DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 05/07/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 05/07/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15 and 19 are amended
Claims 1-20 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagarajan et al. (US 20180115282 A1), hereinafter referenced as Thyagarajan, in view of Sun et al. (US 20210251002 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sun.
Regarding claims 1 and 8 Thyagarajan teaches an apparatus, comprising: a mobile device (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture with a six antenna array system. Para. [0029]-Thyagarajan discloses a method of choosing the antenna elements carefully to minimize side-lobes in the antenna pattern at back-off power levels ... depending on the array size, certain configurations preserve the original antenna pattern for a larger range of output power levels. The pattern can also be preserved or modified by incorporating reconfigurable gain and phase elements in the transmit path. Fig. 17, Para. [0050]-Thyagarajan discloses approach that utilizes the full antenna array aperture ..., using back-end processing, two beams are transmitted from the antenna array. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses Power amplifiers are critical blocks in wireless communication systems. The efficiency of a transceiver is determined primarily by the performance of the power amplifier), including:
a first antenna that is arranged to provide a first antenna output signal from a first antenna input signal (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture with a six antenna array system. Para. [0004]-Thyagarajan discloses multi element antenna array system, ... increased number of elements in a massive multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) system. Para. [0052]-Thyagarajan discloses the input signal to be detected has a high SNR, lower number of antenna elements are used. Fig. 2, Para. [0009]-Thyagarajan discloses six antenna array system 200 with an output power contribution),
a first gain is associated with the first antenna (Fig. 10, Para. [0041]-Thyagarajan discloses the phase and gain coefficients in each antenna element can be changed to compensate the change in antenna pattern), and
an effective isotropically radiated power (EIRP) is associated with the first antenna output signal (Para. [0028]-Thyagarajan discloses each amplifier contributes to the effective output power radiated by the antenna array. Para. [0033]-Thyagarajan discloses in a switching pixel power amplifier architecture, the output power is continuous. For example, in a six antenna array system, if P.sub.elem=8 mW 9 dBm), the switching pattern and the EIRP is given. (See also Para, [0032]));
a first power amplifier that is arranged to provide the first antenna input signal from a first power amplifier input signal (Fig. 13, Para. [0044]-Thyagarajan discloses two PAs 1302 are turned off and the output power from the four PAs are combined together and then redistributed again to the antennas. Fig. 11, Para. [0042]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture ... consists of six PA {PPower Amplifier} elements 1100 driving six antennas 1110 with a phase shifter per element 1108. The instantaneous input power is detected using a power detector 1102 which then passes the information to the digital logic 1104); and
a threshold EIRP represents a limit for the time-averaged EIRP for the time window (Fig. 3, Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier ... The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity);
causing an instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to increase to a value that is greater than the threshold EIRP during a first part of the time window based at least in part on the first gain (Fig. 3, Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier ... The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0036]-Thyagarajan discloses PA elements need to transmit a signal that has a high PAPR ... for any given instantaneous output power, all the PA elements except one operate at their peak power level. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses a signal waveform that has a high peak to average power ratio (PAPR) ... back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Para. [0048]-Thyagarajan discloses power control can also be performed in a dynamic manner using the instantaneous output power (instead of average output power). In this case, the digital logic in the switching pixel power amplifier architecture tracks the instantaneous power at the transmitter output and turns on and off pixels as a function of this power level); and
using the tracked time-average EIRP to determine, for a second part of the time window, an adjusted value for the instantaneous input power that is less than the threshold EIRP such that the time-averaged EIRP associated with the first antenna output signal for the time window does not exceed the threshold EIRP (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF)); and
causing the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to be adjusted during the second part of the time window to the adjusted value (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB)).
Thyagarajan fails to explicitly teach a controller that is arranged to adjust an input power of the first power amplifier input signal by: tracking, over a time window, a time-averaged EIRP for the EIRP associated with the first antenna output signal.
