DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 01/08/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/08/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 12-20 are amended
Claims 1-20 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-2, 6, 8, 13, 15 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 recite the limitation, “…tracking, over a time window, an average EIRP for the EIRP associated with the first antenna output signal”. However, in Para. [0020], the instant Specification recites, “…Controller 180 tracks the time-averaged EIRP”. Hence, the limitation “…tracking, over a time window, an average EIRP for the EIRP associated with the first antenna output signal” has no support in the specification. Therefore, the limitation is new matter.
Claim 2 recites the limitation, “…the controller is further arranged to determine a transmission problem based on one or more channel conditions associated with the first antenna output signal”. However, the limitation has no support in the specification. Therefore, the limitation is new matter.
Claims 6, 13 and 19 recite the limitation, “…upon determining that the second frequency range is different from the first frequency range: track, over a second time window, an average EIRP for the first antenna output signal at the second frequency range”. However, the limitation has no support in the specification. Therefore, the limitation is new matter.
Dependent claims not addressed above are rejected under the same rational as the parent claim due to a failure to resolve the deficiencies of the parent claim discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thyagarajan et al. (US 20180115282 A1), hereinafter referenced as Thyagarajan.
Regarding claims 1 and 8 Thyagarajan teaches an apparatus, comprising: a mobile device (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture with a six antenna array system. Para. [0029]-Thyagarajan discloses a method of choosing the antenna elements carefully to minimize side-lobes in the antenna pattern at back-off power levels ... depending on the array size, certain configurations preserve the original antenna pattern for a larger range of output power levels. The pattern can also be preserved or modified by incorporating reconfigurable gain and phase elements in the transmit path. Fig. 17, Para. [0050]-Thyagarajan discloses approach that utilizes the full antenna array aperture ..., using back-end processing, two beams are transmitted from the antenna array. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses Power amplifiers are critical blocks in wireless communication systems. The efficiency of a transceiver is determined primarily by the performance of the power amplifier), including:
a first antenna that is arranged to provide a first antenna output signal from a first antenna input signal (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture with a six antenna array system. Para. [0004]-Thyagarajan discloses multi element antenna array system, ... increased number of elements in a massive multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) system. Para. [0052]-Thyagarajan discloses the input signal to be detected has a high SNR, lower number of antenna elements are used. Fig. 2, Para. [0009]-Thyagarajan discloses six antenna array system 200 with an output power contribution),
a first gain is associated with the first antenna (Fig. 10, Para. [0041]-Thyagarajan discloses the phase and gain coefficients in each antenna element can be changed to compensate the change in antenna pattern), and
an effective isotropically radiated power (EIRP) is associated with the first antenna output signal (Para. [0028]-Thyagarajan discloses each amplifier contributes to the effective output power radiated by the antenna array. Para. [0033]-Thyagarajan discloses in a switching pixel power amplifier architecture, the output power is continuous. For example, in a six antenna array system, if P.sub.elem=8 mW 9 dBm), the switching pattern and the EIRP is given. (See also Para, [0032]));
a first power amplifier that is arranged to provide the first antenna input signal from a first power amplifier input signal (Fig. 13, Para. [0044]-Thyagarajan discloses two PAs 1302 are turned off and the output power from the four PAs are combined together and then redistributed again to the antennas. Fig. 11, Para. [0042]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture ... consists of six PA {PPower Amplifier} elements 1100 driving six antennas 1110 with a phase shifter per element 1108. The instantaneous input power is detected using a power detector 1102 which then passes the information to the digital logic 1104); and
a controller that is arranged to adjust an input power of the first power amplifier input signal by: tracking, over a time window, an average EIRP for the EIRP associated with the first antenna output signal (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB)),
a threshold EIRP represents a limit for the average EIRP for the time window (Fig. 3, Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier ... The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity);
causing an instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to increase to a value that is greater than the threshold EIRP during a first part of the time window based at least in part on the first gain (Fig. 3, Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier ... The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0036]-Thyagarajan discloses PA elements need to transmit a signal that has a high PAPR ... for any given instantaneous output power, all the PA elements except one operate at their peak power level. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses a signal waveform that has a high peak to average power ratio (PAPR) ... back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Para. [0048]-Thyagarajan discloses power control can also be performed in a dynamic manner using the instantaneous output power (instead of average output power). In this case, the digital logic in the switching pixel power amplifier architecture tracks the instantaneous power at the transmitter output and turns on and off pixels as a function of this power level); and
determining, for a second part of the time window, an adjusted value for the instantaneous input power that is less than the threshold EIRP such that the average EIRP for the first antenna output signal over the time window is at or below the threshold EIRP (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF)); and
causing the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to be adjusted during the second part of the time window to the adjusted value (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB)).
