DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claim
Applicant filed RCE on 02/13/2026. Claims 1 and 6 were amended. Claim 4 has been canceled. Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 with respect to Park et al. (KR102007009B1) in view of Bostick et al. (US 9852547 B2) have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR102007009B1) in view of Bostick et al. (US 9852547 B2) and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (EP2739939B1),hereinafter referred to as Park, Bostick and Ishikawa respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an augmented reality, AR, display device for a vehicle (“The present invention relates to an augmented reality head-up display navigation” [001]) comprising:
a communication module configured to receive image data including a front image of the vehicle (“The driver state information acquisition unit of the present invention includes a camera, a sensor, and the like, and determines whether the driver's current driving state is a normal state or an abnormal state.” [0085]), location data including a current location of the vehicle (“The positioning unit may be a high-precision GPS having an error range of 10 cm or less, and may be a GPS in which an error is corrected by receiving an error correction value from a reference station as a DMB frequency.” [0021])
map data relating to the current location of the vehicle (“The driving lane check unit compares the vehicle location and the map data information to determine the current driving lane.” [0022]) ,
and sensing data of the vehicle (“In step S200, the vehicle's driving lane is identified by comparing the latitude and longitude values of the vehicle with the latitude and longitude information included in the road point, and the surrounding situation information is detected through the rear and rear detection sensors.” [0108]);
a processor (“The augmented reality navigation system according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a memory, a positioning unit, a driving lane checking unit, a surrounding situation information obtaining unit, a route guide unit, and a head up display.” [0018]) configured to activate a preset application to render an AR graphic interface overlapping the front image, the AR graphic interface including a first AR object indicating a current driving state of the vehicle and a second AR object indicating a guide for driving based on the current location of the vehicle and the map data (“ In addition, when the U-turn is required to display the route guidance information, if the vehicle is determined to be traveling in one lane, the route guidance information is displayed as the U-turn, and if the vehicle is determined to be in two or n lanes, the vehicle is 1 The route guidance information is changed to one lane so that the route guidance information is changed to a lane, and the route guidance information is displayed as a U-turn, so that the road and the route guidance information of the vehicle crossing the windshield can be matched.” [0016]);
and a display (“ a route guide unit, and a head up display.” [0018]) configured to display a navigation screen including the front image overlapped by the AR graphic interface according to the rendering, wherein the processor is further configured to update the AR graphic interface, in response to determination of a change of a driving lane of the vehicle as a notification event related to a driving lane recognized based on the sensing data and a current location of the vehicle (“In addition, by varying the color of the route guidance information according to the traffic conditions ahead information, the driver recognizes not only the route guidance information to the destination, but also the traffic situation ahead of them, for example, to prepare for this before reaching the congestion section (slowing). There is a possible effect.” [0034]),
Park does not explicitly teach initially display the first AR object and the second AR object in a joined state as a guide image, and separate the second AR object from the first AR object upon the notification event, while maintaining the first AR object to continue indicating the current driving state of the vehicle,
However, Bostick does teach initially display the first AR object and the second AR object in a joined state as a guide image, and separate the second AR object from the first AR object upon the notification event, while maintaining the first AR object to continue indicating the current driving state of the vehicle (“FIG. 3B depicts an example of virtual overlay image 350, removing the obscuring objects in the visible field of augmented reality display device 120, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Virtual overlay image 350 includes temporary overlay 360 and non-obscured path 370. Temporary overlay 360 is a virtual removal of some or all of the real-world view through AR display device 120. Temporary overlay 360 creates a background that removes obstructing terrain or objects and plots path sections that indicate the route to be traversed. In one embodiment of the present invention, temporary overlay 360 is initiated by camera 123 detecting a particular hand or arm gesture. In other embodiments, camera 123, which is located on AR display device 120, detects head movements or a particular type or sequence to initiate temporary overlay 360.” [Col.10 ln 10-25]). Both Park and Bostick teach methods for navigation using augmented reality displays. However, Bostick explicitly teaches initially display the first AR object and the second AR object in a joined state as a guide image, and separate the second AR object from the first AR object upon the notification event, while maintaining the first AR object to continue indicating the current driving state of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality navigation method of Park to also include initially display the first AR object and the second AR object in a joined state as a guide image, and separate the second AR object from the first AR object upon the notification event, while maintaining the first AR object to continue indicating the current driving state of the vehicle, as taught by Bostick, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety of vehicle Navigation (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Bostick, Col.3 ln 15-35]).
Park does not explicitly teach wherein the first AR object is rendered in a current driving lane of the vehicle on the front image and the separated second AR object is rendered to include a plurality of trajectories images toward a driving lane to be changed as the guide image.