However, Sun teaches teach a controller that is arranged to adjust an input power of the first power amplifier input signal by: tracking, over a time window, a time-averaged EIRP for the EIRP associated with the first antenna output signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0093]-Sun discloses using an average EIRP as parameter 703 along with the corresponding threshold may allow the device to occasionally {corresponding to averaging over timed-windows} exceed the threshold level and still access the network without LBT, so long as the average EIRP remains below the threshold. In some instances, the device may apply a linear filter to the averaging operations. In some instances, the linear filter may have a non-uniform response),
causing an instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to increase to a value that is greater than the threshold EIRP during a first part of the time window based at least in part on the first gain (Fig. 7, Para. [0093]-Sun discloses using an average EIRP as parameter 703 along with the corresponding threshold may allow the device to occasionally exceed the threshold level and still access the network without LBT, so long as the average EIRP remains below the threshold. In some instances, the device may apply a linear filter to the averaging operations. In some instances, the linear filter may have a non-uniform response);
using the tracked time-average EIRP to determine, for a second part of the time window, an adjusted value for the instantaneous input power that is less than the threshold EIRP such that the time-averaged EIRP associated with the first antenna output signal for the time window does not exceed the threshold EIRP (Fig. 7, Para. [0093]-Sun discloses using an average EIRP as parameter 703 along with the corresponding threshold may allow the device to occasionally exceed the threshold level and still access the network without LBT, so long as the average EIRP remains below the threshold. In some instances, the device may apply a linear filter to the averaging operations. In some instances, the linear filter may have a non-uniform response).
Thyagarajan and Sun are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with communication medium access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Thyagarajan to incorporate the teachings of Sun on EIRP, with a motivation to track time-averaged EIRP, and guarantee efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity, (Thyagarajan, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 15 Thyagarajan teaches a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, having stored thereon processor- executable code that, upon execution by at least one processor, enables actions (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture with a six antenna array system. Para. [0029]-Thyagarajan discloses a method of choosing the antenna elements carefully to minimize side-lobes in the antenna pattern at back-off power levels ... depending on the array size, certain configurations preserve the original antenna pattern for a larger range of output power levels. The pattern can also be preserved or modified by incorporating reconfigurable gain and phase elements in the transmit path. Fig. 17, Para. [0050]-Thyagarajan discloses approach that utilizes the full antenna array aperture ..., using back-end processing, two beams are transmitted from the antenna array. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses Power amplifiers are critical blocks in wireless communication systems. The efficiency of a transceiver is determined primarily by the performance of the power amplifier), comprising:
a threshold EIRP represents a limit for the time-averaged EIRP for the time window (Fig. 3, Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier ... The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity);
a first power amplifier is arranged to provide a first transmitter input signal from a first power amplifier input signal (Fig. 13, Para. [0044]-Thyagarajan discloses two PAs 1302 are turned off and the output power from the four PAs are combined together and then redistributed again to the antennas. Fig. 11, Para. [0042]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture ... consists of six PA {PPower Amplifier} elements 1100 driving six antennas 1110 with a phase shifter per element 1108. The instantaneous input power is detected using a power detector 1102 which then passes the information to the digital logic 1104);
a first transmitter of a mobile device is arranged to provide the first transmitter output signal from the first transmitter input signal (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture with a six antenna array system. Para. [0004]-Thyagarajan discloses multi element antenna array system, ... increased number of elements in a massive multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) system. Para. [0052]-Thyagarajan discloses the input signal to be detected has a high SNR, lower number of antenna elements are used. Fig. 2, Para. [0009]-Thyagarajan discloses six antenna array system 200 with an output power contribution);
a first gain is associated with the first transmitter (Fig. 10, Para. [0041]-Thyagarajan discloses the phase and gain coefficients in each antenna element can be changed to compensate the change in antenna pattern); and
an EIRP is associated with the first transmitter output signal (Para. [0028]-Thyagarajan discloses each amplifier contributes to the effective output power radiated by the antenna array. Para. [0033]-Thyagarajan discloses in a switching pixel power amplifier architecture, the output power is continuous. For example, in a six antenna array system, if P.sub.elem=8 mW 9 dBm), the switching pattern and the EIRP is given. (See also Para, [0032]));
causing an instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to increase to a value that is greater than the threshold EIRP during a first part of the time window based at least in part on the first gain (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0036]-Thyagarajan discloses PA elements need to transmit a signal that has a high PAPR ... for any given instantaneous output power, all the PA elements except one operate at their peak power level. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses a signal waveform that has a high peak to average power ratio (PAPR) ... back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Para. [0048]-Thyagarajan discloses power control can also be performed in a dynamic manner using the instantaneous output power (instead of average output power). In this case, the digital logic in the switching pixel power amplifier architecture tracks the instantaneous power at the transmitter output and turns on and off pixels as a function of this power level),
using the tracked time-averaged EIRP to determine, for a second part of the time window, an adjusted value for the instantaneous input power that is less than the threshold EIRP such that the time-averaged EIRP associated with the first transmitter output signal for the time window does not exceed the threshold EIRP (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF)); and
causing the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to be adjusted during the second part of the time window to the adjusted value (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB)).
