DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12-4-2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12-4-2025 have been fully considered. As the arguments are directed towards the claims as amended, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12, 18, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPat, U.S. Patent Number 8,698,058, published April 15, 2014 in view of Golan, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2006/0238403, published October 26, 2006.
As per claims 1, 19 and 20, LaPat discloses a system, comprising:
a first transmission system, wherein the first transmission system is configured to: determine a location of a first target; provide a first radio frequency (RF) transmitted beam toward a first target object; and provide an indication to a receiver separate from the transmission system regarding one or more of the first RF transmitted beam and the first target object (LaPat, Col. 4, lines 29-45).
LaPat fails to expressly disclose directing a beam to the target.
Golan teaches directing a beam to a target, tracking the target and communicating with a receiver (¶46).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to direct and track the target in order to gain the benefit of reacting to any significant changes over time to ensure intercept.
As per claims 2 and 3, LaPat as modified by Golan discloses the system of claim 1 where the transmission system is ground based and uses an energy beam (LaPat, Fig. 3).
As per claims 9 and 10, LaPat as modified by Golan further discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the indication is provided to an airborne interceptor (LaPat, Fig. 3 and Col. 4, lines 29-45).
As per claim 11, LaPat as modified by Golan further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first transmission system tracks the first target object and dynamically updates a directing of the first RF transmitted beam toward the first target object based on a tracking of the first target object (LaPat, Col. 4, lines 43-47 where continuous updates are provided and Golan, ¶46).
As per claim 12, LaPat as modified by Golan further discloses the system of claim 1, comprising: a second transmission system, wherein: the second transmission system is configured to provide a second RF transmitted beam toward a second target object; and the second RF transmitted beam has a different signature than the first RF transmitted beam (LaPat, Fig. 3 and Col. 5, lines where the second beam is different as it comes from a different transmission system and is distinguishable due to the clock synchronization).
As per claim 18, LaPat as modified by Golan further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first transmission system provides the indication regarding one or more of the first RF transmitted beam and the first target object via a communication channel established between the first transmission system and an interceptor (LaPat, Col. 3, lines 35-62).
Claim(s) 4-8 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPat and Golan as applied to claims 1-3, 9-12, 18, 19 and 20 above, and further in view of Harman, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0021194, published January 24, 2013.
As per claims 4 and 5, LaPat as modified by Golan discloses the system of claim 1 but fails to expressly disclose a frequency range.
Harman teaches operation in the GHz range (¶22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the frequency range limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claims 6-8, LaPat as modified by Golan and Harman disclose modulation of the transmission (¶9-10).
It is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine if modulation of a signal is desired or necessary.
As per claim 13, LaPat as modified by Golan and Harman further discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the second transmission system is airborne (LaPat, Fig. 3).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to be airborne, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by LaPat in intercepting targets.
As per claim 14, LaPat as modified by Golan and Harman further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the first transmission system identifies a plurality of target objects; and the first RF transmitted beam is transmitted by: modulating the first RF transmitted beam; directing a first modulation towards the first target object; and directing a second modulation towards a second target object (LaPat, Fig. 3 and Harman, ¶9-10).
As per claim 15, LaPat as modified by Golan and Harman further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the first transmission system is further configured to receive from a detection system an indication that the first target object is detected; and the first RF transmitted beam is directed to the first target object in response to the first transmission system receiving the indication of the first target object being detected (LaPat, Col. 4, lines 14-23 where commands are issued by the RCCS).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPat and Golan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Halbert, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0285158, published October 5, 2017.
As per claim 16, LaPat as modified by Golan discloses the system of claim 1 including detection of targets and provide indication to the interceptor (Col. 4, lines 29-45) but fails to explicitly disclose interrogation of the object.
Halbert teaches radar target interrogation (¶73).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to interrogate in order to gain the obvious benefit of determining if the object is friendly.
As per claim 17, LaPat as modified by Golan and Halbert discloses the system of claim 16, wherein: the detection system is further configured to: in response to detecting a plurality of objects, determine priorities for the plurality of objects; and the first transmission system is caused to target the plurality of objects in an order based at least in part on the priorities for the plurality of objects (LaPat, Col. 4, lines 50-55 where the best is indicated).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646