DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s species election without traverse of 1) hematological malignancies as a species of cancer type from claim 217, 2) multispecific antibody as the species of T-cel redirecting therapeutics from claim 229, 3) immunomodulatory agent as a species of anti-cancer therapy from claim 249, and 4) pomalidomide as a species of anti-cancer therapy from claim 250 in the reply filed on 08/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 213-251 are pending.
Claim 219 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/18/2026.
Claims 213-218 and 220-251 are under examination on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Claims 213-251 have an effective filing date of 05/16/2018, corresponding to PRO 62/672,222.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/20/2023, 12/14/2023, 01/18/2024, 08/08/2024, 09/19/2024, 12/09/2024, 01/16/2025, 10/20/2025, 12/22/2025, 05/21/2026, 07/09/2026, and 08/18/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections
35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-251 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) in view of Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016).
At [0005], Jansson et al. teach that anti-CD38 antibodies may be used to treat MM. At claim 14, Jansson et al. teach an anti-CD38 antibody that comprises the VH of SEQ ID NO: 4 and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 5, and SEQ ID NO(s): 4 and 5 of Jansson et al. are identical to the anti-CD38 VH of the instant SEQ ID NO: 4 and the anti-CD38 VL of the instant SEQ ID NO: 5. At claim 14, Jansson et al. also teach an anti-CD38 antibody that comprises the HC of SEQ ID NO: 12 and the LC of SEQ ID NO: 13, and SEQ ID NO(s): 12 and 13 of Jansson et al. are identical to the anti-CD38 HC of the instant SEQ ID NO: 12 and the anti-CD38 LC of the instant SEQ ID NO: 13. At [0427]-[0433], Jansson et al. teach that “[t]he invention also provides a unit dosage form, comprising the anti-CD38 antibody comprising the VH of SEQ ID NO: 4 and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 5 in an amount of about 1,800 mg; rHuPH20 in an amount of from about 30,000 U; histidine at a concentration of about 10 mM; sorbitol at a concentration of about 300 mM; PS-20 at a concentration of about 0.04% w/v; and methionine at a concentration of from about 1 mg/mL; at a pH of about 5.5.” At [0544], Jansson et al. teach that anti-CD38 antibodies of the invention may be of the IgG1, IgG2, IgG3 or IgG4 isotype. At claims 42 and 68-70, Jansson et al. teach that anti-CD38 antibodies may be administered with an additional agent, such as bortezomib, carfilzomib or ixazomib. At [0627], Jansson et al. teach that anti-CD38 antibodies may administered at a dose of 16 mg/kg. At [0200] and [0201], Jansson et al. teach that “[t]he invention also provides a pharmaceutical composition comprising [0201] from about 20 mg/mL to about 120 mg/mL of the anti-CD38 antibody comprising the VH of SEQ ID NO: 4 and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 5 in about 25 mM acetic acid, about 60 mM sodium chloride, about 140 mM mannitol and about 0.04% w/v polysorbate-20 (PS-20); at pH about 5.5.” At [0328]-[0334], Jansson et al. teach that “[t]he invention also provides a pharmaceutical composition comprising about 120 mg/mL of the anti-CD38 antibody comprising the VH and the VL of SEQ ID NOs: 4 and 5, respectively; about 2,000 U/mL rHuPH20; about 10 mM histidine; about 300 mM sorbitol; about 0.04% w/v PS-20; and about 1 mg/mL methionine; at pH about 5.6.” At [0010]-[0011], Jansson et al. teach that “[t]he invention also provides a method of treating a CD38-positive hematological malignancy, comprising administering subcutaneously to a subject in need thereof the pharmaceutical composition of the invention for a time sufficient to treat the CD38-positive hematological malignancy. The invention also provides a method of treating a multiple myeloma, comprising administering subcutaneously to a subject in need thereof the pharmaceutical composition of the invention for a time sufficient to treat the multiple myeloma.”
Although Jansson et al. teach a method of treating of hematological malignancies comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an anti-CD38 antibody, Jansson et al. do not teach or suggest a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer; however this deficiency is remedied by Brentjens et al.
