DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. The instant application Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63352170, filed 06/14/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 12/27/2023 and 01/16/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
4. The amendment filed 12/26/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending
in the application. Claims 1, 2, 11, 19, and 20 were amended. No claims were
cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
9. Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas Monte et al. (US-9520637-B2), hereinafter “Thomas” in view of Anand et al. (US-11770178-B2) hereinafter “Anand”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘A satellite terminal comprising: an antenna’ (Fig. 1 illustrates satellite terminal includes antenna);
And discloses, ‘a common port coupled to the antenna’ (the waveguide combiner includes a common port that propagates all frequency bands with two orthogonal polarizations and set of waveguide paths with coupling to the common dual-polarized to couple different frequencies band: low, intermediate and high Col. 8 [0023-0027, 0032]; Fig. 6 illustrates wave guide frequency band transceiver includes antenna and further Fig. 10 includes antenna, controller operate in multiple RF band and modem);
And didn’t disclose, ‘a plurality of modems to be switched into and out of use in real-time, via software commands, to allow transitioning between networks via software commands, each of the modems associated with a different satellite constellation’
Anand in the relevant art discloses,
multiple constellation Col. 1 [0025-0026]; the plurality of or multiple modem M1-Mn able to switch in real-time by software and operate to multiple satellite constellation in Fig. 3; And, Includes controller and modem to switch between the satellites executed by software Col. 17 [0021] in Fig. 3.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Anand and to include with that of Thomas Monte to come up with the claim invention;
Thomas monte discloses switch between different satellite/constellation operate in different frequency band: C, X, Ka and Ku band Col. 9 [0017-0018] and Fig. 6 multiple modems connected to waveguide transceiver and agile polarization diversity.
Thomas monte motive to use simple and integrated switch and control module uses unified interface to reduce complexity of installation and perform simultaneous operation includes two modems/dual-band modem to operate simultaneous transmission/reception both C and Ku-band paired with satellite Col. 7 [0033, 0047-0050]. And, coverage of the globe and earth surface 95% Col. 18 [0015-0016].
Someone would be motivated to further enhance the capability to further include switch to different constellation LEO, MEO and GEO as disclosed by Anand to extend the real-time operability to multiple satellite/constellation, disclosure Claim 9. And, coverage real-time without interruption between the on-board vehicle/spacecraft and the satellite Anand, Col. 12 [0032].
And, Anand discloses, ‘and a multi-constellation transceiver, communicably coupled to the antenna’ and ‘to the plurality of modems, to route signals between the antenna and individual modems of the plurality of modems, and ‘wherein the multi-constellation transceiver comprises a radio-frequency (RF) chain with components shared by plurality of modems’ (the multi-constellation satellite terminal includes the plurality of modem, the antenna and the transceiver in Fig. 3 disclosed above. And, connected to the antenna Col. 19 [0056]. The controller[Wingdings font/0xE0] plurality of modems [Wingdings font/0xE0]transceivers i.e. the RF components in Fig. 3.)
And didn’t disclose, ‘via the common port’ (disclosed by Thomas Monte in first claim element and motive to modify would by identical as disclosed in above. Further these would reduce delay for the multimode terminal and waveguide combiner operate diplxer more efficiency. As concurrent propagation of microwave different frequency band and polarization would be more efficient).
Motive would be identical to disclosed above in first claim element.
Anand discloses, ‘and a communication cable as a single point of entry for all modems in the of plurality of modems into the multi-constellation transceiver, the single communication cable to transport signals between the plurality of modems and the RF chain including received signals sent from the RF chain to modems of the plurality of modems or transmit signals sent by modems of the plurality of modems to be transmitted by the RF chain’ (Disclosure includes the component/modules interconnected and interfaced to the controllers illustrated in Fig. 3 that can perform the process of multi-constellation transceivers).
