DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/09/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s argument that Husband does not disclose “the first mounting tab is offset from the second mounting tab” is not persuasive. Husband discloses the limitation as shown in Fig. 17, where the first and second mounting tabs have different heights with the difference in height defining the offset.
With respect to the limitation “the first blade is radially offset from the second blade”, the examiner notes that the limitation is not patentable and is addressed in a rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Husband et al. (US 2020/0123915 A1) hereinafter Husband.
Regarding claim 19, Husband teaches a blade fan comprising:
a hub (62) including a first end and a second end that is opposite the first end (Figs. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 below); and a plurality of blades including a plurality of first ends (blade tips, Fig. 3), a plurality of second ends (blade roots, Fig. 3) that are opposite the plurality of first ends and attached around a circumference of the hub, and a plurality of airfoils (66) between the plurality of first ends and the plurality of second ends (Fig. 3), wherein the second end of each blade includes a first mounting tab and a second mounting tab (Husband, annotated FIG. 3 below); and wherein the first mounting tab is radially offset from the second tab (annotated FIG. 17 shows the first mounting tab being offset radially from the second mounting tab due to difference in height) wherein the first mounting tab has a first length and the second mounting tab has a second length and wherein the second length is longer than the first length (Husband, annotated FIG. 17 below).
Regarding claim 28, Husband teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 19. Husband further teaches the hub comprises:
a first end (end of hub with the first mounting flange) and a second end that is opposite the first end (end of hub with second mounting flange) (Fig. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above);
a plurality of mounting flanges that protrude from an upper surface of the hub that is between the first end of the hub and the second end of the hub, the plurality of mounting flanges including a first mounting flange and a second mounting flange toward the first end of the hub, and a third mounting flange and a fourth mounting flange toward the second end of the hub (Fig. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above);
a plurality of slots (62D) around a circumference of the hub, the plurality of slots including a first slot between the first mounting flange and the second mounting flange, and a second slot between the third mounting flange and the fourth mounting flange (Figs. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above);
and a plurality of holes in the plurality of mounting flanges, the plurality of holes including first holes in the first mounting flange, second holes in the second mounting flange, third holes in the third mounting flange, and fourth holes in the fourth mounting flange, wherein a center of each of the first holes is aligned with a center of a corresponding one of the second holes, a center of a corresponding one of the third holes, and a corresponding one of the fourth holes (Figs. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above).
Regarding claim 29, Husband teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 28. Husband further teaches each of the first mounting flange, the second mounting flange, the third mounting flange, and the fourth mounting flange extend around a circumference of the hub (Figs. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Solomon et al. (US 2007/0224038 A1) hereinafter Solomon.
Solomon teaches a blade fan comprising:
a hub (52) including a first end and a second end that is opposite the first end (Fig. 3); and a plurality of blades (44) including a plurality of first ends (blade tips, Fig. 3), a plurality of second ends (blade roots, Fig. 3; para. 0016) that are opposite the plurality of first ends and attached around a circumference of the hub (Figs. 3-4), and a plurality of airfoils (46) between the plurality of first ends and the plurality of second ends (Fig. 3), wherein the second end of each blade includes a first mounting tab and a second mounting tab (Solomon, annotated FIG. 3 below); and wherein the first mounting tab is radially offset from the second tab (annotated FIG. 3 shows the first mounting tab being offset radially from the second mounting tab due to difference in height) wherein the first mounting tab has a first length and the second mounting tab has a second length and wherein the second length is longer than the first length (Solomon, annotated FIG. 3 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Husband in view of Solomon
Regarding claim 2, Husband teaches a blade fan comprising:
a hub (62) (Figs. 2-3, paras. 0066-0067);
a plurality of blades each including a first end, a second end that is opposite the first end, and an airfoil (66) between the first end and the second end, wherein the second end of each blade includes a first mounting tab and a second mounting tab that are inserted into the hub (Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above), and wherein the first mounting tab is radially offset from the second tab (annotated FIG. 17 shows the first mounting tab being offset radially from the second mounting tab due to difference in height) (see Husband, annotated FIG. 17 above);
a plurality of fasteners (68) configured to connect the plurality of blades to the hub, wherein each fastener of the plurality of fasteners is configured to connect the first mounting tab of a first blade from the plurality of blades to the hub and the second mounting tab of a second blade from the plurality of blades to the hub, the second blade directly adjacent to the first blade (Fig. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above), and wherein the first mounting tab has a first length and the second mounting tab has a second length and wherein the second length is longer than the first length (see Husband, annotated FIG. 17 below).
