DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicants’ claim for benefit to prior filed US Provisional Application 63/351825, filed on 06/14/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 10/29/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-27 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “reducing probability” in the preamble of claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reducing probability” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Reducing probability does not define what the method achieves as reducing the probability could mean reducing the probability from 100% to 50% or from 99% to 98.9%. It is suggested that the claim be amended to instead recite “reducing ice nucleation.”
The term “reducing probability” in the preamble of claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reducing probability” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Reducing probability does not define what the method achieves as reducing the probability could mean reducing the probability from 100% to 50% or from 99% to 98.9%. It is suggested that the claim be amended to instead recite “reducing ice nucleation.”
The term “reducing probability” in the preamble of claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reducing probability” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Reducing probability does not define what the method achieves as reducing the probability could mean reducing the probability from 100% to 50% or from 99% to 98.9%. It is suggested that the claim be amended to instead recite “reducing ice nucleation.”
The term “reducing probability” in the preamble of claim 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reducing probability” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Reducing probability does not define what the method achieves as reducing the probability could mean reducing the probability from 100% to 50% or from 99% to 98.9%. It is suggested that the claim be amended to instead recite “reducing ice nucleation.”
The term “reducing probability” in the preamble of claim 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reducing probability” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Reducing probability does not define what the method achieves as reducing the probability could mean reducing the probability from 100% to 50% or from 99% to 98.9%. It is suggested that the claim be amended to instead recite “reducing ice nucleation.”
The term “reducing probability” in the preamble of claim 23 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reducing probability” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Reducing probability does not define what the method achieves as reducing the probability could mean reducing the probability from 100% to 50% or from 99% to 98.9%. It is suggested that the claim be amended to instead recite “reducing ice nucleation.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18, 20-24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Powell-Palm (WO 2021/146122 Al).
Regarding claim 1, Powell-Palm teach methods and devices for high-stability and optionally transportable supercooling of aqueous solutions or suspensions, and the stable and long-term preservation of biological matter that may be stored therein. (page 1, abstract).
(a) Powell-Palm teach within the primary container, preserved biologics may be stored in an inner container, such as a bag, balloon, covered vial or tube, or other vessel with a flexible surface. Powell-Palm teach the inner container may also be filled with an aqueous solution, be free of air and sealed. Powell-Palm teaches the inner containment will protect the biologics from osmotic damage in the event that ice forms in the principal supercooled media (page 4, paragraphs 023-024).
(b) Powell-Palm teach an inner container for the preserved biologic which is filled with an aqueous solution (page 30, paragraph 0275). Powell-Palm teach the controller will continuously monitor the pressure and tum off the energy delivery module (heating) when the pressure returns to beneath the threshold value, indicating that all or most ice has melted and that the state of stable supercooling may be resumed. Powell-Palm teach that the temperature in the system is elevated only to just above the melting point of the medium and the stored biologic remains cold (page 3, paragraph 012). Therefore, the storage temperature will normally be below the melting point of the medium except in cases where it is slightly elevated to melt ice.
(c, d) The inner container is completely free of air and sealed (page 4, paragraph 024).
Powell-Palm teach supercooling of aqueous media, the method comprising: providing a rigid container containing the aqueous media, ensuring the removal of all or most bulk gas phase from the contained aqueous media, sealing the container with a rigid air-tight closure; and cooling the aqueous media to a temperature below 0°C. (page 5, paragraph 029).
(e) Powell-Palm teach the environment surrounding the inner container may be filled with an aqueous solution. Powell-Palm teach the aqueous solution in the outer container may have different freezing point than the inner container and biological matter which could be lower or higher (page 30, paragraph 0275).
(f) Powell-Palm teach a rigid outer container containing the aqueous media (page 33, claim 1).
(g, h) Powell-Palm teach sealing the container with a rigid air-tight closure, ensuring the removal of essentially all bulk gas phase from the contained aqueous media (page 33, claim 1).
