DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s response filed April 16, 2026. Claims 21-39 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered and are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-26, 28-31 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox (US 7,687,696 B2) in view of Yamada et al. (US 3,724,312).
Claim 21: Fox discloses a device shown in FIG. 1 to comprise a soundboard, where the soundboard (46) is shown in FIG. 9 to comprise a first layer of material (top skin 42) comprising a first area, and a reinforcing material attached via epoxy to the first layer of material (column 7 lines 4-5). The reinforcing material is shown to comprise a laminate layer (inner skin 49) and a shaped core layer (honeycomb core 48). FIG. 9 shows the laminate layer to comprise a flat sheet, and the shaped core layer to comprise a plurality of cells arranged in a repeating pattern (continuous hexagonal cell shapes) (column 6 lines 43-47). The reinforcing material is placed inside a depression (44) of the soundboard (column 7 lines 4-6), and therefore comprises a second area less than the first area. This reference fails to disclose the laminate layer to be a second laminate layer, and the reinforcing material to comprise a first laminate layer parallel to the second laminate layer.
However Yamada et al. teaches a device comprising a soundboard, shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 to comprise a reinforcing material having a first laminate layer (24), a core layer (21) and a second laminate layer (22), where the core is between the first and second laminate layers (column 3 lines 22-28).
Given the teachings of Yamada et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Fox with providing the laminate layer to be a second laminate layer, and the reinforcing material to comprise a first laminate layer parallel to the second laminate layer such that the core layer is between the first and second laminate layers. Doing so would provide “a relatively large flexural rigidity, enabling elastic waves derived from the vibration energy applied thereto to be transmitted through the entire soundboard in good condition, and displaying a full sound-propagating characteristic with respect to tones ranging from a low to a high pitch” as taught in Yamada et al. (column 3 lines 46-52).
Claim 22: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device where the shaped core is between the first and second laminate layers, as stated above. The second laminate layer faces away from the first layer of material, as shown in FIG. 9 of Fox. The first laminate layer then would contact the first layer of material.
Claim 23: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device as stated above, where the cells are disclosed in Fox to comprise hexagons (column 6 lines 43-49).
Claim 24: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device where the reinforcing material includes first and second laminate layers, and is placed inside a depression of the soundboard, as stated above. The first and second laminate layer then would comprise the same shape.
Claim 25: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device as stated above, where the reinforcing material is shown in FIG. 9 of Fox to include a plurality of tapered point portions near where a neck attaches.
Claim 26: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device as stated above, where the soundboard is shown in FIG. 9 of Fox to comprise a longitudinal axis, and the reinforcing material is symmetrical across the longitudinal axis.
Claim 28: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device where the reinforcing material includes first and second laminate layers, and is placed inside a depression of the soundboard, as stated above. The first and second laminate layer then would comprise the same shape. A perimeter of the second laminate layer, and therefore the first laminate layer then would comprise a plurality of peaks and valleys, as is shown in FIG. 9 of Fox.
Claim 29: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device where the first and second laminate layers are duplicated parts, as stated above. The first and second laminate layers then would have the same shape. The laminate layers and shaped core of the reinforcing material are further shown in FIG. 9 of FOX to have the same shape. These references fail to disclose the first laminate layer to comprise at least six peaks.
However Fox shows a reinforcing material in FIG. 4 to have at least six peaks.
Given the teachings of Fox, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Fox as modified by Yamada et al. with providing the first laminate layer to comprise at least six peaks. Doing so would “give larger glueing surface … [and] extra strength to prevent delaminating of the [shaped core] from either or both of the [first or second laminate layer] under the mechanical load imposed by the tension of the strings onto the neck and the bridge” as taught in Fox (column 7 lines 51-60).
Claim 30: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device as stated above, but fails to disclose a perimeter of the reinforcing material to be longer than a perimeter of the first layer of material.
However Fox shows a reinforcing material in FIG. 4 having a horseshoe-like shape, and having a longer perimeter than a perimeter of the first layer of material.
Given the teachings of Fox, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Fox as modified by Yamada et al. with providing the reinforcing material to have a horseshoe-like shape such that a perimeter of the reinforcing material is longer than a perimeter of the first layer of material. Doing so would “give larger glueing surface … [and] extra strength to prevent delaminating of the [shaped core] from either or both of the [first or second laminate layer] under the mechanical load imposed by the tension of the strings onto the neck and the bridge” as taught in Fox (column 7 lines 51-60).
