DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with regard to the Lau reference are no longer relevant to the current rejection, as in response to the amendment a new primary reference (Haller) is set forth below in place of the Lau reference.
Applicant also argued, “In particular, and as shown in FIG. 2 of Shi provided to the right, Shi discloses, at best, an inflatable bed main body including a first air-filled chamber 1 and a second air-filled chamber 2 that are communicated via the vent hole in the partition sheet 3 in a vertical direction (i.e., not length direction) of the inflatable bed main body. A plurality of pulling ribs 9 are arranged at intervals along a length direction of the inflatable bed main body inside the first air-filled chamber 1 and the second air-filled chamber 2. An inflating structure 4 is arranged in the second air-filled chamber. Therefore, Shi fails to disclose the first air-filled chamber and the second air-filled chamber arranged in the same plane extending along the length direction of the inflatable bed main body, and also fails to disclose that the first air-filled chamber communicates with the second air-filled chamber in the same plane extending along the length direction of the inflatable bed main body.”
This is not found persuasive. Examiner notes that when applied to the new Haller reference, the air chambers would communicate along their borders which would be the lengthwise/same-plane borders shown in Haller.
Applicant also argued,” In addition, the pulling ribs 9 disclosed by Shi function merely to shape the first air-filled chamber 1 and the second air-filled chamber 2, in contrast to the present application. In fact, the pulling ribs in the present application are made of TPU casting Oxford cloth, such that the part of the inflatable bed main body with the sponge layer has higher hardness than the part of the inflatable bed main body equipped with the pulling ribs and provides comfort and thermal insulation when people use the inflatable bed. In particular, the upper body lies on the part of inflatable bed where the sponge layer is provided, and the lower body lies on the part of the inflatable bed equipped with pulling ribs, which can meet the needs of use. At the same time, the usage amount of sponge is reduced, thereby reducing the volume of the product while improving the storage efficiency of an inflatable bed that is hard to store when completely filled with sponge layer. Thus, it can be seen that the function of the pulling ribs in the present application is different from that of the pulling ribs disclosed by Shi such that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify Shi to reach each and every limitation of the amended independent claim 1.”
This is not found persuasive. Currently claim 1 requires “a plurality of pulling ribs are arranged at intervals in the second air-filled chamber along the length direction of the inflatable bed main body, wherein the pulling ribs are made of TPU casting Oxford cloth,” and Shi teaches a plurality of pulling ribs are arranged at intervals in the second air filled chamber, with Xi teaching the pulling rib material as claimed. Thus, regardless of the intended use or reasoning for including the pulling ribs, the structure is taught by the prior art as set forth in the rejection below.
Applicant additionally argued, “Moreover, in Xia, the pulling ribs 6 are connected to the inner surfaces of the top and bottom sheets 2 and 3 to form a large-area connection area, thereby avoiding surface unevenness, increasing the human body contact area, and improving comfort. In contrast, in the present application, the pulling ribs are made of TPU casting Oxford cloth such that the part of the inflatable bed main body with the sponge layer has higher hardness than the part of the inflatable bed main body equipped with the pulling ribs. In this way, when people use the inflatable bed, the upper body lies on the part of inflatable bed where the sponge layer is provided, and the lower body lies on the part of the inflatable bed equipped with pulling ribs, which can meet the needs of use. At the same time, the amount of sponge material is reduced, thereby reducing the volume of the product and improving the storage efficiency. Therefore, it can be seen that the function of the pulling ribs in the present application is different from that of the pulling ribs disclosed by Xia.”
This is not found persuasive. As stated above, Currently claim 1 requires “a plurality of pulling ribs are arranged at intervals in the second air-filled chamber along the length direction of the inflatable bed main body, wherein the pulling ribs are made of TPU casting Oxford cloth,” and Shi teaches a plurality of pulling ribs are arranged at intervals in the second air filled chamber, with Xi teaching the pulling rib material as claimed. Thus, regardless of the intended use or reasoning for including the pulling ribs, the structure is taught by the prior art as set forth in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haller (Us Patent 5974608) in view of Shi (US Patent Application Publication 20220287475) further in view of Xia (US Patent Application Publication 20120000017).