At p. 1, Brentjens et al. teach human antibodies that bind to GPRC5D. At p. 188 and 189, Brentjens et al. teach that “[a]nti-GPRC5D antibodies of the presently disclosed subject matter can be administered for therapeutic treatments to a patient suffering from a tumor (e.g., multiple myeloma) in an amount sufficient to prevent, inhibit, or reduce the progression of the turmor… In certain embodiments, the presently disclosed subject matter provides a method of treating a tumor by administering a presently disclosed anti-GPRC5D antibody in combination with one or more other agents.” Brentjens et al. also teach that “G-protein coupled receptor family C group 5 member D (GPRC5D) is an orphan receptor with no known ligand or function in humans. It is a member of a family of retinoic acid-inducible G-protein-coupled receptors. It is overexpressed in multiple myeloma (MM) cells and is not expressed or expressed in a significantly lower level by any other cell type, benign or malignant…” See p. 1. At p. 185, Bretjens et al. teach that “[t]he presently disclosed subject matter provides bispecific molecules comprising at least a first binding specificity for GRPC5D and a second binding specificity for a second target epitope. The second target epitope can be a GPRC5D epitope, or a non-GPRC5D epitope, e.g., a different antigen. In certain embodiments, the bispecific molecule is multispecific, the molecule can further include a third binding specificity. Where a first portion of a bispecific antibody binds to an antigen on a tumor cell for example and a second portion of a bispecific antibody recognizes an antigen on the surface of a human immune effector cell, the antibody is capable of recruiting the activity of that effector cell by specifically binding to the effector antigen on the human immune effector cell. In certain embodiments, bispecific antibodies, therefore, are able to form a link between effector cells, for example, T cells and tumor cells, thereby enhancing effector function. In certain embodiments, a bispecific antibody of the present disclosure comprises at least a first binding to GPRC5D and at least a second binding to an immune cell. For example, and not by way of limitation, a bispecific antibody of the present disclosure comprises at least a first binding to GPRC5D and at least a second binding to a receptor present on the surface of an immune cell, e.g., CD3.”
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. with those of Brentjens et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. teach a method of treating hematological malignancies, such as multiple myeloma, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an anti-CD38 antibody. Furthermore Bretjens et al. teach that multiple myeloma may be treated with anti-GPRC5D antibodies or anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibodies, which would meet the limitations of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the invention of Jansson et al. to comprise the administration of an anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody, because there would have been a reasonable expectation that such a modification would result in a medicament that is capable of providing a therapeutic benefit to multiple myeloma patients. The invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. meets the limitations of claims 213, 226, 229, and 247.
With respect to claim 214, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the anti-CD38 antibody of Jansson et al. must necessarily be administered either before, at the same time, or after the administration of the anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody of Brentjens et al., and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine an optimal administration strategy that provides the best combination of safety and efficacy.
With respect to claims 215 and 223, at [0607], Jansson et al. teach a study “to evaluate the safety, pharmacokinetics and antitumor activity of subcutaneous (SC) or intravenous (IV) delivery of daratumumab [anti-CD38 antibody] to participants with relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma.”
With respect to claims 216-218, as indicated above, Brentjens et al. teach that “G-protein coupled receptor family C group 5 member D (GPRC5D) is an orphan receptor with no known ligand or function in humans. It is a member of a family of retinoic acid-inducible G-protein-coupled receptors. It is overexpressed in multiple myeloma (MM) cells and is not expressed or expressed in a significantly lower level by any other cell type, benign or malignant…” See p. 1.
With respect to claim 222, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that the invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. is capable of providing a therapeutic benefit to newly diagnosed multiple myeloma patients.
With respect to claim 230, at p. 64, Brentjens et al. teach that the heavy and light chains of an antibody of the presently disclosed subject matter can be full-length (e.g., an antibody can include at least one (e.g., one or two) complete heavy chains, and at least one (e.g., one or two) complete light chains) or can include an antigen-binding portion (a Fab, F(ab').sub.2, F or a single chain Fv fragment (‘scFv’)). In certain embodiments, the antibody heavy chain constant region is chosen from, e.g ., IgGl , IgG2, IgG3, IgG4, IgM, IgAl , IgA2, IgD, and IgE, particularly chosen from, e.g., IgGl , IgG2, IgG3, and IgG4, more particularly, IgGl (e.g., human IgGl ).”
