DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/06//2026 has been entered.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are amended.
Claims 1-3,5-10,12-17 and 19-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, the term “precessing and overlap associated with receiving other returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by a second ultrasonic transmitter in the operating environment of the ultrasonic transducer are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles due to non-receipt of a subset of the other returned signals in some of the randomized second portions of the listening windows where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing, and thus the corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the other returned signals is also eliminated or reduced” render the claim indefinite.
For starters it is unclear how the returned signals are associated with a second ultrasonic transmitter. This can be either filtering for certain frequencies or detection of signature pulse/ping/chirp or even time windows. A person of ordinary skill would not be able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed limitation in order to avoid infringement.
The phrase regarding overlap between signals from the moving object and of the subset of the returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by the second ultrasonic transmitter are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles is also indefinite. This appears more like a black box claiming an end result rather than a structural/functional details. Any changes or randomization or optimization that helps would read on the claim. A person of ordinary skill would not be able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed limitation in order to avoid infringement.
The phase regarding corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the ultrasonic signals emitted by the second ultrasonic transducer are also eliminated or reduced is also similarly indefinite as it appears to arrive at a result by claiming inputs into a black box rather than claiming the actual structural/functional details. Any filtering would read on the claim. A person of ordinary skill would not be able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed limitation in order to avoid infringement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasan(WO 0245998 A2) in view of Boozer (US 4,845,682 A) and Felch (US 20170076581 A1) and further evidenced by Schwab (US 20200264303 A1) or Gounalis (US 7358887 B2) or Garlepp (US 10539539 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Hasan teaches an ultrasonic transducer configured to repeatedly emit ultrasonic pulses during transmit periods which are interspersed with listening windows [Fig 4 has transducer #34; Page 9; Lines 30-35 has Fig 5 with timing diagram for pulses; Page 10; Lines 20-30 has one or many pulses], wherein each sequential pair of the transmit periods is separated by a single listening window of the listening windows[Fig 5 and Page 9; Lines 30-35 has time between pulses meaning listening window], and wherein during a fixed portion of a listening window of the listening windows the ultrasonic transducer is configured to receive returned signals corresponding to an emitted ultrasonic pulse of the ultrasonic pulses which was transmitted during a transmit period of the transmit periods that immediately preceded the listening window[Page 8; Lines 25-40 has burst followed by receiving signal; Page 9, Lines 30-40 have varying times];
and a processor coupled with the ultrasonic transducer and configured to[Fig 4 has processor #62]:
randomize, by the processor, an overall length of each listening window of the listening windows[#112 and #180 in Fig 8; See also Page 9; Lines 30-35 for random interpulse; Page 8; Lines 20-25 has random delay by processor];….. wherein during any randomly adjusted second portion which is greater than zero in time length the ultrasonic transducer does nothing[Page 9, Lines 30-40 have varying times, Claim 11 teaches listening meaning any listening period would be a time greater than zero where the transducer does not transmit and is doing nothing]
direct, by the processor, filtering of returned signals received during a plurality of the randomized listening windows to achieve filtered returned signals[Abstract; Page 9 Lines 25 -30 has histogram using sliding window; Fig 9 is flowchart of filtering ultrasound. See also claim 1 for filtering; See also Page 11, Lines 20-35]; and
detect, by the processor using the filtered returned signals, a moving object in a field of view of the ultrasonic transducer... [Abstract; Claim 1 concern object detection based on filtered signals and a processor]
Hasan does not explicitly teach wherein each listening window of the listening windows comprises the fixed portion and a second portion which is adjusted plus or minus in time length by a random delay period, wherein a minimum adjusted time length and a maximum adjusted time length of the second portion are defined by a sensing cycle rate of the ultrasonic transducer,…..
