DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on January 7, 2026.
Restrictions/Elections.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group IV (Claims 5, 10 and 14-16) in the reply filed on January 7, 2026, is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-63 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-13 and 17-63 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 7, 2026.
Claims 5, 10 and 14-16 are under examination.
Priority
The present application claims priority to provisional application No. 63/350,693 filed on 06/09/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5, 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gillberg et. al. (US 2025/0333390).
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
For claim 5 and 10, Gillberg teaches a method of treating viral hepatitis comprising the administration of a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (I-a) or mixtures thereof:
wherein the viral hepatitis can be hepatitis D (HDV) (see claims 27-28) and wherein the compound of formula (I-a) can be: (Z)-3-((3-butyl-2-methyl-7-(methylthio)-1,1-dioxido-5-phenyl-2,3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,5- benzothiadiazepin-8-yl)-oxy)-2-fluoroacrylic acid (either the R or S enantiomer, see claim 36, right column, third and fourth compounds from the top; see also Examples 12 and 13 on page 61):
For claim 14, Gillberg teaches that the patient can also have hepatitis B (see claim 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gillberg et. al. (US 2025/0333390).
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Gillberg teaches all the limitations of claims 15 and 16 (see above 102(a)(2)), except for the hepatitis being chronic hepatitis B or chronic hepatitis D. However, since Gillberg already teaches that the method is effective in treating hepatitis B and/or D in general, before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been prima facie obvious for the skilled in the art to also treat chronic hepatitis B and/or D, thus resulting in the practice of claims 15-16 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5, 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gillberg et. al. (US 12,202,809).
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
For claim 5 and 10, Gillberg teaches a method of treating viral hepatitis comprising the administration of a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Claim 1 or mixtures thereof (See claim 7), wherein the viral hepatitis can be hepatitis D (HDV) (see claims 13-14) and wherein the compound can be: (Z)-3-((3-butyl-2-methyl-7-(methylthio)-1,1-dioxido-5-phenyl-2,3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,5- benzothiadiazepin-8-yl)-oxy)-2-fluoroacrylic acid (either the R or S enantiomer, see claims 7 and 8):
For claim 14, Gillberg teaches that the patient can also have hepatitis B (see claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gillberg et. al. (US 12,202,809).
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Gillberg teaches all the limitations of claims 15 and 16 (see above 102(a)(2)), except for the hepatitis being chronic hepatitis B or chronic hepatitis D. However, since Gillberg already teaches that the method is effective in treating hepatitis B and/or D in general, before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been prima facie obvious for the skilled in the art to also treat chronic hepatitis B and/or D, thus resulting in the practice of claims 15-16 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et. al. (WO 2023/164186, August 31, 2023).
For claim 5 and 10, Yu teaches a method of treating hepatitis D comprising the administration of a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (II) or mixtures thereof (see abstract and claim 21):
wherein the compound of formula (II) can be compound 91 or compound 92:
The above compounds differ from the instantly claimed compound by the presence of -CD3 group instead of a -CH3 group. The authors disclose the -CH3 compound (compound 6-11 on page 61) as an intermediate of synthesis:
Since it is well known that replacing Hydrogen with Deuterium or vice versa does not cause a major change in the chemical/biological properties of a molecule, before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been prima facie obvious for the skilled in the art to substitute the -CD3 group with a -CH3 group and expect the resulting compound to have the same or very similar efficacy against hepatitis D, thus resulting in the practice of claims 5 and 10 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 14, Yu teaches that the same compound can treat hepatitis B, thus resulting in the practice of claim 14 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Yu teaches all the limitations of claims 15 and 16, except for the hepatitis being chronic hepatitis B or chronic hepatitis D. However, since Yu already teaches that the method is effective in treating hepatitis B and/or D in general, before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been prima facie obvious for the skilled in the art to also treat chronic hepatitis B and/or D, thus resulting in the practice of claims 15-16 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
1) Claims 5, 10 and 14-16 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 22, 27-28 and 36 of copending Application No. 18/974,438 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: both, the instant application and the copending application teach methods of treating hepatitis D and B comprising the administration of the compound: (Z)-3-((3-butyl-2-methyl-7-(methylthio)-1,1-dioxido-5-phenyl-2,3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,5- benzothiadiazepin-8-yl)-oxy)-2-fluoroacrylic.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
2) Claims 5, 10 and 14-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-8 and 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,202,809. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: both, the instant application and the US patent teach methods of treating hepatitis D and B comprising the administration of the compound: (Z)-3-((3-butyl-2-methyl-7-(methylthio)-1,1-dioxido-5-phenyl-2,3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,5- benzothiadiazepin-8-yl)-oxy)-2-fluoroacrylic.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
January 12, 2026.