With respect to claims 237-240, at [0298], Jansson et al. teach that “[i]n some embodiments, the anti-CD38 antibody is an IgG1 isotype.” Furthermore as indicated above, at claim 14, Jansson et al. teach an anti-CD38 antibody that comprises the VH of SEQ ID NO: 4 and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 5, and SEQ ID NO(s): 4 and 5 of Jansson et al. are identical to the anti-CD38 VH of the instant SEQ ID NO: 4, which comprises the HCDRs of SEQ ID NO(s): 6-8, respectively, and the anti-CD38 VL of the instant SEQ ID NO: 5, which comprises the LCDRs of SEQ ID NO(s): 9-11, respectively. At claim 14, Jansson et al. also teach an anti-CD38 antibody that comprises the HC of SEQ ID NO: 12 and the LC of SEQ ID NO: 13, and SEQ ID NO(s): 12 and 13 of Jansson et al. are identical to the anti-CD38 HC of the instant SEQ ID NO: 12 and the anti-CD38 LC of the instant SEQ ID NO: 13.
With respect to claims 241 and 242, at [0131]-[0134], Jansson et al. teach “mAb003 comprising the VH and the VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 14 and 15, respectively and described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,829,693. The VH and the VL of mAb003 may be expressed as IgG1/κ; mAb024 comprising the VH and the VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 16 and 17, respectively, described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,829,693. The VH and the VL of mAb024 may be expressed as IgG1/κ; MOR-202 (MOR-03087) comprising the VH and the VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 18 and 19, respectively, described in U.S. Pat. No. 8,088,896. The VH and the VL of MOR-202 may be expressed as IgG1/κ; or Isatuximab; comprising the VH and the VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 20 and 21, respectively, described in U.S. Pat. No. 8,153,765. The VH and the VL of Isatuximab may be expressed as IgG1/κ.” SEQ ID NO(s): 14-21 of Jansson et al. share 100% sequence homology with the instant SEQ ID NO(s): 14-21, respectively.
With respect to claim 243, as indicated above, at [0627], Jansson et al. teach that anti-CD38 antibodies may administered at a dose of 16 mg/kg.
With respect to claims 244 and 245, at [0607], Jansson et al. teach a study “to evaluate the safety, pharmacokinetics and antitumor activity of subcutaneous (SC) or intravenous (IV) delivery of daratumumab [anti-CD38 antibody] to participants with relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma.” Furthermore at p. 189, Brenjens et al. teach that “[a]ny suitable method or route can be used to administer a presently disclosed anti-GPRC5D antibody, and optionally, to coadminister antineoplastic agents. Routes of administration include, for example, oral, intravenous, intraperitoneal, subcutaneous, or intramuscular administration.”
With respect to claim 246, it would have been prima facie obvious to administer the invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to human patients suffering from multiple myeloma, at least because a p. 1, Brentjens et al. teach human antibodies that bind to GPRC5D.
With respect to claims 248-250, at [0551]-[0558], Jansson et al. pharmaceutical compositions of the invention may be administered with an additional therapeutic agent, such as pomalidomide, which meets the limitations of an immunomodulatory agent.
With respect to claim 251, as indicated above, at [0200] and [0201], Jansson et al. teach that “[t]he invention also provides a pharmaceutical composition comprising [0201] from about 20 mg/mL to about 120 mg/mL of the anti-CD38 antibody comprising the VH of SEQ ID NO: 4 and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 5 in about 25 mM acetic acid, about 60 mM sodium chloride, about 140 mM mannitol and about 0.04% w/v polysorbate-20 (PS-20); at pH about 5.5.”
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 220 and 221 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) and Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016), as applied to claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-250, and further in view of Nijhof et al. (Lymphoid Neoplasia, 128(7): Abstract, August 2016).
As indicated above one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. with those of Brentjens et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. These references do not teach or suggest treating subjects who are refractory to anti-CD38 antibody treatment; however these deficiencies are remedied by Nijhof et al.
At the Abstract Nijhof et al. teach that “[t]he anti-CD38 monoclonal antibody daratumumab is well tolerated and has high single agent activity in heavily pretreated relapsed and refractory multiple myeloma (MM). However, not all patients respond, and many patients eventually develop progressive disease to daratumumab monotherapy.”
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. with the teachings of Nijhof et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer, wherein said subject is refractory to anti-CD38 antibody treatment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. teach a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. Furthermore Nijhof et al. teach that some MM patients do not respond to, i.e., are refractory to, the anti-CD38 antibody daratumumab. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to find effective treatments for said MM patients that are refractory to daratumumab therapy, and potential treatments are provided by the invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al., which comprises the administration of an anti-CD38 antibody and a T-cell redirecting therapeutic, specifically, an anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody.