wherein both precessing and overlap associated with receiving other returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by a second ultrasonic transmitter in the operating environment of the ultrasonic transducer are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles due to non-receipt of a subset of the other returned signals in some of the randomized second portions of the listening windows where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing, and thus the corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the other returned signals is also eliminated or reduced.[Though any change in the listening windows that optimizes pickup or not picking up signals would read on the claim]
Boozer teaches that wherein each listening window of the listening windows comprises the fixed portion and a second portion which is adjusted plus or minus in time length by a random delay period, wherein a minimum adjusted time length and a maximum adjusted time length of the second portion are defined by a sensing cycle rate of the ultrasonic transducer and wherein during any randomly adjusted second portion which is greater than zero in time length the ultrasonic transducer does nothing [Col 5 Lines 50-65 has constant or varied repetition rate varied meaning with or without randomization; Col 6 Lines 1 -5 has minimum time being fixed meaning other randomization is varied; Additionally, any listening period would be a time greater than zero where the transducer does not transmit and is doing nothing]…..
wherein both precessing and overlap associated with receiving other returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by a second ultrasonic transmitter in the operating environment of the ultrasonic transducer are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles due to non-receipt of a subset of the other returned signals in some of the randomized second portions of the listening windows where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing, and thus the corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the other returned signals is also eliminated or reduced.[ Col 5 Lines 50-65 has constant or varied repetition rate varied meaning with or without randomization; Col 6 Lines 1 -5 has minimum time being fixed meaning other randomization is varied;]
Felch teaches wherein both precessing and overlap associated with receiving other returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by a second ultrasonic transmitter in the operating environment of the ultrasonic transducer are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles due to non-receipt of a subset of the other returned signals in some of the randomized second portions of the listening windows where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing, and thus the corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the other returned signals is also eliminated or reduced.[0248 has random arrangement of listening windows to prevent signal interference meaning it reads on the claim of not having signals from other transmitters during the same listening window]
Gounalis [Col 17, lines 40-45 has idle period], Garlepp[Co] 25 Lines 10-15 has idle period] and Schwab [0104 has sleep or idle mode] all also have periods greater than zero in time length where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic device in Hasan in view of the change in randomization in Boozer and avoiding having signal interference in the same listening windows in Felch in order to optimize listening window.
Additionally, it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, Hasan teaches an ultrasonic transducer configured to repeatedly emit ultrasonic pulses during transmit periods which are interspersed with listening windows[Fig 4 has transducer #34; Page 9; Lines 30-35 has Fig 5 with timing diagram for pulses; Page 10; Lines 20-30 has one or many pulses], wherein each sequential pair of the transmit periods is separated by a single listening window of the listening windows[Fig 5 and Page 9; Lines 30-35 has time between pulses meaning listening window], and wherein during a fixed portion of a listening window of the listening windows the ultrasonic transducer is configured to receive returned signals corresponding to an emitted ultrasonic pulse of the ultrasonic pulses which was transmitted during a transmit period of the transmit periods which immediately preceded the listening window[Page 8; Lines 25-40 has burst followed by receiving signal; Page 9, Lines 30-40 have varying times];
and a sensor processor coupled with the ultrasonic transducer and configured to[Fig 4 has processor #62]:
randomize, by the sensor processor, an overall length of each listening window of the listening windows[#112 and #180 in Fig 8; See also Page 9; Lines 30-35 for random interpulse; Page 8; Lines 20-25 has random delay by processor]….. and wherein during any randomly adjusted second portion which is greater than zero in time length the ultrasonic transducer does nothing[Page 9, Lines 30-40 have varying times, Claim 11 teaches listening meaning any listening period would be a time greater than zero where the transducer does not transmit and is doing nothing];
direct, by the sensor processor, filtering of returned signals received during a plurality of the randomized listening windows to achieve filtered returned signals[ Abstract; Page 9 Lines 25- 30 has histogram using sliding window; Fig 9 is flowchart of filtering ultrasound. See also claim 1 for filtering; See also Page 11, Lines 20-35]; and
detect, by the sensor processor using the filtered returned signals, a moving object in a field of view of the ultrasonic transducer. [Abstract; Claim 1 concern object detection based on filtered signals and a processor]…
Hasan does not explicitly teach wherein each listening window of the listening windows comprises the fixed portion and a second portion which is adjusted plus or minus in time length by a random delay period, wherein a minimum adjusted time length and a maximum adjusted time length of the second portion are defined by a sensing cycle rate of the ultrasonic transducer…..
