DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2-10-2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2-10-2026 have been fully considered. As they are directed towards the claims as amended, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 14, 15 and 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPat, U.S. Patent Number 8,698,058, published April 15, 2014 in view of Golan, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2006/0238403, published October 26, 2006 and Duan, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0308156, filed February 9, 2022.
As per claims 1, 19 and 20, LaPat discloses a system, comprising: a receiver, wherein the receiver is configured to: receive an indication regarding a radio frequency (RF) transmitted beam; receive a scattered reflection of the RF transmitted beam from a first target object; and process the scattered reflection of the RF transmitted beam using the indication (LaPat, Fig. 1, 114 and Col. 4, lines 35-55).
LaPat teaches a ground transmitter but fails to expressly disclose the transmitter tracking the target or modulating the RF beam.
Golan teaches ground radars which track, beam steer and provide communication (¶37).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention o have the ground radar track in order to gain the benefit of providing continuous observation of the target and ensure reflections get to the projectile.
Duan teaches an RF beam modulated with information (¶62).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modulate the RF beam in order to gain the benefit of allowing the receiver to decode additional information as taught by Duan.
As per claim 2, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the receiver is comprised in an interceptor (LaPat, Col. 2, lines 31-41).
As per claim 3, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan further discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the interceptor is airborne (LaPat, Col. 2, lines 31-41).
As per claim 4, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan further discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the interceptor is configured to navigate based at least in part on the scattered reflection of the RF transmitted beam (LaPat, Col. 5, lines 15-25).
As per claim 5, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan further discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the interceptor navigates based on following or tracking the scattered reflection of the RF transmitted beam (LaPat, Col. 5, lines 15-25).
As per claim 6, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan further discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the interceptor navigates to intercept or move within a predefined range of the first target object (LaPat, Col. 3, lines 60-61).
As per claim 8, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the RF transmitted beam comprises an energy beam (LaPat, Col. 4, lines 12-22).
As per claim 14, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the indication includes one or more of: RF transmitted beam modulation information, a target bearing, and a target distance (LaPat, Col. 4, lines 45-46).
As per claim 15, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein processing the scattered reflection of the RF transmitted beam comprises determining one or more of a relative target bearing and a relative target distance (LaPat, Col. 4, lines 47-55).
As per claim 17, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan discloses the system of claim 1 but fails to expressly disclose the receiver FOV.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the FOV limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPat, Golan and Duan as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Schorr, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0256643, published August 13, 2020.
As per claim 7, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan discloses the method of claim 1 including an on-board radar (Col. 2, lines 61-67) but fails to disclose switching modes at a predefined range.
Schorr teaches projectile guidance switching modes at a predefined distance (¶34).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to switch at a particular range in order to gain the benefit of allowing the missile to take over when close to the target.
Claim(s) 9-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPat, Golan and Duan as applied to claims 1 and 8 above and further in view of Harman, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0021194, published January 24, 2013.
As per claim 9, LaPat as modified by Golan and Duan discloses the system of claim 8 but fails to disclose an operating frequency.
Harman teaches a ground radar for projectile detection within 2-50GHz (¶22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the frequency limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 10, LaPat as modified by Golan, Duan and Harman discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the RF transmitted beam is modulated (Harman, ¶9-10).
As per claim 11, LaPat as modified by Golan, Duan and Harman further discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the RF transmitted beam is modulated using one or more of the following: a frequency modulation, a phase modulation, an amplitude modulation, a shift modulation, a chirp modulation (Duan, ¶62).
As per claim 12, LaPat as modified by Golan, Duan and Harman further discloses the system of claim 10, wherein a first modulation of the RF transmitted beam is directed to the first target object, and a second modulation of the RF transmitted beam is directed to a second target object (Duan, ¶62).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to direct modulations to separate targets, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by LaPat and Golan in identify targets for the projectile to track and approach.
As per claim 13, LaPat as modified by Golan, Duan and Harman further discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the RF transmitted beam is modulated to comprise information regarding the RF transmitted beam or the first target object (LaPat, Col. 4, 12-22 and Duan, ¶62).
As per claim 16, LaPat as modified by Golan and Harman further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein processing the scattered reflection of the RF transmitted beam comprises filtering based at least in part on Doppler analysis to isolate a signal from the first target object (Harman, ¶25).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use doppler in order to gain the benefit of using existing, well-known methods of object tracking.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646