DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 refers to “the housing” in lines 7 and 9. This should read “the diffuser housing”.
Claim 10 recites “the housing of the patient interface”. This should read “the body of the patient interface”.
Claim 11 switches from using the term “flow of treatment gas” in lines 1-6, to using “the flow of breathing gas” in the remainder of the claim. Consistent claim terminology is recommended.
Claim 15 recites “the housing of the patient interface”. This should read “the body of the patient interface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/208234 in view of Short (WO 2022/073075 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitation except wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned. Short teaches wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned (the array of inlets 3405 and the array of outlets 3402 each have an axis that is coaxially aligned with each other). It would have been obvious to have modified claim 1 of ‘234 to include wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned in order to have a route in which gases can ultimately exit to the atmosphere.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitation except wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned. Short teaches wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned (the array of inlets 3405 and the array of outlets 3402 each have an axis that is coaxially aligned with each other). It would have been obvious to have modified claim 1 of ‘234 to include wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned in order to have a route in which gases can ultimately exit to the atmosphere.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitation except wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned. Short teaches wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned (the array of inlets 3405 and the array of outlets 3402 each have an axis that is coaxially aligned with each other). It would have been obvious to have modified claim 1 of ‘234 to include wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned in order to have a route in which gases can ultimately exit to the atmosphere.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 of ‘234 discloses all of the claimed limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Short (WO 2022/073075 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Short discloses:
An exhaust diffuser arrangement (figure 57; 3400) for exhausting gases from a main cavity (within 3200, see for example figure 54) of a patient interface used in providing a flow of a breathing gas to the airway of a patient [0018], the exhaust diffuser arrangement comprising:
a diffuser housing (3403 + 3401);
a diffuser cavity (see cavity within 3403) defined within the diffuser housing, the diffuser cavity being sized and configured to house a diffuser element (3404) therein (see figure 54);
a diffuser inlet (3405) defined in the housing, the diffuser inlet structured to communicate gases from the main cavity to the diffuser cavity [0278]; and
a diffuser outlet (3402) defined in the housing (see figure 54), the diffuser outlet structured to communicate gases from the diffuser cavity to an exterior environment to the patient interface [0278], wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned (the array of inlets 3405 and the array of outlets 3402 each have an axis that is coaxially aligned with each other).
Regarding claim 2, Short further discloses a number of protrusions (3406) extending into the diffuser cavity from the diffuser housing (see figure 54), wherein each protrusion of the number of protrusions is structured to space the diffuser element from a corresponding portion of the diffuser housing [0280] to form a non-linear pathway between the diffuser element and the diffuser housing that extends from the diffuser inlet to the diffuser outlet (see figure 54, a non-linear pathway exists between 3405 to 3405 between 3404 and the diffuser housing).
Regarding claim 3, Short further discloses a number of ribs extending into the diffuser cavity from the diffuser housing (see annotated figure below), wherein each rib of the number of ribs is structured to space the diffuser element from a corresponding portion of the diffuser housing (as shown in figure 57) to form a non-linear pathway between the diffuser element and the diffuser housing that extends from the diffuser inlet to the diffuser outlet (see figure 54, a non-linear pathway exists between 3405 to 3405 between 3404 and the diffuser housing).
Regarding claim 4, Short further discloses the diffuser element captively positioned within the diffuser cavity (see figure 54).
Regarding claim 6, Short discloses:
A patient interface (figure 51) for use in providing a flow of a breathing gas to the airway of a patient [0018], the patient interface comprising:
a sealing arrangement (3100) structured to sealingly engage about an airway of the patient;
a body (body of 3200);
a main cavity (cavity within 3200) defined within the body, the main cavity being structured to receive the flow of breathing gas (via 3202 [0290]);
a patient aperture (3850) surrounded by the sealing arrangement (see for example figure 49), the patient aperture structured to convey the flow of breathing gas from the main cavity to the airway of the patient [0290]; and
an exhaust diffuser arrangement (figure 57; 3400) comprising:
a diffuser housing (3403 + 3401);
a diffuser cavity (see cavity within 3403) defined within the diffuser housing,
a diffuser element (3404) captively positioned within the diffuser cavity (see figure 54)
a diffuser inlet (3405) defined in the housing, the diffuser inlet structured to communicate gases from the main cavity to the diffuser cavity [0278]; and
a diffuser outlet (3402) defined in the diffuser housing (see figure 54), the diffuser outlet structured to communicate gases from the diffuser cavity to an exterior environment to the patient interface [0278], wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned (the array of inlets 3405 and the array of outlets 3402 each have an axis that is coaxially aligned with each other).
Regarding claim 8, Short further discloses a number of protrusions (3406) extending into the diffuser cavity from the diffuser housing (see figure 54), wherein each protrusion of the number of protrusions spaces the diffuser element from a corresponding portion of the diffuser housing [0280] to form a non-linear pathway between the diffuser element and the diffuser housing that extends from the diffuser inlet to the diffuser outlet (see figure 54, a non-linear pathway exists between 3405 to 3405 between 3404 and the diffuser housing).
Regarding claim 9, Short further discloses a number of ribs extending into the diffuser cavity from the diffuser housing (see annotated figure below), wherein each rib of the number of ribs spaces the diffuser element from a corresponding portion of the diffuser housing (as shown in figure 57) to form a non-linear pathway between the diffuser element and the diffuser housing that extends from the diffuser inlet to the diffuser outlet (see figure 54, a non-linear pathway exists between 3405 to 3405 between 3404 and the diffuser housing).