Regarding claim 15 Thyagarajan teaches a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, having stored thereon processor- executable code that, upon execution by at least one processor, enables actions (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture with a six antenna array system. Para. [0029]-Thyagarajan discloses a method of choosing the antenna elements carefully to minimize side-lobes in the antenna pattern at back-off power levels ... depending on the array size, certain configurations preserve the original antenna pattern for a larger range of output power levels. The pattern can also be preserved or modified by incorporating reconfigurable gain and phase elements in the transmit path. Fig. 17, Para. [0050]-Thyagarajan discloses approach that utilizes the full antenna array aperture ..., using back-end processing, two beams are transmitted from the antenna array. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses Power amplifiers are critical blocks in wireless communication systems. The efficiency of a transceiver is determined primarily by the performance of the power amplifier), comprising:
tracking, over a time window, an average effective isotropically radiated power (EIRP) associated with a first transmitter output signal (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB)),
a threshold EIRP represents a limit for the average EIRP for the time window (Fig. 3, Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier ... The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity);
a first power amplifier is arranged to provide a first transmitter input signal from a first power amplifier input signal (Fig. 13, Para. [0044]-Thyagarajan discloses two PAs 1302 are turned off and the output power from the four PAs are combined together and then redistributed again to the antennas. Fig. 11, Para. [0042]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture ... consists of six PA {PPower Amplifier} elements 1100 driving six antennas 1110 with a phase shifter per element 1108. The instantaneous input power is detected using a power detector 1102 which then passes the information to the digital logic 1104);
a first transmitter of a mobile device is arranged to provide the first transmitter output signal from the first transmitter input signal (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture with a six antenna array system. Para. [0004]-Thyagarajan discloses multi element antenna array system, ... increased number of elements in a massive multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) system. Para. [0052]-Thyagarajan discloses the input signal to be detected has a high SNR, lower number of antenna elements are used. Fig. 2, Para. [0009]-Thyagarajan discloses six antenna array system 200 with an output power contribution);
a first gain is associated with the first transmitter (Fig. 10, Para. [0041]-Thyagarajan discloses the phase and gain coefficients in each antenna element can be changed to compensate the change in antenna pattern); and
an EIRP is associated with the first transmitter output signal (Para. [0028]-Thyagarajan discloses each amplifier contributes to the effective output power radiated by the antenna array. Para. [0033]-Thyagarajan discloses in a switching pixel power amplifier architecture, the output power is continuous. For example, in a six antenna array system, if P.sub.elem=8 mW 9 dBm), the switching pattern and the EIRP is given. (See also Para, [0032]));
causing an instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to increase to a value that is greater than the threshold EIRP during a first part of the time window based at least in part on the first gain (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0036]-Thyagarajan discloses PA elements need to transmit a signal that has a high PAPR ... for any given instantaneous output power, all the PA elements except one operate at their peak power level. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses a signal waveform that has a high peak to average power ratio (PAPR) ... back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Para. [0048]-Thyagarajan discloses power control can also be performed in a dynamic manner using the instantaneous output power (instead of average output power). In this case, the digital logic in the switching pixel power amplifier architecture tracks the instantaneous power at the transmitter output and turns on and off pixels as a function of this power level),
determining, for a second part of the time window, an adjusted value for the instantaneous input power that is less than the threshold EIRP such that the average EIRP for the first transmitter output signal is at or below the threshold EIRP (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF)); and
causing the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to be adjusted during the second part of the time window to the adjusted value (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB)).