Husband does not specifically state that the first blade is radially offset from the second blade.
However, Solomon in the same filed teaches Solomon teaches a blade fan comprising:
a hub (52) including a first end and a second end that is opposite the first end (Fig. 3); and a plurality of blades (44) including a plurality of first ends (blade tips, Fig. 3), a plurality of second ends (blade roots, Fig. 3; para. 0016) that are opposite the plurality of first ends and attached around a circumference of the hub (Figs. 3-4), and a plurality of airfoils (46) between the plurality of first ends and the plurality of second ends (Fig. 3), wherein the second end of each blade includes a first mounting tab and a second mounting tab (Solomon, annotated FIG. 3 below); and wherein the first mounting tab is radially offset from the second tab (annotated FIG. 3 shows the first mounting tab being offset radially from the second mounting tab due to difference in height) wherein the first mounting tab has a first length and the second mounting tab has a second length and wherein the second length is longer than the first length (Solomon, annotated FIG. 3 above). Solomon further teaches as shown in Fig. 4, the first blade is radially offset from the second blade (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Husband such that the first blade is radially offset from the second blade as all claimed parts were known and would have yielded none but an expected result; namely improved aerodynamic efficiency and reduced flow loss.
Regarding claim 3, Husband as modified by Solomon teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Husband further teaches as modified by Solomon the hub comprises:
a first end (end of hub with the first mounting flange) and a second end that is opposite the first end (end of hub with second mounting flange) (Fig. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above);
a plurality of mounting flanges that protrude from an upper surface of the hub that is between the first end of the hub and the second end of the hub, the plurality of mounting flanges including a first mounting flange and a second mounting flange toward the first end of the hub, and a third mounting flange and a fourth mounting flange toward the second end of the hub (Fig. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above);
a plurality of slots (62D) around a circumference of the hub, the plurality of slots including a first slot between the first mounting flange and the second mounting flange, and a second slot between the third mounting flange and the fourth mounting flange (Figs. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above);
and a plurality of holes in the plurality of mounting flanges, the plurality of holes including first holes in the first mounting flange, second holes in the second mounting flange, third holes in the third mounting flange, and fourth holes in the fourth mounting flange, wherein a center of each of the first holes is aligned with a center of a corresponding one of the second holes, a center of a corresponding one of the third holes, and a corresponding one of the fourth holes (Figs. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above).
Regarding claim 4, Husband as modified by Solomon teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 3. Husband as modified by Solomon further teaches each of the first mounting flange, the second mounting flange, the third mounting flange, and the fourth mounting flange extend around a circumference of the hub (Figs. 3-5 and Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above).
Regarding claim 9, Husband as modified by Solomon teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Husband as modified by Solomon further teaches the second end of each of the plurality of blades further comprises: a base (270) including a lower surface (surface facing the mounting tabs; Fig. 17), a first connection surface at a first side of the base, and a second connection surface at a second side of the base that is opposite the first side of the base, wherein the first mounting tab and the second mounting tab extend perpendicularly from the lower surface of the base away from the lower surface (Husband, annotated, FIG. 17 above).
Regarding claims 10, Husband as modified by Solomon teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 9. Husband as modified by Solomon further teaches the first connection surface of each of the plurality of blades is connected to the second connection surface of a first adjacent blade at the first side of the blade, and the second connection surface of each of the plurality of blades is connected to the first connection surface of a second adjacent blade at the second side of the blade (Husband, annotated, FIG. 17 above).
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Husband in view of Deallenbach (US 6,364,613 B1).
Regarding claim 20, Husband teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 2 but does not specifically the first end of each of the plurality of blades comprises: a shroud segment that is wider than a portion of the airfoil that is connected to the shroud segment, the shroud segment configured to connect to other shroud segments of other blades from the plurality of blades.