(i) Powell-Palm teach the container can be cooled and the housing a supercooled media and preserved biologic can be stored at any temperature between 0°C and -273°C (page 4, paragraph 019).
(j) Powell-Palm teach the stored biologic may be preserved within the container for any length of time, including but not limited to 6 hours to 20 years. (page 4, paragraph 020).
(k) Powell-Palm teach the container may feature on-board or off-board control capabilities, which employ a microprocessor, computer, or other programmable processing device to monitor the pressure reading from the pressure transducer and activate the energy delivery module (heating) (page 3, paragraph 012).
(l,m) Powell-Palm does not explicitly teach the unsealing and removing of the biological sample after freezing. Powell-Palm teach effective preservation of complex organ and tissue systems is essential medical and research efforts, including expanding access to lifesaving organ transplantations, enabling the storage and transportation of engineered tissues for drug-testing, etc. (page 12, paragraph 0137). Organ transplantation includes preservation and further unsealing and removing the organ in order to perform the transplant. Therefore, it is inherent that the biological sample is unsealed and removed from the container.
Regarding claim 2, Powell-Palm teach methods and devices for high-stability and optionally transportable supercooling of aqueous solutions or suspensions, and the stable and long-term preservation of biological matter that may be stored therein. (page 1, abstract).
(a) Powell-Palm teach within the primary container, preserved biologics may be stored in a secondary container, such as a bag, balloon, covered vial or tube, or other vessel with a flexible surface. Powell-Palm teach the secondary container may also be filled with an aqueous solution, be completely or mostly free of air, and sealed. Powell-Palm teaches secondary containment will protect the biologics from osmotic damage in the event that ice forms in the principal supercooled media (page 4, paragraphs 023-024).
(b) Powell-Palm teach a secondary container for the preserved biologic and filled with an aqueous solution (page 30, paragraph 0275). Powell-Palm teach the controller will continuously monitor the pressure and tum off the energy delivery module (heating) when the pressure returns to beneath the threshold value, indicating that all or most ice has melted and that the state of stable supercooling may be resumed. This ensures that the temperature in the system is elevated only to just above the melting point of the medium and the stored biologic remains cold (page 3, paragraph 012). Therefore, the storage temperature will normally be below the melting point of the medium except in cases where it is slightly elevated to melt ice.
(c) This secondary container is completely free of air and sealed (page 4, paragraph 024).
(d, e) Powell-Palm teach the environment surrounding the inner container may be filled with an aqueous solution. Powell-Palm teach a rigid outer container containing the aqueous media (page 33, claim 1).
(f, g) Powell-Palm teach sealing the container with a rigid air-tight closure, ensuring the removal of essentially all bulk gas phase from the contained aqueous media (page 33, claim 1). (h) Powell-Palm teach the container can be cooled and the housing a supercooled media and preserved biologic can be stored at any temperature between 0°C and -273°C (page 4, paragraph 019). (i) Powell-Palm teach the stored biologic may be preserved within the container for any length of time, including but not limited to 6 hours to 20 years (page 4, paragraph 020). (j) Powell-Palm teach the container may feature on-board or off-board control capabilities, which employ a microprocessor, computer, or other programmable processing device to monitor the pressure reading from the pressure transducer and activate the energy delivery module (heating) (page 3, paragraph 012).
(k, l) Powell-Palm teach a secondary container for the preserved biologic and filled with an aqueous solution (page 30, paragraph 0275). Powell-Palm teach the controller will continuously monitor the pressure and tum off the energy delivery module (heating) when the pressure returns to beneath the threshold value, indicating that all or most ice has melted and that the state of stable supercooling may be resumed. This ensures that the temperature in the system is elevated only to just above the melting point of the medium and the stored biologic remains cold (page 3, paragraph 012). Therefore, the storage temperature will normally be below the melting point of the medium except in cases where it is slightly elevated to melt ice.
