DETAILED ACTION
Please Note: A machine translation of Takahashi et al. JP 2021108565A has been attached. It appears that this translation from Espacenet is easier to follow than that of related document Takahashi DE 102021100122 A1 used in the art rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. DE 102021100122 A1.
Independent Claim 1: Takahashi discloses a robot used by a method for operating an autonomous mobile green area maintenance robot (10) having a maintenance tool (20), wherein a maintenance height of the maintenance tool is adjustable (via 38), the method comprising the steps of:
a) monitoring whether a criterion for being stuck is satisfied (via 44a1), wherein the criterion for being stuck is characteristic of the green area maintenance robot being stuck (see the boxed text on page 2 and the circled text of page 5 of the attached document);
b) increasing the maintenance height when the criterion for being stuck is satisfied (at S116, see the boxed text of pages 5 and 11 of the attached document); and
after step b), reducing the maintenance height and starting movement of the maintenance tool (at S120) when a reversion criterion is satisfied,
wherein the reversion criterion is that the criterion for being stuck is no longer satisfied for a minimum period of time (when the strength of the area signal and acceleration signal are affirmed then normal routine is initiated again, see S104), and
wherein the maintenance height is reduced to a value such as that before the criterion for being stuck was satisfied (S120), as per claim 1.
Dependent Claims 2-8, 10-17: Takahashi further discloses wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) has a locomotion mechanism (16, 16, 26L, 26R) designed for locomotion of the green area maintenance robot,
wherein a contact part (40) of the green area maintenance robot is designed to perform a monitoring movement caused by the locomotion and the condition of being stuck,
wherein the contact part is mounted movably in relation to the locomotion mechanism, and
wherein the criterion for being stuck is that the monitoring movement is caused (see the circled text of page 5 of the attached document), as per claim 2;
wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) has a locomotion drive system (16, 16, 26L, 26R) designed for locomotion of the green area maintenance robot, and
wherein the criterion for being stuck is that, in spite of operation of the locomotion drive system, the green area maintenance robot is not moving as in the case when it is not stuck (via drive wheel rotation sensor 56 in addition to the acceleration sensor 50 or impeller rotation sensor 58, as described in the boxed text of page 12 of the attached document), as per claim 3;
wherein the monitoring comprises:
sensing locomotion by way of determining a change in distance, position and/or route of the green area maintenance robot (via GPS sensor 54, see the boxed text of page 12 of the attached document) and/or by way of magnetic field measurement (via magnetic sensors 36, see the boxed text on page 7 of the attached document), as per claim 4;
wherein the monitoring comprises global and/or local position determination (GPS sensor 54), as per claim 5;
wherein the maintenance tool (20) is rotationally movable (via motor 22), and
wherein step b) comprises stopping the movement of the maintenance tool when the criterion for being stuck is satisfied (see the circled text of page 11 of the attached document), as per claim 6;
wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) has a tool movement drive system (22),
wherein the tool movement drive system is designed for moving the maintenance tool (20), and
wherein step b) comprises stopping operation of the tool movement drive system when the criterion for being stuck is satisfied (see the circled text of page 11 of the attached document), as per claim 7;
wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) has a locomotion drive system (16, 16, 26L, 26R),
wherein the locomotion drive system is designed for locomotion of the green area maintenance robot, and
wherein step b) comprises operating the locomotion drive system to move the green area maintenance robot in an averted locomotion direction (as described in the boxed text of page 8 of the attached document) after the maintenance height has been increased, and after the movement of the maintenance tool has been stopped (see S126, Fig. 10), as per claim 8;
wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) has a protection device (12) designed to protect against access into the maintenance tool,
wherein the protection device has the contact part (12b), and/or
wherein a protection height of the protection device is adjustable, and wherein step b) comprises increasing the protection height when the criterion for being stuck is satisfied, and wherein the method comprises the step of reducing the protection height after step b), as per claim 10;
wherein the maintenance height (of maintenance tool 20) and/or the protection height are/is adjustable in a range of from 0 cm to 20 cm (the height of the robot is about 30cm which means the maintenance height is movable in a range from 0-20cm via adjustment device 38 as seen in Fig. 1), as per claim 11;
wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) is designed such that the adjustment of the maintenance height (via motor 38a) and/or the protection height are/is independent of locomotion (via motors 26L, 26R) of the green area maintenance robot, as per claim 12;
wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) has a locomotion drive system (16, 16, 26L, 26R) designed for locomotion of the green area maintenance robot,
wherein the green area maintenance robot has a height adjustment drive system (38a) designed to adjust the maintenance height (of maintenance tool 20) and/or the protection height, and
wherein the height adjustment drive system (38a) is independent of the locomotion drive system (26L, 26R), as per claim 13;
wherein the contact part (40) and/or the protection device (12b) are/is arranged in front of the maintenance tool (as seen in Fig. 1, contact part 40 is in front of maintenance tool 20 and protection device 12b extends from the front of the robot to the back and so is also arranged in front of the maintenance tool 20), as per claim 14;
wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) has a locomotion frame (12a) and/or a covering hood (also 12b),
wherein the locomotion frame and/or the covering hood (12b) are/is arranged above the contact part (40) and/or the maintenance tool (20) and/or the protection device, and
wherein the maintenance height and/or the protection height are/is adjustable in relation to the locomotion frame and/or the covering hood, and/or
wherein the locomotion frame (12a) and/or the covering hood (12b) are/is different from the contact part (40), as per claim 15;
wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) has a locomotion mechanism (16, 16, 26L, 26R) and the covering hood (12b),
wherein the locomotion mechanism is designed for locomotion of the green area maintenance robot, and
wherein the covering hood is designed to perform a hood movement caused by the locomotion and contact with the hood and is mounted movably in relation to the locomotion mechanism (12b, see the boxed text of page 4 of the attached document),
wherein the method further comprises the steps of:
monitoring whether a hood movement criterion is satisfied, wherein the hood movement criterion is that the hood movement has been caused (see the circled text of page 5 of the attached document), and
moving the green area maintenance robot in an averted locomotion direction and not increasing the maintenance height, when the hood movement criterion is satisfied (as described in the boxed text of page 8 of the attached document), as per claim 16;
wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) is a lawnmowing robot, and/or
wherein the maintenance tool (20) has a lawnmowing tool, and/or
wherein the maintenance height is a lawnmowing height (of 20), as per claim 17.
Independent Claim 18: Takahashi discloses a system for operating an autonomous mobile green area maintenance robot (10) having a maintenance tool (20), wherein a maintenance height of the maintenance tool is adjustable (via 38), the system comprising:
a monitoring device (44a1), wherein the monitoring device is designed to monitor whether a criterion for being stuck is satisfied, wherein the criterion for being stuck is characteristic of the green area maintenance robot being stuck (see the boxed text on page 2 and the circled text of page 5of the attached document);
a height adjustment device (38), wherein the height adjustment device is designed to increase the maintenance height when the criterion for being stuck is satisfied (see S126 in Fig. 10); and
and a tool movement drive system (26),
wherein when a reversion criterion is satisfied (affirmation that the area signal and acceleration signals are changing), the height adjustment device is designed to reduce the maintenance height (at S120) and the tool movement drive system is designed to start movement of the maintenance tool (at S104),
wherein the reversion criterion is that the criterion for being stuck is no longer satisfied, and
wherein the maintenance height is reduced to a value such as that before the criterion for being stuck was satisfied (at S120), as per claim 18.
Dependent Claim 19: Takahashi further discloses wherein the green area maintenance robot (10) carries the monitoring device (44a1) and the height adjustment device (38), as per claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Please see the updated art rejection in response to applicant’s claim amendments. Takahashi does indeed disclose the reversion of the blade height back to the original setting and return to normal the normal work process (at S120 and S104) once the controller has determined that the robotic mower has become unstuck by comparing area and acceleration signals.
See also newly cited Kruckeberg 9,861,035 and Conrad US 20200120866 A1 which both disclose similar reversion steps to those newly recited in amended claims 1 and 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the group receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-3600. The fax number for this Group is 571-273-8300.
/Alicia Torres/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 May 23, 2026