DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 23-29,33,39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08APR2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II, claims 30 to 42 and SPECIES A, sludge collection laterals in the reply filed on 08APR2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that amendments to the claims ensures overlap in scope such that infringement of Claim 23 will necessarily result in infringement of Claim 30. This is not found persuasive because there are substantial differences in the scope of claims 23 and 36. Claim 23 requires a sludge collection system, whereas claim 36 does not. Claims 23 and 36 require different details of a movement restriction member. Similarly, a “collection lateral” is not the same as a “distribution lateral” in a method claim. There is also a search burden because:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
(e) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph; and
(a) the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification
(b) the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter
(c) the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Benefit of domestic priority having an earliest filing date of 05/24/2017 under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 119e is acknowledged.
Specification
The use of the term SPYDER on P3, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. It should be capitalized wherever it appears (which Applicant has done) and be accompanied by the generic terminology.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Double Patenting
Claims 30-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,266. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 30-35 of 18/209,395 are either anticipated by or obvious over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,266.
18/209,395 claims
U.S. Patent No. 11,713,266
Comparison
30
1
Instant claim 30 is broad and encompasses the narrower claim 1. Note that while the wording of part (c) is slightly different it amounts to essentially the same as a step of exerting fluid pressure.
31-32
1
same.
34
1
Both require a movement restricting member resting (abutting) on a floor, which clearly cannot move toward a floor.
35
2
same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 30 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “can”. The verb form of the word "can" carries multiple meanings in the English language. It can be used to indicate a physical ability or some other specified capability. It can also be used to indicate a possibility or probability.” "can" is indefinite, because it is susceptible to more than one plausible construction. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to a capability that is required to be present in the invention or whether it refers to a capability that is a mere possibility that is not required.
Claim 30 line(s) 3-4 sets forth the limitation “each of said plurality of laterals can move upwardly away from a floor” and Claim 30 line(s) 8-9 sets forth the limitation “preventing each of said plurality of laterals from moving upwardly away from the floor”. The claim scope is unclear as the plurality of laterals simultaneously can and cannot move upwardly away from a floor.
Claim 36 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “can”. The verb form of the word "can" carries multiple meanings in the English language. It can be used to indicate a physical ability or some other specified capability. It can also be used to indicate a possibility or probability.” "can" is indefinite, because it is susceptible to more than one plausible construction. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to a capability that is required to be present in the invention or whether it refers to a capability that is a mere possibility that is not required.
Claim 36 line(s) 3-4 sets forth the limitation “each of said plurality of laterals can move upwardly away from a floor” and Claim 36 line(s) 10-11 sets forth the limitation “preventing each of said plurality of laterals from moving upwardly away from the floor”. The claim scope is unclear as the plurality of laterals simultaneously can and cannot move upwardly away from a floor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-32,34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROBERTS (US 5911241) in view of BRANTON (US 3733064).
Regarding claim 30, ROBERTS teaches methods and apparatus for sludge collection (title, Figs.) including a method comprising the steps of:
(a) providing a header (also called spreader conduit, Fig. 1 #14; C3/L17; C4/L14) and a plurality of laterals (Fig. 1 #16; C4/L15) operably connected to said header (C3/L16-19; C4/L13-16) in a treatment container (Fig. 1 #50), each of said plurality of laterals can move upwardly away from a floor of the treatment container (the collection laterals being a hollow conduit are capable of being subject to forces associated with flow; C2/L44-46); and,
(c) preventing each of said plurality of laterals from moving upwardly away from the floor of the treatment container when a predetermined upward force acts on said plurality of laterals by exerting fluid pressure downwardly on said laterals (the container has a static head of water; C2/L58-60; see also the water line #W in Fig. 3 and thus a downward stabilizing force is present).
ROBERTS teaches the laterals are installed on the bottom (C3/L16-19), but is silent as to (b) a movement restricting member. However, BRANTON teaches a means for diffusing gases into liquids (title, Figs.) suitable for sludge processing (C1/L56) including a pipe grid (Fig. 1) having a header (distribution main, Fig. 1 #M) with a plurality of laterals (diffuser pipes, Fig. 1 #13); and,
(b) connecting a movement restricting member (Fig. 1 #26) to each of said plurality of laterals for restricting movement of said plurality of laterals upwardly away from the floor of a treatment container (“diffuser pipes #13 are retained on the floor F of the treatment tank”; C2/L46-48).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of ROBERTS with the movement restricting member of BRANTON in order to retain pipe-work on the bottom of the tank for sludge collection. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of water treatment systems. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claims 31-32, ROBERTS teaches each of said plurality of laterals is a sludge collection lateral (C2/L44-46).
Regarding claim 34, ROBERTS’s modified method teaches the movement restricting member includes an abutment portion (e.g. portion that is below the split line #28 of BRANTON Fig. 3) that is configured to rest on and abut the floor (Fig. 3 #F) of the treatment container to prevent said plurality of laterals from moving toward the floor of the treatment container (the laterals are abutting and being supported by the floor and thus prevented from moving toward the floor) and the fluid pressure acts on the abutment portion of the movement restricting member to prevent said plurality of laterals from moving upwardly away from the floor of the treatment container (C2/L46-48).
Claim(s) 30-32,34-38,40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROBERTS (US 5911241) in view of WINKLER (US 5714062).