However, Deallenbach teaches a blade fan comprising:
a hub (16) (Fig. 1); a plurality of blades each including a first end, a second end that is opposite the first end, and an airfoil (12) between the first end and the second end, wherein the second end of each blade includes a first mounting tab and a second mounting tab that are inserted into the hub (FIG. 4); and
a plurality of fasteners (14) configured to connect the plurality of blades to the hub (Fig. 4). Deallenbach further teaches the first end of each of the plurality of blades comprises: a shroud segment that is wider than a portion of the airfoil that is connected to the shroud segment, the shroud segment configured to connect to other shroud segments of other blades from the plurality of blades (see tip shroud segment in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Husband by providing a shroud segment on each of the blades as taught by Deallenbach in order to connect adjacent blades.
Regarding claim 21 Husband as modified by Deallenbach teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 11 and 20. Husband as modified by Deallenbach further teaches teaches a tip shroud (combination of the shroud segments) around a circumference of the blade fan, the shroud comprising interconnected shroud segments of the plurality of blades (Deallenbach Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 22, Husband as modified by Deallenbach teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 12 and 21. Husband as modified by Deallenbach further teaches the shroud segment of each of the plurality of blades includes a protrusion (situated on second side of the shroud segment opposite the recess in Deallenbach, Fig. 2) at a first side of the shroud segment and a recess (Deallenbach, FIG. 2) at a second side of the shroud segment that is opposite the first side of the shroud segment, wherein the protrusion of each shroud segment is inserted into the recess of another shroud segment to connect the shroud segment to the other shroud segment (Deallenbach, FIG. 2).
Claim(s) 5-8, 30-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Husband in view of Solomon and further view of Alvanos (US 8,936,440 B2).
Regarding claims 5 and 30, Husband as modified by Solomon teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 3 and 28 respectively above including the second end of each of the plurality of blades includes a first mounting tab and a second mounting tab that are inserted into the hub, the first mounting tab of each of the plurality of blades include a first hole and the second mounting tab of each of the plurality of blades includes a second hole (Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above).
Husband as modified by Solomon does not specifically teach the first mounting tab and second mounting tab of each of the plurality of blades is offset from each other such that a center of the first hole in the first mounting tab is misaligned with a center of the second hole in the second mounting tab.
However, Alvanos teaches a blade fan comprising:
a hub (64C) (Fig. 3);
a plurality of blades each including a first end, a second end that is opposite the first end, and an airfoil (66C) between the first end and the second end, wherein the second end of each blade includes a first mounting tab (86F) and a second mounting tab (88F) that are inserted into the hub (Fig. 3, Col. 4, lines 14-49); and
a plurality of fasteners (84) configured to connect the plurality of blades to the hub, wherein each fastener is configured to connect the first mounting tab of a first blade from the plurality of blades to the hub and the second mounting tab of a second blade from the plurality of blades to the hub, the second blade directly adjacent to the first blade (Fig. 3, Col. 4, lines 14-49). Alvanos further teaches the second end of each of the plurality of blades includes the first mounting tab (86F) and the second mounting tab that are inserted into the hub, the first mounting tab (88F) of each of the plurality of blades include a first hole (86A) and the second mounting tab of each of the plurality of blades includes a second hole (88A) (Fig. 3). Alvanos further teaches the first mounting tab and second mounting tab of each of the plurality of blades is offset from each other such that a center of the first hole in the first mounting tab is misaligned with a center of the second hole in the second mounting tab (Fig. 3). Alvanos in Col. 4, lines 50-59 states: “The apertures 86A, 88A, 90A, 92A, and bore 66CrB form a curved path defined by a non-linear axis C with respect to the engine longitudinal axis A about which hub 68C rotates. The airfoil pin 84 extends along the non-linear axis C such that the airfoil pin 84 is readily assembled along the curved path. The curved path, in one disclosed non-limiting embodiment, generally matches the chamber 66cC of the airfoil 66C such that centrifugal and aerodynamic forces pass radially through the pin 84 (FIG. 6)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify further modify Husband such that the first mounting tab and second mounting tab of each of the plurality of blades is offset from each other such that a center of the first hole in the first mounting tab is misaligned with a center of the second hole in the second mounting tab as taught by Alvanos such that centrifugal and aerodynamic forces pass radially through the plurality of fasteners (Alvanos in Col. 4, lines 50-59).
Regarding claims 6 and 31, Husband as modified by Solomon and Alvanos teaches all the claimed limitations as stated respectively above in claims 5 and 30 above. Husband as modified by Husband and Alvanos further teaches the first mounting tab of each of the plurality of blades is inserted into the first slot and the second mounting tab of each of the plurality of blades is inserted into the second slot (Husband, annotated FIG.3 above).