wherein both precessing and overlap associated with receiving other returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by a second ultrasonic transmitter in the operating environment of the ultrasonic transducer are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles due to non-receipt of a subset of the other returned signals in some of the randomized second portions of the listening windows where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing, and thus the corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the other returned signals is also eliminated or reduced.[Though any change in the listening windows that optimizes pickup or not picking up signals would read on the claim]
Boozer teaches that wherein each listening window of the listening windows comprises the fixed portion and a second portion which is adjusted plus or minus in time length by a random delay period, and wherein a minimum adjusted time length and a maximum adjusted time length of the second portion are defined by a sensing cycle rate of the ultrasonic transducer and wherein during any randomly adjusted second period which is greater than zero in time length the ultrasonic transducer does nothing [Col 5 Lines 50-65 has constant or varied repetition rate varied meaning with or without randomization; Col 6 Lines 1-5 has minimum time being fixed meaning other randomization is varied; Additionally any listening period would be a time greater than zero where the transducer does not transmit and is doing nothing]
wherein both precessing and overlap associated with receiving other returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by a second ultrasonic transmitter in the operating environment of the ultrasonic transducer are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles due to non-receipt of a subset of the other returned signals in some of the randomized second portions of the listening windows where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing, and thus the corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the other returned signals is also eliminated or reduced.[ Col 5 Lines 50-65 has constant or varied repetition rate varied meaning with or without randomization; Col 6 Lines 1-5 has minimum time being fixed meaning other randomization is varied;]
Felch teaches wherein both precessing and overlap associated with receiving other returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by a second ultrasonic transmitter in the operating environment of the ultrasonic transducer are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles due to non-receipt of a subset of the other returned signals in some of the randomized second portions of the listening windows where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing, and thus the corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the other returned signals is also eliminated or reduced.[0248 has random arrangement of listening windows to prevent signal interference meaning it reads on the claim of not having signals from other transmitters during the same listening window]
Gounalis [Col 17, lines 40-45 has idle period], Garlepp[C 25 Lines 10-15 has idle period] and Schwab [0104 has sleep or idle mode] all also have periods greater than zero in time length where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic device in Hasan in view of the change in randomization in Boozer and avoiding having signal interference in the same listening windows in Felch in order to optimize listening window.
Additionally, it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 15, Hasan teaches controlling, by a processor[Fig 4 has processor #62], the ultrasonic transducer to repeatedly emit ultrasonic pulses during transmit periods which are interspersed with listening windows[Fig 4 has transducer #34; Page 9; Lines 30-35 has Fig 5 with timing diagram for pulses; Page 10; Lines 20-30 has one or many pulses], wherein each sequential pair of the transmit periods is separated by a single listening window of the listening windows[Page 5 and Page 9; Lines 30-35 has time between pulses meaning listening window], and wherein during a fixed portion of a listening window, of the listening windows, the ultrasonic transducer is configured to receive returned signals corresponding to an emitted ultrasonic pulse of the ultrasonic pulses which was transmitted during a transmit period of the transmit periods that immediately preceded the listening window[Page 8; Lines 25-40 has burst followed by receiving signal; Page 9, Lines 30-40 have varying times];
randomizing, by the processor, an overall length of each listening window of the listening windows[#112 and #180 in Fig 8; See also Page 9; Lines 30-35 for random interpulse; Page 8; Lines 20-25 has random delay by processor]….. wherein during any randomly adjusted second portion which is greater than zero in time length the ultrasonic transducer does nothing[Page 9, Lines 30-40 have varying times, Claim 11 teaches listening meaning any listening period would be a time greater than zero where the transducer does not transmit and is doing nothing];
filtering returned signals received during a plurality of the randomized listening windows to achieve filtered returned signals[Abstract; Page 9 Lines 25-30 has histogram using sliding window; Fig 9 is flowchart of filtering ultrasound. See also claim 1 for filtering; See also Page 11, Lines 20-35]; and
detecting, by the processor using the filtered returned signals, a moving object in a field of view of the ultrasonic transducer despite interference from one or more of the other ultrasonic transducers transmitting ultrasonically in the operating environment[Abstract; Claim 1 concern object detection based on filtered signals and a processor]…
Hasan does not explicitly teach wherein each listening window of the listening windows comprises the fixed portion and a second portion which is adjusted plus or minus in time length by a random delay period, wherein a minimum adjusted time length and a maximum adjusted time length of the second portion are defined by a sensing cycle rate of the ultrasonic transducer…..
