DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63352170, filed 06/14/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 12/27/2023, 01/16/2025 and 05/19/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination (RCE)
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
07/06/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 and 17-20 remain pending. Claim 16 cancelled in the application. Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 14, 19, and 20 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim[ 1 , 5, 9, 14 and 19] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim limitations of regarding the Claim 1, 9, and 19 further limited by Claim 5 and 14 that includes limitations regarding the Interface, interface configuration, to separate receive signals for respective modem in spec [0006, 0113, 0115, 0120, 0124].
Claim 1 and 9, ‘wherein the plurality of modems comprises a first modem associated with a first satellite constellation and a second modem associated with a second satellite constellation;
And an interface in electronic communication with the RF conversion module, the interface coupled to the RF conversion module via a first cable to receive signals received into the RF conversion module via the common port,
the interface configured to separate receive signals for respective modems and to provide receive signals of a modem of a selected constellation to the modem in response to receiving the receive signals’
Claim 19, ‘receiving signals from an antenna via a common port into a radio-frequency (RF) conversion module of a multi-constellation transceiver, the RF conversion module included in an RF chain having components shared by the plurality of modems;
transferring the received signals from the RF conversion module to an interface via a first cable; separating, by the interface, receive signals for respective modems and providing receive signals of a modem of a selected constellation to the modem in response to receiving the received signals;
transferring transmit signals of a first modem of the plurality of modems from the interface to the RF conversion module via a second cable; transferring transmit signals of a second modem of the plurality of modems from the second modem to the RF conversion module via a third cable without proceeding through the interface; and transmitting, by the RF chain, transmit signals received from at least one of the first modem or the second modem to the antenna via the common port’.
Previous claim 2 and 11 were presented previously, ‘an interface coupled to the RF conversion module via a single communication cable, the interface configured to perform multiplexing and demultiplexing operations between the single communication cable and the plurality of modems.’ These were cancelled and presently included in the amendments to Claim 1, 9, 14 and 19. Spec [0006, 0105, 0115], “the multi-constellation transceiver includes: a radio-frequency (RF) chain, and an interface coupled to the RF chain via at least one communication cable, the interface configured to perform multiplexing and demultiplexing operations between the single communication cable and the plurality of modems.”
Spec [0113, 0120, 0124] doesn’t support the Claim limitations of Claim 1, 5, 9, 14 and 19, interface configuration and separating by the interface to the received signals.
Claim 5 amended, ‘wherein the RF conversion module comprises a receive output port coupled to the interface via the first cable, a first transmit input port coupled to the interface via the second cable, and a second transmit input port coupled to the second modem via the third cable’. Applicant remarks, page-13 doesn’t include spec details for these claim limitations.
Applicant required to provide spec regarding the above amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas Monte et al. (US-9520637-B2), hereinafter “Thomas” in view of Anand et al. (US-11770178-B2) hereinafter “Anand”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘A satellite terminal comprising: an antenna’ (Fig. 1 illustrates satellite terminal includes antenna);
And discloses second Claim element, ‘a common port coupled to the antenna’ (the waveguide combiner includes a common port that propagates all frequency bands with two orthogonal polarizations and set of waveguide paths with coupling to the common dual-polarized to couple multiple frequencies band: low, intermediate and high Col. 8 [0023-0027, 0032]; Fig. 6 illustrates wave guide frequency band transceiver includes antenna and further Fig. 10 includes antenna, controller operate in multiple RF band and modem);
3rd claim element,
Thomas Monte though discloses, ‘a plurality of modems to be switch into and out’, ‘to allow transitioning between network’,
Multi-frequency-band antenna having agile polarization diversity. Used for satellite communication integrated. Multiple transceivers Col. 4 [0049-0050, 0054, 0062]. Switch control polarization Col. 5 [0003]. Switch between C-band and Ku-band) Col. 7 [0056-0057, 0061]. switch control module connects to the C-band and Ku-band transceiver, i.e. a dual-band modem. Simultaneous transmission/reception of satellite Col. 7 [0041, 0049-0050]. 95% coverage of C-band and Ku-band Col. 18 [0015-0017].