Thyagarajan fails to explicitly teach tracking, over a time window, a time-averaged effective isotropically radiated power (EIRP) associated with a first transmitter output signal.
However, Sun teaches teach tracking, over a time window, a time-averaged effective isotropically radiated power (EIRP) associated with a first transmitter output signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0093]-Sun discloses using an average EIRP as parameter 703 along with the corresponding threshold may allow the device to occasionally {corresponding to averaging over timed-windows} exceed the threshold level and still access the network without LBT, so long as the average EIRP remains below the threshold. In some instances, the device may apply a linear filter to the averaging operations. In some instances, the linear filter may have a non-uniform response),
causing an instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to increase to a value that is greater than the threshold EIRP during a first part of the time window based at least in part on the first gain (Fig. 7, Para. [0093]-Sun discloses using an average EIRP as parameter 703 along with the corresponding threshold may allow the device to occasionally exceed the threshold level and still access the network without LBT, so long as the average EIRP remains below the threshold. In some instances, the device may apply a linear filter to the averaging operations. In some instances, the linear filter may have a non-uniform response);
using the tracked time-averaged EIRP to determine, for a second part of the time window, an adjusted value for the instantaneous input power that is less than the threshold EIRP such that the time-averaged EIRP associated with the first transmitter output signal for the time window does not exceed the threshold EIRP (Fig. 7, Para. [0093]-Sun discloses using an average EIRP as parameter 703 along with the corresponding threshold may allow the device to occasionally exceed the threshold level and still access the network without LBT, so long as the average EIRP remains below the threshold. In some instances, the device may apply a linear filter to the averaging operations. In some instances, the linear filter may have a non-uniform response).
Thyagarajan and Sun are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with communication medium access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Thyagarajan to incorporate the teachings of Sun on EIRP, with a motivation to track time-averaged EIRP, and guarantee efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity, (Thyagarajan, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claims 2 and 10 and 16, Thyagarajan in view of Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 and the processor-readable storage medium of claim 15 respectively,
Thyagarajan further teaches the controller is further arranged to determine a transmission problem based on one or more channel conditions associated with the first antenna output signal, and in response to the determined transmission problem, adjust the input power of the first power amplifier (Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses in the design of efficient power amplifiers. Modern day communication systems utilize higher order complex modulation schemes to maximize the capacity of the channel. This results in a signal waveform that has a high peak to average power ratio (PAPR). Para. [0035-0036]-Thyagarajan discloses modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR) ... for any given instantaneous output power, all the PA elements except one operate at their peak power level and one PA element changes its output power based on the input signal. Fig. 11, Para. [0042]-Thyagarajan discloses switching pixel power amplifier architecture ... consists of six PA elements 1100 driving six antennas 1110 with a phase shifter per element 1108 ... The instantaneous input power is detected using a power detector 1102 which then passes the information to the digital logic 1104 ... Depending on the input power level, the digital logic 1104 turns on the required number of PAs to achieve the required EIRP level).
Regarding claims 3 and 11 and 17, Thyagarajan in view of Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 and the processor-readable storage medium of claim 15 respectively,
Thyagarajan further teaches the controller is further arranged to determine poor throughput that is associated with the first antenna output signal, and in response to the determined poor throughput, adjust the input power of the first power amplifier (Para. [0051]-Thyagarajan discloses for a MIMO system ... a digital mapper is a block that can automatically decide the array configuration and the waveform constellation by estimating the distance of each user from the base station. This allows one to choose the best configuration (with highest throughput) for the communication link. Para. [0033]-Thyagarajan discloses the PA {Power Amplifier} drives a single antenna or an antenna array and the output power changes in steps (in a digital manner). However, in a switching pixel power amplifier architecture, multiple unit elements drive multiple antennas (usually one element per antenna). Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses in the design of efficient power amplifiers. Modern day communication systems utilize higher order complex modulation schemes to maximize the capacity of the channel. This results in a signal waveform that has a high peak to average power ratio (PAPR). Para. [0035-0036]-Thyagarajan discloses modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR) ... for any given instantaneous output power, all the PA elements except one operate at their peak power level and one PA element changes its output power based on the input signal. Fig. 11, Para. [0042]-Thyagarajan discloses switching pixel power amplifier architecture ... consists of six PA elements 1100 driving six antennas 1110 with a phase shifter per element 1108 ... The instantaneous input power is detected using a power detector 1102 which then passes the information to the digital logic 1104 ... Depending on the input power level, the digital logic 1104 turns on the required number of PAs to achieve the required EIRP level).