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 224 and 225 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) and Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016), as applied to claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-250, and further in view of Moussy et al. (US PG PUB 2014/0051662, publication date: 02/20/2014).
As indicated above one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. with those of Brentjens et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer (multiple myeloma) in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. These references do not teach or suggest treating a subject having a high-risk multiple myeloma having one or more chromosomal abnormalities, such as a t(4;14)(p16;q32) translocation; however these deficiencies are remedied by Moussy et al.
Moussy et al. teach that “[m]ultiple myeloma is characterized by marked genetic heterogeneity with two broad genetic subtypes defined by chromosome number, namely, hyperdiploid multiple myeloma and nonhyperdiploid multiple myeloma. The latter is associated with primary IgH translocations including (11;14)(q13;q32) and t(4;14)(p16;q32), respectively representing 20% and 15% of multiple myeloma cases. It has been shown that multiple myeloma patients with the chromosomal abnormality t(4;14) have a poor prognosis and poor overall survival with aggressive relapse and short remission times even following a positive response to stem cell transplantation.” Based upon these teachings, it would appear that MM patients having t(4;14)(p16;q32) chromosomal translocations are high risk MM patients. At [0017]-[0021], Moussy et al. highlight the need for more effective strategies to treat MM patients, particularly patients with refractory or relapsed MM. - “Beyond the already developed therapeutic strategies, there exists an imperative need to develop less toxic and more efficient treatment strategies that improve the clinical management and prognosis of patients afflicted with this disease. Several reasons can be given for this: The continuing poor prognosis and lack of effective treatments for multiple myeloma, in particular for refractory or relapsed patients, highlights an unmet medical need. None of the available drugs cure or completely stop the disease process and in certain refractory populations are not particularly effective in controlling the disease. Almost all patients with multiple myeloma eventually relapse and in general the remission duration in relapsed myeloma decreases with each regimen. Given that some patients respond positively to first-line treatments but then inevitably relapse, there is a need to develop adjuvant therapies and maintenance strategies that slow or prevent relapse after remission.” At [0146], Moussy et al. discuss a phase 2 trial in patients with t(4;14) MM that have relapsed following autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT) and treatment with thalidomide plus dexamethasone.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. with the teachings of Moussy et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer (multiple myeloma) in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer, wherein said subject has a high-risk multiple myeloma having one or more chromosomal abnormalities, such as a t(4;14)(p16;q32) translocation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. teach a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. Furthermore in view of the teachings of Moussy et al., one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the need for improved therapies for high-risk multiple myeloma patients having one or more chromosomal abnormalities, such as a t(4;14)(p16;q32) translocation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had ample motivation to administer the invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to high-risk multiple myeloma patients having one or more chromosomal abnormalities, such as a t(4;14)(p16;q32) translocation, because the invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. would have reasonably been expected to provide a therapeutic benefit to said high-risk MM patients.
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 231-233 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) and Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016), as applied to claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-250, and further in view of Cai et al. (US PG PUB 2016/0347849, publication date: 12/01/2016).
As indicated above one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. with those of Brentjens et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. These references do not teach or suggest antibodies that comprise Fc substitutions that reduce binding to an Fcγ receptor; however these deficiencies are remedied by Cai et al.
Cai et al. teach that in clinical settings where reduced Fc effector function is desired, the Fc region of an IgG1 antibody may be modified to comprise L234A/L235A Fc region substitutions, or the Fc region of an IgG4 antibody may be modified to comprise an S228P substitution. See [0438].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. with the teachings of Cai et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer, wherein said antibody comprises Fc substitutions that reduce binding to an Fcγ receptor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. teach a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. Furthermore Cai et al. teach that in clinical settings where reduced Fc effector function is desired, the Fc region of an IgG1 antibody may be modified to comprise L234A/L235A Fc region substitutions, or the Fc region of an IgG4 antibody may be modified to comprise an S228P substitution. Based upon these teachings one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to a) modify the antibodies of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to comprise L234A/L235A Fc region substitutions and b) modify the antibodies of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to comprise an S228P substitution, because said modifications would be appropriate in settings where reduced Fc effector function is desired.