However, Ishikawa does teach wherein the first AR object is rendered in a current driving lane of the vehicle on the front image “In the case where the travel lane is branched into a plurality of the branched lanes at a lane branch point ahead of the vehicle, a target lane specifying unit specifies a target lane to be traveled by the vehicle after traveling past the lane branch point. In the case where the travel lane is not branched into a plurality of the branched lanes at a lane branch point ahead, a display control unit causes a display section to display the forward image on which a first guide line is superimposed, the first guide line having, as an end point of the first guide line on a front side, a first front-side end point indicating a center position of the travel lane in a width direction.”[0006] and the separated second AR object is rendered to include a plurality of trajectories images toward a driving lane to be changed as the guide image (“In the case where the travel lane is branched into a plurality of the branched lanes at a lane branch point ahead, on the other hand, the display control unit causes the display section to display the forward image on which a second guide line is superimposed, the second guide line having, as an end point of the second guide line on the front side, a second front-side end point indicating a position in the travel lane on a side of the target lane with respect to the center position of the travel lane in the width direction.” [0006]). Both Park and Ishikawa teach methods for navigation using augmented reality displays. However, Ishikawa explicitly teaches wherein the first AR object is rendered in a current driving lane of the vehicle on the front image and the separated second AR object is rendered to include a plurality of trajectories images toward a driving lane to be changed as the guide image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality navigation method of Park to also include wherein the first AR object is rendered in a current driving lane of the vehicle on the front image and the separated second AR object is rendered to include a plurality of trajectories images toward a driving lane to be changed as the guide image, as taught by Ishikawa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety of vehicle Navigation (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Ishikawa, 0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 1, wherein the notification event related to the driving lane of the vehicle comprises any one of changing the driving lane, predicting departure from the driving lane, overtaking a front object (“Therefore, in operation S300, when the possibility of collision with the surrounding vehicle is predicted based on the surrounding situation information acquired in operation S200, the color of the route guide information is changed or the indicator of the route guide information is displayed.” [0112]),
and detecting a collision-impending object within a current driving lane or a lane to be changed (“As shown in (b) of FIG. 8, the driver recognizes the direction of the route guidance (the lane changes to the left lane and enters the overpass at 350 meters ahead) while the color of the route guidance information is changed to red. In order to prevent the collision with the side rear vehicle.” [0078]).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 1, wherein the sensing data of the vehicle for recognizing the notification event related to the driving lane includes a combination of ADAS sensing data of the vehicle (“The surrounding situation information acquisition unit 600 detects the presence or absence of other vehicles approaching from the rear and rear of both side lanes of the driving vehicle, and when the other vehicle approaches within a predetermined distance, the route guidance unit 700 To send). “ [0073)
and one or more of CAN data, GPS information (“The positioning unit receives a vehicle position, and GPS is preferably received for the current position of the vehicle.” [0020])
and navigation information of the vehicle (“The augmented reality navigation device includes a memory 300, a location checker 400, a driving lane checker 500, a surrounding situation information acquirer 600, a path guider 700, and a head-up display 800. “ [0062]).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the AR display device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to detect an object approaching the vehicle based on the sensing data of the vehicle and the map data relating to the current location of the vehicle (“The surrounding situation information acquisition unit 600 detects the presence or absence of other vehicles approaching from the rear and rear of both side lanes of the driving vehicle, and when the other vehicle approaches within a predetermined distance, the route guidance unit 700 To send). “ [0073]),
Park does not explicitly teach separates at least one of the plurality of trajectories images from the separated second AR object to point a location of the detected object by the separated at least one trajectory image
However, Bostick does teach and separates at least one of the plurality of trajectories images from the separated second AR object to point a location of the detected object by the separated at least one trajectory image (“FIG. 3B depicts an example of virtual overlay image 350, removing the obscuring objects in the visible field of augmented reality display device 120, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Virtual overlay image 350 includes temporary overlay 360 and non-obscured path 370. Temporary overlay 360 is a virtual removal of some or all of the real-world view through AR display device 120. Temporary overlay 360 creates a background that removes obstructing terrain or objects and plots path sections that indicate the route to be traversed.” [Col.10 ln 10-20]). Both Park and Bostick teach methods for navigation using augmented reality displays. However, Bostick explicitly teaches separating at least one of the plurality of trajectories images from the separated second AR object to point a location of the detected object by the separated at least one trajectory image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality navigation method of Park to also include separating at least one of the plurality of trajectories images from the separated second AR object to point a location of the detected object by the separated at least one trajectory image, as taught by Bostick, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety of vehicle Navigation (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Bostick, Col.3 ln 15-35]).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 1,wherein the processor is further configured to determine a possibility of collision with an object that approaches from a right rear side based on the sensing data of the vehicle and the map data (“The surrounding situation information acquisition unit 600 detects the presence or absence of other vehicles approaching from the rear and rear of both side lanes of the driving vehicle” [0073]),