Claim 31: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device where the reinforcing material is placed inside a depression against the soundboard, as stated above. A sound box is shown in FIG. 2 of Fox to comprise a side wall (6), and the first layer of material attached to the sidewall. The depression in which the reinforcing material is placed does not extend to the perimeter of the first layer of material, as shown in FIG. 9, and therefore the reinforcing material does not contacting the side wall.
Claim 37: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device as stated above, where a central axis of each cell is shown in FIGS. 5 and 9 of Fox to be oriented orthogonal to the first laminate layer.
Claim 38: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device as stated above, where the first laminate layer is oriented parallel to the soundboard, as shown in FIG. 9 of Fox.
Claim 39: Fox discloses a device shown in FIG. 1 to comprise a soundboard, where the soundboard (46) is shown in FIG. 9 to comprise a first layer of material (top skin 42) comprising a first area, and a reinforcing material attached via epoxy to the first layer of material (column 7 lines 4-5). The reinforcing material is shown to comprise a flat sheet of material oriented parallel to the soundboard comprising a flat layer (inner skin 49) and a shaped core layer (honeycomb core 48). FIGS. 5 and 9 show the shaped core layer to comprise a plurality of cells arranged in a repeating pattern (continuous hexagonal cell shapes) (column 6 lines 43-47), a central axis of each cell to be oriented orthogonal to the flat layer. The reinforcing material is placed inside a depression (44) of the soundboard (column 7 lines 4-6), and therefore comprises a second area less than the first area. This reference fails to disclose the reinforcing material to comprise a second flat layer.
However Yamada et al. teaches a device comprising a soundboard, shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 to comprise a reinforcing material having a first flat layer (22), a core layer (21) and a second flat layer (24), where the core is between the first and second flat layers (column 3 lines 22-28).
Given the teachings of Yamada et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Fox with providing the reinforcing material to comprise a second flat layer. Doing so would provide “a relatively large flexural rigidity, enabling elastic waves derived from the vibration energy applied thereto to be transmitted through the entire soundboard in good condition, and displaying a full sound-propagating characteristic with respect to tones ranging from a low to a high pitch” as taught in Yamada et al. (column 3 lines 46-52).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox (US 7,687,696 B2) modified by Yamada et al. (US 3,724,312) as applied to claims above, further in view of Luttwak (US 7,763,784 B2).
Claim 27: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device as stated above, but fails to disclose the first layer of material to be asymmetrical across the longitudinal axis.
However Luttwak teaches a device shown in FIG. 9 to include a soundboard (32) (column 6 lines 18-20) having a first layer and comprising a longitudinal axis. FIG. 19A shows a reinforcing material (core pattern 1911) symmetrical across the longitudinal axis, while the first layer is asymmetrical across the longitudinal axis.
Given the teachings of Luttwak, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Fox as modified by Yamada et al. with providing the first layer of material to be asymmetrical across the longitudinal axis while the reinforcing material is symmetrical across the longitudinal axis. Doing so would “advantageously retain the look and feel of a traditional instrument with a symmetrical waist … resulting in a familiar playing experience. In addition … the said acoustic cavity volume can be accomplished with a smaller overall instrument size relative to conventional stringed instruments” as taught in Luttwak (column 12 lines 32-39).
Claims 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox (US 7,687,696 B2) modified by Yamada et al. (US 3,724,312) as applied to claims above, further in view of Kaman et al. (US 4,348,933).
Claim 35: Fox modified by Yamada et al. discloses a device as stated above, but fails to disclose the first laminate layer and the second laminate layer to comprise carbon fiber.
However Kaman et al. teaches a device having a soundboard, where a first laminate layer and a second laminate layer comprise carbon fiber (column 3 lines 54-55).
Given the teachings of Kaman et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Fox as modified by Yamada et al. with providing the first laminate layer and the second laminate layer to comprise carbon fiber. Doing so would provide a soundboard that is “made relatively thin while nevertheless have sufficient stiffness to resist the bending loads imposed thereon” as taught in Kaman et al. (column 3 lines 54-59).