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein the multi-constellation transceiver comprises: a radio-frequency (RF) conversion module’ (multi-frequency band antenna having agile polarization diversity and a high antenna efficiency; antenna system can be used for satellite communications, such as the antenna system of a satellite terminal Col. 4 [0049-0050, 0056]; multi-frequency transceiver modules Col. 9 [0040]; centralized switch and control module; perform frequency up conversion for C-band transmit signal. switching between C-band and Ku-band) Col. 7 [0056-0057, 0061]; And, centralized switch and control module connects to C-band/K-band and process radio frequency (RF) to the C-band receiving and transmitting modules and the Ku-band transceiver Col. 7 [0033-0035, 0037-0039]; disclosure includes multiple constellation transceiver as part of agile polarization diversity different frequency band possible combination and feasibility of integrate multiband system: Ka, Ku, C, X-band Col. 9 [0015-0019]; Conversion module Fig. 12-13 includes upconverter1368 and downconverter1268;
Thomas monte discloses, ‘and an interface coupled to the RF conversion module via a single communication cable, the interface configured to perform multiplexing and demultiplexing operations between the single communication cable and the plurality of modems.’ (Fig. 12-13 includes mux/demux circuit interface with conversion module; two modems or dual-band modem, enable simultaneous reception and transmission at both C-band and Ku-band when paired with a satellite capable of simultaneous C-band and Ku-band operation; Unified interface to modem to reduce system complexity and operation Col. 7 [0042-0043, 0049-0050]; Fig. 6 illustrates transceiver, waveguide, noise filter, amplifier, frequency band transceiver connected/interface single cable to the multiple modems that is also associated with mux/demux shown in Fig. 12-13);
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein the RF chain comprises low-noise and high power amplifiers that are shared by the plurality of modems to apply amplification to signals from all modems to be transmitted by the antenna and to signals received by the antenna to be sent to the plurality of modems.’ (Fig. 11 illustrates RF connection between elements of antenna controller, Ku-band low noise LNB converts KU-band RF to intermediate frequency (IF) and also couples IF to C-band; FIG. 12 is a high level schematic diagram of a low-band low noise block (LNB) 1241 down converter with gain control and path control; Further perform amplification by low noise amplifier of a microwave circuit Col. 26 [0018-0020, 0028-0029]; Fig. 13 illustrates up conversion and gain control; Fig. 14 illustrates polarization microwave circuit RF propagation medium amplified low noise amplifiers; Fig. 6 illustrates different components start from waveguide assembly as triplexer or quadplexer to operate in range of frequencies multiplex frequency bands Col. 20 [0060], Col. 21 [0013-0014]; transceiver includes RF chain/module with components low noise filter, amplifier and also includes switch and control to multiple modem as shown in Fig. 6; )
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Thomas monte discloses, ‘further comprising: a receive path for processing signals received by the antenna’ (Fig. 6);
And discloses, ‘a transmit path for processing signals to be transmitted by the antenna’ (Muti-frequency transceiver module includes a transmitter and a receiver and further dual-band antenna parabolic dish to transmit by antenna with a coupling ports that waveguide Col. 9 [0040, 0066] and Fig. 8A transceiver with transmitter and antenna);
And discloses, ‘and a diplexer /isolator communicably coupling the receive path and the transmit path to the common port.’ (Fig. 6 includes orthomode transducer that can operate diplexer Col. 21 [0058]; the waveguide combiner includes a common port that propagates all frequency bands with two orthogonal polarizations. A set wave guide path to common dual-polarized waveguide and lowest/highest frequency band Col. 8 [0023-0027, 0032];
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein the interface comprises: a multiplexer/demultiplexer coupled to a single communication cable’ (Fig. 12 includes mux/de-mux circuit that low noise block and amplifier have single communication cable shown in Fig. 6);
And discloses, ‘a receive filter coupled to the multiplexer/demultiplexer to filter a first signal received from the multiplexer/demultiplexer’ (Fig. 12 low noise block connected to mux/de-mux; Fig. 6 includes waveguide, low noise block and amplifiers; Dual-band, dual-polarized, waveguide combiner providing signal filtering for separate frequency bands; Waveguide act as high pass filter and enable to cut-off frequency and attenuate below the cut-off high frequency wave guide act as high pass filter );
And discloses, ‘a first switch coupled to the receive filter to send the first signal to either a first or second modem of the plurality of modems based on control of the first switch’ (Fig. 6 includes low noise block that filter and then amplify as received through waveguide and further connect to switch control and send to first or second modem);
And discloses, ‘an upconverter coupled to receive a first transmit signal from the first modem’ (Fig. 13 includes up converter receives from the modem Fig. 6 and Fig. 8);
And discloses, ‘a first transmit filter coupled to receive the first transmit signal from the first modem’ (The waveguide combiner (or multiplexer) provides dual-polarized signal filtering of three (or fewer or more) frequency bands Col. 8 [0005-0006]. Fig. 6 switch control to/from modem; the centralized switch and control module provides switching between C-band and Ku-band includes modems or dual-band modem, Col. 7 [0049]);
And discloses, ‘a second transmit filter coupled to receive a second transmit signal from the second modem’ (as disclosed above wave guide combiner filter three or more frequency bands Col. 8 [0005-0006, 0017]. The high frequency band waveguide 653 acts as a high-pass filter, rejecting microwave energy in the lower frequency bands (e.g., frequencies of the low and middle frequency bands) and allowing microwave energy having frequencies above the cut-off frequency (e.g., frequencies within the high frequency band) to propagate. Col. 21 [0046-0048] and Fig. 6; Fig. 9 includes waveguide and filters 976;);
