DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the air flow fan" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to read “the air flow source” to align with claim 1, line 9.
Claims 2-17 are rejected as they depend upon claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " a connecting air conduit section" in line 3. It is not clear if this component is the same as “an air conduit” set forth in claim 1, line 10, or if these are separate air conduits altogether.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cavkusic (US 20150366136 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cavkusic discloses a pressurized air delivery system for assisting grain crop harvesting comprising:
a left hand side manifold (78a) and a right hand side manifold (78d, 78c, 78b) adapted for being mounted to a harvester header (10), each manifold being connected to a plurality of nozzles (down tubes 44) disposed along the respective manifold, each manifold being adapted for receiving a pressurized air flow at a first end (72a, 72d) thereof and for providing the pressurized air flow to the nozzles, each manifold being closed at a second opposite end thereof (each second end is closed to an exterior of the tube/joinable parts 78), the left hand side manifold and the right hand side manifold spanning approximately from a left hand side of the harvester header to a right hand side of the harvester header (see fig. 3a, together the left and right manifolds span from the left side of the header to the right side of the header);
an air flow source (pressurized fluid source 32) for providing the pressurized air flow; and,
an air conduit (50, 52, 54, 60, 62) connected to: the air flow source (32); the first end of the left-hand side manifold; and the first end of the right hand side manifold, the air conduit comprising a divider (“T” or “Y” connector 50, paragraph 0070) for: receiving the pressurized air flow from the air flow fan; dividing the pressurized air flow; and providing the divided pressurized air flow to the left hand side manifold and the right hand side manifold (see fig. 3a, paragraphs 0070, 79).
Regarding claim 2, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 1 wherein the first end of the left hand side manifold is placed in proximity to the left hand side of the harvester header and the first end of the right hand side manifold is placed in proximity to the right hand side of the harvester header (see fig. 3a), or
wherein the second end of the left hand side manifold is placed in proximity to the left hand side of the harvester header and the second end of the right hand side manifold is placed in proximity to the right hand side of the harvester header, or
wherein the first end of the left hand side manifold and the first end of the right hand side manifold both face the left hand side of the harvester header or the right hand side of the harvester header.
Regarding claim 3, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 2 wherein the air conduit comprises a "Y" or a "T" shaped divider (50) for dividing the pressurized air flow.
Regarding claim 4, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 3 wherein the divider (50) is directly connected to the first end of the left hand side manifold and to the first end of the right hand side manifold (see fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 5, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 3 wherein the divider (50) is directly connected to an outlet of the air flow source (32).
Regarding claim 6, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 5 wherein the air conduit comprises a left hand side air conduit section (52, 60) interposed between the divider and the left hand side manifold and a right hand side air conduit section (54, 62) interposed between the divider and the right hand side manifold.
Regarding claim 7, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 6 wherein the left hand side air conduit section and the right hand side air conduit section each comprise an elbow element (72a, 72d) connected to the respective manifold.
Regarding claim 8, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 3 wherein the air flow source is placed between a center and the left hand side of the harvester header or the center and the right hand side of the harvester header (see fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 9, the system according to claim 8 wherein the divider (50) is placed between a center and the left hand side of the harvester header or the center and the right hand side of the harvester header (see fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 12, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 1 wherein the air conduit (50, 52, 54, 60, 62) and the manifolds (78a, 78d, 78c, 78b) are adapted for being mounted to the harvester header (10).
Regarding claim 13, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 12 wherein the air flow source (32) is adapted for being mounted to the harvester header (10).
Regarding claim 14, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 13 wherein the air flow source (32) comprises a centrifugal air flow fan assembly (paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 15, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 13 wherein the air flow source is adapted for being driven by a power drive mechanism (driveline 90) of a combine (combine 12) having the harvester header mounted thereto (paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 17, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 12 wherein the air conduit comprises at least a flexible hose portion (60, 62) to enable movement of the manifolds with changes in a reel position of the harvester header (paragraph 0092).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Phillips (US 2670586 A).