And didn’t disclose, ‘a plurality of modems to be switched into and out of use in real-time, via software commands, to allow transitioning between networks via software commands, each of the modems associated with a different satellite constellation’
Anand in the relevant art discloses, multiple constellation Col. 1 [0025-0026]. the plurality of or multiple modem M1-Mn able to switch and operate to multiple satellite constellation Col. 13 [0035, 0037] in real-time Col. 12 [0033] in Fig. 3 executed by software/controller Col. [0050-0051]. And, Includes controller and modem to switch between the satellites executed by software Col. 14 [0053] in Fig. 3.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Anand and to include with that of Thomas Monte to come up with the claim invention;
Thomas monte discloses switch between multiple satellite/constellation operate in multiple frequency band: C, X, Ka and Ku band Col. 9 [0017-0018] and Fig. 6 multiple modems connected to waveguide transceiver and agile polarization diversity.
Thomas monte motive to use simple and integrated switch and control module uses unified interface to reduce complexity of installation and perform simultaneous operation includes two modems/dual-band modem to operate simultaneous transmission/reception both C and Ku-band paired with satellite Col. 7 [0033, 0047-0050]. Coverage availability of the frequency band for the globe and earth surface 95% Col. 18 [0015-0016].
Someone would be motivated to further enhance the capability to further include switch to between constellation to include LEO, MEO and GEO as disclosed by Anand to extend the real-time operability to multiple satellite/constellation, disclosure Claim 9. And, coverage real-time without interruption between the on-board vehicle/spacecraft and the satellite Anand, Col. 12 [0032].
4th claim element,
And, Anand discloses, ‘and a multi-constellation transceiver, communicably coupled to the antenna’ and ‘to the plurality of modems, to route signals between the antenna and individual modems of the plurality of modems, and ‘wherein the multi-constellation transceiver comprises a radio-frequency (RF) chain with components shared by plurality of modems’ (the multi-constellation satellite terminal includes the plurality of modem, the antenna and the transceiver in Fig. 3 disclosed above. And, connected to the antenna Col. 19 [0056]. The controller[Wingdings font/0xE0] plurality of modems [Wingdings font/0xE0]transceivers i.e. the RF components in Fig. 3.)
‘wherein the plurality of modems comprises a first modem associated with a first satellite constellation and a second modem associated with a second satellite constellation (FIG. 3 , TCVR1 and a particular modem M1 may support a first air interface corresponding to the first spatial channel utilized by AR1-AR4, whereas TCVR2 and a different modem M2 may support a second, different air interface corresponding to the second spatial channel utilized by Arn to a first satellite and a second satellite respectively Col. 13 [0034-0038, 0046-0047]),
And didn’t disclose, ‘via the common port’ (disclosed by Thomas Monte in first claim element and motive to modify would by identical as disclosed in above. Further these would reduce delay for the multimode terminal and waveguide combiner operate diplxer more efficiency. As concurrent propagation of microwave multiple frequency band and polarization would be more efficient).
Motive would be identical to disclosed above in third claim element.
5th claim element,
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘a radio-frequency (RF) conversion module included in the RF chain;’ (multi-frequency band antenna having agile polarization diversity and a high antenna efficiency; antenna system can be used for satellite communications, such as the antenna system of a satellite terminal Col. 4 [0049-0050, 0056]; multi-frequency transceiver modules Col. 9 [0040]; centralized switch and control module; perform frequency up conversion for C-band transmit signal. switch between C-band and Ku-band, Col. 7 [0056-0057, 0061]; And, centralized switch and control module connects to C-band/K-band and process radio frequency (RF) to the C-band receiving and transmitting modules and the Ku-band transceiver Col. 7 [0033-0035, 0037-0039]; disclosure includes multiple constellation transceiver as part of agile polarization diversity different frequency band possible combination and feasibility of integrate multiband system: Ka, Ku, C, X-band Col. 9 [0015-0019]; Fig. 6 illustrates transceiver includes waveguide assembly, triplexer to operate three frequency bands, transmitter module, receiver module and orthomode transducer, Col. 20 [0060-0065]. Fig. 6, wave guide 635 quadplexer and quadrature configuration, Col. 21 [0014, 0020].
