DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “conductive filament in any combination of horizontally, vertically and/or helically in the object” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Figure 2 is two figures and should be corrected to Fig. 2A and 2B. The expanded view of area “A” requires a separate designation --2B--.
The drawings fail to show at least the combination of “horizontally and vertically”, “horizontally and helically”, and/or “horizontally, vertically and helically” found in claims 5 and 17.
Also see:
“A plurality of conductive filament is installed horizontally into the object” found in claim 6.
“The conductive filament is installed in any combination of horizontally, vertically and/or helically onto the object” found in claim 9 (similar to claims 5 and 17 above).
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 009, beginning of the second sentence, replace “1” with --Fig. 1--.
In paragraph 024, line 6, remove the extra spacing. Also, the last two “sentences” of this paragraph are incomplete.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 6, 9, 12 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 5, 9 and 17, replace “and or” with --and/or--.
In claim, claim 6, replace “into” with --onto-- (which corresponds with the claims and the specification.
In claim 12, line 2, insert --filament-- after “conductive”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claims 5 and 17, how are the conductive filaments embedded in horizontal, vertical and/or helical in the object?
For claim 6, how the conductive filament is installed horizontally into the object. Clarify the direction of the filament by referencing the central axis.
For claim 9, how are the conductive filaments installed in horizontal, vertical and/or helical onto the object?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blemel, US Pub. 2007/0021941.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Blemel teaches a method for monitoring wear, strain and structural integrity on or in an object, wherein the object is formed about an axis (device for assessing the integrity of insulated conduit, harnesses, cables, pipelines and other interconnected systems for the purpose of understanding the location, degree and risk of damage and deterioration, and the cause thereof; see at least the abstract, paragraphs 0048-0052 and figs. 2A-2C and 3), comprising:
embedding a minimum of one conductive filament into a wall of the object (conductive filament 3, 4 and/or 5 are embedded between the object formed of insulations 2 and 14; see at least fig. 3), or installing a conductive filament onto a surface of the object (the conductive filament is installed onto the surface of the object 2; see fig. 3);
attaching or extending a minimum of two leads (leads comprises of power source and leads connecting to the microcontroller 13; see at least fig. 4) from the conductive filament for measurement; and
measuring and interpreting a level of resistance or conductivity found throughout the conductive filament (the microcontroller 13 for sensor management, data processing the communication; see at least paragraphs 0063-0065 and 0090-0095).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Blemel teaches the conductive filament being embedded vertically in the object (conductive filament 3, 4 and/or 5 are embedded between the object formed of insulations 2 and 14; see at least fig. 3.
Regarding claims 4, 5, Blemel teaches the conductive filament being embedded helically in the object (conductive filament 3, 4 and/or 5 are embedded between the object formed of insulations 2 and 14; see at least fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6 and 18, Blemel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a plurality of conductive filaments is installed horizontally onto the object (See fig 2C. This claim was examined with the term “onto” due to its typographical err. Also, see the 112(b) rejection for claim 6 above.).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Blemel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conductive filament is installed vertically onto the object (See fig. 2A. Also, claim does not recite 90 degrees or right angle.).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Blemel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conductive filament is installed helically onto the object (see fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 9, Blemel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conductive filament is installed in any combination of horizontally, vertically and/or helically onto the object (see figs. 2A-2C, vertically, helically or horizontally, respectively).
Regarding claim 12, Blemel teaches the system of claim 10 wherein the object is formed about an axis (axis relative to cire 1; see fig. 3) and a plurality of conductive filaments (3, 4 and/or 5) are embedded into the wall of the object (conductive filament 3, 4 and/or 5 are embedded between the object formed of insulations 2 and 14; see at least fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Blemel teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the object is formed about an axis, and a plurality of conductive filaments are mounted onto the object (the conductive filaments 3, 4 and 5 are installed onto the surface of the object 2, the object may be formed of insulations 2 and 14; see fig. 3).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, plurality of conductive filaments (3, 4 and 5) are embedded helically in the object (conductive filament 3, 4 and/or 5 are embedded between the object formed of insulations 2 and 14; see at least fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blemel.
Regarding claim 2, Blemel teaches the claimed invention except for the conductive filament being embedded horizontally in the object.
Blemel teaches (in fig. 2C) a structure wherein the conductive filaments in a horizontal direction to the center axis. Belmel teaches that the conductive filaments may take on horizontal, vertical or helical direction to the center axis, or any angle consistent for measurement of the path for the purpose of detecting damages to the conductive filament.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teaching taught by Blemel, since the conductive filament may take on any angle needed for the purpose detecting damages to the conductive filament.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
KYUNG S. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2833
/KYUNG S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833