DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I (claims 1-8, 10) in the reply filed on 05/22/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there wouldn’t be any additional burden on the Examiner to examine both groups. This is not found persuasive because they two require distinct fields of search and text searches, as is noted on page 3 of the restriction mailed 05/14/26. Notably, one invention requires searching for specific materials that the other does not require, and another requires searching for a locking mechanism that the other does not require, indicating a burdensome search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 05/22/26.
Priority
Claims 1-8 and 10 have a priority date of 06/11/23, since this is the first time the application or priority chain mentions the styrene-based elastomeric gel layer being co-extensive with the fabric.
The Examiner notes that there is no illustration of these layers being co-extensive in all directions (only one cross-sectional view shows the two layers together and does not indicate the layers extend co-extensively all the way around the liner), and there is no discussion of this in the specification, so the filing date of the claims is the priority date.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to for referring to “a resting position” twice when it is unclear whether or not the two resting positions are the same or different.
Further, the claim is objected to for referring to “an styrene-based” when this is grammatically incorrect.
Claim 10 is objected to for the same reasons as claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the liner fabric covering, the rounded base, the rounded end of each arm, and the “effective area” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: liner fabric covering, rounded base, the rounded end of each arm, the effective area of the liner.
Further, the specification at [0057] refers to SEEPS and SEBS, but these appear to be acronyms without spelling out what these are referring to.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “locking mechanism” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “locking mechanism” of claim 4 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not describe or detail any structural features of the locking mechanism at any location the mechanism is mentioned. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Remaining claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10 are indefinite for claiming the arms extend from the closed distal end up to six inches from the open proximal end. It is unclear whether or not this means the fabric covering extends upward from the closed distal end and stops 6 inches from the open proximal end, or whether the fabric covering extends from the closed distal end anywhere less than 6 inches from the open proximal end. The specification does not elaborate on this, and doesn’t seem to explain the meaning of this at all. The figures likewise don’t appear to show either situation, leaving the Examiner unclear what meaning Applicant intends for their claims.
Claims 6-7 are indefinite for claiming the fabric covering has specific elongation in different areas “of an effective area”. It is unclear what this “effective area” is and whether or not it belongs to the liner at all, as the claim appears to require. The specification [0060] mentions “effective areas”, but these areas belong to humans, and are not part of the claimed liner. If the Examiner is to understand the effective areas as being part of the user as the specification might lead one to believe, the claims would be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for positively claiming a part of the human body. However, this is unclear since the claims do not actually mention that any of the claimed features, like the effective areas, do not belong to the claimed liner.
Remaining claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halldorsson et al. (US 20150057763 A1) hereinafter known as Halldorsson in view of Fay (US 6231617 B1), further in view of Doddroe et al. (US 20110208321 A1), further in view of Laghi et al. (US 20100274363 A1), hereinafter known as Laghi, further in view of Kania (US 5830237 A ).
Regarding claims 1 and 8 Halldorsson discloses a prosthetic liner comprising:
a fabric covering ([0007]) having an open proximal end (Figure 1 item 34) and a closed distal end (Figure 1 item 36) knit into a tubular shape (Figure 1; [0001] tubular; [0008] continuously knit), the fabric further comprising a proximal region (e.g. top region) and a distal region (e.g. bottom region), wherein the distal region is stitched such that it has a lower longitudinal elongation from a resting position ([0055]-[0056] the proximal end first stitch has a greater longitudinal elongation than the distal region) and comprises a different stitching pattern than the proximal region ([0006]) such that the proximal region has a longitudinal elongation of 55-125% ([0055]-[0056] the proximal end first stitch has a greater longitudinal elongation than the distal region; [0014] the greater elongation region can be 70-225%),
an elastomeric gel layer (Figure 1 item 30; [0031] silicone) residing on an interior surface of the fabric ([0031] the liners have silicone inside, with the textile cover forming the outer periphery),
and a low-extensibility material ([0031] reinforcement layer) in between the gel and the fabric covering thereby forming a composite ([0031] the reinforcement layer is intermediate the inner and outer surfaces; this is considered a “composite”, which is defined by Merriam-Webster as “made up of distinct parts or elements”),
but is silent with regards to the distal region’s distal longitudinal elongation being from 0-30%,
the elastomer gel layer being styrene-based,
the elastomeric gel layer being co-extensive with the fabric,
and the low-extensibility material being a single-piece and comprising fiberglass cloth, and its shape/extent/width.
However, regarding claims 1 and 8 Halldorsson teaches that the less axially elongating region elongates 50-70% ([0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the elongation range of the less axially stretching region (e.g. the distal end region) so that it has an axial elongation of less than 50% (e.g. 30%), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, Halldorsson already identifies the axial elongation being manipulated by the type of stitch used, and thus the adjustment of this elongation according to need is considered obvious to the person of ordinary skill.
