DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1-3 have been amended.
Claim 7 has been canceled.
Claim 21 has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiino [US Pub # 2013/0180794] in view of Chauvrat [US Pub # 2016/0201786]
Regarding claim 1: Shiino shows a steering system for a vehicle, the steering system comprising: a rack bar (4) having end portions connectable to vehicle wheels, respectively; a motor (5) configured to provide force; and a gear assembly (6) connected between the rack bar and the motor to transmit the force provided by the motor to the rack bar (4), wherein the gear assembly includes: an input shaft (60) operably connected to the motor (5) to receive the force from the motor (5); an output shaft (2+3) operably connected to the rack bar (4) to transmit the force received through the input shaft (60) to the rack bar (4);
a reduction gear (61) provided between the input shaft (60) and the output shaft (2+3);
a gear housing (12+13) accommodating the input shaft. the reduction gear (61). and the output shaft (2+3);
a first bearing (64) provided between the first body of the input shaft of the gear assembly and
the inner circumferential surface of the input opening of the gear housing
Shiino does not explicitly disclose a first oil seal provided between the input shaft of the gear assembly and the gear housing; and a damper configured to support between the first oil seal and the first bearing, the first oil seal (25) has a ring shape. However Chauvrat shows a first oil seal (25, for grease lubricant) provided between the input shaft (4) of the gear assembly and the gear housing (3); and a damper (10) configured to support between the first oil seal (25) and the first bearing (5), the first oil seal (25) has a ring shape.
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have provided Shiino device with oil seal to prevent leaking and foreign object intrusion and a damper to reduce backlash and vibration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 8-13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiino [US Pub # 2013/0180794] in view of Chauvrat [US Pub # 2016/0201786] in further view of Watanabe [US Pub # 2009/0250288].
Regarding claims 3-6, 8-13, 19 and 20: Shiino shows wherein: the gear assembly further includes a gear housing (12+13) accommodating the input shaft (60), the reduction gear (61), and the output shaft (2+3); the gear housing includes an input opening such that at least a portion of the input shaft (60) of the gear assembly passes through the input opening of the gear housing (see fig 3) and is exposed to the motor (5), and an output opening such that at least a portion of the output shaft (2+3) of the gear assembly passes through the output opening of the gear housing and is exposed to the rack bar (4); the input shaft includes: a first screw portion (600) on an outer circumferential surface of the input shaft (60), wherein first gear teeth of the first screw portion (600) of the input shaft (60) are engaged with the reduction gear (61), and a first body extending from the first screw portion of the input shaft (60) toward the motor (5);
wherein: the output shaft includes: a second screw portion (30) on an outer circumferential surface of the output shaft, wherein second gear teeth of the second screw portion (30) are engaged with the rack bar (4), and a second body extending from the second screw portion (30) of the output shaft toward the reduction gear (61, see fig 2);
the gear assembly further includes: a first bearing (64) provided between the first body of the input shaft of the gear assembly and the inner circumferential surface of the input opening of the gear housing, wherein the gear assembly further includes a second bearing (32) provided between the second body of the output shaft (2+3) of the gear assembly and the inner circumferential surface of the output opening of the gear housing.
the input shaft (60) comprises a worm shaft (see fig 3); and the reduction gear comprises a worm wheel (61) rotatably engaged with the worm shaft of the input shaft (60) and rotatably engaged with the output shaft (2+3, see fig 2).
a motor housing (13b) accommodating the motor; and a first O-ring (130) provided between the gear housing and the motor housing (see fig 2).
an electronic control unit (8) configured to control the motor (5); an angle sensor ([0030]) configured to detect rotation of the output shaft of the gear assembly; and a sensor connector (118) electrically connecting the angle sensor to the electronic control unit, wherein: the gear housing further includes a detection opening formed at a side of the gear housing opposite to another side of the gear housing in which the output opening of the gear housing is formed, and a sensor cover (11b) covering the detection sensor; and the angle sensor and the sensor connector are mounted to the sensor cover. A third O-ring (93) provided between the gear housing and the sensor cover (11b).
Shino does not explicitly show the oil seals include a first oil seal provided between the input shaft of the gear assembly and the gear housing and a second oil seal provided between the output shaft of the gear assembly and the gear housing.
the first oil seal is interposed between the input shaft of the gear assembly and an inner circumferential surface of the input opening of the gear housing; and the second oil seal is interposed between the output shaft of the gear assembly and an inner circumferential surface of the output opening of the gear housing.
and the first oil seal is interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the first body of the input shaft of the gear assembly and the inner circumferential surface of the input opening of the gear housing.
and the second oil seal is interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the second body of the output shaft of the gear assembly and the inner circumferential surface of the output opening of the gear housing; and a damper provided between the first oil seal and the first bearing.
the gear assembly further includes a first sealing plug mounted in the input opening of the gear housing or on the first body of the input shaft of the gear assembly such that the first sealing plug supports the first oil seal
However Chauvrat shows the oil seals include a first oil seal (25, see fig 3) provided between the input shaft (4) of the gear assembly and the gear housing (3)
the first oil seal (25) is interposed between the input shaft (4) of the gear assembly and an inner circumferential surface of the input opening of the gear housing (3);
and the first oil (25) seal is interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the first body of the input shaft (4) of the gear assembly and the inner circumferential surface of the input opening of the gear housing (3).
and a damper (10) provided between the first oil seal and the first bearing. wherein the gear assembly further includes a first sealing plug (21) mounted in the input opening of the gear housing or on the first body of the input shaft (4) of the gear assembly such that the first sealing plug supports the first oil seal (25).
