DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 03/16/2026, which has been entered and made of record.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments regarding the current claim(s) have been fully considered. But, the arguments/remarks are directed to the claims as amended, and so are believed to be answered by and therefore moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 3 and 5 – 22 are pending. Claims 1 – 3 and 5 – 22 are considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 5 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PERA, Robert J. (US-20150256665-A1, hereinafter simply referred to as Pera) in view of Daniels, Eric B. (US-20150276237-A1, hereinafter simply referred to as Eric) and Spiro, Daniel S. (US-20080061668-A1, hereinafter simply referred to as Spiro).
Regarding independent claim 1, Pera teaches:
A system comprising a modular control unit (e.g., wireless access point (AP) device of Pera) configured to provide an access point to which other devices connect to a network (See at least Pera, ¶ [0039]; FIG. 1; "…the power receptacle wireless access point devices may be adapted to be placed into a standard-sized power box inserted into a wall, floor or ceiling. The power receptacle wireless access point device may be retrofitted into an existing power outlet or power switch and may be sized to fit a standard electrical box for a power outlet/power switch. In variations in which the power receptacle wireless access point device includes a faceplate for covering the power box, the device may include a mount (e.g., screws, etc.) for securing over a power box, including securing to an existing power outlet. For example, a mount may be a screw and/or an opening for a screw, to which the device may be coupled. In variations in which the faceplate comprises an opening for an electrical outlet (e.g. the power receptacle wireless access point device is applied over an existing outlet), the faceplate may be configured to screw into the outlet and/or box, or separate to the wall. The circuitry within the power receptacle wireless access point (AP) device in this example may be configured to fit around the existing outlet, including recessing into the power box and/or extending out of the wall away from the outlet…" Also, see at least ¶ [0127, 0257]), the modular control unit comprising:
wherein the device control assembly comprises electronic components (e.g., a power line communication (PLC) circuit of Pera) configured to provide the access point to which the other devices connect to access the network (See at least Pera, ¶ [0257]; FIG. 1; "…a wireless access point allows the creation or extension of a wireless local area network (LAN) by wirelessly communicating with a plurality of client devices (each having a Wi-Fi connectivity)…an access point may be connected, e.g., via Ethernet connection, to a router using a wired network (although the router may be an integral component of the access point), and may also connect to (or include) an Ethernet switch and/or broadband modem, and may ultimately connect to an internet service provider (ISP) to get internet access…" Also, see at least ¶ [0127]), the electronic components comprising a component configured as at least one of: a modem; or a router (See at least Pera, ¶ [0257]; FIG. 1; "…a wireless access point allows the creation or extension of a wireless local area network (LAN) by wirelessly communicating with a plurality of client devices (each having a Wi-Fi connectivity)…an access point may be connected, e.g., via Ethernet connection, to a router using a wired network (although the router may be an integral component of the access point), and may also connect to (or include) an Ethernet switch and/or broadband modem, and may ultimately connect to an internet service provider (ISP) to get internet access…" Also, see at least ¶ [0127]).
Pera teaches the subject matter of the claimed inventive concept as expressed in the rejections above and further teaches that "…the power receptacle wireless access point devices may be adapted to be placed into a standard-sized power box inserted into a wall, floor or ceiling. The power receptacle wireless access point device may be retrofitted into an existing power outlet or power switch and may be sized to fit a standard electrical box for a power outlet/power switch. In variations in which the power receptacle wireless access point device includes a faceplate for covering the power box, the device may include a mount (e.g., screws, etc.) for securing over a power box, including securing to an existing power outlet. For example, a mount may be a screw and/or an opening for a screw, to which the device may be coupled. In variations in which the faceplate comprises an opening for an electrical outlet (e.g. the power receptacle wireless access point device is applied over an existing outlet), the faceplate may be configured to screw into the outlet and/or box, or separate to the wall. The circuitry within the power receptacle wireless access point (AP) device in this example may be configured to fit around the existing outlet, including recessing into the power box and/or extending out of the wall away from the outlet…" (See at least Pera, ¶ [0039]) Thus, suggesting a plurality of configurations and components with which the access point may be modified as claimed in the further limitations below.
But, Pera does not expressly disclose the concept of a backplate comprising a recess; a device control assembly removably couplable to the backplate; and a cover removably couplable to the backplate.
