DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan (US 20180268540 A1) and in view of McClure (US 20150331972 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, Sloan discloses a method for foundation mapping and remediation ([0012]: align the real world construction more closely with the virtual design model; [0017]: an Element is a physical object that is installed during construction, such as an I-beam, and a pipe; Fig. 2; [0047]: measure and report the spatial differences between the Design Location and an Approximate Installed Location by computer system 100; [0052]: critical deviations in significant Elements often require remediation in the field) comprising:
creating, using a three-dimensional scanner, a plurality of point clouds for multiple piles, with each point cloud comprising multiple data points corresponding to a pile ([0002]: the column, i.e. a pile, is actually be installed three inches to the left; [0015]: laser scan and survey equipment; [0016]: a point cloud is a collection of measurement points of a scene, such as, I-beam, and a pipe; these measurement points are acquired using a laser scanner, photogrammetry, or other similar 3D measurement techniques; I-beam, and a pipe are piles; [0017]: an Element is a physical object that is installed during construction, such as an I-beam, and a pipe; Fig. 2; [0035]: receive the created cloud of point measurements of a scene; Fig. 3; [0044]: create measurement Data in the form of a Point Cloud (302) showing the Installed Location of the Element;
);
calculating, using a computing device, one or more installation parameters for each pile using the point cloud for each pile ([0012]: compare construction in the real world against the virtual design model and measure the positional differences, i.e. installation parameters, between the two to identify the positional differences and enable further actions to be taken based on the positional differences; [0015]: measure the spatial arrangement of objects, i.e. I-beams, and pipes, in space using point cloud, such as, laser scan data, survey data, or any other spatial measurements; spatial arrangement includes installation parameters; [0016]: these measurement points are acquired using a laser scanner, photogrammetry, or other similar 3D measurement techniques; [0025]: a set of measurements of one or more Elements in a scene include installation parameters; Fig. 4; [0045]: a Point Cloud (408) represents the Installed Location of that Element with center of square and opposite corners, i.e. installation parameters, as illustrated in Fig. 4;
);
comparing the one or more installation parameters for each pile to designed parameters of each pile to determine one or more parameter deviations for the multiple piles ([0012]: compare construction in the real world against the virtual design model and measure the positional differences between the two to identify the positional differences and enable further actions to be taken based on the positional differences; Fig. 3; [0044]: a Design Model in the Design Location (300); a Point Cloud (302) showing the Installed Location of the Element;
; Fig. 4; [0045]: compare a 3D Design Model (400) of the Element with a Point Cloud (408) represents the Installed Location of that Element as illustrated in Fig. 4;
; Fig. 2; [0047]: measure and report the spatial differences between the Design Location and an Approximate Installed Location; measure the offset between the two locations, i.e. Design and Approximate Installed; [0051]: accurately quantify the deviation between intended installation locations , i.e. Design Locations, and actual installation locations, i.e. Installed Locations, for elements, i.e. piles, during construction); and
generating one or more remediation schemes based on the determined one or more parameter deviations for the multiple piles ([0012]: measure the positional differences between the real world and the virtual design model to identify the positional differences and enable further actions to be taken based on the positional differences; revision of the real world construction to align more closely with the virtual design model; [0051]: quantifying these deviations during the construction process enable early mitigation of construction mistakes; [0052]: discover and quantify these deviations; critical deviations in significant Elements often require remediation in the field).
Sloan fails to explicitly disclose: multiple piles in a pile row.
In same field of endeavor, McClure teaches multiple piles in a pile row (Fig. 1; [0073]: rows of structures;
; Fig. 10 (A); [0179]: a four-pole pile driven rack;
; four piles and two rows as illustrated in Fig. 10 (A); [0181]: the line connecting the two piles are aligned approximately along a line of longitude; [0208]: three rows).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sloan to include multiple piles in a pile row as taught by McClure. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve system efficiency and economics of solar power; to approximately align the line connecting the two piles along a line of longitude; to conduct installation of structural components and to guide construction managers and installation crews; to guide the installation of each block at the right tilt, location, azimuth, bank, and height as taught by McClure in paragraphs [0029], [0181], [0191], and [0220].
Regarding to claim 2, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the one or more installation parameters comprise one or more of (or is optional):
a pile position in x coordinate (Sloan; [0002]: the column is actually installed three inches to the left of the center, i.e. xy coordinates);
a pile position in y coordinate (Sloan; [0002]: the column is actually installed three inches to the left of the center, i.e. xy coordinates);
a pile position in z coordinate ([0080]: characteristics of the support system include module tilt, height, azimuth, bank, row spacing; height and azimuth are z coordinates);
a pile roll;
a pile pitch (McClure; Fig. 1; [0073]: rows of structures;
; [0163]: determine the associated row spacing for a given tilt and azimuth; Fig. 10 (A); [0179]: a four-pole pile driven rack;
); and
a pile yaw.