Regarding claim 1:
Haller teaches an inflatable bed, wherein the inflatable bed comprises an inflatable bed main body (Figure 1; as shown), wherein an air-filled chamber is arranged in the inflatable bed main body (Figure 1; 13, 14, 16, 17); the air-filled chamber comprises a first air- filled chamber (Figure 1; 13) and a second air-filled chamber (Figure 1; 14, 16) arranged along a length direction of the inflatable bed main body (Figure 3; both chambers run along a length direction of the overall mattress); a sponge layer (Figure 1; 23, 24, 26) is filled in the first air-filled chamber; wherein the first air-filled chamber and the second air-filled chamber are arranged in a same plane extending along the length direction of the inflatable bed main body (Figure 1; 14/16 and 13 (see where 23 and 24 are on 13) are arranged along the same length in the same plane).
Haller does not teach a plurality of pulling ribs are arranged at intervals in the second air- filled chamber along the length direction of the inflatable bed main body; and an air pump is arranged in the second air-filled chamber, wherein the air pump is arranged at an end of the second air-filled chamber away from the first air-filled chamber, and wherein the first air-filled chamber communicates with the second air-filled chamber along the length direction of the inflatable bed main body, and wherein the pulling ribs are made of TPU casting Oxford cloth.
Shi teaches a plurality of pulling ribs (Figure 2; 9) are arranged at intervals in the second air-filled chamber along the length direction of the inflatable bed main body; and an air pump (Figure 2; 41) is arranged in the second air-filled chamber, wherein the air pump is arranged at an end of the second air-filled chamber away from the first air-filled chamber (Figure 2; 41, the pump is arranged at an end of the bottom chamber, spaced downward vertically from the top chamber. Examiner further notes when applied to Haller, this would be located next to valve 31, as shown in Shi, and thus would be located at an end of 16/14 which is away from first air filled chamber 13), and wherein the first air-filled chamber communicates with the second air-filled chamber along the length direction of the inflatable bed main body (Figure 2; vent hole formed in partition sheet 3, as shown, see also Paragraphs 23-24).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Haller (directed to a multi chamber air mattress) and Shi (directed to a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs) and arrived at a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination "so that each layer requires an inflating structure such as an inflating nozzle or a built-in inner pump" (Shi Paragraph 3) and so that each chamber has support (Shi Paragraph 10) and also so that "The upper air chamber 1 and the lower air chamber 2 can be inflated using the inflating structure 4, thereby solving the problems that in the prior art, the layers of the double-layer air cushion bed are independent of each other, each layer requires the inflating structure 4 such as an inflating nozzle or a built-in inner pump and needs to be inflated separately during inflation." (Shi Paragraph 24).
Xia teaches the pulling ribs are made of TPU casting Oxford cloth (Paragraph 49).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Haller (directed to a multi chamber air mattress) and Shi (directed to a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs) and Xia (directed to an air mattress with interior portions formed of TPU casted oxford fabric) and arrived at a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs made of TPU casted oxford fabric. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 2,
Haller teaches the inflatable bed main body comprises a top wall (Figure 2; 11, top), a side wall (Figure 2; the portion of 11 and 12 which forms the depth portion of the mattress) and a bottom wall (Figure 2; 12, bottom), wherein the side wall is arranged between the top wall and the bottom wall, such that the top wall, the side wall and the bottom wall form the air-filled chamber (Figure 3; as shown).
Regarding claim 3,
Haller does not teach one end of the pulling rib is connected to the top wall, and the other end is connected to the bottom wall.
Shi teaches one end of the pulling rib is connected to the top wall, and the other end is connected to the bottom wall (figure 2; 9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Haller (directed to a multi chamber air mattress) and Shi (directed to a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs) and Xia (directed to an air mattress with interior portions formed of TPU casted oxford fabric) and arrived at a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs formed of TPU casted oxford fabric. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination "so that each layer requires an inflating structure such as an inflating nozzle or a built-in inner pump" (Shi Paragraph 3) and so that each chamber has support (Shi Paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 4,
Haller does not teach a longitudinal section of the pulling rib is U- shaped, O-shaped or C-shaped.