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 234 and 235 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) and Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016), as applied to claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-250, and further in view of Kim et al. (US PG PUB 2014/0112962, publication date: 04/24/2014).
As indicated above one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. with those of Brentjens et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. These references do not teach or suggest bispecific antibodies that comprise “knobs-into-holes” modifications; however these deficiencies are remedied by Kim et al.
Kim et al. teach that “knobs into holes” technology can be used to make heterodimerizing alterations in each chain of an Fc region to facilitate the formation of bispecific antibodies - “‘Heterodimerizing alterations’ generally refer to alterations in the A and B chains of an Fc region that facilitate the formation of heterodimeric Fc regions, that is, Fc regions in which the A chain and the B chain of the Fc region do not have identical amino acid sequences. Heterodimerizing alterations can be asymmetric, that is, a A chain having a certain alteration can pair with a B chain having a different alteration. These alterations facilitate heterodimerization and disfavor homodimerization. Whether hetero- or homo-dimers have formed can be assessed by size differences as determined by polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis in situations where one polypeptide chain is a dummy Fc and the other is an scFv-Fc. One example of such paired heterodimerizing alterations are the so-called ‘knobs and holes’ substitutions... As meant herein, an Fc region that contains one pair of knobs and holes substitutions, contains one substitution in the A chain and another in the B chain. For example, the following knobs and holes substitutions in the A and B chains of an IgG1 Fc region have been found to increase heterodimer formation as compared with that found with unmodified A and B chains: 1) Y407T in one chain and T366Y in the other; 2) Y407A in one chain and T366W in the other; 3) F405A in one chain and T394W in the other; 4) F405W in one chain and T394S in the other; 5) Y407T in one chain and T366Y in the other; 6) T366Y and F405A in one chain and T394W and Y407T in the other; 7) T366W and F405W in one chain and T394S and Y407A in the other; 8) F405W and Y407A in one chain and T366W and T394S in the other… (emphasis added)” See [0050].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. with the teachings of Kim et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic (bispecific antibody) that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer, wherein said bispecific antibodies that comprise “knobs-into-holes” modifications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. teach a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic (bispecific antibody) that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. Furthermore Kim et al. teach that “knobs into holes” technology can be used to make heterodimerizing alterations in each chain of an Fc region to facilitate the formation of bispecific antibodies, including F405W and Y407A substitutions in one CH3 domain and T366W and T394S substitutions in the other CH3 domain. Based upon these teachings one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the bispecific antibody of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to comprise F405W and Y407A substitutions in one CH3 domain and T366W and T394S substitutions in the other CH3 domain, because said substitutions would have reasonably been expected by one of ordinary skill in the art to facilitate heterodimerization and production of desired bispecific antibody, as opposed to homodimeric anti-GPRC5D and homodimeric anti-CD3 antibodies.
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claim 236 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) and Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016), as applied to claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-250, and further in view of Gaudet et al. (WO 2016/036937, international publication date: 03/10/2016).
As indicated above one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. with those of Brentjens et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D (anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody) and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. These references do not teach or suggest The anti-CD3 heavy chain of SEQ ID NO: 41 and the light chain of SEQ ID NO: 42; however these deficiencies are remedied by Gaudet et al.
At p. 140 and 141, Gaudet et al. teach the anti-CD3 heavy chain of SEQ ID NO: 210, which shares 100% sequence homology with the instant SEQ ID NO: 41, and the anti-CD3 light chain of SEQ ID NO: 211, which shares 100% sequence homology with the instant SEQ ID NO: 42.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. with the teachings of Gaudet et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D (anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody) and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer, wherein said subject is refractory to anti-CD38 antibody treatment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. teach a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. Furthermore Gaudet et al. teach the anti-CD3 heavy chain of SEQ ID NO: 210, which shares 100% sequence homology with the instant SEQ ID NO: 41, and the anti-CD3 light chain of SEQ ID NO: 211, which shares 100% sequence homology with the instant SEQ ID NO: 42. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to comprise the anti-CD3 heavy and light chains of Gaudet et al., because the resultant anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody could be used in the treatment of multiple myeloma.
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, as evidenced by the references.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-251 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,201,543 in view of Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) in view of Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016).