Nevertheless, Eric teaches the concept of a backplate (e.g., backplate (FIG. 6) of Eric) comprising a recess (e.g., (FIG. 6) of Eric) (See at least Eric, ¶ [0185]; FIG. 1; "…Connecting the backplate 1500 to the head unit can also include a physical connection using recesses 1512 in the backplate 1500 to accept corresponding tabs in the head unit…"); a device control assembly (e.g., microprocessors on the backplate of Eric) removably couplable to the backplate (See at least Eric, ¶ [0185]; FIG. 1; "…The connector 1510 can communicate between microprocessors on the backplate 1500 and microprocessors in the head unit, as well as provide power from the backplate to the head unit to operate circuitry or charge the rechargeable battery. Connecting the backplate 1500 to the head unit can also include a physical connection using recesses 1512 in the backplate 1500 to accept corresponding tabs in the head unit…"); and a cover removably couplable to the backplate (See at least Eric, ¶ [0185]; FIG. ; "…The connector 1510 can communicate between microprocessors on the backplate 1500 and microprocessors in the head unit, as well as provide power from the backplate to the head unit to operate circuitry or charge the rechargeable battery. Connecting the backplate 1500 to the head unit can also include a physical connection using recesses 1512 in the backplate 1500 to accept corresponding tabs in the head unit…").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use and apply the known concept of a backplate comprising a recess; a device control assembly removably couplable to the backplate; and a cover removably couplable to the backplate as disclosed in the device of Eric to modify and improve the known and similar device of Pera for the desirable and advantageous purpose of providing a reflective horizontal surface positioned such that motion detection of energy-emitting objects is enhanced by virtue of reflections of energy emissions off of the reflective horizontal surface into the occupancy sensor, as discussed in Eric (See ¶ [Abstract]); thereby, achieving the predictable result of improving the overall efficiency and speed of the system with a reasonable expectation of success while enabling others skilled in the art to best utilize the invention along with various implementations and modifications as are suited to the particular use contemplated.
But, the combination does not expressly disclose the concept of an electrical junction box coupled to the backplate, the electrical junction box comprising a first volume and a second volume separated by a partitioning surface.
Nevertheless, Spiro teaches the concept of an electrical junction box coupled to the backplate, the electrical junction box comprising a first volume and a second volume separated by a partitioning surface (See at least Spiro, ¶ [0040]; FIGS. 12, 14; "…the junction box 60 may be partitioned to allow independent chambers for line voltage and low voltage components, and corresponding holes in the junction box 60 may permit feeding of the corresponding power lines 55 and communication lines 57…").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use and apply the known concept of an electrical junction box coupled to the backplate, the electrical junction box comprising a first volume and a second volume separated by a partitioning surface as disclosed in the device of Spiro to modify and improve the known and similar devices of the combination for the desirable and advantageous purpose of meeting the need in the art to provide for a luminaire that provides for an efficient distribution of light while providing for air flow management in a luminaire, as discussed in Spiro (See ¶ [0006]); thereby, achieving the predictable result of improving the overall efficiency and speed of the system with a reasonable expectation of success while enabling others skilled in the art to best utilize the invention along with various implementations and modifications as are suited to the particular use contemplated.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
a smoke sensor configured to detect smoke (See at least Eric, ¶ [0090]; FIG. 1; "…when an alarm is activated (e.g., when one or more of the smart hazard detector 104 detects smoke and activates an alarm), the central server or cloud-computing system 164 or some other device uses occupancy information obtained from the low-powered and spokesman nodes to determine which rooms are occupied and then turns on lights (e.g., nightlights 170, wall switches 108, wall plugs 110 that power lamps, etc.) along the exit routes from the occupied rooms so as to provide emergency exit lighting…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
an antenna configured to wirelessly communicate with an external node (See at least Eric, ¶ [0177]; FIG. 1 ; "…Two RF antennae (not shown) are provided in the head unit PCB 1154…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
an electrical junction box (e.g., junction box of Eric) coupled to the backplate, the electrical junction box comprising a first volume and a second volume separated by a partitioning surface (See at least Eric, ¶ [0081, 0142, 0185]; FIG. 1; "…Through the Internet 162, the smart devices can communicate with a central server or a cloud-computing system 164…", "…The intelligent thermostat system may comprise one or more intelligent thermostats 444 and one or more base units 446…", "…The connector 1510 can communicate between microprocessors on the backplate 1500 and microprocessors in the head unit, as well as provide power from the backplate to the head unit to operate circuitry or charge the rechargeable battery. Connecting the backplate 1500 to the head unit can also include a physical connection using recesses 1512 in the backplate 1500 to accept corresponding tabs in the