And discloses, ‘a second switch coupled to receive a first filtered signal from the downconverter and the second transmit signal and to provide the first filtered signal or the second transmit signal to the multiplexer/demultiplexer based on control of the second switch’ (switch control in Fig. 6 and Fig. 12 and down converter with gain and path control reduces noise; down conversion the C-band to an IF frequency and output to mux/de-mux circuit Col. 26 [0035-0037];);
And discloses, ‘and a third switch coupled to receive a second filtered signal from the first transmit filter and a third filtered signal from the second transmit filter and to provide the second filtered signal or the third transmit signal to the multiplexer/demultiplexer based on control of the third switch.’ (Fig. 12 illustrates A microwave circuit 1242 receives the C-band downlink signals via the low-band orthomode transducers ports 1265 a-d and amplifies each of the quadrature signals using low noise amplifiers 1266 a-d, set the noise for the C-band low-band receiver module Col. 26 [0026-0030]; Also include polarization control switch;)
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Anand discloses, ‘wherein the plurality of modems comprises at least one LEO modem and at least one GEO modem.’ (In Fig. 3 Includes communication links LEO 308 and GEO satellite 315 uses the plurality of the modems.)
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Annad and to include with that of Thomas Monte to come up with the claim invention; Motive to include would be identical to Claim 1 disclosed above as claim 1 includes plurality of modem and different constellation LEO/GEO.
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 6’ (disclosed above),
Anand discloses, ‘wherein the plurality of modems includes at least one MEO modem.’ (multi-constellation uses the multiple modem to provide communication connectivity in Fig. 3 and operate at L, S, C, X, Ka, K and Ku frequency band Col. 12 [0050] the MEO satellite Col. 7 [0035].)
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Anand and to include with that of Thomas Monte to come up with the claim invention; Motive to include would be identical to Claim 6 disclosed above.
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 1’(disclosed above),
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein the multi-constellation transceiver comprises: a first modem; a second modem’ (Fig. 6 includes satellite transceiver operate in two modems in different satellite frequency band and modems/dual-band modem);
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘a radio-frequency (RF) conversion module’ (Fig. 6 includes transceiver with transmitter and receiver RF modules. And, Fig. 12 and 13 includes up conversion and down conversion module );
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘and an interface in electronic communication with the RF conversion module to transfer receive signals received into RF conversion module via the common port to the interface, to transfer transmit signals of the first modem from the interface to the RF conversion module, and to transfer transmit signals of the second modem from the second modem to the RF conversion module without proceeding through interface, wherein the interface provides receive signals of a modem of a selected constellations in response to receiving the receive signals of the modem.’
The waveguide combiner includes common port that perform orthogonal polarizations to operate in dual-polarized and multiband; a set of waveguide path to couple frequency band such as low, intermediate and highest frequency band. Switch control in Fig. 6 operate transmit and receive from modems Col. 8 [0024, 0027, 0032]; Fig. 12 and 13 shows up-conversion, down-conversion, polarization control switch; Fig. 14, a receiver microwave RF polarization circuit polarized outputs of the combiners and Fig. 15, a transmitter polarization circuit; Disclosure includes frequency band combinations of C-band, X-band, Ka-band, and Ku-band;
Regarding Claim 10,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 1’(disclosed above),
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein modem of the plurality of modems are coupled to the transceiver via external ports.’ (the modem Col. 7 [0027] can be connected to the port in Fig. 12 and Fig. 13. )
Regarding Claim 11,
Identical to first part of claim 1 (disclosed above), ‘A satellite terminal comprising: an antenna; a common port coupled to the antenna; a plurality of modems to be switched into and out of use in real-time to allow transitioning between networks via software commands, each of the modems associated with a different satellite constellation, wherein the plurality of modems comprises at least one LEO modem and at least one GEO modem’ (only inclusion of claim 6, the plurality modem comprises: LEO and GEO modem);
Identical to second element of claim 1 (disclosed above), ‘a multi-constellation transceiver, communicably coupled to the antenna via the common port and to the plurality of modems, to route signals between the antenna and to one modem of the plurality of modems, wherein the multi-constellation transceiver comprises: a radio-frequency (RF) chain with components shared by the plurality of modems’;
Identical to claim 1 (disclosed above), ‘and an interface coupled to the RF chain via a single communication cable a communication cable as a single point of entry for all modems in the of plurality of modems into the multi-constellation transceiver, the interface configured to perform multiplexing and demultiplexing operations between the single communication cable and the plurality of modems, to transport signals between the plurality of modems and the RF chain including received signals sent from the RF chain to modems of the plurality of modems or transmit signals sent by modems of the plurality of modems to be transmitted by the RF chain.’ (only include mux/demux operation, disclosed by Thomas Monte in Fig. 12 and Fig. 13.)