The conflicting claims recite an anti-CD38 antibody that comprises the VH of SEQ ID NO: 4 and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 5, which are identical to the anti-CD38 VH of the instant SEQ ID NO: 4, which comprises the HCDRs of the instant SEQ ID NO(s): 6-8, respectively, and the anti-CD38 VL of the instant SEQ ID NO: 5, which comprises the LCDRs of the instant SEQ ID NO(s): 9-11, respectively.
The teachings of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. are detailed above.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the conflicting claims with the teachings of Jansson et al. with those of Brentjens et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. teach a method of treating of hematological malignancies, such as multiple myeloma, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an anti-CD38 antibody. Furthermore Bretjens et al. teach that multiple myeloma may be treated with anti-GPRC5D antibodies or anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibodies, which would meet the limitations of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the conflicting claims to comprise the administration of an anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody, because there would have been a reasonable expectation that such a modification would result in a medicament that is capable of providing a therapeutic benefit to multiple myeloma patients. The invention of the conflicting claims, Jansson et al., and Brentjens et al. meets the limitations of claims 213, 226, 229, and 247.
With respect to claim 214, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the anti-CD38 antibody of the conflicting claims must necessarily be administered either before, at the same time, or after the administration of the anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody of Brentjens et al., and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine an optimal administration strategy that provides the best combination of safety and efficacy.
With respect to claims 215 and 223, at [0607], Jansson et al. teach a study “to evaluate the safety, pharmacokinetics and antitumor activity of subcutaneous (SC) or intravenous (IV) delivery of daratumumab [anti-CD38 antibody] to participants with relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma.”
With respect to claims 216-218, as indicated above, Brentjens et al. teach that “G-protein coupled receptor family C group 5 member D (GPRC5D) is an orphan receptor with no known ligand or function in humans. It is a member of a family of retinoic acid-inducible G-protein-coupled receptors. It is overexpressed in multiple myeloma (MM) cells and is not expressed or expressed in a significantly lower level by any other cell type, benign or malignant…” See p. 1.
With respect to claim 222, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that the invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. is capable of providing a therapeutic benefit to newly diagnosed multiple myeloma patients.
With respect to claim 230, at p. 64, Brentjens et al. teach that the heavy and light chains of an antibody of the presently disclosed subject matter can be full-length (e.g., an antibody can include at least one (e.g., one or two) complete heavy chains, and at least one (e.g., one or two) complete light chains) or can include an antigen-binding portion (a Fab, F(ab').sub.2, F or a single chain Fv fragment (‘scFv’)). In certain embodiments, the antibody heavy chain constant region is chosen from, e.g ., IgGl , IgG2, IgG3, IgG4, IgM, IgAl , IgA2, IgD, and IgE, particularly chosen from, e.g., IgGl , IgG2, IgG3, and IgG4, more particularly, IgGl (e.g., human IgGl ).”
With respect to claims 237-240, at [0298], Jansson et al. teach that “[i]n some embodiments, the anti-CD38 antibody is an IgG1 isotype.” Furthermore as indicated above, at claim 14, Jansson et al. teach an anti-CD38 antibody that comprises the VH of SEQ ID NO: 4 and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 5, and SEQ ID NO(s): 4 and 5 of Jansson et al. are identical to the anti-CD38 VH of the instant SEQ ID NO: 4, which comprises the HCDRs of SEQ ID NO(s): 6-8, respectively, and the anti-CD38 VL of the instant SEQ ID NO: 5, which comprises the LCDRs of SEQ ID NO(s): 9-11, respectively. At claim 14, Jansson et al. also teach an anti-CD38 antibody that comprises the HC of SEQ ID NO: 12 and the LC of SEQ ID NO: 13, and SEQ ID NO(s): 12 and 13 of Jansson et al. are identical to the anti-CD38 HC of the instant SEQ ID NO: 12 and the anti-CD38 LC of the instant SEQ ID NO: 13.
With respect to claims 241 and 242, at [0131]-[0134], Jansson et al. teach “mAb003 comprising the VH and the VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 14 and 15, respectively and described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,829,693. The VH and the VL of mAb003 may be expressed as IgG1/κ; mAb024 comprising the VH and the VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 16 and 17, respectively, described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,829,693. The VH and the VL of mAb024 may be expressed as IgG1/κ; MOR-202 (MOR-03087) comprising the VH and the VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 18 and 19, respectively, described in U.S. Pat. No. 8,088,896. The VH and the VL of MOR-202 may be expressed as IgG1/κ; or Isatuximab; comprising the VH and the VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 20 and 21, respectively, described in U.S. Pat. No. 8,153,765. The VH and the VL of Isatuximab may be expressed as IgG1/κ. SEQ ID NO(s): 14-21 of Jansson et al. share 100% sequence homology with the instant SEQ ID NO(s): 14-21, respectively.