Fig. 10, VSAT integrated transceiver includes C-band block-up-conversion (BUC) 1046, RF path C/Ku-band and controller. Conversion module Fig. 12-13 includes upconverter1368 and downconverter 1268).
6th claim element,
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘And an interface in electronic communication with the RF conversion module, the interface coupled to the RF conversion module via a first cable to receive signals received into the RF conversion module via the common port,
the interface configured to separate receive signals for respective modems and to provide receive signals of a modem of a selected constellation to the modem in response to receiving the receive signals, wherein transmit signals of the first modem are transferred from the interface to the RF conversion module via a second cable, and wherein transmit signals of the second modem are transferred from the second modem to the RF conversion module via a third cable without proceeding through the interface’ (The waveguide combiner includes common port that perform orthogonal polarizations to operate in dual-polarized and multiband Col. 8 [0024-0025, 0027]; a set of waveguide path to couple frequency band as low, intermediate and high frequency band Col. 20 [0060]. Fig. 6, wave guide assembly as a multiplexor multiplexing of separate frequency band as a triplexer, Col. 20 [0054-0057]. wave guide 635 quadplexer and quadrature configuration, Col. 21 [0014, 0020]. Fig. 6, transmit signals are transferred from a modem to switch control module 680 to transmit signals to high frequency band uses cable 681. Alternatively, depending on uplink frequency of the uplink channel that the VSAT is communicating Col. [0060-0066]. Fig. 6 illustrates transmit/receive RF signals uses cable to operate/switch between multiple frequency bands (C/Ku-band) includes conversion Col. 22[0001-0002, 0004-0006, 0013-0015]. To operate transmit and receive from modems Col. 8 [0024, 0027, 0032]; Fig. 10, BUC, controller and RF path.
Fig. 12 and 13 shows up-conversion, down-conversion, control switch; Fig. 14, a receiver microwave RF polarization circuit polarized outputs of the combiners and Fig. 15, a transmitter polarization circuit; Disclosure includes frequency band combinations of C-band, X-band, Ka-band, and Ku-band;
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein the interface comprises an IF switch configured to perform demultiplexing, switching, and filtering to separate the receive signals for the respective modems transmit signals are transferred from a modem to switch control module 680 to transmit signals to high frequency band uses cable 681. Alternatively, depending on uplink frequency of the uplink channel that the VSAT is communicating Col. 21 [0060-0066]. Waveguide act as filter cut-off frequency Col. 21 [0047, 0050]. Transmitter/receiver module conversion from high frequency to IF and transferred to a modem. Performed by switch and control module Col. 22 [0001-0004, 0008-0010]. Down/up conversion details includes in Fig. 12 mux circuit 1271 to a gain control circuit for IF adjustment then de-mux to output de-mux IF, Col. 26 [0038-0043]. C/Ku-band LNB in Fig. 6 and Fig. 12.);
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein the RF chain comprises low-noise and high power amplifiers that are shared by the plurality of modems to apply amplification to signals from all modems to be transmitted by the antenna and to signals received by the antenna to be sent to the plurality of modems.’ (Fig. 6 illustrates LNB and amplifier for C/Ku-band connects cable to transmit/receive modem. And, waveguide assembly as triplexer or quadplexer to operate in range of frequencies multiplex frequency bands Col. 20 [0060], Col. 21 [0013-0014]; transceiver includes RF chain/module with components low noise filter, amplifier and also includes switch and control to multiple modem as shown in Fig. 6. Fig. 11 illustrates RF connection between elements of antenna controller, Ku-band low noise LNB converts KU-band RF to intermediate frequency (IF) and also couples IF to C-band; FIG. 12 is a high level schematic diagram of a low-band low noise block (LNB) 1241 down converter with gain control and path control; Further perform amplification by low noise amplifier of a microwave circuit Col. 26 [0018-0020, 0028-0029]; Fig. 13 illustrates up conversion and gain control; Fig. 14 illustrates polarization microwave circuit RF propagation medium amplified low noise amplifiers.)