Regarding claims 7 and 32, Husband as modified by Solomon and Alvanos teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 6 and 31 respectively above. Husband as modified by Solomon Alvanos further teaches the center of the first hole in the first mounting tab of each blade of the plurality of blades is aligned with a center of one of the first holes in the first mounting flange and a center of one of the second holes in the second mounting flange, and the center of the second hole in the second mounting tab of each blade of the plurality of blades is aligned with a center of one of the third holes in the third mounting flange and a center of one of the fourth holes in the fourth mounting flange, wherein the center of the one of the first holes and the center of the one of the second holes that is aligned with the first hole of the first mounting tab of the blade are not aligned with the center of the one of the third holes and the center of the fourth holes that are aligned with the second hole of the second mounting tab of the blade (Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above and Alvanos, Fig. 3, Col. 4, lines 50-59).
Regarding claim 8, Husband as modified by Solomon and Alvanos teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6 above. Husband as modified by Solomon and Alvanos further teaches each fastener is configured to be inserted into the one of the first holes of the first mounting flange, the first hole in the first mounting tab of a corresponding blade, one of the second holes in the second mounting flange, one of the third holes in the third mounting flange, the second hole in the second mounting tab of another blade that is adjacent to the corresponding blade, and one of the fourth holes in the fourth mounting flange (Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above).
Regarding claim 33, Husband as modified by Solomon and Alvanos teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 31 above. Husband as modified by Solomon and Alvnos further teaches a plurality of fasteners (68) configured to connect the plurality of blades to the hub, wherein each fastener is configured to connect the first mounting tab of a first blade from the plurality of blades to the hub and the second mounting tab of a second blade from the plurality of blades to the hub, the second blade directly adjacent to the first blade. wherein each fastener is configured to be inserted into the one of the first holes of the first mounting flange, the first hole in the first mounting tab of a corresponding blade, one of the second holes in the second mounting flange, one of the third holes in the third mounting flange, the second hole in the second mounting tab of another blade that is adjacent to the corresponding blade, and one of the fourth holes in the fourth mounting flange (Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above).
Regarding claim 34, Husband as modified by Solomon and Alvanos teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 30. Husband as modified by Solomon Alvanos further teaches the second end of each of the plurality of blades further comprises: a base (270) including a lower surface (surface facing the mounting tabs; Fig. 17), a first connection surface at a first side of the base, and a second connection surface at a second side of the base that is opposite the first side of the base, wherein the first mounting tab and the second mounting tab extend perpendicularly from the lower surface of the base away from the lower surface (Husband, annotated, FIG. 17 above).
Regarding claim 35, Husband as modified by Solomon and Alvanos teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 33. Husband as modified by Alvanos further teaches the first connection surface of each of the plurality of blades is connected to the second connection surface of a first adjacent blade at the first side of the blade, and the second connection surface of each of the plurality of blades is connected to the first connection surface of a second adjacent blade at the second side of the blade (Husband, annotated, FIG. 17 above).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Husband in view of Solomon and further in view of Deallenbach (US 6,364,613 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Husband as modified by Solomon teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2 but does not specifically the first end of each of the plurality of blades comprises: a shroud segment that is wider than a portion of the airfoil that is connected to the shroud segment, the shroud segment configured to connect to other shroud segments of other blades from the plurality of blades.
However, Deallenbach teaches a blade fan comprising:
a hub (16) (Fig. 1); a plurality of blades each including a first end, a second end that is opposite the first end, and an airfoil (12) between the first end and the second end, wherein the second end of each blade includes a first mounting tab and a second mounting tab that are inserted into the hub (FIG. 4); and
a plurality of fasteners (14) configured to connect the plurality of blades to the hub (Fig. 4). Deallenbach further teaches the first end of each of the plurality of blades comprises: a shroud segment that is wider than a portion of the airfoil that is connected to the shroud segment, the shroud segment configured to connect to other shroud segments of other blades from the plurality of blades (see tip shroud segment in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Husband by providing a shroud segment on each of the blades as taught by Deallenbach in order to connect adjacent blades.