Shi teaches a longitudinal section of the pulling rib is U-shaped, O-shaped or C-shaped (Figure 2; 9, and Paragraph 11).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Haller (directed to a multi chamber air mattress) and Shi (directed to a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs) and Xia (directed to an air mattress with interior portions formed of TPU casted oxford fabric) and arrived at a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs formed of TPU casted oxford fabric. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination "so that each layer requires an inflating structure such as an inflating nozzle or a built-in inner pump" (Shi Paragraph 3) and so that each chamber has support (Shi Paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 5,
Haller teaches an air valve (Figure 1; 31) is provided on the side wall corresponding to the first air-filled chamber and/or the side wall corresponding to the second air-filled chamber.
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haller (Us Patent 5974608) in view of Shi (US Patent Application Publication 20220287475) in view of Grinstead (US Patent Application Publication 20110035879).
Regarding claim 6,
Haller does not teach the sponge layer is penetratingly provided with a plurality of first through holes extending along a width direction of the inflatable bed main body. Grinstead teaches the sponge layer is penetratingly provided with a plurality of first through holes extending along a width direction of the inflatable bed main body (Figure 2b; 64). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Haller (directed to a multi chamber air mattress) and Shi (directed to a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs) and Xia (directed to an air mattress with interior portions formed of TPU casted oxford fabric) and Grinstead (directed to a foam layer with horizontal air vents) and arrived at a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs formed of TPU casted oxford fabric, and a foam layer with horizontal air vents. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because "a need exists for an orthopedic mattress that provides cooling as well as comfort to the user." (Grinstead Paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 7,
Haller does not teach a section of each of the first through holes is triangular.
Grinstead teaches teach a section of each of the first through holes is triangular (Paragraph 26).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Haller (directed to a multi chamber air mattress) and Shi (directed to a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs) and Xia (directed to an air mattress with interior portions formed of TPU casted oxford fabric) and Grinstead (directed to a foam layer with horizontal air vents) and arrived at a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs formed of TPU casted oxford fabric, and a foam layer with horizontal air vents. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because "a need exists for an orthopedic mattress that provides cooling as well as comfort to the user." (Grinstead Paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 8,
Haller does not teach the sponge layer is penetratingly provided with a plurality of second through holes extending along a height direction of the inflatable bed main body.
Grinstead teaches the sponge layer is penetratingly provided with a plurality of second through holes extending along a height direction of the inflatable bed main body (Figure 2b; 34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Haller (directed to a multi chamber air mattress) and Shi (directed to a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs) and Xia (directed to an air mattress with interior portions formed of TPU casted oxford fabric) and Grinstead (directed to a foam layer with horizontal air vents) and arrived at a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs formed of TPU casted oxford fabric, and a foam layer with horizontal air vents. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because "a need exists for an orthopedic mattress that provides cooling as well as comfort to the user." (Grinstead Paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 9,
Haller does not teach a section of each of the second through holes is circular.
Grinstead teaches a section of each of the second through holes is circular (Figure 2a; 34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Haller (directed to a multi chamber air mattress) and Shi (directed to a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs) and Xia (directed to an air mattress with interior portions formed of TPU casted oxford fabric) and Grinstead (directed to a foam layer with horizontal air vents) and arrived at a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs formed of TPU casted oxford fabric, and a foam layer with horizontal air vents. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because "a need exists for an orthopedic mattress that provides cooling as well as comfort to the user." (Grinstead Paragraph 8).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haller (Us Patent 5974608) in view of Shi (US Patent Application Publication 20220287475) in view of Brensinger (US Patent Application Publication 20170027334).
Regarding claim 10,
Haller does not teach the air pump is a foot-operated air pump.
Brensinger teaches the air pump is a foot-operated air pump (Figure 5; 30 and Paragraph 20).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Haller (directed to a multi chamber air mattress) and Shi (directed to a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs) and Xia (directed to an air mattress with interior portions formed of TPU casted oxford fabric) and Brensinger (directed to an foot pump) and arrived at a multi chamber air mattress including a pump and ribs formed of TPU casted oxford fabric, and a foam layer with horizontal air vents. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination "to inflate the inflatable sleeping pad of the first embodiment or to add more air to the self-inflating pad" (Brensinger Paragraph 20).
Conclusion
/MORGAN J MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 3673