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Thomas monte discloses, ‘further comprising: a receive path for processing signals received by the antenna’ (Fig. 6);
And discloses, ‘a transmit path for processing signals to be transmitted by the antenna’ (Muti-frequency transceiver module includes a transmitter and a receiver and further dual-band antenna parabolic dish to transmit by antenna with a coupling ports that waveguide Col. 9 [0040, 0066] and Fig. 8A transceiver with transmitter and antenna);
And discloses, ‘and a diplexer /isolator communicably coupling the receive path and the transmit path to the common port.’ (Fig. 6 includes orthomode transducer that can operate diplexer. Waveguide act as filter and uses cut-off frequency Col. 21 [0050, 0058]; the waveguide combiner includes a common port that propagates all frequency bands with two orthogonal polarizations. A set wave guide path to common dual-polarized waveguide and lowest/highest frequency band Col. 8 [0023-0027, 0032];
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 1
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein the RF conversion module comprises a receive output port coupled to the interface via the first cable, a first transmit input port coupled to the interface via the second cable, and a second transmit input port coupled to the second modem via the third cable /receiver. Transmits signal are provided to the high frequency band transmitter module uses cable. IF band are transferred uses cable to received modem Col. 21 [0060]. Each transmitter/receiver module has four waveguide coupling ports Col. 5 [0053]. Coupling the propagating microwave energy to first and second transceivers coupled to respective receive and transmit ports of the antenna feed assembly Col. 11 [0028-0029, 0031]. Fig. 10 illustrates details of antenna and transceiver VSAT and multi-band.
waveguide assembly as a quadplexer, multiplexing four frequency bands (C-band receive, C-band transmit, Ku-band receive, Ku-band transmit). Quadrature configuration four ports.
Fig. 12 includes mux/de-mux circuit that low noise block and amplifier have single communication cable shown in Fig. 6);
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Anand discloses, ‘wherein the plurality of modems comprises at least one LEO modem and at least one GEO modem.’ (In Fig. 3 Includes communication links LEO 308 and GEO satellite 315 uses the plurality of the modems.)
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Annad and to include with that of Thomas Monte to come up with the claim invention; Motive to include would be identical to Claim 1 disclosed above as claim 1 includes plurality of modem and multiple constellation LEO/GEO.
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 6’ (disclosed above),
Anand discloses, ‘wherein the plurality of modems includes at least one MEO modem.’ (multi-constellation uses the multiple modem to provide communication connectivity in Fig. 3 and operate at L, S, C, X, Ka, K and Ku frequency band Col. 12 [0050] the MEO satellite Col. 7 [0035].)
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Anand and to include with that of Thomas Monte to come up with the claim invention; Motive to include would be identical to Claim 6 disclosed above.
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 1’(disclosed above),
Anand discloses, ‘ wherein the first modem comprises a GEO modem and the second modem comprises a LEO modem, and wherein the transmit signals of the LEO modem are received by the conversion module directly from the LEO modem’ (Fig. 3 illustrates transceiver1 particular modem M1 and transceiver2 particular modem M2, Col. 13 [0035, 0037]. Fig. 1 illustrates LEO, GEO first and second constellations. Satellite terminal communicatively connect one/more satellite, Col. 8 [0021, 0026]. ),
And didn’t discloses, ‘RF’ conversion module (disclosed by Thomas monte disclosed above in Claim 1.).