With respect to claim 243, as indicated above, at [0627], Jansson et al. teach that anti-CD38 antibodies may administered at a dose of 16 mg/kg.
With respect to claims 244 and 245, at [0607], Jansson et al. teach a study “to evaluate the safety, pharmacokinetics and antitumor activity of subcutaneous (SC) or intravenous (IV) delivery of daratumumab [anti-CD38 antibody] to participants with relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma.” Furthermore at p. 189, Brenjens et al. teach that “[a]ny suitable method or route can be used to administer a presently disclosed anti-GPRC5D antibody, and optionally, to coadminister antineoplastic agents. Routes of administration include, for example, oral, intravenous, intraperitoneal, subcutaneous, or intramuscular administration.”
With respect to claim 246, it would have been prima facie obvious to administer the invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to human patients suffering from multiple myeloma, at least because a p. 1, Brentjens et al. teach human antibodies that bind to GPRC5D.
With respect to claims 248-250, at [0551]-[0558], Jansson et al. pharmaceutical compositions of the invention may be administered with an additional therapeutic agent, such as pomalidomide, which meets the limitations of an immunomodulatory agent.
With respect to claim 251, as indicated above, at [0200] and [0201], Jansson et al. teach that “[t]he invention also provides a pharmaceutical composition comprising [0201] from about 20 mg/mL to about 120 mg/mL of the anti-CD38 antibody comprising the VH of SEQ ID NO: 4 and the VL of SEQ ID NO: 5 in about 25 mM acetic acid, about 60 mM sodium chloride, about 140 mM mannitol and about 0.04% w/v polysorbate-20 (PS-20); at pH about 5.5.”
Therefore the instantly claimed invention is prima facie obvious over the conflicting claims in view of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al.
Claims 220 and 221 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,201,543 in view of Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) and Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016), as applied to claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-250, and further in view of Nijhof et al. (Lymphoid Neoplasia, 128(7): Abstract, August 2016).
The teachings of Nijhof et al. are detailed above.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the conflicting claims with the teachings of Jansson et al., Brentjens et al., and Nijhof et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer, wherein said subject is refractory to anti-CD38 antibody treatment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. teach a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. Furthermore Nijhof et al. teach that some MM patients do not respond to, i.e., are refractory to, the anti-CD38 antibody daratumumab. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to find effective treatments for said MM patients that are refractory to daratumumab therapy, and potential treatments are provided by the invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al., which comprises the administration of an anti-CD38 antibody and a T-cell redirecting therapeutic, specifically, an anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody.
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious over the conflicting claims, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 224 and 225 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,201,543 in view of Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) and Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016), as applied to claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-250, and further in view of Moussy et al. (US PG PUB 2014/0051662, publication date: 02/20/2014).
The teachings of Moussy et al. are detailed above.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the conflicting claims with teachings of Jansson et al., Brentjens et al., and Moussy et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer (multiple myeloma) in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer, wherein said subject has a high-risk multiple myeloma having one or more chromosomal abnormalities, such as a t(4;14)(p16;q32) translocation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. teach a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. Furthermore in view of the teachings of Moussy et al., one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the need for improved therapies for high-risk multiple myeloma patients having one or more chromosomal abnormalities, such as a t(4;14)(p16;q32) translocation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had ample motivation to administer the invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to high-risk multiple myeloma patients having one or more chromosomal abnormalities, such as a t(4;14)(p16;q32) translocation, because the invention of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. would have reasonably been expected to provide a therapeutic benefit to said high-risk MM patients.
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious over the conflicting claims, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 231-233 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,201,543 in view of Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) and Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016), as applied to claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-250, and further in view of Cai et al. (US PG PUB 2016/0347849, publication date: 12/01/2016).