Claim 36: Fox modified by Yamada et al. and Kaman et al. discloses a device as stated above, where the first layer of material comprise carbon fiber as shown in Kaman et al. (column 3 lines 54-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 32: Although the prior art (US 7,687,696 B2) teaches a device shown in FIG. 1 to comprise a soundboard, where the soundboard (46) is shown in FIG. 9 to comprise a first layer of material (top skin 42) comprising a first area, and a reinforcing material attached via epoxy to the first layer of material (column 7 lines 4-5), the reinforcing material is shown to comprise a laminate layer (inner skin 49) and a shaped core layer (honeycomb core 48), the laminate layer is shown in FIG. 9 to comprise a flat sheet, and the shaped core layer to comprise a plurality of cells arranged in a repeating pattern (continuous hexagonal cell shapes) (column 6 lines 43-47), the prior art does not teach nor suggest the reinforcing material to comprise a first layer of reinforcing material, the device to further comprise a second layer of reinforcing material attached to the first layer of reinforcing material, the second layer of reinforcing material comprising a third area, the third area less than the second area. The combinations of the claimed limitations are novel and found to be allowable over prior art. The cited references taken singly or in combination do not anticipate nor make obvious applicant's claimed invention.
Claims 33 and 34 depend from claim 32 and therefore inherit all allowed claim limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states on page 2 of the response that “the applied references fail to disclose or suggest such a ‘reinforcing material’ as recited in the pending claims, used in conjunction with a soundboard. Conversely, the applied references teach using a laminate construction as the soundboard itself”. However FIG. 9 of Fox shows a device as a whole which comprises a three piece construction labeled as a soundboard (46), a honeycomb core (48) and inner skin (49). The honeycomb core and inner skin correspond to applicant’s claimed reinforcing material, used as a “stiffening laminate layer for it’s ability to strengthen the soundboard” (column 6 lines 43-44). The device shown in FIG. 9 of Fox then is comprised of a reinforcing material attached to a soundboard. Yamada was relied on to teach a reinforcing material having first and second laminate layers in parallel with a core layer therebetween. Applicant’s claims do not describe a structural relationship between the soundboard and reinforcing material, e.g. shape, thickness, length, etc., except that the reinforcing material has an area less than the soundboard. Nor do the claims describe how much of the soundboard the reinforcing material is to contact to form the claimed device. Therefore the claims do not prevent a multi-ply construction comprised of a soundboard and reinforcing material, as shown in Fox and Yamada. The device disclosed in Fox made up of a soundboard (46) and reinforcing material (48, 49), in combination with parallel first and second laminate layers taught in Yamada properly renders obvious applicant’s invention as required by the claimed limitations.
Applicant further states on page 3 “Fox teaches that the three-ply assembly eliminates the need for traditional braces”. However applicant’s claims do not require the reinforcing material to be a brace. As shown above, the claims do not describe how much of the soundboard the reinforcing material is to contact. Therefore the multi-ply construction comprised of a soundboard and reinforcing material, as shown in Fox and Yamada properly render obvious applicant’s invention as required by the claimed limitations.
On page 4, applicant states “both Fox and Yamada teach a soundboard made from a lightweight core sandwiched between two reinforcing layers. However as shown above, the honeycomb core (48) and inner skin (49) shown in FIG. 9 of Fox correspond to applicant’s claimed reinforcing material. The reinforcing material is described to be epoxied into a depression (44) of top skin (42) of soundboard (46) (column 7 lines 4-5). Therefore Fox discloses a reinforcing material comprised only of a shaped core and single laminate layer. Yamada was relied on to teach a reinforcing material having first and second laminate layers in parallel with a core layer therebetween. Therefore the device disclosed in Fox made up of a soundboard (46) and reinforcing material (48, 49), in combination with parallel first and second laminate layers taught in Yamada properly renders obvious applicant’s invention as required by the claimed limitations.
Applicant further states “the rejection dissects a reinforcing layer from Yamada and proposes to add it to Fox in a way that is not disclosed or suggested by either reference”, and “a skilled person would recognize that characteristics disclosed for a large, rectangular piano soundboard would not necessarily be expected when used in a smaller, contoured guitar soundboard”. However it has been established that the obviousness analysis cannot be confined by . . . overemphasis on the importance of published articles and the explicit content of issued patents. . . . . In many fields it may be that there is little discussion of obvious techniques or combinations, and it often may be the case that market demand, rather than scientific literature, will drive design trends.KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. It is recognized in the art that a piano soundboard functions the same way and performs the same task as a guitar soundboard. In both instruments, energy of a vibrating string is transferred to the soundboard via a bridge, which allows the soundboard to vibrate and amplify the sound of the vibrating string. The different shapes and sizes of the soundboards are optimized for the specific instrument in which they are used based on the structural design of the instrument. Due to the fundamental similarities between such soundboards, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the device disclosed in Fox with the teachings of Yamada in order to provide first and second laminate layers of a reinforcing material with a shaped core therebetween.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher Uhlir/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 July 9, 2026