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’(disclosed above),
Identical to claim 3 (disclosed above), ‘wherein the RF chain comprises low-noise and high power amplifiers are shared by the plurality of modems to apply amplification to signals for all modems to be transmitted by the antenna and to signals received by the antenna to be sent to the plurality of modems.’
Regarding Claim 13,
Identical to claim 4 (disclosed above), ‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’(disclosed above), ‘further comprising: a receive path for processing signals received by the antenna; a transmit path for processing signal to be transmitted by the antenna; and a diplexer communicably coupling the receive path and the transmit path to the common port.’
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 5 (disclosed above), ‘wherein the interface comprises: a multiplexer/demultiplexer coupled to the communication cable; a receive filter coupled to the multiplexer/demultiplexer to filter a first signal received from the multiplexer/demultiplexer; a first switch coupled to the receive filter to send the first signal to either a first or second modem of the plurality of modems based on control of the first switch; an upconverter coupled to receive a first transmit signal from the first modem; a first transmit filter coupled to receive the first transmit signal from the first modem; a second transmit filter coupled to receive a second transmit signal from the second modem; a second switch coupled to receive a first filtered signal from the downconverter and the second transmit signal and to provide the first filtered signal or the second transmit signal to the multiplexer/demultiplexer based on control of the second switch; and a third switch coupled to receive a second filtered signal from the first transmit filter and a third filtered signal from the second transmit filter and to provide the second filtered signal or the third transmit signal to the multiplexer/demultiplexer based on control of the third switch.’
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’(disclosed above),
Identical to claim 9 (disclosed above), ‘wherein the plurality of modems includes a first modem and a second modem, and further wherein the RF chain is in electronic communication with the interface to transfer receive signals received into RF conversion module via the common port to the interface, to transfer transmit signals of the first modem from the interface to the RF conversion module, and to transfer transmit signals of the second modem from the second modem to the RF conversion module without proceeding through interface, wherein the interface provides receive signals of a modem of a selected constellations in response to receiving the receive signals of the modem.’
Regarding Claim 17,
Identical to claim 8 (disclosed above), ‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’ (disclosed above), ‘wherein the plurality of modems includes at least one MEO modem.’
Regarding Claim 18,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 10 (disclosed above), ‘wherein modems of the plurality of modems are coupled to the transceiver via external ports.’
Regarding Claim 19,
Identical to first claim element of claim 1 and 11 (satellite terminal device disclosed above), ‘A method comprising: switching into and out of use of the plurality of modems in real-time, via software commands, to allow transitioning between networks via software commands, each of the modems associated with a different satellite constellation’;
Identical to second claim element of claim 1 and 9 (disclosed above), ‘and routing signals between an antenna and individual modems of the plurality of modems an antenna by
receiving signals from the antenna via a common port and directing those signals to one of the plurality of modems using a single communication cable in a multi-constellation transceiver as a single access point for all modems in the plurality of modems, communicably coupled to the antenna via the common port and to the plurality of modems’;
Identical to Claim 1 and 9 disclosed above, ‘and sending transmit signals, using via a single communication cable the multi-constellation transceiver received from the plurality of modems to the antenna via the common port such that transport signals between the plurality of modems and the RF chain including received signals sent from the RF chain to modems of the plurality of modems or transmit signals sent by modems of the plurality of modems to be transmitted by the RF chain’.
