CTNF 18/208,362 CTNF 85366 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant's election with traverse of Species B in the reply filed on 1/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it is unclear how the three species may be classified in different areas when the 12/19/2025 restriction requirement did not set forth how the individual species are classified differently. This is found persuasive because no individual classification areas for the species were stated in the 12/19/2025 office action. The requirement is therefore WITHDRAWN. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-5, 7-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Harrich et al. (AT 514746, see Machine Translation) . Regarding claim 1, Harrich et al. discloses in Figs 1-6, a battery device (P3/[019]) for a motor vehicle (P1/[002]) powered at least semi-electrically (P1/[002]), said battery device (P3/[019]) comprising at least one cooling device (Fig 1, all structure) including:(i) a coolant circuit (P1/[001]-[003]) for direct cooling (P1/[001]-[003]) of battery cells (P3/[019], rechargeable battery disclosed) of the battery device (P3/[019]), (ii) at least one battery housing (P2/[011]) having a housing space (P1/[002], P3/[019]) for receiving the battery cells (P3/[019]), wherein the housing space (P1/[002], P3/[019]) defines a portion (P1/[002], P3/[019]) of the coolant circuit (Fig 1, all structure), such that a coolant (P1/[002]) can directly flow around at least sections (P1/[002]) of the battery cells (P3/[019]), (iii) a terminal device (ref 100) arranged on the battery housing (P2/[011]), via which the coolant (P1/[002]) can be introduced into (P1/[001]-[003]) the battery housing (P1/[002]) or discharged out (P1/[001]-[003]) of the battery housing (P1/[002]), wherein the terminal device (ref 100) defines at least one degassing opening (P4/[024], slits and slots defined) for the battery housing (P2/[011]), and (iv) at least one breaking device (ref 170) that is configured, in case of an overpressure (P4/[024]) in the housing space (P1/[002], P3/[019]), to open the degassing opening (P4/[024], slits and slots defined) and to release gases (P4/[024], P3/[021]) as well as coolant (P4/[024], P3/[021]) out of the housing space (P1/[002], P3/[019]). Regarding claim 2, Harrich et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the terminal device (ref 100) comprises at least one terminal unit (ref 110) that is configured to be fluidly connected (P3/[019]-[020]) to a conduction device (P3/[020], heat exchanger included) and the battery housing (P1/[002]), and wherein the terminal unit (ref 110) is configured to be fastened (Fig 1, P3/[019]-[020]) to the battery housing (P1/[002]) by at least one fastening unit (refs 111, 112, flange structure, Fig 1, P3/[019]-[020]). Regarding claim 4, Harrich et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the fastening unit (refs 111, 112, flange structure, Fig 1, P3/[019]-[020]) is configured to be destroyed by a defined overpressure (P4/[024]) in the housing space such that the terminal unit (ref 110) is fluidly decoupled (P4/[024]) from the battery housing (P1/[002]). Regarding claim 5, Harrich et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the fastening unit (refs 111, 112, flange structure, Fig 1, P3/[019]-[020]) is configured to be destroyed (P4/[024]) such that a flow cross-section for the degassing opening (P4/[024], slits and slots defined) results that is greater than a flow cross-section (P4/[024], defines the structure breaking, thus resulting in the “destruction” of the structure and flow as claimed) of the terminal unit (ref 110). Regarding claim 7, Harrich et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the breaking device (ref 170) is integrated into (Figs 4-6) the terminal unit (ref 110) and wherein the terminal unit (ref 110) comprises a connection channel (Figs 4-6 depict outside of structure, inside of which coolant flows) through which the coolant can flow (P1/[002], Figs 4-6 illustrate coolant flow within entirety of unit ref 110), and wherein a channel wall (side of ref 110, ref 170, Figs 4-6) of the connection channel is configured to be destroyed (P4/[024]) by a defined overpressure in the housing space (P4/[024]). Regarding claim 8, Harrich et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the channel wall (side of ref 110 at area near 170, Figs 4-6) comprises a targeted reduction of a wall thickness (P4/[024], Fig 6) of the channel wall (side of ref 110 at area near 170, Figs 4-6). Regarding claim 12, Harrich et al. discloses in Figs 1-6, a motor vehicle (P1/[002]) comprising the battery device (P3/[019]) as set forth above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrich et al. (AT 514746, see Machine Translation) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Capizzo (US 2017/0327091) . Regarding claim 3, Harrich et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the breaking device is integrated into at least the fastening unit, and wherein the fastening unit is at least partially detachable from the terminal unit and/or the battery housing by a defined overpressure in the housing space. Capizzo discloses in Figs 1-8, a battery structure (ref 28, [0021]) including a cooling system (ref 40, [0021]) for pumping fluid coolant at pressure ([0021]). The battery structure (ref 28) includes a quick disconnect structure (refs 42, 43, [0056]-[0057], [0127]-[0128]). The quick disconnect structure (refs 42, 43, [0056]-[0057], [0127]-[0128]) is detachable from the cooling system (ref 40) and battery (ref 28) structure at pressure ([0056]-[0071]). This configuration allows quick disconnecting and detaching of the cooling structure at pressure ([0127]-[0128]). Capizzo and Harrich et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, battery structures with cooling structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the quick disconnect structure disclosed by Capizzo into the structure of Harrich et al. to allow quick disconnecting of the cooling structure at over pressure conditions, enhancing overall structural integrity and safety of the structure . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrich et al. (AT 514746, see Machine Translation) as set forth above in claim 2 and further in view of Scaringe et al. (US 2019/0016231) . Regarding claim 6, Harrich et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the fastening unit comprises a threaded connection and is screwed via the threaded connection on the battery housing or on the terminal unit, and wherein the threaded connection is configured so as to fail upon a defined overpressure in the housing space. Scaringe et al. discloses in Figs 1-7, a battery module (ref 102) including a plurality of battery cells ([0019]) within a housing (ref 103). The housing (ref 103) includes a threaded connection ([0024]) for connecting via screwing module components together ([0024]). This configuration allows breaking / sealing of a fluid sealing within the battery structure via a simple structure ([0024]). Scaringe et al. and Harrich et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, battery structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the threaded structure disclosed by Scaringe et al. into the structure of Harrich et al. to allow enhance connection and disconnection at over pressure conditions, enhancing overall structural integrity and safety of the structure . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Instant independent claim 9 discloses the terminal unit and the conduction device are held together in a fluid-tight manner by at least one coupling unit, and wherein the breaking device is integrated into at least the coupling unit, and wherein the coupling unit is configured so as to fluidly decouple the terminal unit from the conduction device upon a defined overpressure in the housing space . Harrich et al., Capizzo, and Scaringe et al. are considered to be the prior art references of record closest to the aforementioned instant dependent claim limitations. However, none of the aforementioned references alone or in combination discloses or renders obvious all of the aforementioned instant claim limitations. Namely, while Harrich et al., Capizzo, and Scaringe et al. all disclose features of a battery module including a cooling circuit / system and having a mechanism to release over-pressure conditions generated within the battery module during use, none of the applied references disclose or render obvious all of the features of the instant dependent claim including the coupling unit having the structure and spatially located within the battery device as set forth in the claim. Further, claims 10 and 11 are objected to since they depend from claim 9. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KENNETH J DOUYETTE whose telephone number is (571)270-1212. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8A - 4P EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Basia Ridley can be reached at 571-272-1453. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/208,362 Page 2 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/208,362 Page 3 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/208,362 Page 4 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/208,362 Page 5 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/208,362 Page 7 Art Unit: 1725