Regarding claim 1, Phillips discloses a pressurized air delivery system for assisting grain crop harvesting comprising:
a left hand side manifold and a right hand side manifold adapted for being mounted to a harvester header (col. 1 lines 46-59), each manifold being connected to a plurality of nozzles (nozzles 12) disposed along the respective manifold, each manifold being adapted for receiving a pressurized air flow at a first end thereof and for providing the pressurized air flow to the nozzles, each manifold being closed at a second opposite end thereof, the left hand side manifold and the right hand side manifold spanning approximately from a left hand side of the harvester header to a right hand side of the harvester header;
an air flow source (a blower or fan, col. 2 lines 23-26) for providing the pressurized air flow; and,
an air conduit (22, 24) connected to: the air flow source; the first end of the left-hand side manifold; and the first end of the right hand side manifold, the air conduit comprising a divider (22) for: receiving the pressurized air flow from the air flow fan; dividing the pressurized air flow; and providing the divided pressurized air flow to the left hand side manifold and the right hand side manifold (col. 2 lines 17-26).
Regarding claim 2, Phillips discloses the system according to claim 1 wherein the first end of the left hand side manifold is placed in proximity to the left hand side of the harvester header and the first end of the right hand side manifold is placed in proximity to the right hand side of the harvester header, or
wherein the second end of the left hand side manifold is placed in proximity to the left hand side of the harvester header and the second end of the right hand side manifold is placed in proximity to the right hand side of the harvester header (see fig. 1), or
wherein the first end of the left hand side manifold and the first end of the right hand side manifold both face the left hand side of the harvester header or the right hand side of the harvester header.
Regarding claim 3, Phillips discloses the system according to claim 2 wherein the air conduit comprises a "Y" or a "T" shaped divider (22) for dividing the pressurized air flow.
Regarding claim 4, Phillips discloses the system according to claim 3 wherein the divider (22) is directly connected to the first end of the left hand side manifold and to the first end of the right hand side manifold (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Phillips discloses the system according to claim 3 wherein the divider is directly connected to an outlet of the air flow source (col. 2 lines 17-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavkusic (US 20150366136 A1) in view of Brooks (US 4406112 A).
Regarding claim 16, Cavkusic discloses the system according to claim 15.
Cavkusic does not disclose wherein the air flow source is connected to the power drive mechanism of the combine via a belt drive.
In the same field of endeavor, Brooks discloses an air flow source (blower 33) for a manifold (manifold 22) connected to a power drive of a combine via a belt drive (driving belt 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the air flow source of Cavkusic with a belt drive connection, as disclosed by Brooks, to yield the predictable result of an air source connected to the power source of a combine harvester via a driving belt.
Claims 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips (US 2670586 A) in view of Brooks (US 4406112 A).
Regarding claim 8, Phillips discloses the system according to claim 3.
Phillips does not disclose wherein the air flow source is placed between a center and the left hand side of the harvester header or the center and the right hand side of the harvester header.
In the same field of endeavor, Brooks discloses an air flow source (blower 33) to a manifold (manifold 22), wherein the air flow source is placed between a center and the left hand side of the harvester header or the center and the right hand side of the harvester header (see fig. 1, the blower is placed between a center and left side of the header 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to position the air flow source of Phillips between the center and the right/left side of the header, as disclosed by Brooks, to yield the predictable result of a header having an air flow source positioned between a center and a right or left side of the header.
Regarding claim 10, Phillips, of the resultant combination, discloses the system according to claim 8 wherein the divider (22) is placed approximately at a center of the harvester header (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Phillips, of the resultant combination, discloses the system according to claim 10 wherein the air flow source is placed between a center and the left hand side of the harvester header or the center and the right hand side of the harvester header and wherein a connecting air conduit section (24) is interposed between the divider and an outlet of the air flow source.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 4936082 A discloses a harvesting header having a manifold closed at its end.
/MADELINE I RUNCO/Examiner, Art Unit 3671