Park does not explicitly teach when an object with a possibility of collision is detected in the driving lane to be changed, the processor is further configured to change the plurality of trajectories images to indicate that the driving lane change is not allowed, and update some of the changed trajectories images to indicate a location of the detected object
However, Bostick does teach wherein when an object with a possibility of collision is detected in the driving lane to be changed, the processor is further configured to change the plurality of trajectories images to indicate that the driving lane change is not allowed, and update some of the changed trajectories images to indicate a location of the detected object (“In some embodiments of the present invention, the information from the analysis of social media source 160 is used to indicate trails and paths that are in good condition, such as by a designated color of the path lines, for example, green overlaid on AR display device 120. Trails or paths in bad or dangerous condition may be depicted with a red color, for example” [Col.9 ln 3-10]). Both Park and Bostick teach methods for navigation using augmented reality displays. However, Bostick explicitly teaches wherein when an object with a possibility of collision is detected in the driving lane to be changed, the processor is further configured to change the plurality of trajectories images to indicate that the driving lane change is not allowed, and update some of the changed trajectories images to indicate a location of the detected object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality navigation method of Park to also include wherein when an object with a possibility of collision is detected in the driving lane to be changed, the processor is further configured to change the plurality of trajectories images to indicate that the driving lane change is not allowed, and update some of the changed trajectories images to indicate a location of the detected object, as taught by Bostick, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety of vehicle Navigation (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Bostick, Col.3 ln 15-35]).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to update the plurality of trajectories images indicating that the driving lane change is not allowed to be located in the current driving lane or a lane to which the driving lane change is not allowed ((“At this time, in the surrounding situation information monitored by the surrounding situation acquisition unit 600, when there is a side rear vehicle approaching from the left foot lane on the basis of the current driving lane, the color of the previously guided route guidance information (for example, blue) After changing to change the route guidance information to a color (for example, red) after the change and transmits to the head-up display unit (800). “ [0077]).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to update, in response to a prediction of a departure of the driving lane as the notification event associated with the driving lane of the vehicle (“Therefore, in operation S300, when the possibility of collision with the surrounding vehicle is predicted based on the surrounding situation information acquired in operation S200, the color of the route guide information is changed or the indicator of the route guide information is displayed.” [0112]),
Park does not explicitly teach the AR graphic interface such that the first AR object is rendered to indicate a driving pose of the vehicle in the current driving lane and the separated second AR object is rendered to include at least one of a first guide for guiding a change in the driving pose of the vehicle and a second guide for alerting a lane departure so as for the vehicle to keep the lane
However, Bostick does teach the AR graphic interface such that the first AR object is rendered to indicate a driving pose of the vehicle in the current driving lane and the separated second AR object is rendered to include at least one of a first guide for guiding a change in the driving pose of the vehicle and a second guide for alerting a lane departure so as for the vehicle to keep the lane (“Some embodiments of the present invention include receiving data from sensors and devices, which determines the location and orientation of the AR display device view, enabling an accurate overlay of a virtual path on the real-world environment as viewed through the AR display device. …. Some embodiments provide hands-free navigational information, and may illuminate or virtually display a path or trail in the AR display of all the possible paths from the viewer's visual perspective based on GPS coordinates, angle of the user's vision, and imported maps. Some embodiments of the present invention provide statistical analysis on the difficulty or risk of a path, as well as possible distances from flowing water, camp sites, or dangerous areas.” [Col.3 ln 15-35]). Both Park and Bostick teach methods for navigation using augmented reality displays. However, Bostick explicitly teaches the AR graphic interface such that the first AR object is rendered to indicate a driving pose of the vehicle in the current navigational path and the separated second AR object is rendered to include at least one of a first guide for guiding a change in the driving pose of the vehicle and a second guide for alerting a path departure so as for the device to keep the path.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the AR graphic interface such that the first AR object is rendered to indicate a driving pose of the vehicle in the current navigational path and the separated second AR object is rendered to include at least one of a first guide for guiding a change in the driving pose of the vehicle and a second guide for alerting a path departure so as for the device to keep the path., as taught by Bostick, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety of vehicle Navigation (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Bostick, Col.3 ln 15-35]).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to determine a time point for warning departure from the driving lane based on a driving speed of the vehicle, and update the separated second AR object to be changed into the second guide at a location corresponding to an predicted lane departure direction at the determined time point (“, driver operation information such as longitudinal / lateral control of the vehicle, vehicle speed, lane position, acceleration information, etc. Based on the driving performance and reaction information and the driver's condition such as distraction of the driver, when the driver load increases above the preset level, the driver changes his / her own color by changing the color of the route information displayed on the head-up display unit 800. Allows you to check the warning alerts for each situation for safe driving.” [0092]).