Regarding Claim 10,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 1’(disclosed above),
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein modem of the plurality of modems are coupled to the transceiver via external ports.’ (the modem Col. 7 [0027, 0043] can be connected to the port in Fig. 12 and Fig. 13. )
Regarding Claim 11,
Similar to first part of claim 1 (disclosed above), ‘A satellite terminal comprising: an antenna; a common port coupled to the antenna; a plurality of modems to be switched into and out of use in real-time to allow transitioning between networks via software commands, each of the modems associated with a different satellite constellation, wherein the plurality of modems comprises at least one LEO modem and at least one GEO modem’ (only inclusion of claim 6, the plurality modem comprises: LEO and GEO modem);
Similar to second element of claim 1 (disclosed above), ‘a multi-constellation transceiver, communicably coupled to the antenna via the common port and to the plurality of modems, to route signals between the antenna and to one modem of the plurality of modems, wherein the multi-constellation transceiver comprises: a radio-frequency (RF) chain with components shared by the plurality of modems’,
Regarding the remaining portion of this claim element,
‘wherein the at least one GEO modem comprises a first modem associated with a first satellite constellation and the at least one LEO modem comprises a second modem associated with a second satellite constellation’ (similar to second claim element disclosed above, ‘wherein the plurality of modems comprises a first modem associated with a first satellite constellation and a second modem associated with a second satellite constellation’ (Anand, FIG. 3 , TCVR1 and a particular modem M1 may support a first air interface corresponding to the first spatial channel utilized by AR1-AR4, whereas TCVR2 and a different modem M2 may support a second, different air interface corresponding to the second spatial channel utilized by Arn to a first satellite and a second satellite respectively Col. 13 [0034-0038, 0046-0047]. The first spatial channel to support a communication link with a GEO satellite and the second spatial channel to support a communication link with a LEO satellite Col. 12 [0056-0059].);
Similar to claim 1 (disclosed above), ‘
a radio-frequency (RF) conversion module included in the RF chain;
and an interface in electronic communication with the RF conversion module, the interface coupled to the RF conversion module via a first cable to receive signals received into the RF conversion module via the common port, the interface configured to separate receive signals for respective modems and to provide receive signals of a modem of a selected constellation to the modem in response to receiving the receive signals, wherein transmit signals of the first modem are transferred from the interface to the RF conversion module via a second cable, and wherein transmit signals of the second modem are transferred from the second modem to the RF conversion module via a third cable without proceeding through the interface.’ (only include mux/demux operation, disclosed by Thomas Monte in Fig. 12 and Fig. 13.)
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’(disclosed above),
Similar to claim 3 (disclosed above), ‘wherein the RF chain comprises low-noise and high power amplifiers are shared by the plurality of modems to apply amplification to signals for all modems to be transmitted by the antenna and to signals received by the antenna to be sent to the plurality of modems.’
Regarding Claim 13,
Similar to claim 4 (disclosed above), ‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’(disclosed above), ‘further comprising: a receive path for processing signals received by the antenna; a transmit path for processing signal to be transmitted by the antenna; and a diplexer communicably coupling the receive path and the transmit path to the common port.’
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’ (disclosed above),
Similar to claim 5 (disclosed above), ‘wherein the interface comprises an IF switch having a receive input port coupled to the RF conversion module, a first receive output port coupled to the first modem, and a second receive output port coupled to the second modem, the IF switch configured to separate received signals for the first and second modems and provide the separated received signals to the respective first and second modems’ (RF signals received at high frequency receiver module are converted to IF then output to low-frequency receiver module. And, signals received at low-frequency converted to a second IF. Transferred to the received modem. Switch an control module to switch between receiving RF signals of low and high bands (e.g., switching between receiving C-band and Ku-band, Col. 22[0001-0004, 0006, 0009, 0011-0013].).
Regarding Claim 17,
Similar to claim 8 (disclosed above), ‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’ (disclosed above), ‘wherein the plurality of modems includes at least one MEO modem.’
Regarding Claim 18,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’ (disclosed above),
Similar to claim 10 (disclosed above), ‘wherein modems of the plurality of modems are coupled to the transceiver via external ports.’
Regarding Claim 19,
Similar to first claim element of claim 1 and 11 (satellite terminal device disclosed above), ‘A method comprising: switching into and out of use of the plurality of modems in real-time, via software commands, to allow transitioning between networks via software commands, each of the modems associated with a different satellite constellation’;
‘
Similar to Claim 1 and 9 disclosed above, ‘
receiving signals from an antenna via a common port into a radio-frequency (RF) conversion module of a multi-constellation transceiver, the RF conversion module included in an RF chain having components shared by the plurality of modems; transferring the received signals from the RF conversion module to an interface via a first cable; separating, by the interface, receive signals for respective modems and providing receive signals of a modem of a selected constellation to the modem in response to receiving the received signals; transferring transmit signals of a first modem of the plurality of modems from the interface to the RF conversion module via a second cable; transferring transmit signals of a second modem of the plurality of modems from the second modem to the RF conversion module via a third cable without proceeding through the interface; and transmitting, by the RF chain, transmit signals received from at least one of the first modem or the second modem to the antenna via the common port’.
