Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, there is lack of antecedent basis for the limitation “the recessed chamfer of the elongate slot disposed in the washer”. Claim 4 is dependent upon claim 3 which cites “the washer further comprising a recessed chamfer”, there is no mention of the slot having the recessed chamfer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kambin (US 5,964,761).
Regarding claim 1, Kambin discloses an implant, comprising:
a sacrum anchor (Fig. 8, 62);
a distraction rod (Fig. 8, ref. 70);
a fixation screw (Fig. 8, ref. 108); and
a washer (Fig. 8, ref. 104) being plate-like and having an oblong slot (ref. 102) disposed the entire way through the washer, the washer uncontacted by the sacrum anchor when the implant is implanted (Figs. 6 – 8).
Regarding claim 2, Kambin discloses the implant of claim 1, the distraction rod is configured to be controllably advanceable relative to the sacrum anchor via a screwing motion (best shown in Fig. 6, the rod ref. 70 is threaded onto a portion of the anchor ref. 62, thus being controllably advanced over the anchor from a screwing motion).
Regarding claim 5, Kambin discloses the implant of claim 1, the distraction rod configured to apply force upon the washer as it advances distally to cause the washer to press upon the L5 vertebral body (when all the components are connected, as the distraction rod ref. 70 is rotated downwardly over the anchor ref. 62 it will cause the washer to also press upon whatever surface it is against).
Regarding claim 6, Kambin discloses the implant of claim 1, the sacrum anchor further comprising custom bone threads (the threads are designed for its purpose, thus being custom).
Regarding claim 8, Kambin discloses the implant of claim 1, the distraction rod further comprising internal retention threads (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Kambin discloses the implant of claim 1, configured to fixate in a position such that the forces placed upon the L5 vertebral body via the washer hold the vertebral bodies comprising the lumbo-sacral junction in a lordotic orientation (the device is fully capable of working in such a manner when all the components are connected).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by David (US 2005/0216001 A1).
Regarding claim 1, David discloses an implant, comprising:
a sacrum anchor (Fig. 2, ref. 20);
a distraction rod (Fig. 2, ref. 8);
a fixation screw (Fig. 2, ref. 60); and
a washer (Fig. 2, ref. 12) being plate-like and having an oblong slot (Fig. 4B, ref. 40) disposed the entire way through the washer, the washer uncontacted by the sacrum anchor when the implant is implanted (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, David discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein the washer further comprising a recessed chamfer (Fig. 3 shows the elongated slot having a top and bottom chamfer).
Regarding claim 4, David discloses the implant of claim 3, the distraction rod further comprising a tip having a shape corresponding to the recessed chamfer of the elongated slot disposed in the washer (because the distraction rod is configured to be placed through the slot, it would have an end or tip shaped for the slot).
Regarding claim 7, David discloses the implant of claim 1, the distraction rod further comprising a tapered cut.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/TESSA M MATTHEWS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3773