Regarding Claim 20,
‘The method of claim 19’ (disclosed above),
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘wherein the plurality of modems includes first and second modems, and further comprising communicating between the RF chain and an interface: transferring receive signals received into an RF conversion module of the multi-constellation transceiver via the common port to the interface via a first cable’ (operate in dual-band modem disclosed above Claim 9; RF conversion module and RF chain disclosed above in Claim 2 and Claim 3; Fig. 6 includes waveguide transceiver, RF module of different band connected to switch control);
Thomas Monte discloses, ‘transferring transmit signals of the first modem from the interface to the RF conversion module via a second cable; and transfer transmit signals of the second modem from the second modem to the RF conversion module via a third cable without proceeding through interface, further comprising sending, by the interface, receive signals of the second modem to the second modem in response to receiving the receive signals of the second modem via the first cable.’ (multiple modem or dual-band modem to operate multiple frequency band. Fig. 6 transceiver wave guide transmit and receive from modem by switch control as shown first modem; Switch control module in connection with low and high band receiver to switch between c-band and ku-band; And second modem; in Fig. 12 and Fig. 13 illustrates the RF conversion module transmit/receive by hybrid switch control and connect to the modem.).
9. Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas Monte et al. in view of Anand et al. and further in view of Turgeon et al (US-10075242-B2) hereinafter “Turgeon”.
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 6’(disclosed above),
Regarding the claim element, ‘further comprising an antenna control unit (ACU) coupled to send one or more commands to the multi-constellation transceiver to switch between a LEO and GEO modes that use LEO and GEO modems, respectively, the one or more commands to limit transmit power as part of uplink power control during both the LEO and GEO modes, and program one or more local oscillators to support different translations associated with the LEO and GEO modes.’
Anand discloses, ‘further comprising an antenna control unit (ACU) coupled to send one or more commands to the multi-constellation transceiver to switch between a LEO and GEO modes that use LEO and GEO modems, respectively’, and ‘one or more commands’ to switch during both the LEO and GEO mode’,
The satellite user terminal includes multiple modems to communicate satellite in Fig. 3. And, includes multiple modem to switch between the constellations by the controller connected to multiple components/modules connected to the modems, the transceivers to operate in multiple band and transmit/receive antenna to the communication links.
And didn’t disclose, ‘to limit transmit power as part of uplink power control’ and
‘and program one or more local oscillators to support different translations’,
Turgeon discloses, RF module includes local oscillator Fig, 2B-2C. Includes power-monitor Col. 13 [0023]; uses test coupler and the low noise amplifier to perform power efficient communication in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Anand, Thomas Monte and to further modify with that of Turgeon to come up with the claim invention,
Anand motive to perform the uninterrupted communication the space craft with precision without any downtime includes controller circuit connects multiple modules/components interconnected multiple system (H04B7/18563) and control data linking/networking/transporting end-to-end (H04B7/18526) to support multiple-constellation, disclosure Claim 1 based on the efficient controller circuit.
Turgeon discloses constellation support multiple band. someone would include the power efficient transceiver. Someone skill in the art would know the oscillator in RF oscillate different frequencies and conversion. This would enhance capability of transceiver RF module reduce noise and operate frequency require for the antenna and LNB.
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The satellite terminal of claim 11’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 7 (disclosed above), ‘further comprising an antenna control unit (ACU) coupled to send one or more commands to the multi-constellation transceiver to switch between a LEO and GEO modes that use LEO and GEO modems, respectively, the one or more commands to limit transmit power as part of uplink power control during the LEO mode, and program one or more local oscillators to support different translations associated with the LEO and GEO modes.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Arguments:
Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration of this application as amended. Claims 1- 20 are pending in this application. Claims 1-20 are rejected. Claims 1, 2, 11, 19 and 20 are amended. No claims are canceled. No claims are newly added. Support for the amendment is found at least in paragraphs [0080] and [0085] of Applicant's specification and the existing dependent claims. It is respectfully submitted that the amendment does not add new matter.
Applicant reserves all rights with respect to the applicability of the Doctrine of
Equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monte et al. (US-9520637-B2), hereinafter "Monte" in view of Ravishankar et al.