Shiino and Chauvrat do not show a second oil seal provided between the output shaft of the gear assembly and the gear housing, and the second oil seal is interposed between the output shaft of the gear assembly and an inner circumferential surface of the output opening of the gear housing. The second oil seal is interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the second body of the output shaft of the gear assembly and the inner circumferential surface of the output opening of the gear housing; a recessed groove is formed on a surface of the second oil seal facing the second bearing so that the second oil seal does not contact an inner ring of the second bearing. wherein the gear assembly further includes a second sealing plug mounted in the output opening of the gear housing to support the second oil seal, wherein a recessed groove is formed on a surface of the second oil seal facing the second bearing so that the second oil seal does not contact an inner ring of the second bearing.
However Watanabe shows a second oil seal (74) provided between the output shaft (28) of the gear assembly and the gear housing, and the second oil seal (74) is interposed between the output shaft (28) of the gear assembly and an inner circumferential surface of the output opening of the gear housing. The second oil seal (74) is interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the second body of the output shaft (28) of the gear assembly and the inner circumferential surface of the output opening of the gear housing; a recessed groove ( the groove where the seal 74 mounted on, see fig 3) is formed on a surface of the second oil seal (74) facing the second bearing (64) so that the second oil seal does not contact an inner ring of the second bearing (64). wherein the gear assembly further includes a second sealing plug mounted in the output opening of the gear housing to support the second oil seal (74). wherein a recessed groove (see fig 3) is formed on a surface of the second oil seal (74) facing the second bearing so that the second oil seal does not contact an inner ring of the second bearing.
It would have been obvious to some having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have added first oil seal and second oil seal to the input shaft and the output shaft to prevent oil leak and foreign objects intrusion.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiino [US Pub # 2013/0180794] in view of Chauvrat [US Pub # 2016/0201786] in further view of Watanabe [US Pub # 2009/0250288] in further view of Ernstson [US Pub # 2020/0406961].
Regarding claim 14: Shiino shows wherein: the worm wheel of the reduction gear (61) includes worm gear teeth provided on an outer circumferential surface of the worm wheel; Shiino does not explicitly disclose that the worm gear teeth have a polyamide material. However Ernstson teaches the worm gear teeth for steering system have a polyamide material (see claim 21).
It would have been obvious to some having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have made worm gear teeth with polyamide material to reduce noise, weight and have resistance to corrosion and wear.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiino [US Pub # 2013/0180794] in view of Chauvrat [US Pub # 2016/0201786] in further view of Watanabe [US Pub # 2009/0250288] in view of Didier [GB 2369864]
Regarding claims 15-17: Shiino shows a rack bar housing (see fig 9) including a hollow to have an inner accommodation space for accommodating the rack bar (4); and stretchable bellows (16a, 16b) mounted at each of end portions of the rack bar housing,
Shiino does not explicitly show wherein the rack bar housing includes a vent hole passing through the rack bar housing and configured to allow an air flow between an outside of the rack bar housing and the inner accommodation space of the rack bar housing.
wherein the rack bar housing further includes a cap member mounted in the vent hole and configured to allow the air flow and block inflow of foreign materials from the outside of the rack bar housing to the inner accommodation space of the rack bar housing.
wherein the rack bar housing further includes a filter member mounted in the vent hole and configured to allow the air flow and prevent foreign materials or moisture from passing through the filter member. However Didier shows the rack bar housing includes a vent hole (20, see fig 5) passing through the rack bar housing and configured to allow an air flow between an outside of the rack bar housing and the inner accommodation space of the rack bar housing.
wherein the rack bar housing further includes a cap member (24A) mounted in the vent hole (20) and configured to allow the air flow and block inflow of foreign materials from the outside of the rack bar housing to the inner accommodation space of the rack bar housing.
wherein the rack bar housing further includes a filter member (21, see fig 5) mounted in the vent hole and configured to allow the air flow and prevent foreign materials or moisture from passing through the filter member (21).
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have added a vent to prevent internal pressure buildup resulted from movement of steering wheel components.
Regarding claim 18: Shiino shows a second O-ring (129) 9provided between the gear housing and the rack bar housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/30/202025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant argument that Shiino, Chauvrat and Watanabe, individually or in combination, do not disclose, teach or suggest "a reduction gear provided between the input shaft and the output shaft; a gear housing accommodating the input shaft, the reduction gear, and the output shaft; a first oil seal provided between the input shaft of the gear assembly and the gear housing; a first bearing provided between the first body of the input shaft of the gear assembly and the inner circumferential surface of the input opening of the gear housing; and a damper configured to support between the first oil seal and the first bearing" as recited in claim 1
Figure 2 of Shinno shows a reduction gear (61) provided between the input shaft (60) and the output shaft (2+3); a gear housing (12+13) accommodating the input shaft. the reduction gear (61). and the output shaft (2+3);
Figure 3 of Chauvret shows a first oil seal (25) provided between the input shaft of the gear assembly and the gear housing; and a damper (10) configured to support between the first oil seal and the first bearing"
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have provided Shiino device with oil seal to prevent leaking and foreign object intrusion and a damper to reduce backlash and vibration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, US 6543569 shows steering system with gear reducer (110) input shaft (131) and the output shat and rack bar (134).
US Pat # 6,959,781 also shows steering system with gear reducer (232) input shaft (221) and the output shat (140) and rack bar (160) and oil seal (261).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAKARIA ELAHMADI/
Examiner, Art Unit 3618