DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12-4-2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12-4-2025 have been fully considered. As they are directed towards the claims as amended, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-5, 7-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPat, U.S. Patent Number 8,710,411, filed September 29, 2010 in view of LaPat, U.S. Patent Number 8,698,058, published April 15, 2014 (herein after referred to as LaPat2).
As per claims 1, 19 and 20, LaPat discloses a system, comprising:
a receiver configured to: receive an indication to intercept a target object from a tracking station (LaPat, Col. 4, lines 50-55);
a processor configured to: determine navigation to the target object based at least in part on the indication (LaPat, Col. 4, lines 58-64);
determine the navigation to the target object based at least in part on 1) the scatter energy or 2) the scatter energy and the indication from the tracking station (LaPat, Fig. 3, 390 showing scatter energy and Col. 6, lines 30-50 determining navigation).
LaPat fails to explicitly disclose comparing scatter energy to a threshold and determining whether to navigate to an object.
LaPat2 teaches analyzing scatter energy to determine a best fit (which acts as a threshold) and determine whether to navigate to an object (based on best determination) (LaPat2, Col. 4, lines 40-55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to compare and determine whether to navigate in order to gain the obvious benefit of selecting the correct target.
As per claim 3, LaPat as modified by LaPat2 further discloses the system of claim 2, wherein in response to the scatter energy not being greater than or equal to the scatter threshold, determine the navigation to the target object based at least in part on the indication from the tracking station ( LaPat, Col. 3, lines 1-20 where tracking remains with the tracking station until a specific criteria is met).
As per claims 4-5, LaPat as modified by LaPat2 further discloses the system of claim 1 where a range threshold is compared and scatter energy is not used (LaPat, Col. 3, lines 1-20 where tracking remains with the tracking station until a specific criteria is met).
As per claims 7-12 and 14, they are all obvious variations of using available data (such as scatter energy and range above) to determine when to hand over tracking (LaPat, Col. 3, lines 1-20).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use various data points, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by LaPat in getting the projectile to the desired target.
As per claims 15-18, LaPat as modified by LaPat2 further discloses the system of claim 8, wherein in an active measure is performed based on tracking data (LaPat, Col. 5, lines 26-30 where flight is adjusted or not depending on the current flight path and target).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646