The teachings of Cai et al. are detailed above.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the conflicting claims with the teachings of Jansson et al., Brentjens et al., Cai et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer, wherein said antibody comprises Fc substitutions that reduce binding to an Fcγ receptor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. teach a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. Furthermore Cai et al. teach that in clinical settings where reduced Fc effector function is desired, the Fc region of an IgG1 antibody may be modified to comprise L234A/L235A Fc region substitutions, or the Fc region of an IgG4 antibody may be modified to comprise an S228P substitution. Based upon these teachings one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to a) modify the antibodies of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to comprise L234A/L235A Fc region substitutions and b) modify the antibodies of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to comprise an S228P substitution, because said modifications would be appropriate in settings where reduced Fc effector function is desired.
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious over the conflicting claims, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 234 and 235 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,201,543 in view of Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) and Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016), as applied to claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-250, and further in view of Kim et al. (US PG PUB 2014/0112962, publication date: 04/24/2014).
The teachings of Kim et al. are detailed above.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine conflicting claims with the teachings of Jansson et al., Brentjens et al., Kim et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic (bispecific antibody) that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer, wherein said bispecific antibodies that comprise “knobs-into-holes” modifications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. teach a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic (bispecific antibody) that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. Furthermore Kim et al. teach that “knobs into holes” technology can be used to make heterodimerizing alterations in each chain of an Fc region to facilitate the formation of bispecific antibodies, including F405W and Y407A substitutions in one CH3 domain and T366W and T394S substitutions in the other CH3 domain. Based upon these teachings one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the bispecific antibody of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to comprise F405W and Y407A substitutions in one CH3 domain and T366W and T394S substitutions in the other CH3 domain, because said substitutions would have reasonably been expected by one of ordinary skill in the art to facilitate heterodimerization and production of desired bispecific antibody, as opposed to homodimeric anti-GPRC5D and homodimeric anti-CD3 antibodies.
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious over the conflicting claims, as evidenced by the references.
Claim 236 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,201,543 in view of Jansson et al. (US PB PUB 2017/0121414, publication date 05/04/2017) and Brentjens et al. (WO 2016/090329, international publication date: 06/09/2016), as applied to claims 213-218, 222, 223, 226, 229, 230, and 237-250, and further in view of Gaudet et al. (WO 2016/036937, international publication date: 03/10/2016).
The teachings of Gaudet et al. are detailed above.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the conflicting claims with the teachings of Jansson et al., Brentjens et al., and Gaudet et al. to develop a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D (anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody) and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer, wherein said subject is refractory to anti-CD38 antibody treatment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. teach a method of treating a cancer in a subject, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a T-cell redirecting therapeutic that binds GPRC5D and an anti-CD38 antibody to the subject to treat the cancer. Furthermore Gaudet et al. teach the anti-CD3 heavy chain of SEQ ID NO: 210, which shares 100% sequence homology with the instant SEQ ID NO: 41, and the anti-CD3 light chain of SEQ ID NO: 211, which shares 100% sequence homology with the instant SEQ ID NO: 42. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody of Jansson et al. and Brentjens et al. to comprise the anti-CD3 heavy and light chains of Gaudet et al., because the resultant anti-GPRC5D/anti-CD3 bispecific antibody could be used in the treatment of multiple myeloma.
Therefore the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious over the conflicting claims, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 213-218, 220-226, and 229-251 are rejected under non-statutory double patenting over the reference patents listed in the following table:
Patent Number
Brief Description of the Invention
Pertinent Claims
10,604,580
Combination therapies with anti-CD38 antibodies
1, 10
11,021,543
Immune modulation and treatment of solid tumors with antibodies that specifically bind CD38
1, 3
12,065,500
Methods of treating cancers and enhancing efficacy of T cell redirecting therapeutics
1
For reasons similar to those articulated above, these patents each recite anti-CD38 antibodies for the treatment of cancer, and as such these reference patents, in view of the cited references are prima facie obvious.
Similarly, claims 213-218 and 220-251 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the copending Application Numbers listed in the following table:
Application Number
Brief Description of the Invention
Pertinent Claims
18/657,180
Methods of treating cancers and enhancing efficacy of T cell redirecting therapeutics
23-25
For reasons similar to those articulated above, these patents each recite anti-CD38 antibodies for the treatment of cancer, and as such these reference patents, in view of the cited references are prima facie obvious. It is noted that conflicting claims 24 and 25 recite anti-GPRC5D antibodies that are identical to those recited in the instant claims 227 and 228.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/NELSON B MOSELEY II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642