Regarding claim 30, ROBERTS teaches methods and apparatus for sludge collection (title, Figs.) including a method comprising the steps of:
(a) providing a header (also called spreader conduit, Fig. 1 #14; C3/L17; C4/L14) and a plurality of laterals (Fig. 1 #16; C4/L15) operably connected to said header (C3/L16-19; C4/L13-16) in a treatment container (Fig. 1 #50), each of said plurality of laterals can move upwardly away from a floor of the treatment container (the collection laterals being a hollow conduit are capable of being subject to forces associated with flow; C2/L44-46); and,
(c) preventing each of said plurality of laterals from moving upwardly away from the floor of the treatment container when a predetermined upward force acts on said plurality of laterals by exerting fluid pressure downwardly on said laterals (the container has a static head of water; C2/L58-60; see also the water line #W in Fig. 3 and thus a downward stabilizing force is present).
ROBERTS teaches the laterals are installed on the bottom (C3/L16-19), but is silent as to (b) a movement restricting member. However, WINKLER teaches a diffuser conduit joint (title, Figs.) suitable for sludge processing (C1/L22) including a header (Figs. 1-2,4 #14) and a plurality of laterals (Figs. 1-2,4 #17) in a treatment container (Fig. 1 #1); and,
(b) connecting a movement restricting member (Fig. 4 #62) to the pipe for restricting movement of said pipe upwardly away from the floor (Figs. 2,4 #2) of the treatment container (forces may disrupt the alignment of the laterals thus should be kept on the tank floor; C6/L1-25).
WINKLER teaches the supports reduce expenditures and provide a more reliable operation (C14/L42-48).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of ROBERTS with the movement restricting member of WINKLER in order to retain pipe-work on the bottom in alignment of the tank for improved operation. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of water treatment systems. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claims 31-32, ROBERTS teaches each of said plurality of laterals is a sludge collection lateral (C2/L44-46).
Regarding claim 34, ROBERTS’s modified method teaches the movement restricting member includes an abutment portion (e.g. WINKLER Fig. 4 #63) that is configured to rest on and abut the floor (Figs. 1,6 #2) of the treatment container to prevent said plurality of laterals from moving toward the floor of the treatment container (the laterals are abutting and being supported by the floor and thus prevented from moving toward the floor) and the fluid pressure acts on the abutment portion of the movement restricting member to prevent said plurality of laterals from moving upwardly away from the floor of the treatment container (see ROBERTS Fig. 3 #W).
Regarding claim 35, ROBERTS’s modified method teaches the abutment portion includes an uppermost surface (surface of base, Fig. 4 #63) disposed below a lowermost portion of each of said plurality of laterals (lateral bottom, Fig. 4#17) that fluid pressure acts on to prevent each of said plurality of laterals from moving upwardly away from the floor of the treatment container (as the container is filled with material).
Regarding claim 36, ROBERTS teaches methods and apparatus for sludge collection (title, Figs.) including a method comprising the steps of:
(a) providing a header (also called spreader conduit, Fig. 1 #14; C3/L17; C4/L14) and a plurality of laterals (Fig. 1 #16; C4/L15) operably connected to said header (C3/L16-19; C4/L13-16) in a treatment container (Fig. 1 #50), each of said plurality of laterals can move upwardly away from a floor of the treatment container (the collection laterals being a hollow conduit are capable of being subject to forces associated with flow; C2/L44-46); and,
(c) preventing each of said plurality of laterals from moving upwardly away from the floor of the treatment container when a predetermined upward force acts on said plurality of laterals by exerting fluid pressure downwardly on said laterals (the container has a static head of water; C2/L58-60; see also the water line #W in Fig. 3 and thus a downward stabilizing force is present).
ROBERTS teaches the laterals are installed on the bottom (C3/L16-19), but is silent as to (b) a movement restricting member. However, WINKLER teaches a diffuser conduit joint (title, Figs.) suitable for sludge processing (C1/L22) including a header (Figs. 1-2,4 #14) and a plurality of laterals (Figs. 1-2,4 #17) in a treatment container (Fig. 1 #1); and,
(b) connecting a movement restricting member (Fig. 4 #62) to each of said plurality of laterals for restricting movement of said plurality of laterals upwardly away from the floor (Figs. 2,4 #2) of the treatment container (forces may disrupt the alignment of the laterals thus should be kept on the tank floor; C6/L1-25);
wherein said movement restricting member includes a vertically extending portion (Fig. 4 #62) and a horizontally extending portion (Fig. 7 #63) connected to a lower portion of said vertically extending portion.
WINKLER teaches the supports reduce expenditures and provide a more reliable operation (C14/L42-48).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of ROBERTS with the movement restricting member of WINKLER in order to retain pipe-work on the bottom in alignment of the tank for improved operation. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of water treatment systems. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claims 37-38, ROBERTS teaches each of said plurality of laterals is a sludge collection lateral (C2/L44-46).
Regarding claims 40-41 ROBERTS teaches the movement restricting member is L-shaped (Fig. 4 #62), which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize is half a T-shape and thus would be obvious to provide either shape (see also restricting members surrounding the header #14 of Fig. 4 including a mirrored L-shape).
Regarding claim 42, ROBERTS teaches the treatment container is a sludge collection container (C4/L6).
Telephonic Inquiries
/Liam Royce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777