Regarding claim 12, Husband as modified by Solomon and Deallenbach teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 11. Husband as modified by Solomon and Deallenbach further teaches a tip shroud (combination of the shroud segments) around a circumference of the blade fan, the shroud comprising interconnected shroud segments of the plurality of blades (Deallenbach Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Husband as modified by Solomon and Deallenbach teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 12. Husband as modified by Solomon and Deallenbach further teaches the shroud segment of each of the plurality of blades includes a protrusion (situated on second side of the shroud segment opposite the recess in Deallenbach, Fig. 2) at a first side of the shroud segment and a recess (Deallenbach, FIG. 2) at a second side of the shroud segment that is opposite the first side of the shroud segment, wherein the protrusion of each shroud segment is inserted into the recess of another shroud segment to connect the shroud segment to the other shroud segment (Deallenbach, FIG. 2).
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Husband in view of Solomon and further in view of Suciu et al. (US 2021/0172333 A1) hereinafter Suciu.
Husband teaches a propulsor configured to generate thrust, the propulsor comprising:
a hub (62) including a first end and a second end that is opposite the first end (Figs. 1-3, para. 0066-0067);
a blade fan including a plurality of blades arranged in a circular ring where each blade includes a first end (at blade tip), a second end (at blade root) (Figs. 1-3) that is opposite the first end, and an airfoil (66) between the first end and the second end (Figs. 1-3, paras. 0066-0067), wherein the second end of each blade includes a first mounting tab and a second mounting tab that are inserted into a portion of the hub between the first end of the hub and the second end of the hub (Fig. 3 and Husband, annotated Fig. 3 above); wherein the first mounting tab has a first length and the second mounting tab has a second length and wherein the second length is longer than the first length (see Husband, annotated FIG. 17 below) and (annotated FIG. 17 shows the first mounting tab being offset radially from the second mounting tab due to difference in height) (see Husband, annotated FIG. 17 above);
a plurality of fasteners (68) configured to connect the blade fan to the hub, wherein each fastener is configured to connect the first mounting tab of a corresponding blade from the plurality of blades to the hub and the second mounting tab of another blade from the plurality of blades to the hub, the other blade directly adjacent to the corresponding blade (Husband, annotated FIG. 2);
a nose cone connected to the first end of the hub (Fig. 1); and a duct (22) that at least partially surrounds the blade fan, the hub, the nose cone (Fig. 1).
Husband does not specifically state that the first blade is radially offset from the second blade and does not teach a motor connected to a second end of the hub.
However, Solomon in the same filed teaches Solomon teaches a blade fan comprising:
a hub (52) including a first end and a second end that is opposite the first end (Fig. 3); and a plurality of blades (44) including a plurality of first ends (blade tips, Fig. 3), a plurality of second ends (blade roots, Fig. 3; para. 0016) that are opposite the plurality of first ends and attached around a circumference of the hub (Figs. 3-4), and a plurality of airfoils (46) between the plurality of first ends and the plurality of second ends (Fig. 3), wherein the second end of each blade includes a first mounting tab and a second mounting tab (Solomon, annotated FIG. 3 below); and wherein the first mounting tab is radially offset from the second tab (annotated FIG. 3 shows the first mounting tab being offset radially from the second mounting tab due to difference in height) wherein the first mounting tab has a first length and the second mounting tab has a second length and wherein the second length is longer than the first length (Solomon, annotated FIG. 3 above). Solomon further teaches as shown in Fig. 4, the first blade is radially offset from the second blade (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Husband such that the first blade is radially offset from the second blade as all claimed parts were known and would have yielded none but an expected result; namely improved aerodynamic efficiency and reduced flow loss.
Husband as modified by Solomon does not teach a motor connected to a second end of the hub.
However, Suciu teaches a propulsor configured to generate thrust, the propulsor comprising:
a hub (23) including a first end and a second end that is opposite the first end (Fig. 1, para. 0034);
a blade fan (24) including a plurality of blades arranged in a circular ring where each blade includes a first end (at blade tip), a second end (at blade root) (Fig. 1), a nose cone connected to the first end of the hub (Fig. 1); and a duct (22) that at least partially surrounds the blade fan, the hub, the nose cone (Fig. 1). Suciu further teaches a motor (90) connected to a second end of the hub configured to “generate electricity during cruise and/or descent conditions” (Fig. 1, para. 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Husband by mounting a motor to the second end of the hub as taught by Suciu in order to generate electricity during cruise and/or descent conditions (Suciu, Fig. 1, para. 0033).
Conclusion
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745