DETAILED ACTION
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 9 June 2026 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Claims 1-8 are currently under examination.
Claims 9-13 are currently withdrawn.
Status of Rejections
The rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are herein maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eberhard et al (EP0084815 A2 with citations drawn towards the translation provided via Espacenet) in view of Lach et al (US 2023/0175685 A1).
As to claim 1, Eberhard discloses a method comprising:
- generating at least one product gas by an electrolysis reaction by an electrolyzer (#14 [0012]);
-providing a water-containing medium to generate steam (Feedwater tank 9 [0010]);
- supplying a water-containing medium to a steam generating device, and generating steam from the water- containing medium in the steam generating device (#2 [0010]);
- transferring at least part of the waste heat generated during the electrolysis reaction to the water-containing medium by means of a heat transfer medium before the water-containing medium is supplied to the degassing device (#8 [0018] via conduits 14b.
Eberhard fails to explicitly disclose.
- supplying the water-containing medium to a degassing device, and degassing the water-containing medium in the degassing device;
- supplying a portion of the steam generated in the steam generating device to the degassing device, wherein degassing of the water- containing medium is effected by the supplied steam;
Lach disclose a steam generator (#12) comprising a deaerator (#38) which removes gasses before supplying the water to the inlet of the steam generator ([0046]) where a portion of the steam generated in the steam generating device is supplies to the degassing device, wherein degassing of the water- containing medium is effected by the supplied steam ([0043],[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a deaerator and steam supply to the deaerator as taught by Lach on the water feed line in Eberhard in order to remove non-condensable gases and heat the water before entry into the steam generator (Lach [0045]).
As to claim 2, Eberhard discloses wherein the water- containing medium is provided in the form of a condensate by condensation of the steam after use of the steam in a steam user. (Fig. 1 # 6 condensate to #7 pump through 8 into water tank 9).
As to claim 3, Eberhard discloses wherein the waste heat is transferred to the condensate (Fig. 1 #14b to #8).
As to claims 4 and 5, Eberhard discloses wherein the transfer of waste heat by means of the heat transfer medium is effected by a heat exchanger (#8 preheater which necessarily exchanges the heat with 14b) to the make-up water, producing a preheated make-up water (via transfer to 9 which becomes the make up water for the steam generator 2).
As to claims 7 and 8, Eberhard discloses wherein a first portion of the heat transfer medium is used to transfer waste heat to the water-containing medium, and a second portion of the heat transfer medium is re-cooled and afterwards used to cool the electrolyser. (Fig. 1 via 14b going from the electrolyzer and 14b returning to the electrolyzer via coolant pump 14c) wherein the heat transfer medium is re-cooled after the waste heat has been transferred to the water- containing medium and is afterwards used to cool the electrolyser. (via piping 14b to electrolyzer).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eberhard, as modified by Lach, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Rueger et al (US 2018/0287179 A1).
As to claim 6, Eberhard, as modified by Lach, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the transfer of waste heat by means of the heat transfer medium is effected by a heat pump to a mixture of the preheated make-up water and the condensate.
Rueger discloses coupling a heat pump (#64) to a water feed line (#51) utilizing low temperature heat to preheat feed water into a steam generator (#53 Fig. 6 [0123]).
Thus the prior art Eberhard, as modified by Lach, differs only by the specific type of heat transfer means. The specific use of heat exchangers are known from Rueger for use with electrolysis systems and steam generators.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a heat pump as taught by Rueger to preheat the feedwater in Eberhard, as modified by Lach, because they are compact units which provides the predictable result of utilizing low temperature heat to preheat feedwater for a steam generator (See MPEP 2144.07 and 2143 A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Lach does not support the citations provided in the Non-Final Rejection discussing the teaching of Lach, it is not clear what portions Applicant contends is not taught. Applicant provides a partial citation of paragraphs [0043] and [0045], which leaving off citation of [0046] which explicitly states the water exits the deaerator into a feedwater inlet to the boiler (=steam generating device). In response to Applicant’ argument that the proposed combination places the deaerator after the pre-heater and that there is no reason to modify Eberhard to water that was already pre-heated, it is first noted that the proposed combination does not provide a specific location either before or after preheated water, as such a distinction is not necessary. Secondly, the motivation further provides reason to provide the deaerator to remove non-condensable gases, of which there is no argument against presented. Lastly, Applicant’s argument would teach away from Applicant’s own disclosure in which the deaerator feed water is heated in the deaerator (pg. 11 lines 21-22 of the as filed instant specification).
In response to Applicant’s argument that the Office has not accounted for the element of “wherein degassing of the water containing medium is effected by the supplied steam”, this argument is not persuasive as it is clear the steam which is fed to the deaerator in Lach and subsequently provided to the water-feed inlet. The recitation of “effected” is not afforded any special effect or the like with respect to how the water containing medium is effected.
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795