DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 4/15/2026 has been fully considered. Claims 2-7 are cancelled, claims 9-11 are new and claims 1 and 8-11 are pending.
Acknowledge of foreign priority has been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation for the formula of the positive electrode active material is indefinite in that it is unclear how it is obtained when x is between 0.50 and 0.65.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamaya et al (US 2021/0226200 A1) in view of Yabuuchi (US 2019/0020021 A1) in further view of Li et al (US 2020/0343582 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kamaya discloses an all solid-state lithium secondary battery (paragraph [0036]) comprising in order: a positive electrode current collector layer (paragraph [0103]), the positive electrode active material layer (positive electrode layer; paragraph [0103]), a solid electrolyte layer (paragraph [0103]), a negative electrode active material layer (negative electrode layer; paragraph [0103]), and a negative electrode current collector (paragraph [0103]); and a positive electrode active material layer further comprising a sulfide solid electrolyte (positive electrode layer comprising positive electrode active material layer and a sulfide-based solid electrolyte; paragraph [0046])
Kamaya does not disclose the all solid-state lithium secondary battery comprising the positive electrode active material layer comprising a positive electrode active material represented by the general formula LixTi2x-1Mn2-3xO (0.50 < x < 0.65) and includes an irregular rock structure.
However, Yabuuchi discloses a positive electrode active material (paragraph [0040]) represented by the general formula LixTi2x-1Mn2-3xO (0.50 < x < 0.65) (Li0.60Ti0.2Mn0.2O where x is 0.60; paragraphs [0042] and [0089]) and includes an irregular rock structure (Fig. 3; paragraphs [0026] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the all soldi-state battery of Kamaya to include the positive electrode comprising the positive electrode active material of Yabuuchi for the positive electrode layer of Kamaya because having the required positive electrode active material allows for large charging and discharging capacities to be exhibited (paragraph [0023] of Yabuuchi).
Kamaya does not disclose the positive electrode active material comprising at least a part of a surface covered with a LiNbO3 coating.
However, Li discloses a positive electrode active material comprising at least a part of a surface covered with a LiNbO3 coating (cathode active material comprising a coating formed on the surface of the cathode active material and wherein the coating layer comprises LiNbO3; paragraphs [0055]-[0056])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the positive electrode active material of Kamaya to include the LiNbO3 coating because having the surface of the cathode active material coated with a LiNbO3 coating suppresses reaction between the cathode active material and the solid electrolyte (paragraph [0055] of Li).
Regarding claim 9, Kamaya discloses the all-solid-state lithium ion secondary battery of claim 1 as noted above.
Kamaya does not disclose the all-solid-state lithium ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode active material represented by the general formula LixTi2x-1Mn2-3xO (0.50 < x < 0.65)
However, Yabuuchi discloses a positive electrode active material (paragraph [0040]) represented by the general formula LixTi2x-1Mn2-3xO (0.50 < x < 0.65) (Li0.60Ti0.2Mn0.2O where x is 0.60; paragraphs [0042] and [0089]) and includes an irregular rock structure (Fig. 3; paragraphs [0026] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the all soldi-state battery of Kamaya to include the positive electrode comprising the positive electrode active material of Yabuuchi for the positive electrode layer of Kamaya because having the required positive electrode active material allows for large charging and discharging capacities to be exhibited (paragraph [0023] of Yabuuchi).
Regarding claim 10, Kamaya discloses the all-solid-state lithium ion secondary battery of claim 9 as noted above.
Kamaya does not disclose the all-solid-state lithium ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode active material represented by the general formula Li1.14Ti0.29Mn0.57O2.
However, Yabuuchi discloses a positive electrode active material (paragraph [0040]) represented by the general formula LixTi2x-1Mn2-3xO (0.50 < x < 0.65) (Li0.60Ti0.2Mn0.2O where x is 0.60; paragraphs [0042] and [0089]) and includes an irregular rock structure (Fig. 3; paragraphs [0026] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the all soldi-state battery of Kamaya to include the positive electrode comprising the positive electrode active material of Yabuuchi for the positive electrode layer of Kamaya because having the required positive electrode active material allows for large charging and discharging capacities to be exhibited (paragraph [0023] of Yabuuchi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art Kamaya, Yabuuchi and Li do not disclose the method of manufacturing the all solid-state lithium ion secondary battery comprising mixing Lithium carbonate, manganese oxide and titanium or niobium oxide in a wet ball mill, the positive electrode mixture slurry comprising a solvent and drying of the positive electrode mixture slurry.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 4/15/2026, with respect to the 112(b) rejection has been fully considered and are persuasive.
The 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Kamaya does not disclose the claimed positive electrode active material and that unexpected results have been provided showing criticality for the battery comprising a positive electrode having the claimed positive electrode active material.
This argument is not persuasive as Kamaya, Yabuuchi and Li disclose the battery of claim as 1 as noted above. Also, the claims are not commensurate in scope with the data in claim 1 as specific formulas are used for the positive electrode active material in the examples.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785