Regarding claims 4 and 12 and 18, Thyagarajan in view of Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 and the processor-readable storage medium of claim 15 respectively,
Thyagarajan further teaches the controller is further arranged to determine how much to cause the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier to be increased above the threshold EIRP based, at least in part, on information that is associated with a direction of transmission and information that is associated with gain in the direction of transmission (Fig. 11, Para. [0042]-Thyagarajan discloses switching pixel power amplifier architecture ... consists of six PA elements 1100 driving six antennas 1110 with a phase {direction} shifter per element 1108 ... The instantaneous input power is detected using a power detector 1102 which then passes the information to the digital logic 1104 ... Depending on the input power level, the digital logic 1104 turns on the required number of PAs to achieve the required EIRP level. Para. [0051]-Thyagarajan discloses for a MIMO system ... a digital mapper is a block that can automatically decide the array configuration and the waveform constellation by estimating the distance of each user from the base station. This allows one to choose the best configuration (with highest throughput) for the communication link. Para. [0033]-Thyagarajan discloses the PA {Power Amplifier} drives a single antenna or an antenna array and the output power changes in steps (in a digital manner). However, in a switching pixel power amplifier architecture, multiple unit elements drive multiple antennas (usually one element per antenna). Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses in the design of efficient power amplifiers. Modern day communication systems utilize higher order complex modulation schemes to maximize the capacity of the channel. This results in a signal waveform that has a high peak to average power ratio (PAPR). Para. [0035-0036]-Thyagarajan discloses modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR) ... for any given instantaneous output power, all the PA elements except one operate at their peak power level and one PA element changes its output power based on the input signal. Fig. 10, Para. [0041]-Thyagarajan discloses phase and gain control on the individual pixels would allow one to maintain the antenna pattern with back-off).
Regarding claims 5, Thyagarajan in view of Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Thyagarajan further teaches the first antenna includes an array of antennas (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture with a six antenna array system).
Regarding claim 9, Thyagarajan in view of Sun teaches the method of claim 8 respectively,
Thyagarajan further teaches the first transmitter includes at least one antenna (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture with a six antenna array system).
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagarajan et al. (US 20180115282 A1), hereinafter referenced as Thyagarajan, in view of Sun et al. (US 20210251002 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sun, and further in view of Chapman et al. (US 20200021349 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chapman.
Regarding claims 6 and 13 and 19, Thyagarajan in view of Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 and the processor-readable storage medium of claim 15 respectively,
Thyagarajan further teaches the controller is further arranged to: determine a first resource block assigned to the mobile device (Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF));
determine a first frequency range that is associated with the first resource block (Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies));
determine a second resource block assigned to the mobile device (Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF));
determine a second frequency range that is associated with the second resource block (Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies)); and
cause the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to be adjusted during the second part of the second time window to the second adjusted value (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF)).
Thyagarajan fails to explicitly teach cause the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to be adjusted during the second part of the time window such that the time-averaged time-averaged EIRP for the first antenna output signal at the first frequency range during the time window is less than the threshold EIRP such that the time window is a first time window that applies to the first frequency range; … determine, for a second part of the second time window, a second adjusted value for the instantaneous input power that is less than the threshold EIRP such that the time- averaged EIRP for the first antenna output signal at the second frequency range over the second time window is at or below the threshold EIRP.
