DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 11 September 2025. Claims 1-16 are currently pending of which claim 1 is currently amended and claims 13-16 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recite the limitation “a vacuum for pulling at least a portion of the carbanogel, including at least a portion of the network of CNM and at least a portion of the electrolyte, through a filter”. However, the disclosure as originally filed does not specify that a portion of the network of CNMs are pulled through the filter.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 6, the claim recites the limitations of a vacuum and a filter; however, these limitations are already recited in claim 1, upon which claim 6 is dependent. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitations of claim 6 intend to refer back to the limitations of claim 1 or to new and separate limitations. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, both of the above interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Licht US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0149173 to Licht et al. (Licht) in view of US Patent No. 2,690,421 to Lilliendahl et al. (Lilliendahl).
As to claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9, Licht teaches an apparatus for making a carbanogel, the apparatus comprising an apparatus for performing an electrolysis process that splits carbon dioxide in a molten electrolyte to produce the carbanogel comprising a network of carbon nanomaterials and an electrolyte, the apparatus further comprises an electrolyte reducing and isolating unit (200) comprising housing (202), considered a mold, receiving the carbanogel product from the electrolysis apparatus, the apparatus further comprising a compression unit (102) configured to apply a compressive force upon the carbanogel within the mold (202) and comprising a vacuum to pull a portion of the carbanogel, the electrolyte, through a filter (screen (208)) (Paragraphs 0018, 0021, 0038, 0068, 0077 and 0105; Figure 2). Licht further teaches that the carbanogel can be compressed with a force of between about 10 psi and about 100,000 psi (Paragraph 0018). Therefore, the apparatus of Licht would be capable, at certain pressures, of forming a buckypaper from the carbon product, as evidenced, at least, by applicant’s own disclosure indicating the pressure is what forms a buckypaper from a carbanogel produced in the same manner.
Licht further teaches that the cathode product is removed from the cathode, and thus that the apparatus comprises a processing unit of some sort to accomplish this removal (Paragraph 0076). Licht further teaches that the processing unit is configured to cool the carbanogel on the cathode and extract the cooled carbanogel from the cathode (Paragraph 0097). However, Licht fails to teach that the processing unit is configured to crush the cooled carbanogel.
However, Lilliendahl also discusses the removal of contaminant/electrolyte from a cathode product removed from the cathode and teaches that in addition to a filtering step, as in Licht, the cathode product should be crushed and washed for production of the final finished product (Column 1, Lines 26-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the processing unit of Licht with the additional step of crushing and washing the product to allow for additional means for electrolyte/contaminant removal prior to the filtering step as taught by Lilliendahl. Thus performing the crushing prior to the compression in the combination and applying the compressive force upon the crushed carbanogel. Lilliendahl further teaches that the processing unit comprises, at least in part, a grinder (Column 1, Line 75 to Column 12, Line 7).
The apparatus of the combination would thus further be capable of pulling at least a portion of the network of CNMs through the filter depending upon the operating conditions chosen for the crushing step and the pressure applied during the vacuum filtering step (MPEP 2114).
Claims 4, 10, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Licht and Lilliendahl as applied to claim 1, 2 and 9 above, and further in view of US Patent No. 10,196,269 to Zeng (Zeng).
As to claims 4, 10, 11 and 12, the combination of Licht and Lilliendahl teaches the apparatus of claim 1, 2 and 9. However, the combination fails to further teach that the apparatus comprises an alignment unit. However, Zeng also discusses buckypaper and teaches that an improved buckypaper is formed by aligning the buckypaper by treatment of the buckypaper and the application of tensile force (Claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Licht and Gou with the addition of an alignment unit, separate from the mold, for performing the alignment steps of Zeng in order to allow for the apparatus to form an improved buckypaper as a final product as taught by Zeng.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argue that the new limitation overcome the prior art. However, as discussed above, the Examiner disagrees. Particularly in view of the fact that the claims are drawn to an apparatus and the amended limitations argued relate to functional limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794