Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the second to last line of claim 1 Applicant uses the phrase, “end portions of the first front cowl portion have, in a side view of the saddle-type vehicle, an inverted wing shape that is obtained by turning an airfoil of a flying object upside down, with lower portions of the end portions curving so as to be convex downward.” This phrase is found to be vague and indefinite. It is not clear what shapes would or would not be an inverted wing shape. It is not clear what view of the wing Applicant is deriving the shape from (i.e., plan view, elevation view, cross-sectional view . . . etc.)
Applicant appears to be referring to this shape taken from Fig. 5 of Applicant’s drawings:
Krishna et al. disclose what is known as a general airfoil shape:
Inverting this image (i.e., turning the image upside down) gives:
Compared with the disclosed shape:
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (lower portions curved downward)]
While the two shapes each have lower portions of end portions that are convex downwards, the two shapes are not that similar. Thus, the above language used to define the shape has no clear metes and bounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeshita et al. (JP 2007/0024089).
With respect to claim 1, Takeshita et al. disclose front cowl structure of a saddle-type vehicle comprising:
a first front cowl portion 51 that covers a vehicle body from a front side (as shown in Fig. 3 of Takeshita et al.);
a second front cowl portion 63 that covers the vehicle body from the front side below the first front cowl portion 27 (as shown in Fig. 6 of Takeshita et al.); and
a concave portion 57 that extends in a front-rear direction of the saddle-type vehicle, connects the first front cowl portion 51 and the second front cowl portion 63 with each other, and is sunken inward in a vehicle widthwise direction (as shown in Fig. 3 of Takeshita et al.), wherein the concave portion extends outward in the vehicle widthwise direction and inclines upward as the concave portion extends rearward (as shown in Figs. 3-4 of Takeshita et al.), and
wherein end portions of the first front cowl portion, in a side view of the saddle-type vehicle, an inverted wing shape that is obtained by turning an airfoil of a flying object upside down, with lower portions of the end portions curving so as to be convex downward as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 4 of Takeshita et al.:
[AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (end portion with inverted wing shape, end portion curving downwards (identical end portion on other side of vehicle))]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshita et al. (JP 2007/0024089), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shikanai et al. (US 2023/0202602).
With respect to claim 4, Takeshita et al. disclose the claimed front cowl structure except for the projection extending upward on an outer side of the second front cowl portion. 4. However, Shikanai et al. teaches a similar front cowl structure including a first front cowl portion, a second front cowl portion, and a concave portion connecting the first front cowl portion and the second front cowl portion as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 4 of Shikanai et al.:
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (concave portion)][AltContent: textbox (second front cowl portion)][AltContent: textbox (first front cowl portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Shikanai et al. further teach that a projection 50 extending upward is provided on an outer side of the second front cowl portion in the vehicle widthwise direction (as shown above), and the projection extends outward in the vehicle widthwise direction and incline upward as the projection extends rearward (as shown above).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Shikanai et al. with the front cowl structure disclosed by Takeshita et al. for the advantage of reducing the impact of airflow on the vehicle rider (Shikanai, paragraph [0022]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshita et al. (JP 2007/0024089), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takemura et al. (US 2003/0062740).
With respect to claim 5, Takeshita et al. disclose the claimed front cowl structure except for the second slit portions that discharge rearward the running air flowing along the first front cowl portion. However, Takemura et al. teach a similar front cowl structure including a first front cowl, a second front cowl, and a concave portion as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 3 of Takemura et al.:
[AltContent: textbox (second front cowl)][AltContent: textbox (first front cowl)][AltContent: textbox (concave portion)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Takemura et a. further teach second slit portions 33B, 33E that discharge reward the running air flowing along the first front cowl portion as shown above (Takemura et al., paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Takemura et al. with the front cowl structure disclosed by Takeshita et al. for the advantage of preventing the space between the driver and the upper cowl from becoming negative (Takemura et al., paragraph [0045]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive of any error in the above rejection. .
Applicant has amended claim 1 to further define the shape of the first front cowl portion. However, as outlined in the above 112(b) rejection, the shape defined is still considered vague and indefinite. IN the 112(b) rejection, Krishna et al. is referenced to show what might be considered an airfoil shape. However, in actuality, there are many different airfoil shapes as shown by the image in the Century of Flight article, “History of The Airfoil.” This image, reproduced below:
Shows some of the variety of different airfoil shapes that exist. Here are the images turned upside down (inverted) and compared with the claimed invention:
While the shapes may have similarities, the disclosed invention does not appear to closely resemble many inverted airfoil shapes. Therefore, the claimed language does not clearly set any metes and bounds on what shape the end portions of the first front cowl portion have, and the 112(b) rejection has been maintained.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 4 of Takeshita, to the extent the claim language can be understood, shows an inverted airfoil shape with lower portions of the end portions curving so as to be convex downwards. Thus, the prior art rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Daniel J Colilla/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612