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 3, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the method of claim 1 wherein calculating one or more installation parameters for each pile using the point cloud for each pile (same as rejected in claim 1) comprising:
identifying one or more characteristic data points among the multiple data points in each point cloud (Sloan; Fig. 3; [0044]: a Point Cloud (302) shows the Installed Location of the Element;
; Fig. 4; [0045]: a Point Cloud (408) represents the Installed Location of that Element with center of square and opposite corners as illustrated in Fig. 4;
; Fig. 5; [0047]); and
using the one or more characteristic data points to perform the calculation (Sloan; Fig. 4; [0045]: display Design Model and Measurement Data in one or more independent orthographic views; Fig. 5; [0047]: measure and report the spatial differences between the Design Location and an Approximate Installed Location; compute the distances between vertices of the Design Model in the Design Location and the corresponding vertices of the Design Model in an Approximate Installed Location; [0051]: accurately quantify the deviation between intended installation locations , i.e. Design Locations, and actual installation locations, i.e. Installed Locations, for elements during construction).
Regarding to claim 4, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the method of claim 3 wherein the one or more characteristic data points comprise a geometry center of a top layer in the point cloud and two data points at opposite corners of the top layer (Sloan; Fig. 3; [0044]: a Point Cloud (302) shows the Installed Location of the Element;
; Fig. 4; [0045]: a Point Cloud (408) represents the Installed Location of that Element with center of square and opposite corners as illustrated in Fig. 4;
).
Regarding to claim 5, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the method of claim 1 wherein generating one or more remediation schemes based on the determined one or more parameter deviations for the multiple piles in the pile row (same as rejected in claim 1) comprising:
determining a subsequent installation scheme within a predetermined precision threshold to engage all of the multiple piles for subsequent installation without requiring any pile re-installation (Sloan; [0052]: a certain amount of deviation is generally considered acceptable during most construction projects, and when minor deviations that fall beneath this tolerance are discovered, the construction team may decide to ignore those deviations altogether);
generating a set of output data defining a plurality of installation positions on the multiple piles based on the determined subsequent installation scheme, the set of output data comprises one or more offsets for one or more installation parameters for one or more piles, among the multiple piles (Sloan; [0012]: revision of the virtual design model to reflect the positional differences, revision of the real world construction to align more closely with the virtual design model, revision of the virtual design to produce one or more intermediate remediation possibilities to correct the real world construction, or other similar actions); and
placing a plurality of physical markings on the multiple piles based on the plurality of installation positions (McClure; [0035]: digital list of accurate site positions; [0189]: one product of the output specifications is a digital list of accurate ground positions where piles are to be driven; place the piles laterally; Fig. 14 (B); Fig. 14 (C); [0062]: an alternative ballast form is also applicable to the support system; the joining together of two identical forms with multiple markers as illustrated in Fig. 14 (C);
; Fig. 15; [0063]: the ballast form of FIG. 14(A) in a ballasted support system with multiple physical markers as illustrated in Fig. 15;
).
Sloan in view of McClure further discloses in the pile row (McClure; Fig. 1; [0073]: rows of structures;
; Fig. 10 (A); [0179]: a four-pole pile driven rack;
; four piles and two rows; [0181]: the line connecting the two piles are aligned approximately along a line of longitude; [0208]: three rows).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 6, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the method of claim 5 wherein the physical markings on the multiple piles are default markings, adjusted markings with offsets for default markings, or a combination of both ( or is optional; McClure; [0035]: digital list of accurate site positions; Fig. 14 (B); Fig. 14 (C); [0062]: an alternative ballast form is applicable to the support system; the joining together of two identical forms with markers;
; Fig. 15; [0063]: the ballast form of FIG. 14(A) in a ballasted support system with multiple physical markers;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: yoke which supports one or more PV modules; [0189]: relative accurate offsets from a defined zero-point position; one product of the output specifications is a digital list of accurate ground positions where piles are to be driven; place the piles laterally; [0190]: Widths are changed with adjustable tooling to match site requirements; if high wind speeds require a wider section, tooling expands wider to yield a wider roll formed piece).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 7, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the method of claim 5 wherein the one or more offsets are applicable to one or more piles that have parameter deviations, to one or more piles that do not have parameter deviations, or to a mixture of piles with parameter deviations and without parameter deviations (or is optional; McClure; [0189]: an initial positioning of the driver is manual, and the remaining movements automatically performed within a specified error of its proper or desired location; [0190]: Widths are changed with adjustable tooling to match site requirements; if high wind speeds require a wider section, tooling expands wider to yield a wider roll formed piece).