wherein both precessing and overlap associated with receiving other returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by a second ultrasonic transmitter in the operating environment of the ultrasonic transducer are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles due to non-receipt of a subset of the other returned signals in some of the randomized second portions of the listening windows where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing, and thus the corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the other returned signals is also eliminated or reduced.[Though any change in the listening windows that optimizes pickup or not picking up signals would read on the claim]
Boozer teaches that wherein each listening window of the listening windows comprises the fixed portion and a second portion which is adjusted plus or minus in time length by a random delay period, wherein a minimum adjusted time length and a maximum adjusted time length of the second portion are defined by a sensing cycle rate of the ultrasonic transducer and wherein during any randomly adjusted second period which is greater than zero in time length the ultrasonic transducer does nothing [Col 5 Lines 50-65 has constant or varied repetition rate varied meaning with or without randomization; Col 6 Lines 1 -5 has minimum time being fixed meaning other randomization is varied; Additionally any listening period would be a time greater than zero where the transducer does not transmit and is doing nothing]…..
wherein both precessing and overlap associated with receiving other returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by a second ultrasonic transmitter in the operating environment of the ultrasonic transducer are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles due to non-receipt of a subset of the other returned signals in some of the randomized second portions of the listening windows where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing, and thus the corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the other returned signals is also eliminated or reduced.[Col 5 Lines 50-65 has constant or varied repetition rate varied meaning with or without randomization; Col 6 Lines 1 -5 has minimum time being fixed meaning other randomization is varied]
Felch teaches wherein both precessing and overlap associated with receiving other returned signals that are associated with ultrasonic transmissions emitted by a second ultrasonic transmitter in the operating environment of the ultrasonic transducer are eliminated or reduced by the randomization of the second portions of listening windows in a plurality of the sensing cycles due to non-receipt of a subset of the other returned signals in some of the randomized second portions of the listening windows where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing, and thus the corresponding false detection of moving objects associated with the other returned signals is also eliminated or reduced. [0248 has random arrangement of listening windows to prevent signal interference meaning it reads on the claim of not having signals from other transmitters during the same listening window]
Gounalis [Col 17, lines 40-45 has idle period], Garlepp[C 25 Lines 10-15 has idle period] and Schwab [0104 has sleep or idle mode] all also have periods greater than zero in time length where the ultrasonic transducer does nothing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic device in Hasan in view of the change in randomization in Boozer and avoiding having signal interference in the same listening windows in Felch in order to optimize listening window.
Additionally, it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Hasan, as modified, teaches wherein the ultrasonic transducer has a frequency of operation of between 40kHz to 200kHz. [Page 8 Lines 25 to 40 and Page 11 Lines 25-30 have transducer frequency at 40kHz and 35-45kHz which reads on the claim].