Regarding claims 2 and 10 and 16, Thyagarajan teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 and the processor-readable storage medium of claim 15 respectively,
Thyagarajan further teaches the controller is further arranged to determine a transmission problem based on one or more channel conditions associated with the first antenna output signal, and in response to the determined transmission problem, adjust the input power of the first power amplifier (Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses in the design of efficient power amplifiers. Modern day communication systems utilize higher order complex modulation schemes to maximize the capacity of the channel. This results in a signal waveform that has a high peak to average power ratio (PAPR). Para. [0035-0036]-Thyagarajan discloses modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR) ... for any given instantaneous output power, all the PA elements except one operate at their peak power level and one PA element changes its output power based on the input signal. Fig. 11, Para. [0042]-Thyagarajan discloses switching pixel power amplifier architecture ... consists of six PA elements 1100 driving six antennas 1110 with a phase shifter per element 1108 ... The instantaneous input power is detected using a power detector 1102 which then passes the information to the digital logic 1104 ... Depending on the input power level, the digital logic 1104 turns on the required number of PAs to achieve the required EIRP level).
Regarding claims 3 and 11 and 17, Thyagarajan teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 and the processor-readable storage medium of claim 15 respectively,
Thyagarajan further teaches the controller is further arranged to determine poor throughput that is associated with the first antenna output signal, and in response to the determined poor throughput, adjust the input power of the first power amplifier (Para. [0051]-Thyagarajan discloses for a MIMO system ... a digital mapper is a block that can automatically decide the array configuration and the waveform constellation by estimating the distance of each user from the base station. This allows one to choose the best configuration (with highest throughput) for the communication link. Para. [0033]-Thyagarajan discloses the PA {Power Amplifier} drives a single antenna or an antenna array and the output power changes in steps (in a digital manner). However, in a switching pixel power amplifier architecture, multiple unit elements drive multiple antennas (usually one element per antenna). Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses in the design of efficient power amplifiers. Modern day communication systems utilize higher order complex modulation schemes to maximize the capacity of the channel. This results in a signal waveform that has a high peak to average power ratio (PAPR). Para. [0035-0036]-Thyagarajan discloses modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR) ... for any given instantaneous output power, all the PA elements except one operate at their peak power level and one PA element changes its output power based on the input signal. Fig. 11, Para. [0042]-Thyagarajan discloses switching pixel power amplifier architecture ... consists of six PA elements 1100 driving six antennas 1110 with a phase shifter per element 1108 ... The instantaneous input power is detected using a power detector 1102 which then passes the information to the digital logic 1104 ... Depending on the input power level, the digital logic 1104 turns on the required number of PAs to achieve the required EIRP level).
Regarding claims 4 and 12 and 18, Thyagarajan teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 and the processor-readable storage medium of claim 15 respectively,
Thyagarajan further teaches the controller is further arranged to determine how much to cause the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier to be increased above the threshold EIRP based, at least in part, on information that is associated with a direction of transmission and information that is associated with gain in the direction of transmission (Fig. 11, Para. [0042]-Thyagarajan discloses switching pixel power amplifier architecture ... consists of six PA elements 1100 driving six antennas 1110 with a phase {direction} shifter per element 1108 ... The instantaneous input power is detected using a power detector 1102 which then passes the information to the digital logic 1104 ... Depending on the input power level, the digital logic 1104 turns on the required number of PAs to achieve the required EIRP level. Para. [0051]-Thyagarajan discloses for a MIMO system ... a digital mapper is a block that can automatically decide the array configuration and the waveform constellation by estimating the distance of each user from the base station. This allows one to choose the best configuration (with highest throughput) for the communication link. Para. [0033]-Thyagarajan discloses the PA {Power Amplifier} drives a single antenna or an antenna array and the output power changes in steps (in a digital manner). However, in a switching pixel power amplifier architecture, multiple unit elements drive multiple antennas (usually one element per antenna). Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan discloses in the design of efficient power amplifiers. Modern day communication systems utilize higher order complex modulation schemes to maximize the capacity of the channel. This results in a signal waveform that has a high peak to average power ratio (PAPR). Para. [0035-0036]-Thyagarajan discloses modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR) ... for any given instantaneous output power, all the PA elements except one operate at their peak power level and one PA element changes its output power based on the input signal. Fig. 10, Para. [0041]-Thyagarajan discloses phase and gain control on the individual pixels would allow one to maintain the antenna pattern with back-off).
