Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,5,15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McNeil (US 2009/0040857).
Regarding claim 1, McNeil discloses an integrated circuit package (¶[0002], 100) comprising: a support device (100, ¶[0013]); first (102, ¶[0015]) and second (106 ¶[0016]) integrated circuits mounted on the support device (100); and a first power jumper circuit (124a, 132a) selectable (a - n) to couple a first decoupling capacitor (128a) to one of a first power supply input of the first integrated circuit or a second power supply input (122) of the second integrated circuit (106).
Regarding claim 5|1, McNeil discloses the integrated circuit package wherein the first decoupling capacitor is an on-package decoupling capacitor (FIG 3).
Regarding claim 15, McNeil discloses a method for selecting (a - n) decoupling capacitance (128a-n) in an integrated circuit package (100), the method comprising:
mounting first (102) and second (106) integrated circuits on a support device (substrate or circuit board, 100) in the integrated circuit package; and
coupling a first decoupling capacitor (128a) to one of a first power supply input of the first integrated circuit or a second power supply input (122) of the second integrated circuit through a first power jumper circuit (124a, 132a).
Regarding claim 20|15, McNeil discloses the method wherein the support device is a package substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-14 are allowed.
Claims 2-4, 6-9 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the cited references discloses nor suggests the claimed invention including “resistor” recited in claims 2-3 and 9; “external terminal” recited in claims 4, 16 and 19; “second power jumper circuit” as set forth in claims 6-8 and 17-18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chun (US 2013/0161788) discloses a semiconductor package including stacked memory chips and a redistribution layer showing external terminals and data and power pads and logic chip and decoupling capacitor.
Sundareswaran (US 2014/0282340) discloses decoupling capacitor in an integrated circuit.
Bartley (US 2009/0179669) discloses switchable decoupling capacitors for an integrated circuit.
Vidhani (US 6,694,499) discloses an integrated circuit selectively establishing connections between decoupling capacitors and driver elements.
/JOSEPH CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836