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Hasan, as modified, broadly teaches wherein the ultrasonic transducer has a fixed sensing cycle rate in cycles per second which is unchanged over time by the randomization of each listening window of the listening windows, such that on average the same number of sensing cycles per second occur with or without the randomization of each listening window. [#112 and #180 in Fig 8; See also Page 9; Lines 30-35 for random interpulse; Page 8; Lines 20-25 has random delay by processor; Moreover due to the pseudo random delay the time between bursts has an average value that is unchanged, meaning it is understood that can have with or without random] wherein the ultrasonic transducer has a fixed sensing cycle rate in cycles per second which is unchanged over time by the randomization of each listening window of the listening windows, such that on average the same number of sensing cycles per second occur with or without the randomization of each listening window. [#112 and #180 in Fig 8; See also Page 9; Lines 30-35 for random interpulse; Page 8; Lines 20-25 has random delay by processor; Moreover due to the pseudo random delay the time between bursts has an average value that is unchanged meaning it is understood that can have with or without random]
Boozer teaches that wherein the ultrasonic transducer has a fixed sensing cycle rate in cycles per second which is unchanged over time by the randomization of each listening window of the listening windows, such that on average the same number of sensing cycles per second occur with or without the randomization of each listening window. [Col 5 Lines 50-60 has constant or varied repetition rate varied meaning with or without randomization]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic device in Hasan in view of the change in randomization in Boozer in order to optimize listening window.
Additionally, it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Hasan does not explicitly teach wherein a maximum range of the random delay period is plus or minus a value found by subtracting both a time length of an emitted pulse of the ultrasonic transducer and a second time length of the fixed portion of the listening window from a period associated with one cycle at the fixed sensing cycle rate of the ultrasonic transducer.
Boozer teaches that wherein a maximum range of the random delay period is plus or minus a value found by subtracting both a time length of an emitted pulse of the ultrasonic transducer and a second time length of the fixed portion of the listening window from a period associated with one cycle at the fixed sensing cycle rate of the ultrasonic transducer. [Col 5 Lines 50-65 has constant or varied repetition rate varied meaning with or without randomization; Col 6 Lines 1 -5 has minimum time being fixed meaning other randomization is varied]
Regarding claim 17, Hasan broadly teaches wherein the randomizing, by the processor, an overall length of each listening window of the listening windows comprises: randomizing each listening window of the listening windows such that a fixed sensing cycle rate in sensing cycles per second, of the ultrasonic transducer, is unchanged over time, such that on average the same number of sensing cycles per second occur with or without the randomization of each listening window. [#112 and #180 in Fig 8; See also Page 9; Lines 30-35 for random interpulse; Page 8; Lines 20-25 has random delay by processor; Moreover due to the pseudo random delay the time between bursts has an average value that is unchanged. It is understood that can have with or without random] wherein the ultrasonic transducer has a fixed sensing cycle rate in cycles per second which is unchanged over time by the randomization of each listening window of the listening windows, such that on average the same number of sensing cycles per second occur with or without the randomization of each listening window. [#112 and #180 in Fig 8; See also Page 9; Lines 30-35 for random interpulse; Page 8; Lines 20-25 has random delay by processor; Moreover due to the pseudo random delay the time between bursts has an average value that is unchanged, it is understood that can have with or without random]
Boozer teaches that wherein the randomizing, by the processor, an overall length of each listening window of the listening windows comprises: randomizing each listening window of the listening windows such that a fixed sensing cycle rate in sensing cycles per second, of the ultrasonic transducer, is unchanged over time, such that on average the same number of sensing cycles per second occur with or without the randomization of each listening window. [Col 5 Lines 50-60 has constant or varied repetition rate varied meaning with or without randomization]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic device in Hasan in view of the change in randomization in Boozer in order to optimize listening window.