Regarding claim 3, Powell-Palm teach the container can be cooled and the housing a supercooled media and preserved biologic can be stored at any temperature between 0°C and -273°C (page 4, paragraph 019).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Powell-Palm teach the environment surrounding the inner container may be filled with an aqueous solution. Powell-Palm teach the aqueous solution in the outer container may have different freezing point than the inner container and biological matter which could be lower or higher (page 30, paragraph 0275).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Powell-Palm teach maintaining supercooling until the glass transition temperature of the aqueous media (page 18, paragraph 0173). Powell-Palm teach providing aqueous environments that remain liquid at sub-zero centigrade temperatures (page 18, paragraph 0174). Powell-Palm teach the environment surrounding the inner container may be filled with an aqueous solution. Powell-Palm teach the aqueous solution in the outer container may have different freezing point than the inner container and biological matter which could be lower or higher (page 30, paragraph 0275).
Regarding claim 8, Powell-Palm teach the inner container is comprised of hydrophobic polymeric substances which can be polytetrafluoroethylene-based and perfluorocarbon-based substances.
Regarding claim 9, Powell-Palm teach the aqueous medium within the container may contain organic molecules (page 2, paragraph 009).
Regarding claim 10, Powell-Palm teach the aqueous medium within the container may contain chemical cryoprotectants (page 2, paragraph 009).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Powell-Palm teach supercooling to enhance the duration and quality of bio-preservation while minimizing cryoprotectant concentrations (page 12, paragraph 0137). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce the concentration of the cryoprotectants in the inner container because they are in contact with the biological sample. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Powell-Palm teach decreasing cryoprotectant concentrations increases the quality of bio-preservation.
Regarding claim 13, Powell-Palm teach the biological matter is perfused with the aqueous media (page 8, claim 54).
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Powell-Palm teach the container may also be cooled at various rates including <1 ºC per minute to <1000 ºC per minute (page 4, paragraph 019) which fall between the range of 1 ºC to 1000 ºC per minute.
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Powell-Palm teach the container may also be cooled at various rates including <1 ºC per minute, <5 ºC per minute, <10 ºC per minute (page 4, paragraph 019) which fall between the range of <.01 ºC to <10 ºC per minute.
Regarding claim 18, Powell-Palm a sealed secondary flexible container which can be a bag or balloon (page 4, paragraph 024).The sealed container would not allow transmission of mass.Regarding claim 20, Powell-Palm teach methods and devices for high-stability and optionally transportable supercooling of aqueous solutions or suspensions, and the stable and long-term preservation of biological matter that may be stored therein. (page 1, abstract).
(a) Powell-Palm teach an apparatus for supercooling of aqueous media, the method comprising: providing a rigid container containing the aqueous media, ensuring the removal of all or most bulk gas phase from the contained aqueous media, sealing the container with a rigid air-tight closure; and cooling the aqueous media to a temperature below 0°C. (page 5, paragraph 029).
(b) Powell-Palm teach within the container, preserved biologics may be stored in an inner container, such as a bag, balloon, covered vial or tube, or other vessel with a flexible surface. Powell-Palm teach the inner container may also be filled with an aqueous solution, be completely free of air, and sealed. Powell-Palm teaches secondary containment will protect the biologics from osmotic damage in the event that ice forms in the principal supercooled media (page 4, paragraphs 023-024). The sealed container would prevent transmission of mass.
(c) Powell-Palm teach an inner container for the preserved biologic and filled with an aqueous solution (page 30, paragraph 0275). Powell-Palm teach the aqueous environments that remain liquid at sub-zero centigrade temperatures and prevents ice nucleation (page 18, paragraph 0174).
(d) Powell-Palm teach the environment surrounding the inner container may be filled with an aqueous solution (page 33, claim 1). Powell-Palm teach the aqueous environments that remain liquid at sub-zero centigrade temperatures and prevents ice nucleation (page 18, paragraph 0174).