However, regarding claims 1 and 8 Fay teaches wherein a reinforcement, low-extensibility material (Abstract: arms are made of a longitudinally non-stretchable material) of fiberglass cloth (Abstract) can be formed of a single-piece (Figure 5a item 30) and form a rounded base at the closed distal end (Figure 5), and have at least two arms terminating in a rounded end (Figure 5a item 30), and extend up from the closed distal end up to the open proximal end between 4-12 inches (Column 1 lines 65-66, and Column 6 lines 37-43 the arms can extend the entire way up the side (e.g. up to the open proximal end), as well as be truncated fingers. See also Figure 3 showing truncated fingers. While the figures are not understood to be drawn to-scale, they are not considered to be completely inaccurate either. Since Fay teaches the overall length of the liner is 14 inches, and the fingers 20 are truncated, somewhere around halfway up the liner, the person of ordinary skill at the time the invention was field would have found it obvious for the low-extensibility material of Fay to extend around 7 inches, which falls within the required range of 4-12 inches.). Halldorsson and Fay are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic liner systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liner of Halldorsson so that the reinforcement material was formed from a single-piece and extends upward form the closed distal end as is taught by Fay in order to ensure the distal end of the liner is reinforced, thus spreading the negative pressure generated during the swing phase of a gait substantially over the inner surface to inhibit the common milking effect. As regards its shape, the courts have held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success results in a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I)(E). In this case, any known shape of reinforcement material would have been obvious to try.
Further, regarding claims 1 and 8 Doddroe teaches wherein a strip of material designed to prevent longitudinal stretchability is present on a liner, it can have a width of 1.5-8 inches ([0053]). Halldorsson and Doddroe are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely liners which adjust axial elongation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liner of the Halldorsson Fay Combination so that the width of the reinforcement material is between 0.5-4 inches as is taught by Doddroe in order to ensure the material can provide enough axial stability to the liner while still allowing some flexibility for the liner to stretch and accommodate a residual limb.
Further, regarding claims 1 and 8 Laghi teaches that styrene-based polymers (clm 8) are useable as elastomeric materials for prosthetic liners ([0035]). Halldorsson and Laghi are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic liners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liner of the Halldorsson Fay Doddroe Combination so that it's gel material was styrene-based as is taught by Laghi since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.07. Applicant's specification also supports the interchangability of silicone and styrene-based materials ([0066]).
Further, regarding claims 1 and 8, Kania teaches a prosthetic liner which includes an elastomeric layer and a fabric layer which are co-extensive (Column 3 lines 37-40). Halldorsson and Kania are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic liners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liner of the Combination so that the fabric coextensively extends with the underlying elastomer as is taught by Kania so that an entirety of the surface of the liner receives the benefit of the dual-layer surface described by Halldorsson [0031].
Regarding claim 2 the Halldorsson Fay Doddroe Laghi Kania Combination teaches the liner of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Halldorsson further discloses the distal region is knit using a weft stitching (Figure 6 shows a weft stitch).
Regarding claim 3 the Halldorsson Fay Doddroe Laghi Kania Combination teaches the liner of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Halldorsson further discloses the proximal region is able to elongate longitudinally more than the distal region ([0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 5 the Halldorsson Fay Doddroe Laghi Kania Combination teaches the liner of claim 4 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Halldorsson further discloses the fabric comprises a locking mechanism fabric region ([0045] reinforced distal end which includes a connection 22 for attaching a prosthetic) which is thicker than the distal region ([0038] indicates the stiffness of the fabric can be tailored by virtue of its multiple fabrics (e.g. thicker area). See also [0050] in which the desirability of having the end section to be stiffer for providing support in the joint along the axial direction of the sleeve is discussed.).
Regarding claims 6-7 the Halldorsson Fay Doddroe Laghi Kania Combination teaches the liner of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Halldorsson further discloses the fabric exhibits greater longitudinal elongation in pressure-sensitive areas of an effective area and the fabric exhibits lower longitudinal elongation in pressure-tolerant areas of an effective area ([0055]-[0056] the proximal areas are considered pressure-sensitive and the distal end is considered pressure-tolerant; the proximal end first stitch has a greater longitudinal elongation than the distal region).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halldorsson, Fay, Doddroe, Laghi, and Kania as is applied above in view of Laghi (US 8357206 B2), hereinafter known as Laghi ‘206.
Regarding claim 4 the Halldorsson Fay Doddroe Laghi Kania Combination teaches the liner of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Halldorsson further discloses the distal region comprises a locking mechanism region ([0045] reinforced distal end which includes a connection 22 for attaching a prosthetic),
but is silent with regards to the region housing a locking mechanism.
However, regarding claim 4 Laghi ‘206 teaches that liners are connected to their prosthetic socket/device by a locking mechanism (Column 7 lines 35-38). Halldorsson and Laghi ‘206 are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic liners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liner of the Combination so that the connection mechanisms of the prior art connected to the prosthetic devices with a locking mechanism as is taught by Laghi ‘206 in order to prevent the socket from falling off the liner and providing a prosthetic which does not come disconnected unless desired, which would otherwise present a safety issue.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halldorsson, Fay, Doddroe, Laghi, and Kania as is applied above in view of Kristinsdottir (US 20130190895 A1).