Regarding claims 5, Thyagarajan teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Thyagarajan further teaches the first antenna includes an array of antennas (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture with a six antenna array system).
Regarding claim 9, Thyagarajan teaches the method of claim 8 respectively,
Thyagarajan further teaches the first transmitter includes at least one antenna (Fig. 1, Para. [0008]-Thyagarajan discloses power amplifier architecture with a six antenna array system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagarajan et al. (US 20180115282 A1), hereinafter referenced as Thyagarajan, in view of Chapman et al. (US 20200021349 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chapman.
Regarding claims 6 and 13 and 19, Thyagarajan teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 and the processor-readable storage medium of claim 15 respectively,
Thyagarajan further teaches the controller is further arranged to: determine a first resource block assigned to the mobile device (Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF));
determine a first frequency range that is associated with the first resource block (Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies));
cause the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to be adjusted during the second part of the time window such that the average EIRP for the first antenna output signal at the first frequency range during the time window is less than the threshold EIRP such that the time window is a first time window that applies to the first frequency range (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF));
determine a second resource block assigned to the mobile device (Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF));
determine a second frequency range that is associated with the second resource block (Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies)); and
upon determining that the second frequency range is different from the first frequency range: track, over a second time window, an average EIRP for the first antenna output signal at the second frequency range (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB));
determine, for a second part of the second time window, a second adjusted value for the instantaneous input power that is less than the threshold EIRP such that the average EIRP for the first antenna output signal at the second frequency range over the second time window is at or below the threshold EIRP (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF)); and
cause the instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to be adjusted during the second part of the second time window to the second adjusted value (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB). Para. [0027]-Thyagarajan discloses architecture that is frequency agnostic and encompasses the entire frequencies range (from the low kilohertz to Terahertz frequencies). Para. [0032]-Thyagarajan discloses designs involve implementation at radio frequencies (RF), local oscillator (LO) and intermediate frequencies (IF)).
Thyagarajan fails to teach upon determining that the second frequency range is different from the first frequency range: … cause an instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to increase to a value that is greater than a threshold EIRP during a first part of the second time window based at least in part on the first gain.
However, Chapman teaches upon determining that the second frequency range is different from the first frequency range: … cause an instantaneous input power of the first power amplifier input signal to increase to a value that is greater than a threshold EIRP during a first part of the second time window based at least in part on the first gain (Figs. 8a-c, Para. [0050]-Chapman discloses spatial profile of EIRP averaged over frequency. Para. [0015]-Chapman discloses the TXRUA comprises active circuits that may perform actions such as signal conditioning, amplification and altering in transmit and receive. Para. [0012]-Chapman discloses at higher frequencies, propagation losses are much greater than in today's bands. furthermore, it is envisaged that transmissions will take place within higher bandwidths. Para. [0039]-Chapman discloses the average spatial profile of radiated power is based on a spatial profile of radiated power averaged over any one or more out of a frequency interval and a time interval. Para. [0030]-Chapman discloses EIRP can take into account the losses in transmission line and connectors and includes the gain of the antenna. The EIRP is often stated in terms of decibels over a reference power emitted by an isotropic radiator with an equivalent signal strength. The EIRP allows comparisons between different emitters regardless of type, size or form. From the EIRP, and with knowledge of a real antenna's gain, it is possible to calculate real power and field strength values. Para. [0082]-Chapman discloses spatial profile of radiated power may e.g. be EIRP(Θ,φ,f=F,t=T); The profile of EIRP for each (Θ,φ) at time T and frequency F. Other metrics of power may be devised such as field strength or relative to a different type of antenna. Para. [0114]-Chapman discloses the determining of the beam may be performed by determining the beam to be transmitted in a different frequency e.g. a frequency or frequency range (resource blocks) other than for which the obtained spatial profile of radiated power exceeds a threshold in the direction of the beam, when the average spatial profile of radiated power averaged ver a frequency interval exceeds a threshold. The average spatial profile of radiated power exceeds the threshold in any direction, in particular the direction of the beam).
