sparse 3D Laser Scans for Online Operation"), and Thomas (US 20240203020 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (“3D scene graph prediction from point clouds”. Virtual Reality & Intelligent Hardware vol. 4 issue 1 (Feb 2022), pg. 76-88. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vrih.2022.01.005; hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas teaches: The method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing the point cloud further comprises: generating a scene graph associated with the point cloud based on the first pixel wise mask, the scene graph including at least a first scene element identifying the first object instance.
Wu teaches: generating a scene graph associated with the point cloud based on the pixel wise mask, the scene graph including at least a first scene element identifying the first object instance (pg. 78 “Given the input point cloud, P, and the class-agnostic instance segmentation, M, of a scene s, indicating that the point cloud has instance segmentation labels without specific semantic categories, our aim is to generate the corresponding scene graph, which is a graph topology structure composed of the category label of each instance and the label of the relationship between the categories” – each object instance is identified, which must necessarily include the claimed ‘first object instance’).
Wu is analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of point cloud processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas with the teachings of Wu to generate a scene graph from the segmented point cloud. The motivation would have been to better understand the overarching organization of the environment being observed, rather than simply labeling unassociated classes of objects.
Claim(s) 7-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao ("Real-Time Scene-Aware LiDAR Point Cloud Compression Using Semantic Prior Representation") in view of Cheng (CN 113870271 A), Bogoslavskyi ("Fast Range Image-Based Segmentation of Sparse 3D Laser Scans for Online Operation"), and Thomas (US 20240203020 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2021112953 A1, hereinafter "Zhang").
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas teaches: The method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing the point cloud further comprises: processing the point cloud with the first pixel wise mask by a video based point cloud compression (V-PCC) system.
Zhang teaches: wherein the processing the point cloud further comprises: processing the point cloud with the first pixel wise mask by a video based point cloud compression (V-PCC) system (para. 0030, para. 0043).
Zhang is analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of point cloud compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas with the teachings of Zhang to use an established standard for point cloud compression. The motivation would have been to improve compatibility with other devices and systems.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi and Thomas and further in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 7, further comprising:
dividing the point cloud into a plurality of segments according to the first pixel wise mask having a plurality of sub masks corresponding to the plurality of segments (Zhao fig. 4 shows the point cloud divided into segments according to the categories of the segmentation map);
packing the plurality of segments respectively into geometry maps (Zhang para. 0045 “In some examples, the V-PCC encoder (300) can convert 3D point cloud frames into geometry images, texture images and occupancy maps, and then use video coding techniques to encode the geometry images, texture images and occupancy maps into a bitstream. Generally, a geometry image is a 2D image with pixels filled with geometry values associated with points projected to the pixels, and a pixel filled with a geometry value can be referred to as a geometry sample”, Lee para. 0033-0038 teaches processing a segment of a point cloud separately from the rest); and
encoding the geometry maps into respective sub streams (Zhang para. 0045 “In some examples, the V-PCC encoder (300) can convert 3D point cloud frames into geometry images, texture images and occupancy maps, and then use video coding techniques to encode the geometry images, texture images and occupancy maps into a bitstream”, Cheng [n0043] teaches processing a segment of a point cloud separately from the rest).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas and further in view of Zhang with the additional teachings of Zhang to adapt the system of adaptively compressing certain semantic regions more or less than others to fit the standardized V-PCC system of Zhang. The motivation would have been to use an established standard for point cloud compression to improve compatibility with other devices and systems.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi and Thomas and further in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 8, further comprising:
generating 2D patches respectively for the plurality of segments based on the first pixel wise mask (Zhang [0046] “The patch generation module (306) segments a point cloud into a set of patches”, Cheng [n0043] teaches processing a segment of a point cloud separately from the rest), a 2D patch for a segment including geometry information (Zhang [0046] “The patch generation module (306) segments a point cloud into a set of patches (e.g., a patch is defined as a contiguous subset of the surface described by the point cloud), which may be overlapping or not, such that each patch may be described by a depth field with respect to a plane in 2D space”) and semantic information (Zhao fig. 5 and pg. 5629 col. 1, semantic labels are included in encoding for point cloud compression, where label categories are represented as unsigned integers) of the 2D patch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng and Bogoslavskyi and further in view of Zhang with the additional teachings of Zhao to include semantic category labels in the patches during the process of compression. The motivation would have been to store the findings of the segmentation map (taught by Zhao) during the standardized point cloud compression process (taught by Zhang), so as not to lose that information.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi and Thomas and further in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 7, further comprising:
determining a first quantization parameter for encoding the portion of the point cloud based on the first pixel wise mask (Cheng [n0043] “For semantic regions with a lot of detail (such as face, hands, desktop and window, etc.), a lower compression rate can be used”),
determining a second quantization parameter for encoding a second portion of the point cloud based on a second pixel wise mask in the pixel wise masks, the second pixel wise mask including second pixels that are associated with a second object instance in the object instances (Cheng [n0043] “while for semantic regions with a lot of detail (such as torso, limbs, walls and ground), a higher compression rate can be used.” – this translation appears to contain a typo; one of ordinary skill would understand that the intent was “regions without a lot of detail” in comparison to the previous group), and
when the first object instance includes a human face of a person and the second object instance includes a portion of the person that is not the human face, the first quantization parameter is less than the second quantization parameter (Cheng [n0043]: first group includes “face” and “hands”, second group includes “torso” and “limbs”; compression rate for the first group is stated to be lower than the compression rate for the second group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas and further in view of Zhang with the additional teachings of Cheng to adaptively apply a lower compression to higher-detailed objects and vice versa. The motivation would have been to reduce the size (and consequently memory/bandwidth capacity) of a point cloud as much as possible while still preserving necessary detail and “ensuring the quality of point cloud reconstruction”, as taught by Cheng ([n0003] to [n0004]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas teaches: The method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing the point cloud further comprises: processing the point cloud with the first pixel wise mask by a geometry based point cloud compression (G-PCC) system.