Regarding claim 10 Halldorsson discloses a prosthetic liner comprising:
a fabric covering ([0007]) having an open proximal end (Figure 1 item 34) and a closed distal end (Figure 1 item 36) knit into a tubular shape (Figure 1; [0001] tubular; [0008] continuously knit), the fabric further comprising a proximal region (e.g. top region) and a distal region (e.g. bottom region), wherein the distal region is stitched such that it has a lower longitudinal elongation from a resting position ([0055]-[0056] the proximal end first stitch has a greater longitudinal elongation than the distal region) and comprises a different stitching pattern than the proximal region ([0006]) such that the proximal region has a longitudinal elongation of 55-125% ([0055]-[0056] the proximal end first stitch has a greater longitudinal elongation than the distal region; [0014] the greater elongation region can be 70-225%),
an elastomeric gel layer (Figure 1 item 30; [0031] silicone) residing on an interior surface of the fabric ([0031] the liners have silicone inside, with the textile cover forming the outer periphery),
and a low-extensibility material ([0031] reinforcement layer) in between the gel and the fabric covering thereby forming a composite ([0031] the reinforcement layer is intermediate the inner and outer surfaces; this is considered a “composite”, which is defined by Merriam-Webster as “made up of distinct parts or elements”),
but is silent with regards to the distal region’s distal longitudinal elongation being from 0-30%,
the elastomer gel layer being styrene-based,
the elastomeric gel layer being co-extensive with the fabric,
and the low-extensibility material being a single-piece and comprising fabric with an inelastic backing, and its shape/extent/width.
However, regarding claim 10 Halldorsson teaches that the less axially elongating region elongates 50-70% ([0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the elongation range of the less axially stretching region (e.g. the distal end region) so that it has an axial elongation of less than 50% (e.g. 30%), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, Halldorsson already identifies the axial elongation being manipulated by the type of stitch used, and thus the adjustment of this elongation according to need is considered obvious to the person of ordinary skill.
However, regarding claim 10 Fay teaches wherein a reinforcement, low-extensibility material (Abstract: arms are made of a longitudinally non-stretchable material) of inelastic fabric (Abstract: fiberglass cloth) can be formed of a single-piece (Figure 5a item 30) and form a rounded base at the closed distal end (Figure 5), and have at least two arms terminating in a rounded end (Figure 5a item 30), and extend up from the closed distal end up to the open proximal end between 4-12 inches (Column 1 lines 65-66, and Column 6 lines 37-43 the arms can extend the entire way up the side (e.g. up to the open proximal end), as well as be truncated fingers. See also Figure 3 showing truncated fingers. While the figures are not understood to be drawn to-scale, they are not considered to be completely inaccurate either. Since Fay teaches the overall length of the liner is 14 inches, and the fingers 20 are truncated, somewhere around halfway up the liner, the person of ordinary skill at the time the invention was field would have found it obvious for the low-extensibility material of Fay to extend around 7 inches, which falls within the required range of 4-12 inches.). Halldorsson and Fay are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic liner systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liner of Halldorsson so that the reinforcement material was formed from a single-piece and extends upward form the closed distal end as is taught by Fay in order to ensure the distal end of the liner is reinforced, thus spreading the negative pressure generated during the swing phase of a gait substantially over the inner surface to inhibit the common milking effect. As regards its shape, the courts have held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success results in a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I)(E). In this case, any known shape of reinforcement material would have been obvious to try.
Further, while Fay already teaches inelastic fabric as the reinforcement (Abstract), Kristinsdottir teaches that there can be multiple layers of the reinforcement within a prosthetic liner ([0036]). Hallsdorsson and Kristinsdottir are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic liners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liner of the Combination so that the reinforcement included not just an inelastic fabric as is taught by Fay, but a fabric with an inelastic backing (e.g. two layers of inelastic fabric layered together, one of which being considered a “backing” to the other), as is taught by Kristinsdottir in order to allow the user to customize the inelasticity in different directions by virtue of the orientation of the fibers of the fabrics, according to need.
Further, regarding claim 10 Doddroe teaches wherein a strip of material designed to prevent longitudinal stretchability is present on a liner, it can have a width of 1.5-8 inches ([0053]). Halldorsson and Doddroe are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely liners which adjust axial elongation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liner of the Halldorsson Fay Kristinsdottir Combination so that the width of the reinforcement material is between 0.5-4 inches as is taught by Doddroe in order to ensure the material can provide enough axial stability to the liner while still allowing some flexibility for the liner to stretch and accommodate a residual limb.
Further, regarding claim 10 Laghi teaches that styrene-based polymers are useable as elastomeric materials for prosthetic liners ([0035]). Halldorsson and Laghi are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic liners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liner of the Halldorsson Fay Kristinsdottir Doddroe Combination so that it's gel material was styrene-based as is taught by Laghi since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.07. Applicant's specification also supports the interchangability of silicone and styrene-based materials ([0066]).
Further, regarding claim 10 Kania teaches a prosthetic liner which includes an elastomeric layer and a fabric layer which are co-extensive (Column 3 lines 37-40). Halldorsson and Kania are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic liners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liner of the Combination so that the fabric coextensively extends with the underlying elastomer as is taught by Kania so that an entirety of the surface of the liner receives the benefit of the dual-layer surface described by Halldorsson [0031].
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 06/03/26