head unit…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the recess of the backplate comprises backplate first intermediary contacts and backplate second intermediary contacts (See at least Eric, ¶ [0081, 0142, 0185]; FIG. 1; "…Through the Internet 162, the smart devices can communicate with a central server or a cloud-computing system 164…", "…The intelligent thermostat system may comprise one or more intelligent thermostats 444 and one or more base units 446…", "…The connector 1510 can communicate between microprocessors on the backplate 1500 and microprocessors in the head unit, as well as provide power from the backplate to the head unit to operate circuitry or charge the rechargeable battery. Connecting the backplate 1500 to the head unit can also include a physical connection using recesses 1512 in the backplate 1500 to accept corresponding tabs in the head unit…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the backplate second intermediary contacts are configured to transmit power and the device control assembly is configured to selectively control the power to one or more load devices (See at least Eric, ¶ [0081, 0142, 0185]; FIG. 1; "…Through the Internet 162, the smart devices can communicate with a central server or a cloud-computing system 164…", "…The intelligent thermostat system may comprise one or more intelligent thermostats 444 and one or more base units 446…", "…The connector 1510 can communicate between microprocessors on the backplate 1500 and microprocessors in the head unit, as well as provide power from the backplate to the head unit to operate circuitry or charge the rechargeable battery. Connecting the backplate 1500 to the head unit can also include a physical connection using recesses 1512 in the backplate 1500 to accept corresponding tabs in the head unit…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the backplate first intermediary contacts are configured to transmit communication signals to and from the device control assembly (See at least Eric, ¶ [0081, 0142, 0185]; FIG. 1; "…Through the Internet 162, the smart devices can communicate with a central server or a cloud-computing system 164…", "…The intelligent thermostat system may comprise one or more intelligent thermostats 444 and one or more base units 446…", "…The connector 1510 can communicate between microprocessors on the backplate 1500 and microprocessors in the head unit, as well as provide power from the backplate to the head unit to operate circuitry or charge the rechargeable battery. Connecting the backplate 1500 to the head unit can also include a physical connection using recesses 1512 in the backplate 1500 to accept corresponding tabs in the head unit…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
the backplate and cover being circular in shape (e.g., FIG. 6 of Eric).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
comprising at least one of a camera, an RFID reading sensor (See at least Eric, ¶ [0093]; FIGS. 5, 6; "… Technologies by which the localized-thermostat service robot 162 (and/or the larger smart-home system of FIG. 1) can identify and locate the occupant whose personal-area space is to be kept at a comfortable temperature can include, but are not limited to, RFID sensing (e.g., person having an RFID bracelet, RFID necklace, or RFID key fob), synthetic vision techniques (e.g., video cameras and face recognition processors), audio techniques (e.g., voice, sound pattern, vibration pattern recognition), ultrasound sensing/imaging techniques, and infrared or near-field communication (NFC) techniques (e.g., person wearing an infrared or NFC-capable smartphone)…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
the modular control unit configured to cause a siren to emit a siren sound based on a trigger (See at least Eric, ¶ [0090]; FIGS. 5, 6; "…when an alarm is activated (e.g., when one or more of the smart hazard detector 104 detects smoke and activates an alarm), the central server or cloud-computing system 164 or some other device uses occupancy information obtained from the low-powered and spokesman nodes to determine which rooms are occupied and then turns on lights (e.g., nightlights 170, wall switches 108, wall plugs 110 that power lamps, etc.) along the exit routes from the occupied rooms so as to provide emergency exit lighting…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
the trigger comprising a smoke detection above a threshold based on a smoke sensor (See at least Eric, ¶ [0090]; FIGS. 5, 6; "…when an alarm is activated (e.g., when one or more of the smart hazard detector 104 detects smoke and activates an alarm), the central server or cloud-computing system 164 or some other device uses occupancy information obtained from the low-powered and spokesman nodes to determine which rooms are occupied and then turns on lights (e.g., nightlights 170, wall switches 108, wall plugs 110 that power lamps, etc.) along the exit routes from the occupied rooms so as to provide emergency exit lighting…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the modular control unit is configured to switch between a person-tracking mode and a security mode based on a recognized user presence determination using images obtained from a camera of the system (See at least Eric, ¶ [0093, 0097]; FIGS. 5, 6; "…Technologies by which the localized-thermostat service robot 162 (and/or the larger smart-home system of FIG. 1) can identify and locate the occupant whose personal-area space is to be kept at a comfortable temperature can include, but are not limited to, RFID sensing (e.g., person having an RFID bracelet, RFID necklace, or RFID key fob), synthetic vision techniques (e.g., video cameras and face recognition processors)…", "…methods and systems for ensuring that home security systems, intrusion detection