However, Sun teaches teach cause the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to be adjusted during the second part of the time window such that the time-averaged time-averaged EIRP for the first antenna output signal at the first frequency range during the time window is less than the threshold EIRP such that the time window is a first time window that applies to the first frequency range (Fig. 7, Para. [0093]-Sun discloses using an average EIRP as parameter 703 along with the corresponding threshold may allow the device to occasionally {corresponding to averaging over timed-windows} exceed the threshold level and still access the network without LBT, so long as the average EIRP remains below the threshold. In some instances, the device may apply a linear filter to the averaging operations. In some instances, the linear filter may have a non-uniform response. Fig. 4, Para. [0067]-Sun discloses UE 400 may include a processor 402, a memory 404, an access type module 408, a transceiver 410 including a modem subsystem 412 and a radio frequency (RF) unit 414, and one or more antennas 416),
cause an instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to increase to a value that is greater than a threshold EIRP during a first part of the second time window based at least in part on the first gain (Fig. 7, Para. [0093]-Sun discloses using an average EIRP as parameter 703 along with the corresponding threshold may allow the device to occasionally {corresponding to averaging over timed-windows} exceed the threshold level and still access the network without LBT, so long as the average EIRP remains below the threshold. In some instances, the device may apply a linear filter to the averaging operations. In some instances, the linear filter may have a non-uniform response. Fig. 4, Para. [0067]-Sun discloses UE 400 may include a processor 402, a memory 404, an access type module 408, a transceiver 410 including a modem subsystem 412 and a radio frequency (RF) unit 414, and one or more antennas 416);
determine, for a second part of the second time window, a second adjusted value for the instantaneous input power that is less than the threshold EIRP such that the time- averaged EIRP for the first antenna output signal at the second frequency range over the second time window is at or below the threshold EIRP (Fig. 7, Para. [0093]-Sun discloses using an average EIRP as parameter 703 along with the corresponding threshold may allow the device to occasionally {corresponding to averaging over timed-windows} exceed the threshold level and still access the network without LBT, so long as the average EIRP remains below the threshold. In some instances, the device may apply a linear filter to the averaging operations. In some instances, the linear filter may have a non-uniform response. Fig. 4, Para. [0067]-Sun discloses UE 400 may include a processor 402, a memory 404, an access type module 408, a transceiver 410 including a modem subsystem 412 and a radio frequency (RF) unit 414, and one or more antennas 416).
Thyagarajan and Sun are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with communication medium access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Thyagarajan to incorporate the teachings of Sun on EIRP, with a motivation for time-averaged EIRP, and guarantee efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity, (Thyagarajan, Para. [0005]).
Thyagarajan fails to teach upon determining that the second frequency range is different from the first frequency range: track, over a second time window, a time-averaged EIRP for the first antenna output signal at the second frequency range.
However, Chapman teaches upon determining that the second frequency range is different from the first frequency range: track, over a second time window, a time-averaged EIRP for the first antenna output signal at the second frequency range (Figs. 8a-c, Para. [0050]-Chapman discloses spatial profile of EIRP averaged over frequency. Para. [0015]-Chapman discloses the TXRUA comprises active circuits that may perform actions such as signal conditioning, amplification and altering in transmit and receive. Para. [0012]-Chapman discloses at higher frequencies, propagation losses are much greater than in today's bands. furthermore, it is envisaged that transmissions will take place within higher bandwidths. Para. [0039]-Chapman discloses the average spatial profile of radiated power is based on a spatial profile of radiated power averaged over any one or more out of a frequency interval and a time interval. Para. [0030]-Chapman discloses EIRP can take into account the losses in transmission line and connectors and includes the gain of the antenna. The EIRP is often stated in terms of decibels over a reference power emitted by an isotropic radiator with an equivalent signal strength. The EIRP allows comparisons between different emitters regardless of type, size or form. From the EIRP, and with knowledge of a real antenna's gain, it is possible to calculate real power and field strength values. Para. [0082]-Chapman discloses spatial profile of radiated power may e.g. be EIRP(Θ,φ,f=F,t=T); The profile of EIRP for each (Θ,φ) at time T and frequency F. Other metrics of power may be devised such as field strength or relative to a different type of antenna. Para. [0114]-Chapman discloses the determining of the beam may be performed by determining the beam to be transmitted in a different frequency e.g. a frequency or frequency range (resource blocks) other than for which the obtained spatial profile of radiated power exceeds a threshold in the direction of the beam, when the average spatial profile of radiated power averaged ver a frequency interval exceeds a threshold. The average spatial profile of radiated power exceeds the threshold in any direction, in particular the direction of the beam).
Thyagarajan and Chapman are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network nodes, dealing with wireless transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Thyagarajan in view of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Chapman on signal EIRP and frequency, with a motivation to increase input power upon determining frequency difference, and ultimately improve the performance of a wireless communications network, (Chapman, Para. [0037]).
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagarajan et al. (US 20180115282 A1), hereinafter referenced as Thyagarajan, in view of Sun et al. (US 20210251002 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sun, in view of Nadakuduti et al. (US 10447413 B1), hereinafter referenced as Nadakuduti.
Regarding claims 7 and 14 and 20, Thyagarajan in view of Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 and the processor-readable storage medium of claim 15 respectively,
Thyagarajan fails to teach the first antenna output signal is modulated via orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing modulation.