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to update the displayed driving pose indicated by the first AR object and update the separated second AR object to display the first guide at a center of the driving lane, when deviation within the driving lane is determined to exceed a threshold range (“At this time, in step S300, in consideration of the driving load in addition to the driver's state information, the color of the route guide information is changed when the driving load increases above a predetermined level, and the color of the route guide information expressed through the HUD. In addition to being variable, it is also possible to display a warning notification text or generate a warning sound.” [0122]).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to updates the separated second AR object to display a plurality of trajectories images indicating an avoidance route and an overtaking point of a target object, in response to recognition of the overtaking as the notification event related to the driving lane (“If the driver is driving with confidence in only the route guidance information displayed on the head-up display 800, the driver may not be able to confirm and prevent collisions with other vehicles approaching from the target lane to be changed. By changing the route guidance in consideration and providing augmented reality, the driver intuitively avoids the risk of collision.” [0098]).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to render the separated second AR object to be joined with the first AR object when the driving lane change of the vehicle is completed while the vehicle travels along the avoidance route, and separate the second AR object from the first AR object to display the plurality of trajectories images indicating a location of a lane to return when a current location of the vehicle approaches the overtaking point of the target object within a predetermined distance (“The surrounding situation information acquisition unit 600 detects the presence or absence of other vehicles approaching from the rear and rear of both side lanes of the driving vehicle, and when the other vehicle approaches within a predetermined distance, the route guidance unit 700 To send).” [0073]).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 11,
Park does not explicitly teach wherein during the overtaking, the processor is further configured to update the separated second AR object to keep displaying the plurality of trajectories images to be driven by the vehicle in the separated state until the vehicle completes the overtaking
However, Bostick does teach wherein during the overtaking, the processor is further configured to update the separated second AR object to keep displaying the plurality of trajectories images to be driven by the vehicle in the separated state until the vehicle completes the overtaking (“Obstruction 230 is a grouping of trees that obscures a portion of the route, preventing display of an entire overview of the route to the selected destination. Obstruction 230 may prevent viewing of route conditions that deserve consideration by the user, such as duration, elevation changes, difficulty, equipment needed, and potentially other considerations. In some embodiments of the present invention, virtual overlay program 400, in response to receiving a corresponding selection, for example, an uncommon hand or arm gesture viewed by camera 123, produces a temporary background display, overlaying obstruction 230, and displays the additional path sections on the background display (not shown), such that the entire route path sections are visible to the user of AR display device 120. Displaying the entire path route sections provides a more complete set of information to the user of AR display device 120.” [Col.8 ln 36-51]). Both Park and Bostick teach methods for navigation using augmented reality displays. However, Bostick explicitly teaches wherein during the overtaking, the processor is further configured to update the separated second AR object to keep displaying the plurality of trajectories images to be driven by the vehicle in the separated state until the vehicle completes the overtaking.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality navigation method of Park to also include wherein during the overtaking, the processor is further configured to update the separated second AR object to keep displaying the plurality of trajectories images to be driven by the vehicle in the separated state until the vehicle completes the overtaking, as taught by Bostick, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety of vehicle Navigation (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Bostick, Col.3 ln 15-35]).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to update the separated second AR object to include a crossing point of a lane corresponding to the overtaking point of the target object and driving speed information for passing the crossing point between the plurality of trajectories images to be driven by the vehicle, on the basis of the current location of the vehicle and driving state of the vehicle (“That is, a driver who trusts the route guidance information shown in FIGS. 8A and 9A attempts to change to the left lane, or shows a driving intention to overtake a vehicle ahead of the current driving lane. It is recognized whether the driving intention corresponds to a lane change or overtaking.” [0103]).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine an avoidance driving lane based on the current location of the vehicle and ADAS sensing data of the vehicle, and update the separated second AR object to display the plurality of trajectories images for the vehicle to travel according to the determination, in response to a detection of a front object with a possibility of collision as the notification event related to the driving lane based on the ADAS sensing data of the vehicle (“If there is a driving intention corresponding to the lane change as a result of the recognition of the recognition unit, the route guide unit 700 changes the route guide information in consideration of the possibility of collision according to the information acquired by the surrounding situation information acquirer 600, and changes the head up. transmit to display 800.” [0104]).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses The AR display device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to calculate, in response to a detection of a front object with a possibility of collision based on ADAS sensing data of the vehicle, a location of the detected front object based on the current location of the vehicle and the ADAS sensing data of the vehicle (“In addition to the above-mentioned collision risk, the color change of the route guidance information may be changed according to the forward traffic situation information received from the external server.” [0081]), and render an alarm object changed depending on the calculated location overlapping the front image (“At this time, in addition to changing the path guidance color of the path guide unit 700, providing an alarm through a speaker or the like, or as shown in (b) of FIG. It is desirable to provide information WARNING” [0079]).
Conclusion
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668