CTNF 18/208,948 CTNF 96538 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the Claims In the communication dated June 13, 2023, claims 1-16 are pending. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 should include --the-- before “predetermined” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Wang et al. EP2800195A1 (cited in Applicant IDS dated 5/1/2024) . Regarding claim 1. Wang discloses a personal-care device (¶1 – hearing aid, small electronic devices) comprising a rechargeable energy storage (¶2) ; a charging circuit (charger - ¶14) for receiving energy from an external energy source (implicit) and for charging the rechargeable energy storage; a first charging mode in which the rechargeable energy storage is charged to a predetermined maximum voltage value (¶16 – 4.2V – charged using CC-CV to the maximum voltage) ; a user-selectable second charging mode in which the rechargeable energy storage is charged until the voltage at the rechargeable energy source has reached a first predetermined voltage value that is lower than the predetermined maximum voltage value (¶19 –selected charging 4.05V or 4.1V which is less than the maximum voltage of 4.2V; ¶24 – charging voltage selection left to user). Regarding claim 3. Wang discloses that the rechargeable energy source is a rechargeable lithium-ion battery (¶1) . Regarding claim 4. Wang discloses that the charging circuit is structured and/or arranged to employ a charging concept having a first charging stage in which the lithium- ion battery is charged in a constant current mode and a second charging stage succeeding the first charging stage in which the lithium-ion battery is charged in a constant voltage mode (¶16 – constant current -constant voltage charging) . Regarding claim 5. Wang discloses that the first predetermined voltage value is chosen such that the charging of the lithium-ion battery is stopped while the charging circuit is in the first charging stage (¶16 – constant current voltage charging to the maximum voltage; ¶19 – lower charging voltage) . Regarding claim 6. Wang discloses that the personal-care device comprises at least one user-operable input element arranged for selecting the second charging mode (¶24 – selection button) . Regarding claim 7. Wang discloses a user-selectable third charging mode in which the rechargeable energy storage is charged until the voltage at the rechargeable energy source has reached a second predetermined voltage value (¶21 – voltage elevation is steps from 4.05-4.20V; ¶24 – button elevates the CV by 0.05V) . Regarding claim 9. Wang discloses a system comprising a personal-care device of claims 1 (as rejected above in claim 1) and a charger arranged for providing energy to the personal-care device (¶19/24/25/34 – charger) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. EP2800195A1 in view of Jung et al. US20130193915A1 . Regarding claim 2. Wang does not explicitly teach that the personal-care device is an electric toothbrush. Jung teaches that the personal-care device is an electric toothbrush (2) (¶25) . It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the personal-care device of Wang be a toothbrush, as electric toothbrushes are known in the art to require charging, thus apply the device charging of Wang to a toothbrush. Regarding claim 10. Wang does not explicitly teach that the charger is structured and arranged for providing the energy in a wireless manner. Jung teaches the charger (22) is structured and arranged for providing the energy in a wireless manner (¶25 – inductive charger part of a base station 22) . It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide wireless charging as taught by Jung to the charging method of Wang in order to avoid problems associated with mechanical electric connectors and wet and humid conditions (Jung; ¶2). Regarding claim 11. Wang does not explicitly disclose that the charger comprises a primary side of an inductive charging circuit and the charging circuit of the personal-care device realizes a secondary side of the inductive charging circuit. Jung discloses the charger (22) comprises a primary side of an inductive charging circuit (¶25 – inductive charger part of a base station 22) and the charging circuit of the personal-care device (2) realizes a secondary side of the inductive charging circuit (6) . It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide wireless charging as taught by Jung to the charging method of Wang in order to avoid problems associated with mechanical electric connectors and wet and humid conditions (Jung; ¶2) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. EP2800195A1 in view of Abiru et al. US20160197506A1 Regarding claim 8. Wang discloses a maximum nominal voltage of about 4.2 Volt (¶16/19) . Although Wang teaches a lower voltage of 4.05V (¶19), Wang does not explicitly teach that the predetermined first voltage value is in a range of between 3.9 Volt and 4.0 Volt. Abiru discloses that the predetermined first voltage value is in a range of between 3.9 Volt and 4.0 Volt (¶29 – long life mode charging is restricted to the end voltage within a second voltage. The second voltage is suitable for 3.9-4.1V/cell) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the lower range of Abiru to the long range charging of Wang in order to provide longer lasting battery capacity (Abiru; ¶4).. Regarding claim 16. Although Wang teaches a lower voltage of 4.05V (¶19), Wang does not explicitly teach that the predetermined first voltage value is about 3.95 Volt. Abiru discloses that the predetermined first voltage value is in a range of between 3.9 Volt and 4.0 Volt (¶29 – long life mode charging is restricted to the end voltage within a second voltage. The second voltage is suitable for 3.9-4.1V/cell. The value of 3.95V is within the range of the reference) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the lower range of Abiru to the long range charging of Wang in order to provide longer lasting battery capacity (Abiru; ¶4) .. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. EP2800195A1 in view of Pan et al. US20180166904A1 . Regarding claim 12. Wang does not explicitly teach that the charger comprises a first circuit portion of a wireless resonance charging circuit and the charging circuit of the personal-care device realizes a secondary side of the resonance charging circuit. Pan teaches that the charger (202) comprises a first circuit portion of a wireless resonance charging circuit (FIG. 2; ¶22 - the TX matching network 216 and the inductor 206 form a resonant circuit ) and the charging circuit of the personal- care device (FIG. 2; 204) realizes a secondary side of the resonance charging circuit (¶23) . It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the resonant charging of Pan to the charging method of Wang in order to provide flexible placement of the toothbrush for charging (Pan; ¶3) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. EP2800195A1 in view of Van der Linde et al. US20090096430A1 . Regarding claim 13. Wang does not explicitly disclose that the charger comprises an internal energy storage that has a higher capacity than a capacity of the rechargeable energy storage of the personal-care device. Van der Linde discloses that the charger (10) comprises an internal energy storage (42) that has a higher capacity than a capacity of the rechargeable energy storage (30) of the personal-care device (12 - a personal-care device is a broad term that may be applied to any number of devices) (¶105 – “It is of course more advantageous for the charge capacity of the supply capacitor 42 to be greater than the storage capacitors 30 in order to recharge capacitors 30 to a capacity of 50% or more. For example, if the charge capacity of the supply capacitor 42 is twice the charge capacity of the storage capacitors 30 , then recharging using the charger 10 will result in the capacitor being charged to 66% charge capacity. The greater the charge capacity of the supply capacitor 42 compared to the charge capacity of the storage capacitors 30 , the greater the recharge”) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the capacity level teaching of Van der Linde to the system of Wang in order to provide a greater recharge to the device (Van der Linde; ¶105) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. EP2800195A1 in view of Chiu et al. US20180062414A1 (cited in Applicant IDS dated 5/1/2024) . Regarding claim 14. Wong does not explicitly disclose that the charger comprises a motion or vibration sensor and the charger is structured and arranged to provide energy in response to a detected motion or vibration. Chiu discloses that the charger comprises a motion sensor and the charger is structured and arranged to provide energy in response to a detected motion (¶31 – sensing unit D1 senses a handheld device M1 to activate the charger; ¶24 – sensing unit includes a touch sensor, a weight sensor, a pressure sensor, or the other sense switches) . It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the teachings of Chiu to the system of Wang in order to provide repeated and consistent charging for a frequently used device (Chiu; ¶3). Regarding claim 15. Wang does not explicitly disclose that the charger is structured and arranged to monitor whether energy provided to the personal-care device is utilized and to switch into a standby mode in case the provided energy is not used, where in the stand-by mode the charger is arranged to not provide energy for charging. Chiu discloses that the charger is structured and arranged to monitor whether energy provided to the personal-care device is utilized and to switch into a standby mode in case the provided energy is not used (¶25 – wireless charging module in a standby mode or resting state) , where in the stand-by mode the charger is arranged to not provide energy for charging (¶25 – the device enters a charging state after the standby state, thus, not providing power in the standby state) . It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the teachings of Chiu to the system of Wang in order to provide repeated and consistent charging for a frequently used device (Chiu; ¶3). Relevant Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsenter US20050264263A1 discloses a maximum level range between 4.0V and 4.2V . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMELA JEPPSON whose telephone number is (571)272-4094. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/208,948 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/208,948 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/208,948 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/208,948 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/208,948 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/208,948 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/208,948 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/208,948 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/208,948 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/208,948 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859