Zhang teaches: wherein the processing the point cloud further comprises: processing the point cloud with the first pixel wise mask by a geometry based point cloud compression (G-PCC) system (para. 0030, para. 0100).
Zhang is analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of point cloud compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas with the teachings of Zhang to use an established standard for point cloud compression. The motivation would have been to improve compatibility with other devices and systems.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas and further in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 11, further comprising:
determining geometry quantization parameters for octree partitioning (Zhang [0141] discusses a parameter for the maximum octree partition depth; [0101] “The octree encoding module (730) is configured to receive filtered positions from the duplicated points removal module (712), and perform an octree-based encoding process to generate a sequence of occupancy codes dial describe a 3D grid of voxels.”) based on the first pixel wise mask (Cheng describes adjusting the size of a voxel grid based on information from a 2D segmentation of a point cloud: [n0044] “In this embodiment, the compression ratio corresponding to each 3D semantic region can be obtained by: establishing a correspondence between semantic information and compression ratio; and determining the compression ratio corresponding to each 3D semantic region based on the correspondence.”; [n0054] “The compression ratio is proportional to the size of the voxel mesh. That is, the higher the compression ratio, the larger the voxel mesh size; the lower the compression ratio, the smaller the voxel mesh size.”); and
performing the octree partitioning based on the geometry quantization parameters (Zhang fig. 9-10, [0116] to [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas and further in view of Zhang with the additional teachings of Zhang to adapt the system of adaptively compressing certain semantic regions more or less than others to fit the standardized G-PCC system of Zhang. The motivation would have been to use an established standard for point cloud compression to improve compatibility with other devices and systems.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao ("Real-Time Scene-Aware LiDAR Point Cloud Compression Using Semantic Prior Representation") in view of Cheng (CN 113870271 A), Bogoslavskyi ("Fast Range Image-Based Segmentation of Sparse 3D Laser Scans for Online Operation"), and Thomas (US 20240203020 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jeppsson et al. (“Efficient Live and on-Demand Tiled HEVC 360 VR Video Streaming.” 2018 IEEE International Symposium on Multimedia (ISM) (Dec 2018), pp. 81-88. https://doi.org/10.1109/ISM.2018.00022; hereinafter “Jeppsson”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas and further in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 11, further comprising:
dividing the point cloud into multiple slices based on the first pixel wise mask (Zhang para. 0068 and 0144 refer to subdivisions of a compressed point cloud bitstream as “slices”; Cheng describes adjusting the size of subdivisions of a point cloud based on information from a 2D segmentation: [n0044] “In this embodiment, the compression ratio corresponding to each 3D semantic region can be obtained by: establishing a correspondence between semantic information and compression ratio; and determining the compression ratio corresponding to each 3D semantic region based on the correspondence.”; [n0054] “The compression ratio is proportional to the size of the voxel mesh. That is, the higher the compression ratio, the larger the voxel mesh size; the lower the compression ratio, the smaller the voxel mesh size.”);
determining encoder parameters respectively for the multiple slices based on respective characteristics (Cheng [n0043] describes selecting different compression ratios depending on the semantic contents of a point cloud region).
The combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas and further in view of Zhang does not explicitly teach: encoding respectively the multiple slices into respective sub streams based on the encoder parameters.
Jeppsson teaches: encoding respectively the multiple slices into respective sub streams based on the encoder parameters (fig. 2 shows high-quality and low-quality tiles being encoded separately, pg. 83 col. 2 “Each stream has one substream (also called a track) per tile…”).
The invention of Jeppsson is considered to be pertinent to the problem faced by the claimed invention because it deals with the issue of encoding a feed of visual data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas and further in view of Zhang with the teachings of Jeppsson to add the functionality of encoding each section of the point cloud with unique parameters into its own substream for the purpose of organizing the bitstream data.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao ("Real-Time Scene-Aware LiDAR Point Cloud Compression Using Semantic Prior Representation") in view of Cheng (CN 113870271 A), Bogoslavskyi ("Fast Range Image-Based Segmentation of Sparse 3D Laser Scans for Online Operation"), and Thomas (US 20240203020 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 20190318488 A1, hereinafter "Lim").
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas teaches: The method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach: wherein the pixel wise masks are used as inputs to a grid of non-cubic voxels.
Lim teaches: wherein the pixel wise masks are used as inputs to a grid of non-cubic voxels ([0075] “For example, the segmenting engine 414 divides a 3D point cloud into multiple mutually exclusive subsets and correlates each point with a subset, such that each point of a 3D point cloud belongs of a particular subset.”; [0076] “In certain embodiments, each subset can correspond to a 3D spatial region. A 3D spatial region is an area in 3D space where points within a particular subset are located. In certain embodiments, the 3D spatial region can be any shape. For example, the shape can be amorphous and form around the points within the 3D spatial region. In another example, the shape can be a circle or sphere. In another example, the shape can be a cuboid. FIG. 7B below illustrates a 3D spatial region resembling a cuboid. In another example, the shape can be a conical or cylindrical. Other shapes can be appreciated by those skilled in the art.”).
Lim is analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of point cloud compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao in view of Cheng, Bogoslavskyi, and Thomas with the teachings of Lim to be able to vary the shape of voxels when compressing a point cloud. The motivation would have been to adapt to the location of points within the cloud and “form around the points within the 3D spatial region” ([0076]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN TOM STATZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/TAMMY GODDARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611