Thyagarajan and Chapman are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network nodes, dealing with wireless transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Thyagarajan to incorporate the teachings of Chapman on signal EIRP and frequency, with a motivation to increase input power upon determining frequency difference, and ultimately improve the performance of a wireless communications network, (Chapman, Para. [0037]).
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagarajan et al. (US 20180115282 A1), hereinafter referenced as Thyagarajan, in view of Nadakuduti et al. (US 10447413 B1), hereinafter referenced as Nadakuduti.
Regarding claims 7 and 14 and 20, Thyagarajan teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 and the processor-readable storage medium of claim 15 respectively,
Thyagarajan fails to teach the first antenna output signal is modulated via orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing modulation.
However, Nadakuduti teaches the first antenna output signal is modulated via orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing modulation (Col. 7, Lines [21-26]- Nadakuduti discloses each RX front-end circuit 254 may condition (e.g., filter, amplify, downconvert, and digitize) a respective received signal to obtain input samples. Each RX front-end circuit may further process the input samples (e.g., for OFDM, etc.) to obtain received symbols. Col. 8, Lines [10-13]- Nadakuduti discloses the TX path 302 may include a baseband filter (BBF) 310, a mixer 312, a driver amplifier (DA) 314, and a power amplifier (PA) 316. Col. 8, Lines [31-32]- Nadakuduti discloses the RX path 304 may include a low noise amplifier (LNA) 322, a mixer 324, and a baseband filter (BBF) 326).
Thyagarajan and Nadakuduti are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless network, dealing with systems and methods for assessing radio frequency (RF) exposure from a wireless device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Thyagarajan to incorporate the teachings of Nadakuduti on OFDM, with a motivation to modulate amplifier output signal with OFDM, and enable wireless device to assess RF exposure from the wireless device in real time and adjust the transmission power of the wireless device accordingly to comply with the RF exposure limit (Nadakuduti, Col. 1, Lines [19-23]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 01/08/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 103 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 14, Lines [24-26], Applicant argues that, “Thyagarajan does not appear to describe subject matter related to tracking average EIRP over a time window, or a threshold (limit) EIRP for the average EIRP.”
However, Thyagarajan teaches to adjust an input power of the first power amplifier input signal by: tracking, over a time window, an average EIRP for the EIRP associated with the first antenna output signal (Fig. 4, Para. [0038]-Thyagarajan discloses Block 410 tests for a condition in which the required power for the array is greater than or equal to the low power array value and less than the high power array value. Para. [0003]-Thyagarajan disclose in order to preserve the fidelity of the transmitted signal, the power amplifier must operate at an average power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power (typically 10 dB back-off). As used herein, back-off power level is a power level that is significantly lower than the peak achievable power, such as a 10 dB back-off from peak achievable power. Operating at a back-off power level results in efficiency degradation at the expense of better linearity. Hence, an efficient power amplifier or transmitter architecture would be one that boosts efficiency at back-off power levels without compromising linearity. Para. [0035]-Thyagarajan disclose efficiency-EIRP (or output power) curve for a power amplifier is shown in FIG. 3. The efficiency of the PA is highest at the peak power point and reduces as one backs away from this peak power level. Today's communication systems utilize complex modulation schemes for transmitting data (for higher channel capacity) and have a large peak to average power ratio (PAPR). In order to amplify this signal preserving its fidelity, the PA must operate at a significant back-off {significantly low} from its peak power level (typically 10 dB). Para. [0048]-Thyagarajan discloses the power control can also be performed in a dynamic manner using the instantaneous output power (instead of average output power). In this case, the digital logic in the switching pixel power amplifier architecture tracks the instantaneous power at the transmitter output and turns on and off pixels as a function of this power level).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472