However, Nadakuduti teaches the first antenna output signal is modulated via orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing modulation (Col. 7, Lines [21-26]- Nadakuduti discloses each RX front-end circuit 254 may condition (e.g., filter, amplify, downconvert, and digitize) a respective received signal to obtain input samples. Each RX front-end circuit may further process the input samples (e.g., for OFDM, etc.) to obtain received symbols. Col. 8, Lines [10-13]- Nadakuduti discloses the TX path 302 may include a baseband filter (BBF) 310, a mixer 312, a driver amplifier (DA) 314, and a power amplifier (PA) 316. Col. 8, Lines [31-32]- Nadakuduti discloses the RX path 304 may include a low noise amplifier (LNA) 322, a mixer 324, and a baseband filter (BBF) 326).
Thyagarajan and Nadakuduti are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless network, dealing with systems and methods for assessing radio frequency (RF) exposure from a wireless device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Thyagarajan in view of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Nadakuduti on OFDM, with a motivation to modulate amplifier output signal with OFDM, and enable wireless device to assess RF exposure from the wireless device in real time and adjust the transmission power of the wireless device accordingly to comply with the RF exposure limit (Nadakuduti, Col. 1, Lines [19-23]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (Sun et al. (US 20210251002 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
El-Keyi et al. (US 20230128635 A1)-discloses method and network node for predictive sectorized average power control. A method includes determining a beamforming gain for each of a plurality of directions. The method also includes determining a total power at each of a plurality of times within a window for each of the plurality of spatial directions, the total power being based at least in part on a weighted sum of products of a beamforming gain and a downlink power allocated to a wireless device in each of the plurality of spatial directions. The method further includes determining an average of the total power within the window to produce an average power; computing a control signal based on the average power and a threshold; and controlling the transmitted total power according to the control signal by limiting a fraction of scheduled physical resource blocks to an upper limit…. …Fig. 1-5
Chapman et al. (US 20200021349 A1)-discloses method performed by a network node for determining a beam to be transmitted to at least a first User Equipment, UE is provided. The network node determines (903) a beam to be transmitted to at least a first UE based on an obtained average spatial profile of radiated power in each direction. The average spatial profile of radiated power is based on an spatial profile of radiated power averaged over any one or more out of a frequency interval and a time interval.… …Fig. 1-5
Paul Dent (US 20030129984 A1)-discloses A mobile communication system comprises a plurality of cells, with each cell including a network of microstations distributed more or less uniformly throughout the cell. A central controller connected to the network of microstations selects a group of microstations in the vicinity of the mobile terminal to transmit information to the mobile terminal. The selected microstations in the active set for a given mobile terminal is continuously updated as the mobile terminal moves through the network of microstations to form a virtual cell that follows the mobile terminal through the network. Transmission conflicts between two mobile terminals is avoided by inhibiting transmissions from an active microstation to at least one of the co-channel mobile terminals when a transmission conflict is detected…. …Fig. 1-5
Erkan et al. (US 20200091608 A1)-discloses Millimeter wave (mmWave) technology, apparatuses, and methods that relate to transceivers, receivers, and antenna structures for wireless communications are described. The various aspects include co-located millimeter wave (mmWave) and near-field communication (NFC) antennas, scalable phased array radio transceiver architecture (SPARTA), phased array distributed communication system with MIMO support and phase noise synchronization over a single coax cable, communicating RF signals over cable (RFoC) in a distributed phased array communication system, clock noise leakage reduction, IF-to-RF companion chip for backwards and forwards compatibility and modularity, on-package matching networks, 5G scalable receiver (Rx) architecture, among others…. …Fig. 1-5
Green et al. (US 20170012918 A1)-discloses communication subsystem 506a may be configured to support one or more wired protocols (e.g., Ethernet standards, MOCA, etc.) and/or wireless protocols or interfaces (e.g., CDMA, WCDMA, TDMA, GSM, GPRS, UMTS, EDGE, EGPRS, OFDM, TD-SCDMA, HSDPA, LTE, WiMAX, WiFi, Bluetooth, and/or any other available wireless protocol/interface), facilitating transmission and/or reception of signals to and/or from the computing device 102, and/or processing of transmitted or received signals in accordance with applicable wired or wireless protocols. In this regard, signal processing operations may comprise filtering, amplification, analog-to-digital conversion and/or digital-to-analog conversion, up-conversion/down-conversion of baseband signals, encoding/decoding, encryption/decryption, and/or modulation/demodulation…. …Fig. 1-5
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472