Regarding claim 11, Short discloses:
An arrangement for providing a flow of treatment gas to the airway of a patient (figure 47), the arrangement comprising:
a tubing assembly (3600, 3350, 3363, 3362) comprising a manifold portion (where 3600 connects to 3362) and a number of tubular portions (left and right portions comprised of 3362 3350 3363), each tubular portion extending from the manifold portion to a distal end (so 3100 as shown in figure 47), the manifold portion being structured to receive the flow of treatment gas [0252] and each tubular portion being structured to convey the flow of treatment gas from the manifold portion to the distal end thereof [0252]; and
a patient interface (3100) coupled to the distal end of each tubular portion (see figure 47), the patient interface comprising:
a sealing arrangement (3100) structured to sealingly engage about an airway of the patient;
a body (body of 3200);
a main cavity (cavity within 3200) defined within the body, the main cavity being structured to receive the flow of breathing gas from the distal end of each tubular portion (via 3202 [0290]);
a patient aperture (3850) surrounded by the sealing arrangement (see for example figure 49), the patient aperture structured to convey the flow of breathing gas from the main cavity to the airway of the patient [0290]; and
an exhaust diffuser arrangement (figure 57; 3400) comprising:
a diffuser housing (3403 + 3401);
a diffuser cavity (see cavity within 3403) defined within the diffuser housing,
a diffuser element (3404) captively positioned within the diffuser cavity (see figure 54)
a diffuser inlet (3405) defined in the housing, the diffuser inlet structured to communicate gases from the main cavity to the diffuser cavity [0278]; and
a diffuser outlet (3402) defined in the diffuser housing (see figure 54), the diffuser outlet structured to communicate gases from the diffuser cavity to an exterior environment to the patient interface [0278], wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned (the array of inlets 3405 and the array of outlets 3402 each have an axis that is coaxially aligned with each other).
Regarding claim 13, Short further discloses a number of protrusions (3406) extending into the diffuser cavity from the diffuser housing (see figure 54), wherein each protrusion of the number of protrusions spaces the diffuser element from a corresponding portion of the diffuser housing [0280] to form a non-linear pathway between the diffuser element and the diffuser housing that extends from the diffuser inlet to the diffuser outlet (see figure 54, a non-linear pathway exists between 3405 to 3405 between 3404 and the diffuser housing).
Regarding claim 14, Short further discloses a number of ribs extending into the diffuser cavity from the diffuser housing (see annotated figure below), wherein each rib of the number of ribs spaces the diffuser element from a corresponding portion of the diffuser housing (as shown in figure 57) to form a non-linear pathway between the diffuser element and the diffuser housing that extends from the diffuser inlet to the diffuser outlet (see figure 54, a non-linear pathway exists between 3405 to 3405 between 3404 and the diffuser housing).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Drew et al. (US 6,581,594 B1)
Regarding claim 6, Drew discloses:
A patient interface (figure 3) for use in providing a flow of a breathing gas to the airway of a patient (col. 2, lines 65-67), the patient interface comprising:
a sealing arrangement (64) structured to sealingly engage about an airway of the patient;
a body (12);
a main cavity (cavity within 12) defined within the body, the main cavity being structured to receive the flow of breathing gas (via 62);
a patient aperture (aperture defined by 64) surrounded by the sealing arrangement (see for example figure 3), the patient aperture structured to convey the flow of breathing gas from the main cavity to the airway of the patient (col. 5, lines 7-9); and
an exhaust diffuser arrangement (110) comprising:
a diffuser housing (112+116);
a diffuser cavity (see cavity between 112, 116) defined within the diffuser housing,
a diffuser element (114) captively positioned within the diffuser cavity (see figure 4);
a diffuser inlet (opening within 116) defined in the housing, the diffuser inlet structured to communicate gases from the main cavity to the diffuser cavity (col. 5, lines 15-17); and
a diffuser outlet (opening within 112) defined in the housing (see figure 4), the diffuser outlet structured to communicate gases from the diffuser cavity to an exterior environment to the patient interface (col. 5, lines 15-17), wherein the diffuser inlet and the diffuser outlet are coaxially aligned (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Drew further discloses wherein the diffuser housing is integrally formed with the housing of the patient interface (col. 5, lines 19-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Short (WO 2022/073075 A1) in view of Dantanarayana et al. (2018/0264222 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Short does not explicitly disclose wherein the diffuser element comprises absorbent material.
However, Dantanarayana teaches it is known for diffuser elements (9146) to be sound absorbent materials [0332].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a sound absorbent material in Short for the benefit of enhanced noise reduction.
Regarding claim 7, Short does not explicitly disclose wherein the diffuser element comprises absorbent material.
However, Dantanarayana teaches it is known for diffuser elements (9146) to be sound absorbent materials [0332].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a sound absorbent material in Short for the benefit of enhanced noise reduction.
Regarding claim 12, Short does not explicitly disclose wherein the diffuser element comprises absorbent material.
However, Dantanarayana teaches it is known for diffuser elements (9146) to be sound absorbent materials [0332].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a sound absorbent material in Short for the benefit of enhanced noise reduction.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Short (WO 2022/073075 A1) in view of Drew et al. (US 6,581,594 B1).
Regarding claim 15, Short does not explicitly disclose wherein the diffuser housing is integrally formed with the housing of the patient interface.
Drew teaches wherein the diffuser housing (112, 116) is integrally formed with the housing of the patient interface (col. 5, lines 19-22).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Short such that the diffuser housing is integrally formed with the housing of the patient interface as taught by Drew since the courts have held that making something integral in obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)
Conclusion
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785