DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Currently, claims 33-42 are now pending and further examined below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "at least one energy storing component configured to store energy supplied by the boost converter and to power the source of negative pressure with the stored energy" in claim 43.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: the at least one energy storing component configured to store energy supplied by the boost converter and to power the source of negative pressure with the stored energy is disclosed as capacitor on instant [0119].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-35 and 37-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askem (US 20150174304) in view of Peters (US 5024668).
Regarding claim 33, Askem discloses a negative pressure wound therapy system comprising: a wound dressing configured to be placed over a wound of a patient (Figs. 1A, 2A: dressing 54, 74); a source of negative pressure configured to provide negative pressure to the wound (Figs. 1A, 2A: pump assembly 52, 72); and an electronic circuit (circuitry of printed circuit board, paras. [0272]-[0273]) comprising: a controller configured to operate the source of negative pressure (Fig. 39: controller 715; paras. [0348]-[0349]; para. [0272], abstract); a power source configured to supply power to the controller (Figs. 1A, 2A: batteries 56, 76; para. [0265]); and an isolation circuit in electrical communication with the power source and the controller (Figs. 61A and 61B; para. [0390]), the isolation circuit configured to operate in a first state in which the isolation circuit prevents application of power to the source of negative pressure (Fig. 61A: para. [0390], sentence 2) and in a second state in which the isolation circuit permits application of power to the source of negative pressure (Fig. 61B: para. [0390], sentence 4), the isolation circuit comprising an activation switch (para. [0390], the physical switch, 1177 in this embodiment) configured to, when activated, cause the isolation circuit to operate in the second state (Fig. 61B: para. [0390], sentence 4). However, Askem fails to explicitly disclose the inclusion of a latching circuit in the isolation circuit.
Peters teaches an analogous medical delivery system with circuitry and an activation switch, the isolation circuit (Fig. 16: analogous switch circuits 477 and 543) further comprising a latching circuit configured to cause the isolation circuit to remain in the second state in response to activation of the activation switch and subsequent deactivation of the activation switch (Fig. 16: 544 and 545; col. 23, lines 44-52). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the isolation circuit switch of Askem by incorporating the addition of the latching circuit, as taught by Peters, in order to allow the state of the activation to be held, without the need to continuously hold down the switch mechanism, and to also protect against accidental shifting of the switch.
Regarding claim 34, Askem in view of Peters teaches the system of claim 33, as described above, wherein the activation switch, when not activated, is configured to cause the latching circuit to not conduct an electrical current (Askem: Fig. 61A: para. [0390], sentence 2; the latching circuit of Peters merely maintains this state), and wherein the activation switch, when activated, is configured to cause the latching circuit to conduct the electrical current (Askem: Fig. 61B: para. [0390], sentence 4; the latching circuit of Peters merely maintains this state).
Regarding claim 35, Askem in view of Peters teaches the system of claim 34, as described above, wherein the activation switch is configured to provide a conductive path for the electrical current to ground (Askem: paras. [0316] and [0318], the negative terminal of the battery being ground).
Regarding claim 37, Askem in view of Peters teaches the system of claim 33, as described above, wherein the electronic circuit further comprises an operation switch configured to activate and pause provision of negative pressure by the source of negative pressure (Askem: paras. [0391]-[0392]).
Regarding claim 38, Askem in view of Peters teaches the system of claim 37, as described above, wherein the electronic circuit is configured to not activate provision of negative pressure by the source of negative pressure when the isolation circuit is in the first state and the operation switch is activated (Askem: para. [0390], the preventions of negative pressure when pump is not powered).
Regarding claim 39, Askem in view of Peters teaches the system of claim 33, as described above, wherein the power source is nonremovable (Askem: para. [0244], printed batteries being nonremovable).
Regarding claim 40, Askem in view of Peters teaches the system of claim 33, as described above, further comprising an indicator configured to provide at least one of an indication that the activation switch has not been activated or an indication that the activation switch has been activated (Askem: Figs. 55 and 59, giving examples of possible indicators for the state of the activation switch; paras. [0378] and [0383]).
Regarding claim 41, Askem in view of Peters teaches the system of claim 33, as described above, wherein the controller is configured to be powered by the power source when the isolation circuit is in the first or second state (Askem: para. [0242]).
Claims 36 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askem (US 20150174304) in view of Peters (US 5024668) in further view of Allen (US 20150100045).
Regarding claim 36, Askem in view of Peters teaches the system of claim 33, as described above, but fails to disclose a boost converter.
Allen teaches an analogous negative wound therapy system, wherein the electronic circuit further comprises a boost converter configured to increase power supplied by the power source and to provide increased power to the source of negative pressure (para. [0343], buck-boost converter). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit of the Askem-Peters device by incorporating the addition of the buck-boost converter as taught by Allen, in order to supply a “smoother” power supply regardless of glitches or fluctuations in the power from the batteries, so that the negative pressure supplied at the wound site can be constant for an effective treatment.
Regarding claim 42, Askem in view of Peters in further view of Allen teaches the system of claim 36, as described above, further comprising at least one energy storing component configured to store energy supplied by the boost converter (of Allen) and to power the source of negative pressure with the stored energy (Askem: paras. [0244] and [0252], capacitors being the energy storing components).
Double Patenting
Claim 33 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,707,564 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claim and the patented claim requires a negative pressure wound therapy system comprising a wound dressing, a source of negative pressure, and an electronic circuit as required by the instant claim. It is clear that all of the limitations of the instant claim are found in the patented claim. The differences between the instant claim and the patented claim lies in the fact that the patented claim include more elements and are thus more specific. Thus, the invention of the patented claim is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of the instant claim. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ 2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the instant claim is anticipated by the patented claim, it is not patentably distinct from the patented claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/28/2025, with respect to the 102 rejections of independent claim 33 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Askem and in further view of Peters. Peters is now relied upon to teach the latching circuit.
For these reasons, claims 33-42 stand rejected under Askem and in further view of Peters and Allen, as recited above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Allen (US 20150100045).
/K.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783