Regarding claim 21, Powell-Palm teach methods and devices for high-stability and optionally transportable supercooling of aqueous solutions or suspensions, and the stable and long-term preservation of biological matter that may be stored therein. (page 1, abstract).
(a) Powell-Palm teach an apparatus for supercooling of aqueous media, the method comprising: providing a rigid container containing the aqueous media, ensuring the removal of all or most bulk gas phase from the contained aqueous media, sealing the container with a rigid air-tight closure; and cooling the aqueous media to a temperature below 0°C. (page 5, paragraph 029).
(b) Powell-Palm teach within the container, preserved biologics may be stored in an inner flexible container. Powell-Palm teach the inner container may also be filled with an aqueous solution, be completely free of air, and sealed. Powell-Palm teaches inner containment will protect the biologics from osmotic damage in the event that ice forms in the principal supercooled media (page 4, paragraphs 023-024). The sealed container would prevent transmission of mass.
(c) Powell-Palm teach an inner container for the preserved biologic and filled with an aqueous solution (page 30, paragraph 0275). Powell-Palm teach the aqueous environments that remain liquid at sub-zero centigrade temperatures and prevents ice nucleation (page 18, paragraph 0174).
(d) Powell-Palm teach the environment surrounding the inner container may be filled with an aqueous solution (page 33, claim 1). Powell-Palm teach the aqueous environments that remain liquid at sub-zero centigrade temperatures and prevents ice nucleation (page 18, paragraph 0174).
Regarding claim 22, Powell-Palm teach methods and devices for high-stability and optionally transportable supercooling of aqueous solutions or suspensions, and the stable and long-term preservation of biological matter that may be stored therein. (page 1, abstract).
(a) Powell-Palm teach an apparatus for supercooling of aqueous media, the method comprising: providing a rigid container containing the aqueous media, ensuring the removal of all or most bulk gas phase from the contained aqueous media, sealing the container with a rigid air-tight closure; and cooling the aqueous media to a temperature below 0°C. (page 5, paragraph 029).
(b) Powell-Palm teach within the container, preserved biologics may be stored in an inner flexible container. Powell-Palm teach the inner container may also be filled with an aqueous solution, be completely free of air, and sealed. Powell-Palm teaches inner containment will protect the biologics from osmotic damage in the event that ice forms in the principal supercooled media (page 4, paragraphs 023-024). The sealed container would prevent transmission of mass.
(c) Powell-Palm teach an inner container for the preserved biologic and filled with an aqueous solution (page 30, paragraph 0275). Powell-Palm teach the aqueous environments that remain liquid at sub-zero centigrade temperatures and prevents ice nucleation (page 18, paragraph 0174).
(d) Powell-Palm teach the environment surrounding the inner container may be filled with an aqueous solution (page 33, claim 1). Powell-Palm teach the aqueous environments that remains liquid at sub-zero centigrade temperatures and prevents ice nucleation (page 18, paragraph 0174).
Regarding claim 23, Powell-Palm teach methods and devices for high-stability and optionally transportable supercooling of aqueous solutions or suspensions, and the stable and long-term preservation of biological matter that may be stored therein. (page 1, abstract).
(a) Powell-Palm teach supercooling of aqueous media, the method comprising: providing a rigid container containing the aqueous media, ensuring the removal of all or most bulk gas phase from the contained aqueous media, sealing the container with a rigid air-tight closure; and cooling the aqueous media to a temperature below 0°C. (page 5, paragraph 029).
(b) Powell-Palm teach a secondary container may be used to house one or multiple primary isochoric containers (page 16, paragraph 0154). Powell-Palm teach within the container, preserved biologics may be stored in an inner flexible container. Powell-Palm teach the inner container may also be filled with an aqueous solution, be completely free of air, and sealed. Powell-Palm teaches inner containment will protect the biologics from osmotic damage in the event that ice forms in the principal supercooled media (page 4, paragraphs 023-024). The sealed container would prevent transmission of mass.
