DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, Fig. 9 in the reply filed on August 5, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter “flow guide surface 213” in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “water distribution mechanism” in claim 1.
In light of the specification, the corresponding structure of the “water distribution mechanism” has been interpreted as water distribution disk 41 in paragraph 0012.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2018/0318853 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Lin discloses a shower head with rotary jet water, comprising a shower head body (1), wherein the shower head body (1) is provided with a water distribution mechanism (3) and a plurality of first water outlet holes (cavity for 14), and the water distribution mechanism (3) is used to control a water delivery state of the first water outlet hole; a water partition disk (13) and a plurality of rotary mechanisms (41) are fixedly disposed in the shower head body (1), a plurality of pressurizing mechanisms (133) are disposed on the water partition disk (13), the pressurizing mechanism (133) comprises a plurality of water guide holes (133) annularly arranged, a flow guide surface (oblique structure of 133) inclined toward the first water outlet hole (P. 0037 and Fig. 2) is disposed inside the water guide hole (133), and the inclination direction of the flow guide surfaces of each pressurizing mechanism (133) is co-directionally disposed in a circumferential direction (shown in Fig. 6); the rotary mechanism (41) comprises a rotor (411) and a drive gear (412) in transmission connection with the rotor (411), the rotor is disposed below the pressuring mechanism (133), a rotary shaft (shaft of 412) corresponding to the first water outlet hole (14) is disposed on the drive gear (412), and the rotary shaft (shaft of 412) is rotatably mounted in the first water outlet hole (cavity for 14) and axially provided with an outlet water passage with two ends in communication (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 2, the device of Lin discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Lin further discloses a pinion (Fig. 2) is coaxially disposed on the rotor (411) and the pinion is in engagement transmission with the drive gear (412).
With regard to claim 4, the device of Lin discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Lin further discloses the outlet water passage (see annotated figure below) comprises a flow guide portion (see annotated figure below), a water outlet (see annotated figure below) and a flow expanding portion (see annotated figure below) sequentially connected, the water outlet (see annotated figure below) has a cross sectional area smaller than a cross sectional area of the flow guide portion (see annotated figure below), and the flow expanding portion is horn-shaped (see annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. in view of Leber (US 2008/0272591 A1).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Lin discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Lin does not disclose that the rotary mechanism further comprises a water partition piece embedded in an end of the outlet water passage away from the first water outlet hole, and a plurality of small holes are uniformly disposed on the water partition piece.
Leber teaches a shower head comprising a water partition piece (1102) embedded in an end of an outlet water passage (Fig. 7) away from the first water outlet hole, and a plurality of small holes (structure of screen) are uniformly disposed on the water partition piece (1102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary mechanism of Lin, by employing a water partition piece (1102) as taught by Leber in an end of the outlet water passage away from the first water outlet hole of Lin, doing it would prevent debris entering to the water outlet hole.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. in view of Grohe et al. (US 2011/0108640 A1).
With regard to claim 8, the device of Lin discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Lin does not disclose that the first water outlet holes are disposed to have several groups of different hole sizes.
Grohe teaches a shower head comprising water outlet holes are disposed to have several groups of different hole sizes (P. 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first water outlet holes of Lin, by forming several groups of different hole sizes as taught by Grohe, doing it would generate differently acting massage jets (P. 0031).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752