Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-13 and 19 remain in the application as withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 14, 16-17 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hemingway (US 9,511,544). In considering the embodiment shown in Figs. 33-35, Hemingway discloses a stud fastener (701) comprising: a cylindrical body (703) with a sidewall which defines a hollow space; three retention features (705) spaced from one another by 120° within the hollow space (see Fig. 34) and angled towards the axis (see Fig. 35) for deflecting outward with the insertion of a stud (711); the body and retention features are a monolithic structure; the retention features each include: a return arm, a foot, and friction features (a surface of the foot); the body includes open leading and base ends (Fig. 35), the leading end having chamfer (Fig. 35); and the body and retention features are made of a thermoplastic material by a three-dimensional printing process which forms a plurality of integrally formed layers (column 1, paragraph beginning line 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 14, 16-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagne (US 8,950,993) in view of Mizusawa (US 4,435,111). In considering the embodiment shown in Figs. 9a-10c, Gagne discloses a stud fastener (33) comprising: body (4) with a sidewall which defines a hollow space; three retention features (2) spaced from one another by 120° within the hollow space and angled towards the axis for deflecting outward with the insertion of a stud (8); the body defines a recess within the sidewall wherein the retention features are coupled to the sidewall within the recess; the body and retention features are a unitary structure (Fig. 9e); the retention features each include: a return arm, a foot, and friction features (3); the body includes open leading and base ends, the leading end having chamfer; and the sidewall defines a diameter that corresponds to an outer diameter of the stud (Fig. 10). Gagne further discloses the stud fastener as a unitary monolithic body since all the parts of the body are connected with hinges to form a continuous material structure and unitary monolithic body. The three-dimensional printing is a product-by-process limitation where only the final product is considered.
Gagne does not disclose the body being cylindrical. Mizusawa disclose stud fastener (1) similar to Gagne but disclose a body (6) of the stud fastener can be cylindrical (see Fig. 1(C)). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to make the shape of the stud fastener disclosed in Gagne cylindrical as disclosed in Mizusawa so that it could be rotated by hand as opposed to a requiring a tool.
Conclusion
Applicant’s remarks have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675