Additionally, it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasan(WO 0245998 A2) in view of Boozer (US 4,845,682 A) and Felch (US 20170076581 A1) and further evidenced by Schwab (US 20200264303 A1) or Gounalis (US 7358887 B2) or Garlepp (US 10539539 B2) as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Lal (US 10,641,650 B2).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Hasan broadly teaches wherein the directed filtering is selected from the types of filtering consisting of: low-pass filtering; median filtering; and random sample consensus filtering. [Abstract; Fig 9 is flowchart of filtering ultrasound and there is bandpass filter in #78 in Fig 4. See also claim 1 for filtering; See also Page 11, Lines 20-35.]
Lal teaches that wherein the directed filtering is selected from the types of filtering consisting of: low-pass filtering; median filtering; and random sample consensus filtering. [Claim 11 has median filter]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic device in Hasan with the median filtering in Lal in order to get the desired frequencies. Moreover the knowledge of obvious filtering methods would be known to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Hasan does not explicitly teach wherein the directed filtering comprises median filtering with an odd median filter size that is shorter than the receive window.
Lal teaches wherein the directed filtering comprises median filtering with an odd median filter size that is shorter than the receive window. [Claim 11 has median filter; Col 8 Lines 35-50 has short time windows. Fig 10 and Col 9 Lines 15-20 also teach shorter time windows]
Regarding claim 19, Hasan broadly teaches wherein the filtering returned signals received during a plurality of the listening windows to achieve filtered returned signals comprises: filtering the returned signals received during the plurality of the listening windows using at least one of: low-pass filtering; median filtering; and random sample consensus filtering. [Abstract; Fig 9 is flowchart of filtering ultrasound and there is bandpass filter in #78 in Fig 4. See also claim 1 for filtering; See also Page 11, Lines 20-35.]
Lal teaches wherein the filtering returned signals received during a plurality of the listening windows to achieve filtered returned signals comprises: filtering the returned signals received during the plurality of the listening windows using at least one of: low-pass filtering; median filtering; and random sample consensus filtering. [Claim 11 has median filter]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic device in Hasan with the median filtering in Lal in order to get the desired frequencies. Moreover the knowledge of obvious filtering methods would be known to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Hasan does not explicitly teach wherein the filtering returned signals received during a plurality of the listening windows to achieve filtered returned signals comprises: filtering returned signals received during a plurality of the listening windows, by the processor, using an odd median filtering size that is shorter than the receive window.
Lal teaches wherein the filtering returned signals received during a plurality of the listening windows to achieve filtered returned signals comprises: filtering returned signals received during a plurality of the listening windows, by the processor, using an odd median filtering size that is shorter than the receive window. [Claim 11 has median filter; Col 8 Lines 35-50 has short time windows. Fig 10 and Col 9 Lines 15-20 also teach shorter time windows]
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasan(WO 0245998 A2) in view of Boozer (US 4,845,682 A) and Felch (US 20170076581 A1) and further evidenced by Schwab (US 20200264303 A1) or Gounalis (US 7358887 B2) or Garlepp (US 10539539 B2) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Pandharipande(US 9,857,458 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Hasan does not explicitly teach further comprising: responsive to detection of the moving object, employing a state machine to determine an operating state of a device with respect to a user being either: absent from a vicinity of the device; within the vicinity of the device, or present at a device. [Though Abstract concerns object detection and a person could be considered an object]
Pandharipande teaches that further comprising: responsive to detection of the moving object, employing a state machine to determine an operating state of a device with respect to a user being either: absent from a vicinity of the device; within the vicinity of the device, or present at a device. [Col 1; Background section discusses use of ultrasonic sensors for presence detection of a person].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the use of the ultrasonic transducer Hasan with the user detection in Pandharipande in order to detect the presence of a user and act accordingly.
Moreover, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Moreover, as pointed out above in the rejection any change in the listening windows that optimizes pickup or not picking up signals would read on the claim. As such applicant is claiming the results of any form or routine optimization that results in an improvement in picking up or not picking up a signal or improved detection.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rejections are maintained – and no allowable subject matter can be identified at this time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645