systems, and/or occupancy-sensitive environmental control systems (for example, occupancy-sensitive automated setback thermostats that enter into a lower-energy-using condition when the home is unoccupied) are not erroneously triggered by the away-service robots…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the modular control unit is configured to control and synchronize audio playback across multiple networked speakers (See at least Eric, ¶ [0093, 0097, 0115]; FIGS. 5, 6; "…Technologies by which the localized-thermostat service robot 162 (and/or the larger smart-home system of FIG. 1) can identify and locate the occupant whose personal-area space is to be kept at a comfortable temperature can include, but are not limited to, RFID sensing (e.g., person having an RFID bracelet, RFID necklace, or RFID key fob), synthetic vision techniques (e.g., video cameras and face recognition processors)…", "…methods and systems for ensuring that home security systems, intrusion detection systems, and/or occupancy-sensitive environmental control systems (for example, occupancy-sensitive automated setback thermostats that enter into a lower-energy-using condition when the home is unoccupied) are not erroneously triggered by the away-service robots…", "…in the event the central server or cloud-computing architecture 164 receives data indicating that a particular home has been broken into, is experiencing a fire, or some other type of emergency event, an alarm is sent to other smart homes in the “neighborhood.” In some instances, the central server or cloud-computing architecture 164 automatically identifies smart homes within a radius of the home experiencing the emergency and sends an alarm to the identified homes. In such instances, the other homes in the “neighborhood” do not have to sign up for or register to be a part of a safety network, but instead are notified of an emergency based on their proximity to the location of the emergency. This creates robust and evolving neighborhood security watch networks, such that if one person's home is getting broken into, an alarm can be sent to nearby homes, such as by audio announcements via the smart devices located in those homes…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the modular control unit comprises a gesture detection system configured to determine actions or determinations associated with a user (See at least Eric, ¶ [0086]; FIGS. 5, 6; "…These smart hazard detectors 104 are often located in an area without access to constant and reliable power and, as discussed in detail below, may include any number and type of sensors, such as smoke/fire/heat sensors, carbon monoxide/dioxide sensors, occupancy/motion sensors, ambient light sensors, temperature sensors, humidity sensors, and the like…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the modular control unit is configured to communicate with networked devices including smartphones (See at least Eric, ¶ [0093]; FIGS. 5, 6; "…Technologies by which the localized-thermostat service robot 162 (and/or the larger smart-home system of FIG. 1) can identify and locate the occupant whose personal-area space is to be kept at a comfortable temperature can include, but are not limited to, RFID sensing (e.g., person having an RFID bracelet, RFID necklace, or RFID key fob), synthetic vision techniques (e.g., video cameras and face recognition processors), audio techniques (e.g., voice, sound pattern, vibration pattern recognition), ultrasound sensing/imaging techniques, and infrared or near-field communication (NFC) techniques (e.g., person wearing an infrared or NFC-capable smartphone)…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the modular control unit is configured to read RFID sensors of a tracked object via an RFID reading sensor to determine a location of the object and generate alerts based on the location of the object (See at least Eric, ¶ [0093, 0097, 0115]; FIGS. 5, 6; "… Technologies by which the localized-thermostat service robot 162 (and/or the larger smart-home system of FIG. 1) can identify and locate the occupant whose personal-area space is to be kept at a comfortable temperature can include, but are not limited to, RFID sensing (e.g., person having an RFID bracelet, RFID necklace, or RFID key fob), synthetic vision techniques (e.g., video cameras and face recognition processors), audio techniques (e.g., voice, sound pattern, vibration pattern recognition), ultrasound sensing/imaging techniques, and infrared or near-field communication (NFC) techniques (e.g., person wearing an infrared or NFC-capable smartphone)…", "…methods and systems for ensuring that home security systems, intrusion detection systems, and/or occupancy-sensitive environmental control systems (for example, occupancy-sensitive automated setback thermostats that enter into a lower-energy-using condition when the home is unoccupied) are not erroneously triggered by the away-service robots…", "…in the event the central server or cloud-computing architecture 164 receives data indicating that a particular home has been broken into, is experiencing a fire, or some other type of emergency event, an alarm is sent to other smart homes in the “neighborhood.” In some instances, the central server or cloud-computing architecture 164 automatically identifies smart homes within a radius of the home experiencing the emergency and sends an alarm to the identified homes. In such instances, the other homes in the “neighborhood” do not have to sign up for or register to be a part of a safety network, but instead are notified of an emergency based on their proximity to the location of the emergency. This creates robust and evolving neighborhood security watch networks, such that if one person's home is getting broken into, an alarm can be sent to nearby homes, such as