Regarding Claim 20,
‘The method of claim 19’ (disclosed above),
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein separating the receive signals comprises demultiplexing, switching, and/or filtering the received signals to separate the receive signals for the respective modems
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘transferring transmit signals of the first modem from the interface to the RF conversion module via a second cable; and transfer transmit signals of the second modem from the second modem to the RF conversion module via a third cable without proceeding through interface, further comprising sending, by the interface, receive signals of the second modem to the second modem in response to receiving the receive signals of the second modem via the first cable.’ (multiple modem or dual-band modem to operate multiple frequency band. Fig. 6 transceiver wave guide transmit and receive from modem by switch control as shown first modem; Switch control module in connection with low and high band receiver to switch between c-band and ku-band; And second modem; in Fig. 12 and Fig. 13 illustrates the RF conversion module transmit/receive by hybrid switch control and connect to the modem.).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas Monte et al. in view of Anand et al. and further in view of Turgeon et al (US-10075242-B2) hereinafter “Turgeon”.
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 6’(disclosed above),
Regarding the claim element, ‘further comprising an antenna control unit (ACU) coupled to send one or more commands to the multi-constellation transceiver to switch between a LEO and GEO modes that use LEO and GEO modems, respectively, the one or more commands to limit transmit power as part of uplink power control during both the LEO and GEO modes, and program one or more local oscillators to support different translations associated with the LEO and GEO modes.’
Anand discloses, ‘further comprising an antenna control unit (ACU) coupled to send one or more commands to the multi-constellation transceiver to switch between a LEO and GEO modes that use LEO and GEO modems, respectively’, and ‘one or more commands’ to switch during both the LEO and GEO mode’,
The satellite user terminal includes multiple modems to communicate satellite in Fig. 3. And, includes multiple modem to switch between the constellations by the controller connected to multiple components/modules connected to the modems, the transceivers to operate in multiple band and transmit/receive antenna to the communication links.
And didn’t disclose, ‘to limit transmit power as part of uplink power control’ and
‘and program one or more local oscillators to support different translations’,
Turgeon discloses, RF module includes local oscillator Fig, 2B-2C. Includes power-monitor Col. 13 [0023]; uses test coupler and the low noise amplifier to perform power efficient communication in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Anand, Thomas Monte and to further modify with that of Turgeon to come up with the claim invention,
Thomas Monte discloses, antenna gain control uses specific (+/-dB) in Fig. 10, 12, 16 and 17 to maintain antenna gain and efficiency Col. 19 [0023].
Thomas Monte motive to adjust power uses power management circuit 1280 to provide monitoring, control and power Col. [0045-0046] in Fig. 12 connected to gain control 1273 for C/Ku-band for gain adjustment and to mux 1271. This is used for multiple constellation. Disclosure, waveguide combiner to generate the desired polarization improved polarization performance Col. 8 [0009-0011].
Anand motive to perform the uninterrupted communication the space craft with precision without any downtime includes controller circuit connects multiple modules/components interconnected multiple system (H04B7/18563) and control data linking/networking/transporting end-to-end (H04B7/18526) to support multiple-constellation, disclosure Claim 1 based on the efficient controller circuit.
Turgeon discloses constellation support multiple frequency band. someone would complement the power management and efficient transceiver to gain control for multiple constellation transceiver disclosed by Thomas Monte to use LEO/GEO modem disclosed by Anand. Someone skill in the art would know the oscillator in RF oscillate multiple frequency-band and conversion. This would enhance capability of transceiver RF module reduce noise and operate frequency require for the antenna and LNB.