(US20210092640A1) hereinafter "Ravishankar". Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Claim 1 as amended is as follows:
1. A satellite terminal comprising:
an antenna;
a common port coupled to the antenna;
a plurality of modems to be switched into and out of use in real-time,
via software commands, to allow transitioning between networks via software commands, each of the modems associated with a different satellite
constellation; and
a multi-constellation transceiver, communicably coupled to the antenna via the common port and to the plurality of modems, to route signals between the antenna and individual modems of the plurality of modems,
wherein the multi-constellation transceiver comprises
a radio-frequency (RF) chain with components shared by the plurality of modems, and
a communication cable as a single point of entry for allmodems in the y of modems into the multi-constellation transceiver, the single communication cable to transport signals between the plurality of modems and the RF chain including received signals sent from the RF chain to modems of the plurality of modems or transmit signals sent by modems of the plurality of modems to be transmitted by the RF chain. (emphasis added)
As set forth above, claim 1 recites a satellite terminal that includes a multi-constellation transceiver, communicably coupled to the antenna via the common port and to the plurality of modems. The multi-constellation transceiver has a radio-frequency (RF) chain with components shared by the plurality of modems and has a single communication cable as a single point of entry for the modems into the multi-constellation transceiver. The single communication cable transports signals between the plurality of modems and the shared RF chain, where the single communication cable transports received signals sent from the RF chain to the modems or transmit signals sent by the modems to be transmitted by the RF chain. Applicant respectfully submits that these features are not disclosed by Monte and Ravishankar.
Monte describes a terrestrial terminal use in satellite communications systems. The terminal includes a multiple frequency band antenna with integrated electronics. In Figure 6, Monte shows an antenna feed and a distributed transceiver that includes a waveguide assembly that has a low, middle and high frequency band orthomode transducers (OMTs). The interface to the waveguide assembly includes a switch and signal level controller module that interfaces to one modem, not multiple modems. Figure 12 discloses a low-band low noise block (LNB) down converter with gain control and path control, while Figure 13 discloses a C-band block up converter (BUC) with gain and path control. While both Figures 12 and 13 shown show mux and demux circuit blocks, there is no disclosure in Figures 12 and 13 or its associated descriptive text regarding multiple modems or the use of Figures 12 and 13 to support multiple modems at the same time.
The only reference to multiple modems in Monte is one statement that says that
"embodiments including two modems or dual-band modem, enable simultaneous reception and Ser.
transmission at both C-band and Ku-band when paired with a satellite capable of simultaneous C-band and Ku-band operation." While this statement exists in Monte, there is no disclosure that a multi-constellation transceiver is shared by multiple modems and has a single communication cable as a single point of entry for these modems, where the single communication cable transports signals between the plurality of modems and the RF chain including received signals sent from the RF chain to the modems or transmit signals sent by the modems to be transmitted by the RF chain.
Ravishankar does not overcome the deficiencies of Monte. Ravishankar describes a global satellite system that includes terminals capable of communicating with the plurality of radio access technologies (RATs). A RAT is the functionality for converting digital data into radio signals and back again. In the background, Ravishankar states that consumers desire increased amounts of content for applications such as virtual and/or augmented reality, and that communication via a single RAT can become inefficient for maintaining a desired quality of service. Ravishankar continues by stating that since the maximum bandwidth of satellite communication systems is generally static and cannot be raised, it can become difficult to accommodate increased user traffic demands, and therefore, there is a need for an approach for selectively utilizing multiple RATsto improve throughput and quality of service in satellite communication systems. Thus, the intent in Ravishankar is to use multiple RATs.
This fact is exemplified when Ravishankar states that the terminal includes multiple physical layer interfaces which allow communication with different RATs. For example, the terminal includes an L-modem for communicating with LEO satellites, and M-modem for communicating with MEO satellites, a G-modem for communicating with GEO satellites, and a T-modem for communicating with a terrestrial networks. Figures 12 and 13 and its associated
text where Ravishankar show these multiple modems in a satellite terminal with separate communications between the modems and different satellites. Thus, each of the modems has a separate RAT. For example, with Figure 12, Ravishankar describes that different RATs are used to establish multiple sessions for connecting to a terminal. In other words, the goal of Ravishankar is not to share a radio chain among multiple modems, but to actually use separate radio chains for each different modem. In contrast, the present invention as claimed is directed as using an RF chain that is shared among multiple modems. Based on this difference, Applicant respectfully submits that Ravishankar teaches away from the present invention as claimed. In view of this, Applicant respectfully submits that one skilled in the art would not look to combine Monte with Ravishankar to arrive at a multi-constellation transceiver that has a RF chain, which is shared among the modems and in which a single communication cable transports signals between the modems and the shared RF chain.