Regarding to claim 8, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the method of claim 1 wherein generating one or more remediation schemes based on the determined one or more parameter deviations for the multiple piles in the pile row (same as rejected in claim 1) comprising:
determining a subsequent installation scheme involving one or more pile re-installations to accommodate subsequent installation within a predetermined precision threshold (Sloan; [0012]: easily compare construction in the real world against the virtual design model and measure the positional differences between the two to identify the positional differences and enable further actions to be taken based on the positional difference; further actions to be taken could include revision of the virtual design to produce one or more intermediate remediation possibilities to correct the real world construction, or other similar actions); and
generating a set of output data comprising a plurality of installation positions on one or more piles not requiring re-installation and a plurality of re-installation parameters for one or more piles requiring re-installation (Sloan; [0012]: easily compare construction in the real world against the virtual design model and measure the positional differences between the two to identify the positional differences and enable further actions to be taken based on the positional difference; further actions to be taken could include revision of the virtual design model to reflect the positional differences; [0052]: when substantial deviations are discovered in non-critical Elements, it is considered best practice to update the design plan to reflect as-built conditions to avoid problems with downstream construction processes that are depending on the accurate installation of those Elements; when minor deviations that fall beneath this tolerance are discovered, the construction team decides to ignore those deviations altogether).
Regarding to claim 9, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the method of claim 8 wherein the subsequent installation scheme is determined with a priority for a highest precision for the subsequent installation scheme (Sloan; [0052]: the construction team has at least three options for dealing with each deviation: fix the installation of the Element in the field, adjust the Design Location in the plans, or ignore the deviation; Critical deviations in significant Elements, i.e. high priority, often require remediation in the field).
Regarding to claim 10, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the method of claim 8 wherein the subsequent installation scheme is determined with a priority of a minimum pile re-installation to meet the predetermined precision threshold (Sloan; [0052]: the construction team has at least three options for dealing with each deviation: fix the installation of the Element in the field, adjust the Design Location in the plans, or ignore the deviation; Critical deviations in significant Elements often require remediation in the field; when substantial deviations are discovered in non-critical Elements, it is considered best practice to update the design plan to reflect as-built conditions to avoid problems with downstream construction processes that are depending on the accurate installation of those Elements; finally, a certain amount of deviation is generally considered acceptable during most construction projects, and when minor deviations that fall beneath this tolerance are discovered, the construction team may decide to ignore those deviations altogether).
Regarding to claim 11, Sloan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium or media comprising one or more sequences of instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, causes steps for foundation mapping and remediation ([0012]: align the real world construction more closely with the virtual design model; [0017]: an Element is a physical object that is installed during construction, such as an I-beam, and a pipe; Fig. 1; [0026]: memory 102, and CPU 104; memory 102 stores a set of instructions to be executed by the CPU 104; Fig. 2; [0047]: measure and report the spatial differences between the Design Location and an Approximate Installed Location by computer system 100; [0049]: the processor executes instructions; [0052]: critical deviations in significant Elements often require remediation in the field ) comprising:
receiving a plurality of point clouds, created by a three-dimensional scanner, for multiple piles in a pile row, with each point cloud comprising multiple data points corresponding to a pile ([0015]: laser scan and survey equipment; [0016]: a point cloud is a collection of measurement points of a scene, such as, I-beam, and a pipe; these measurement points are acquired using a laser scanner, photogrammetry, or other similar 3D measurement techniques; [0017]: an Element is a physical object that is installed during construction, such as an I-beam, and a pipe; [0034]: receive, through a data interface, data describing a set of measurements of one or more elements in the scene; Fig. 2; [0035]: receive the cloud of point measurements of a scene);
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 11.
Regarding to claim 12, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium or media of claim 11.
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 2 is also used to reject claim 12.
Regarding to claim 13, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium or media of claim 11.
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 3 is also used to reject claim 13.
Regarding to claim 14, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium or media of claim 13.
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 4 is also used to reject claim 14.
Regarding to claim 15, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium or media of claim 11.
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 5 is also used to reject claim 15.
Regarding to claim 16, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium or media of claim 15.
wherein the subsequent installation scheme is a scheme for installing a torque tube on the multiple piles in a pile row (McClure; Fig. 9 (B); [0057]: a four-pole system with tubes as illustrated in Fig. 9 (B);
; Fig. 10 (A); [0058]: a four-post pile driven support with tubes;
; [0181]: struts, rails, purlins, legs, pipes, tubes, roll-formed channels; [0191]: tube; [0198]: steel tube).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 17, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium or media of claim 15.
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 7. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 7 is also used to reject claim 17.
Regarding to claim 18, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium or media of claim 11.
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 8. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 8 is also used to reject claim 18.
Regarding to claim 19, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium or media of claim 18.
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 9. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 9 is also used to reject claim 19.
Regarding to claim 20, Sloan in view of McClure discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium or media of claim 19.
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 10. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 10 is also used to reject claim 20.
Conclusion
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616