by audio announcements via the smart devices located in those homes…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the modular control unit is configured to operate as a WiFi Mesh Point in a wired mesh network configuration (See at least Eric, ¶ [0082]; FIGS. 5, 6; "…the smart devices combine to create a mesh network of spokesman and low-power nodes in the smart-home environment 100, where some of the smart devices are “spokesman” nodes and others are “low-powered” nodes. Some of the smart devices in the smart-home environment 100 are battery powered, while others have a regular and reliable power source, such as by connecting to wiring (e.g., to 120V line voltage wires) behind the walls 154 of the smart-home environment. The smart devices that have a regular and reliable power source are referred to as “spokesman” nodes. These nodes are equipped with the capability of using any wireless protocol or manner to facilitate bidirectional communication with any of a variety of other devices in the smart-home environment 100 as well as with the central server or cloud-computing system 164…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the modular control unit comprises a wireless power transmitter configured to provide power to networked devices wirelessly (See at least Eric, ¶ [0264]; FIGS. 5, 6; "…the base unit can use the existing wires in the wall as a waveguide to carry wireless signals to the thermostat. For example, a 2.4 GHz signal transmitted across the power line has been shown to extend wireless communication range and be compatible with wiring such as thermostat cable or plastic shielded 12AWG Romex power cable…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the modular control unit comprises antennas configured for 5G connectivity and a card interface slot configured to receive a SIM card to establish a 5G connection (See at least Eric, ¶ [0096]; FIGS. 5, 6; "…wireless communication components facilitate data communications with one or more of the other wirelessly communicating smart-home sensors of FIG. 1 (e.g., using Wi-Fi, Zigbee, Z-Wave, 6LoWPAN, etc.), and one or more of the smart-home devices of FIG. 1 can be in communication with a remote server over the Internet... communicate directly with a remote server by virtue of cellular telephone communications, satellite communications, 3G/4G network data communications, or other direct communication methods…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 21, Pera modified by Eric above teaches:
wherein the modular control unit comprises signal strength indicators configured to display the strength of a wireless signal, such as a 5G signal (See at least Eric, ¶ [0096]; FIGS. 5, 6; "…wireless communication components facilitate data communications with one or more of the other wirelessly communicating smart-home sensors of FIG. 1 (e.g., using Wi-Fi, Zigbee, Z-Wave, 6LoWPAN, etc.), and one or more of the smart-home devices of FIG. 1 can be in communication with a remote server over the Internet... communicate directly with a remote server by virtue of cellular telephone communications, satellite communications, 3G/4G network data communications, or other direct communication methods…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Regarding dependent claim 22, Pera modified by Eric and Spiro above teaches:
wherein the modular control unit is configured to provide electronic assistants for user interaction and control (See at least Eric, ¶ [0093, 0097, 0115]; FIGS. 5, 6; "… Technologies by which the localized-thermostat service robot 162 (and/or the larger smart-home system of FIG. 1) can identify and locate the occupant whose personal-area space is to be kept at a comfortable temperature can include, but are not limited to, RFID sensing (e.g., person having an RFID bracelet, RFID necklace, or RFID key fob), synthetic vision techniques (e.g., video cameras and face recognition processors), audio techniques (e.g., voice, sound pattern, vibration pattern recognition), ultrasound sensing/imaging techniques, and infrared or near-field communication (NFC) techniques (e.g., person wearing an infrared or NFC-capable smartphone)…", "…methods and systems for ensuring that home security systems, intrusion detection systems, and/or occupancy-sensitive environmental control systems (for example, occupancy-sensitive automated setback thermostats that enter into a lower-energy-using condition when the home is unoccupied) are not erroneously triggered by the away-service robots…", "…in the event the central server or cloud-computing architecture 164 receives data indicating that a particular home has been broken into, is experiencing a fire, or some other type of emergency event, an alarm is sent to other smart homes in the “neighborhood.” In some instances, the central server or cloud-computing architecture 164 automatically identifies smart homes within a radius of the home experiencing the emergency and sends an alarm to the identified homes. In such instances, the other homes in the “neighborhood” do not have to sign up for or register to be a part of a safety network, but instead are notified of an emergency based on their proximity to the location of the emergency. This creates robust and evolving neighborhood security watch networks, such that if one person's home is getting broken into, an alarm can be sent to nearby homes, such as by audio announcements via the smart devices located in those homes…" Also, see at least Pera ¶ [0039, 0127, 0257, 0268]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO–892)
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217 – 9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800) 786 – 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272 – 1000.
/IDOWU O OSIFADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675