DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
With regard to limitations in the preamble of the claim(s), this language is not believed to limit the claim. Specifically, the claim preamble has the import that the claim as a whole suggests for it. In this case, the body of the claim makes no mention to any specific features that a “public transit vehicle” would possess (such as “structures”) and the preamble merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Therefore, the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-481 and MPEP 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The subject matter of claim 24 is already present in claim 22 as amended. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camellini in view of Starnes.
For claim 22, Camellini (2021/0261078) discloses a barrier between a driver cockpit and a rear area of a vehicle, the barrier comprising:
a driver side barrier (left of door 10, FIG.1) and a curbside barrier (right of 10, FIG.1); and
a sliding door (10) disposed between the driver side barrier and the curbside barrier.
The driver side barrier is a fixed driver side barrier that is fastened to driver side stanchions (elements 30) mounted between a floor and a ceiling of the vehicle; and the curbside barrier is a fixed barrier that is fastened between a curbside stanchion (fixed to a left-hand side of the structure as seen in FIGS. 1 and 11) and a curbside wall of the vehicle. The reference makes clear that a plurality of elements (30) can be applied and using the standard of BRI it is apparent that one of the elements (30) is applied to position the curbside barrier between the element and a curbside wall of the vehicle.
Camellini discloses both the driver side and curbside barriers each being a single structure which fails to include an opaque barrier, respectively.
These features are taught by Starnes (4848832) which includes driver side and curbside barriers with fixed portions and opaque portions (FIGS.1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with reasonable success to have provided the driver and curb side barriers of Camellini with both fixed and opaque barriers as taught by Starnes as an obvious design expedient to allow a driver visibility through the barriers.
For claim 23, a driver side stanchion (30, [0077]) is mounted between a floor and a ceiling of the vehicle, where the disclosure makes clear that one or more stanchions is suitable.
For claim 24, the driver side stanchions are configured to support the driver side barrier and the sliding door.
For claim 25, a curbside stanchion (30, [0077]) is mounted between the floor and the ceiling of the vehicle and is configured to support the curbside barrier.
Claims 28, 32-34, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camellini, as modified, and further in view of Starnes.
For claim 28, the sliding door of Camellini, as modified, includes a panel mounted to the driver side stanchions by way of sliders and mounts but lacks a transparent panel.
Starnes further teaches providing the sliding door with a transparent panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with reasonable success to have provided Camellini, as modified, with a transparent panel for the sliding door as taught by Starnes as an obvious design expedient to allow a driver visibility through the door.
For claim 32, Camellini, as modified, discloses the sliding door is configured to facilitate changing the barrier between a closed configuration and an open configuration (in so much as the sliding door is capable of being moved between the two configurations). This claim adds no additional structural limitations.
For claim 33, Camellini, as modified, discloses the sliding door in the closed configuration is configured to prevent passengers from accessing the driver cockpit; and the sliding door in the open configuration is configured to allow passengers to enter and exit the passenger seating area. This claim adds no additional structural limitations.
For claim 34, Camellini, as modified, discloses the sliding door is configured to be moved by an operator disposed in the driver cockpit (in so much as it is capable of being moved by an operator). This claim adds no additional structural limitations.
Claim 37 is known from Camellini as modified with Starnes (FIG.2).
Claims 35-36 and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camellini, as modified, and further in view of DE 102012022809 (DE 809).
DE 809 teaches the use of a slide door which is hinges (about axis “T”, FIG.3) to provide alternative vehicle configurations.
Swingable partition wall door (13) rotates around door axes (T) of the hold (Abstract, Novelty). The door swings around segment axles (S1, S2). The door segments are coupled with the partition wall door in operation position and swung around the door axles which allows the door to be, in one configuration, positioned behind a side of the driver, and in another configuration, to be positioned adjacent or with the driver seat (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with reasonable success to have provided Camellini, as modified, with a hinging mechanism as taught by DE 809 in order to allow the sliding door to be provided in an alternate configuration, one in which the driver is further protected.
For claim 35, Camellini, as modified above, discloses the sliding door includes hinges (taught by DE 809) that enable the operator to rotate the sliding door from the closed configuration to an aisle configuration (FIG.3 of DE 809).
For claim 36, the sliding door of Camellini, as modified, when in the aisle configuration cooperates with the driver side barrier to isolate the operator from the passenger seating area during loading and unloading passengers.
For claims 42 and 43, Camellini, as modified, discloses sliders as set forth above with respect to claim 28 and hinges as set for above with respect to claim 35.
Claims 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camellini, as modified, and further in view of FR 2599319 or EP 0027483 or Schmidt et al. (2017/0327070).
For claims 39-41, Camellini, as modified, provides the one of the barriers and sidling door comprises a glass panel but fails to disclose a polycarbonate or acrylic panel or metal/hard plastic.
FR 2599319 (FR 319) teaches a protective device (partitioning a vehicle space) where the device is made of transparent plastic, for example of polycarbonate six millimeters thick (where 6 mm is approximately 0.236 inches).
EP 0027483 (EP 483) teaches a partition of acrylic material of sufficient thickness to dissuade a possible aggression.
Schmidt et al. teach a barrier with a lower portion (lower section 19) being a rigid opaque material, such as steel or similar metal ([0059]).
It should be noted that it is well known in the art for polycarbonate and acrylic transparent panels to be used as alternatives to glass.
For claim 41, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with reasonable success to have substituted the material of the barrier or door of Camellini, as modified, with metal as taught by Schmidt et al. as an obvious material alternative to the rigid material provided.
For claims 39-40, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with reasonable success to have substituted the glass of Camellini, as modified, with either one of an acrylic and polycarbonate panel as taught by FR 319 or EP 483 as an obvious material alternative in order to allow the barrier to be stronger, lighter in weight, or have other desirable physical properties. It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination since the court has held that the use of a different material is obvious over that of the prior art if it performs the same function. See MPEP 2144.07 and also Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with reasonable success to have provided the thickness of the acrylic panel of Camellini, as modifieid, to be ¼ inch or the thickness of the polycarbonate panel of Camellini, as modified, to be 3/8 inch since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the barrier of Camellini, as modified, would not operate differently if further modified with the claimed thickness. Applicant places no criticality on the thickness claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Camellini fails to disclose wherein the curbside barrier includes a fixed barrier and a second barrier that are fastened between a curbside stanchion and a curbside wall of the vehicle as set forth in amended claim 22. The examiner disagrees and is not persuaded by this argument. Specifically, as set forth in Camellini it is apparent a plurality of elements (30) is installed to help support and align the structure. One of these elements (30) is see at least in FIGS.1 and 11 positioned to the left-hand side of the drawing figure and can represent the curbside stanchion as broadly recited and interpreted. Moreover, the reference is not limited to the positioning of the elements (30) shown and it is apparent to a PHOSITA that the plurality of elements could be provided at other locations to best support the structure. The rejections as set forth above are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Clelland (5069497) discloses a driver side barrier, a curbside barrier, and a sliding door. The barriers (left and right bulkhead wall portions) (202,204) are “attached to” side posts (not shown) (Col 3, lines 38-40).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614