Furthermore, Ravishankar does not disclose a single communication cable as a single point of entry for the modems into the multi-constellation transceiver, where the single communication cable transports received signals sent from the shared RF chain to the modems or transmit signals sent by the modems to be transmitted by the RF chain. Such a disclosure is absent from Ravishankar.
In view of the above, Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Monte and Ravishankar do not disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Applicant respectfully submits that one skilled in the art would not look to combine Monte and Ravishankar as one would not look to combine Ravishankar's use of modems with separate RATs with the transceiver shown in Figure 6 of Monte. In view of the above, Applicant respectfully submits Ser.
that the present invention as claimed in claim 1 is not obvious in view of Monte and Ravishankar.
Claims 11 and 19 include substantially similar limitations to those discussed above with respect to claim 1. Therefore, for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 1, Applicant respectfully submits that the present invention as claimed in claims 11 and 19 is not obvious in view of Monte and Ravishankar.
Claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16-18, and 20 depend, directly or indirectly, on one of claims 1, 11 and 19, respectively. Therefore, for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 7, Applicant respectfully submits that the present invention as claimed in claims 1, 11 and 19 is not obvious in view of Monte and Ravishankar.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monte et al. in view of Ravishankar et al. and further in view of Turgeon et al (US-10075242-B2) hereinafter "Turgeon". Applicant respectfully disagrees.
As set forth above, Monte and Ravishankar do not disclose a multi-constellation
transceiver that has a radio-frequency (RF) chain with components shared by the plurality of modems and has a single communication cable as a single point of entry for the modems into the multi-constellation transceiver, where single communication cable transports received signals sent from the shared RF chain to the modems or transmit signals sent by the modems to be transmitted by the shared RF chain. Turgeon does not disclose these features either and therefore does not overcome the deficiencies of Monte and Ravishankar
In view of the above, Applicant respectfully submits that the present invention as claimed in claims 7 and 15 is not obvious in view of Monte, Ravishankar and Turgeon.
Examiners response:
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are:
Examiner reviewed the applicant’s arguments/remarks and further amended claims and provided required disclosures in the office actions from the closest and relevant prior arts that covers the subject matters. Addressed all the claims and applicant’s
argument/remarks disclosed from the presented prior arts “Thomas Monte”, “Anand” and “Turgeon”.
The claim subject matter multi-constellation. Thomas Monte discloses multi-band satellite communication includes centralized switch and control module to connects the integrated C-band and Ku-band. Most importantly satellite globe coverage 95% of earth surface by C and Ku band Col. 18 [0016] and in Fig. 2.
Multi-constellation [Wingdings font/0xE0] common port [Wingdings font/0xE0] two modems or dual-band modem for simultaneously transmit/receive in both C-band and Ku-band by switch and control modules includes waveguide combiner/multiplexer and unified interface to the modem Col. 7 [0040-0043].
Regarding multi-constellation[Wingdings font/0xE0] real-time operation [Wingdings font/0xE0]plurality modem
Anand discloses controller to provide seamless communication to multi-constellation connect/interface multiple components/modules includes plurality of modems.
Controller [Wingdings font/0xE0] multiple modems [Wingdings font/0xE0] transceivers [Wingdings font/0xE0] antenna in Fig. 3. That complements the switch and control modules disclosed by Thomas Monte to support multiple bands.
Examiner thanks to applicant and attorney for their time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Romain et al. (US-11736185-B2) “System and method for a flying machine for receiving and managing satellite signals. Fig. 1 multiple modems and switch module.
Anand-chari et al, (US-10924179-B2), “Multi-constellation satellite terminal”; Disclosure includes: multi-constellation transceiver Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 on board mobile and vehicle platform, multiple link and multiple satellite operate in different frequency band: L, S, C, X, Ka, Ku band; include multiple satellite constellation LEO/MEO/GEO;
Keneth-Bauer et al, (US-20240243767-A1) “Radio frequency loopback for transceivers”; Disclosure, A satellite terminal transceiver comprises: a waveguide diplexer comprising a common port coupled to multiple port; Fig. 2 and 3 includes waveguide diplexer connected to common port, coupler and antenna; Fig. 4 includes combiner, noise filter and switch control.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS
from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO
MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed
until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened
statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension
fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory
action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX
MONTHS from the date of this final action.
examiner should be directed to SYED AHMED whose telephone number is (703)756-
5308. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday 9AM-5PM EST.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466