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’ (disclosed above),
Similar to claim 7 (disclosed above), ‘further comprising an antenna control unit (ACU) coupled to send one or more commands to the multi-constellation transceiver to switch between a LEO and GEO modes that use LEO and GEO modems, respectively, the one or more commands to limit transmit power as part of uplink power control during the LEO mode, and program one or more local oscillators to support different translations associated with the LEO and GEO modes.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Arguments and Examiners response:
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are,
Regarding the amendments of Claim 1, 5, 9, 14 and 19, examiner respectfully request to provide spec details.
Regarding the applicant’s argument page-13, 35 USC 103 rejections, specific to amendments,
‘wherein the plurality of modems comprises a first modem associated with a first satellite constellation and a second modem associated with a second satellite constellation’
Claim subject matter and the claims ‘multi-transceiver constellation’ and ‘common port’ to operate in multiple frequency band disclosed by Thomas Monte, dual-band modem, enable simultaneous reception and transmission at both C-band and Ku-band when paired with a satellite capable of simultaneous C-band and Ku-band operation, Col. 7 [0049-0052] waveguide combiner Col. 7 [0040-0043]. Switch and control module to connects the integrated C-band and Ku-band Satellite coverage 95% of globe and earth surface Col. 18 [0015-0016]. Disclosure exemplified the multiple frequency band transceiver operation in Fig. 6, 10 to 17 uses power management, gain control to efficiently switch and control transmitter and receiver functionalities. Thomas Monte though discloses frequency bands that operate the LEO/GEO modem yet didn’t mention LEO/GEO modem. That is complemented by Anand. FIG. 3 , TCVR1 and a particular modem M1 may support a first air interface corresponding to the first spatial channel utilized by AR1-AR4, whereas TCVR2 and a different modem M2 may support a second, different air interface corresponding to the second spatial channel utilized by Arn to a first satellite and a second satellite respectively Col. 13 [0034-0038, 0046-0047].
Regarding the applicant’s argument page-15, ”The combination of Thomas and Anand therefore does not teach or suggest the amended claim…”, Examiner respectfully disagree and request to the relevant disclosures for the amendment claims to this office action page-7 to page-27 above.
Multi-constellation [Wingdings font/0xE0] common port [Wingdings font/0xE0] two modems or dual-band modem for simultaneously transmit/receive in both C-band and Ku-band by switch and control modules includes waveguide combiner/multiplexer and unified interface to the modem Col. 7 [0040-0043].
Regarding multi-constellation[Wingdings font/0xE0] real-time operation [Wingdings font/0xE0]plurality modem
Anand discloses controller to provide seamless communication to multi-constellation connect/interface multiple components/modules includes plurality of modems.
Controller [Wingdings font/0xE0] multiple modems [Wingdings font/0xE0] transceivers [Wingdings font/0xE0] antenna in Fig. 3. That complements the switch and control modules disclosed by Thomas Monte to support multiple bands.
Examiner made viable combination and provided motivation to complement the motive of the presented prior arts “Thomas Monte”, “Anand” and “Turgeon”.
Examiner thanks to applicant and attorney for their time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Romain et al. (US-11736185-B2) “System and method for a flying machine for receiving and managing satellite signals. Fig. 1 multiple modems and switch module.
Anand-chari et al, (US-10924179-B2), “Multi-constellation satellite terminal”; Disclosure includes: multi-constellation transceiver Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 on board mobile and vehicle platform, multiple link and multiple satellite operate in different frequency band: L, S, C, X, Ka, Ku band; include multiple satellite constellation LEO/MEO/GEO.
Keneth-Bauer et al, (US-20240243767-A1) “Radio frequency loopback for transceivers”; Disclosure, A satellite terminal transceiver comprises: a waveguide diplexer comprising a common port coupled to multiple port; Fig. 2 and 3 includes waveguide diplexer connected to common port, coupler and antenna; Fig. 4 includes combiner, noise filter and switch control.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
examiner should be directed to SYED AHMED whose telephone number is (703)756-
5308. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday 9AM-5PM EST.
supervisor Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466