(c) Powell-Palm teach an inner container for the preserved biologic and filled with an aqueous solution (page 30, paragraph 0275). Powell-Palm teach the aqueous environments that remain liquid at sub-zero centigrade temperatures and prevents ice nucleation (page 18, paragraph 0174).
(d) Powell-Palm teach the environment surrounding the inner container may be filled with an aqueous solution (page 33, claim 1). Powell-Palm teach the aqueous environments that remain liquid at sub-zero centigrade temperatures and prevents ice nucleation (page 18, paragraph 0174).
Regarding claim 24, Powell-Palm teach monitoring capabilities, active control capabilities, (e) energy delivery capabilities, and cooling capabilities are incorporated (page 14, paragraph 0149).
(h) Powell-Palm teach the container may feature on-board or off-board control capabilities, which employ a microprocessor, computer, or other programmable processing device to (g) monitor the pressure reading and heating (page 3, paragraph 012). The controller may continuously monitor the pressure and tum off the energy delivery module (heating) when the pressure returns to beneath the threshold value. This ensures that the (f) temperature in the system is elevated only to just above the freezing point of the medium and the stored biologic remains cold and preserved. The container is then allowed to return to the desired preservation temperature and supercooling is resumed (page 15, paragraph 152).Regarding claim 26, Powell-Palm teach the outer container may be fabricated from a transparent rigid material (page 18, paragraph 0172).
Regarding claim 27, Powell-Palm teach a secondary container may be used to house one or multiple primary isochoric containers for the purposes of transportation. Powell Palm teach the container may include measures to protect the housed primary container from vibration (page 16, paragraph 0154).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell-Palm (WO 2021/146122 Al) as applied to claims 1, 2, 18 above, and further in view of and Zeng et al. (KeAi, 2021).
Regarding claim 19, Powell-Palm teach within the primary container, preserved biologics may be stored in an inner container, such as a bag, balloon, covered vial or tube, or other vessel with a flexible surface (page 4, paragraphs 023-024). Powell-Palm do not specifically teach the flexible inner container is a tissue adhesive.
Zeng et al. teach tissue adhesive for cryopreservation of tissue (page 229, Title).Zeng et al. teach tissue adhesive hydrogel has excellent cold-resistance and efficient recoverability at a low temperature (page 234, Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Powell-Palm et al. for the flexible inner container with the teachings of Zeng et al. for tissue adhesive for cryopreservation of tissue. Zeng et al. provide motivation by teaching that the tissue adhesive hydrogel has excellent cold-resistance and efficient recoverability at a low temperature. One of skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success at combining Powell-Palm et al. and Zeng et al. because both teach cryopreservation of a tissue.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell-Palm (WO 2021/146122 Al) as applied to claims 20, 21, 22, and 23 above, and further in view of Thomas Scientific (2016).
Regarding claim 25, Powell-Palm teach the inner container is a bag, balloon, covered tube, or covered vial. Powell-Palm do not specifically teach the container is low-density polyethylene.
Thomas Scientific teaches LDPE sample bags are ideal for samples (page 1, description and specification).Thomas Scientific teaches the bags are clear for easy identification of contents and waterproof to protect samples and keep them dry (page 1, description and specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Powell-Palm et al. for an inner container which is a bag, balloon, covered tube, or covered vial with the teachings of Thomas Scientific for LDPE sample bags for storage and preservation. Thomas Scientific provide motivation by teaching that the bags are waterproof to protect samples and clear for easy sample identification. One of skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success at combining Powell-Palm et al. and Thomas Scientific because both teach bags for sample storage and preservation.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,601 although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach a method for decreasing ice nucleation during preservation of biological subject matter in isochoric systems.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,601 although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach a method for decreasing ice nucleation during preservation of biological subject matter in isochoric systems.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,601 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach storage temperatures equal to or below 0° C.
Conclusion
/C.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Anna Skibinsky/
Primary Examiner, AU 1635