DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 are directed to a system and method for generating a prediction of a trait of the target individual. As described in Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S._, 134 S. Cr. 2347, 110 U.S.P.Q.2d 1976 (2014), a two-step analysis is required in considering the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter. The first step requires determining if the claimed subject matter is directed to a judicial exception. The instant claims require the steps of generating a target feature vector that combines the set of DNA features of the target individual and the one or more non-DNA features. These steps are drawn to a mathematical algorithm or mental steps. Generating a vector that combines data and inputting the vector into a machine learning model, such as logistic regression, may be done by pen and paper. Furthermore, the courts have found mathematical algorithms to be drawn to the judicial exception of an abstract idea (In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20 recite additional mental or mathematical steps or the data that is used in the judicial exception. Thus, the instant claims are drawn to a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The instant claims do not recite an element that reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer or other technology, an element that applies the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment, an element that implements the judicial exception with a particular machine, or an element that effects a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing. The instant claims recite receiving a family tree, accessing a set of DNA features, accessing non-DNA features, and inputting a vector into a machine learning model. However, these are extra-solution data gathering steps. Extra solution data gathering steps are not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The instant claims also recite a system, a graphical user interface, a computing server, processor, memory, and a non-transitory computer readable medium. However, the instant claims do not recite any structural limitations of these elements. The instant claims do not recite a particular machine that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application.
The second part of the analysis requires determining if the claims include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The instant claims recite the additional elements of receiving a family tree, accessing a set of DNA features, accessing non-DNA features, and inputting a vector into a machine learning model. However, these elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering steps (Specification, pages 5-6 and 43-44). The instant claims also recite a system, a graphical user interface, a computing server, processor, memory, and a non-transitory computer readable medium. However, these elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional components of a computer (Specification, pages 5-6 and 43-44). Reciting such well-understood, routine, and conventional elements do not transform a judicial exception into patent eligible subject matter. In addition, the recitation of the specific types of data, to be used in the judicial exception, does not transform the abstract idea into a non-abstract idea. (See buySAFE, Inc. v Google, Inc. 765 F.3d 1350, 112 U.S.P.Q.2d 1093 (Fed.Cir.2014)). Furthermore, the elements taken as a combination are also well-understood, routine, and conventional, since the elements are merely specifying the types of data for a data gathering step. Thus, the instant claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Macpherson et al. (US 2024/0371464 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Macpherson et al. teach a system that includes a graphical user interface configured to receive a family tree defined by the target individua (paragraph [0044])l and comprising a family tree of individuals who are related to the target individual (paragraphs [0055]-[0058]; claim 1); a computing server in communication with the graphical user interface (paragraph [0026]) where the computing serves includes processors, memory, instructions and non-transitory computer readable medium (paragraphs [0023] - [0029]); accessing a set of DNA features of a target individual (paragraph [0039]; claim 1); accessing one or more non-DNA features from data associated with the family tree (paragraph [0064]; claim 1); generating a target feature vector that combines the set of DNA features of the target individual and one or more non-DNA features (paragraph [0079]; claim 1), and inputting the target feature vector to a machine learning model to generate a prediction of a trait of the target individual (paragraphs [0079]-[0085]).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Macpherson et al. teach identifying community members who belong to the genetic community of the target individual (paragraph [0040]); determining a community prediction based on a prevalence of the trait among community members (paragraph [0040]); and revising or confirming the prediction of the trait based on the community prediction (paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 3 and 12, Macpherson et al. teach where the set of DNA features comprise a subset of DNA features that are disproportionately associated with related individuals in the target individual’s genetic community (paragraph [0038]) and a non-DNA feature that are disproportionately associated with the related individuals (paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 20, Macpherson et al. teach normalizing a DNA feature or non-DNA feature (paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Macpherson et al. teach where the trait is a disease (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Macpherson et al. teach where the machine learning model is a support vector machine (paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Macpherson et al. teach where the DNA feature is determined based on the length of identity-by-descent segments (paragraphs [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Macpherson et al. teach the non-DNA features may include age or ethnicity (paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Macpherson et al. teach that the prediction includes the probability that the target individual has a trait (paragraphs [0036] and [0037]).
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 10,896,742. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims of the US patent require all the limitations of the instant claims with additional limitations. The subject matter of the instant claims encompasses the US patent. Thus, the claims at issue are not patentably distinct from each other.
6. Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,735,290. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims of the US patent require all the limitations of the instant claims with additional limitations. The subject matter of the instant claims encompasses the US patent. Thus, the claims at issue are not patentably distinct from each other.
Contact Information
/JERRY LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685