DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed 12/2/2025, claims 1, 4-14, 17-19 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, in regards to Claim 1, Applicant argues the following:
First, the examiner believes that feature 4 has been taught by Jingming, and the applicant does not agree with the opinion of the examiner.
Jingming merely discloses that the diaphragm is attached to the MEMS die 11, and does not disclose the specific position (FIG. 2, Diaphragm 11, Column 7, Lines 1-2, "The diaphragm which is attached to the MEMS die 11 is not shown in FIG. 2. "), making it impossible to determine that the inner wall of the microphone shell, the diaphragm, and the plate enclose the lower chamber. The examiner believes that the MEMS die 11 disclosed by Jingming discloses the plate, while Jingming discloses that the diaphragm is attached to the MEMS die 11, meaning there is no space between the diaphragm and the "plate", and it is impossible that the diaphragm and the MEMS die 11 enclose the lower chamber. Further, the examiner believes that the microphone cover 8 and PCB 1, and MEMS die 11 disclose feature 4, that is, PCB 1 discloses the diaphragm, but PCB 1 is obviously not a diaphragm. And, this opinion of the examiner conflicts logically with the examiner's other opinion that PCB 1 disclosed by Jingming teaches the feature "a printed circuit board (PCB) provided in the microphone shell" claimed in the present application ("a printed circuit board (PCB) provided in the microphone shell (FIG. 2, PCB 1)").Simultaneously, this opinion of the examiner also conflicts logically with the examiner's further opinion that "The diaphragm which is attached to the MEMS die 11 is not shown in FIG. 2". Obviously, Jingming does not teach feature 4, that is, the "lower chamber" is neither disclosed nor taught by Jingming.
It is conceded that Jingming fails to disclose the lower chamber being surrounded by the features of the inner wall of a microphone shell, a diaphragm, and a plate, and further does not disclose this lower chamber in a manner as required by the limitations of the claimed invention. Isvan does appear to remedy these deficiencies however, in that it does disclose a diaphragm (FIG. 4, Diaphragm 4), a microphone shell (FIG. 4, Microphone Housing 3), and a plate (FIG. 4, Backplate 6), and further shows a chamber being defined by these three parts (FIG. 4, Air Gap 5), the rejection on this basis, is necessarily maintained, while modified in view of applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Applicant then further argues:
Second, the examiner believes that Isvan discloses features 1-3, that is, the "lower chamber" has been disclosed by Isvan. The applicant does not agree with the opinion of the examiner.
The examiner first believes that "Upper Space of Microphone 2 (not labeled), Lower Space of Microphone 2 (not labeled)" disclosed by Isvan discloses the upper chamber and the lower chamber. However, it is evident that the examiner also acknowledged that the Upper Space of Microphone 2 and the Lower Space of Microphone 2 were not labeled, which means Isvan does not specifically disclose the upper and lower chambers. But when subsequently analyzing features 2 and 3, the examiner proceeded on the basis that both the upper and lower chambers were disclosed in Isvan, which is clearly illogical.
Further, according to feature 4, the lower chamber is enclosed by the inner wall of the microphone shell, the diaphragm, and the plate. According to the examiner's analysis of Isvan's technical solution-namely, that the lower chamber is enclosed by the inner wall of the microphone housing 3 (i.e., the inner wall of the microphone shell), the diaphragm 4, and the backplate 6 (i.e., the plate. According to original claim 2, it can be seen that the plate is parallel to the PCB; based on the specification and drawings disclosed by Isvan, only the backplate 6 disclosed by Isvan meets the description of the plate). However, feature 3 discloses that "the lower chamber communicates with the first tuning chamber", the examiner believes that in Figure 7 disclosed by Isvan, the "Second Cavity 68 corresponds to the first tuning chamber", so the "Cancellation Port 14 communicates with Second Cavity 68" discloses that the lower chamber communicates with the first tuning chamber, which obviously does not conform to the basic logic of a person skilled in the art. As shown in Figure 4 disclosed by Isvan, Cancellation Port 14 is not in communication with the "lower chamber", which is the chamber enclosed by 3, 4, and 6. Instead, the space in communication with Cancellation Port 14 is located below the "lower chamber". Therefore, the "Cancellation Port 14 communicates with Second Cavity 68" logically fails to disclose "the lower chamber communicates with the first tuning chamber". Thus, feature 3 is neither disclosed nor taught by Isvan. Alternatively, if feature 3 were disclosed by Isvan, feature 4 could not possibly be disclosed by Isvan.
In summary, Isvan and Jingming do not disclose features 1-4, and a person skilled in the art would not reasonably expect or logically obtain the teaching of features 1-4 from Isvan or Jingming. Similarly, Lee, Huang, Li, and Lin neither disclose nor teach features 1-4.
Firstly, on the argument of the upper and lower chambers, while not explicitly labelled as such, the air gap 5 of FIG. 4 is seen to be surrounded by the necessary components as described within the first argument above, and appears to correspond to the lower chamber as described. Further, the upper chamber would correspond the space above the diaphragm with FIG. 4. As further argued, applicant states that as there is an intermediate space between the lower chamber and the second chamber, it would not be in communications with the external tuning chamber. While this space is present, it can be seen through FIG. 4 and FIG. 7 that these two sections are connected and the inclusion of this space would not necessarily result in the two sections being unable to communicate with one another, based upon the presence of port 14, and the gaps in the plate as shown in Backplate 6. As such, it is believed that the lower chamber as currently described, is taught by Isvan. It is for the above reasonings that it is believed that the features as previously taught by independent claim 1 and cancelled claims 2 and 3, are taught by Isvan in view of Jingming.
Further, the arguments based upon the amended feature of: “a position of the damping member is adjustable responsive to the damping member covering the first sound transmission hole or the second sound transmission hole”, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the damping member covering the first sound transmission hole or the second sound transmission hole" in Paragraph 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation as currently claimed appears to be describing multiple separate damping members, while only claiming “a damping member”, covering either a first sound transmission hole, the second sound transmission hole, the first sound receiving hole, or the second sound receiving hole, as it describes the position of the damping member to be adjustable responsive to the damping member covering the first sound transmission hole or the second sound transmission hole. This appears to state there are two separate damping members that are positioned relative to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isvan, US Patent No. 8509459 B1, in view of Jingming et al, US Patent No. 9380377 B2, further in view of Qi, US Publication No. 2021/0160629 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Isvan teaches, a directional microphone receiver (Title/Abstract, FIG. 4, Directional Microphone 2, FIG. 7, Boot 53), comprising: a housing (FIG. 7, Boot 53), having a first tuning chamber and a second tuning chamber (FIG. 7, First Cavity 66, Second Cavity 68), wherein a surface of the housing is provided with a first sound transmission hole and a second sound transmission hole (FIG. 7, Boot Ports 62, 64);
and the first tuning chamber communicates with the first sound transmission hole, and the second tuning chamber communicates with the second sound transmission hole (FIG. 7, Second Cavity 68 corresponds to the first tuning chamber, First Cavity 66 corresponds to the second tuning chamber, Second Cavity 68 communicating with Boot Port 64, First Cavity 66 communicates with Boot Port 62, Column 7, Lines 42-48, “Acoustic input signals from a user and noise sources pass through boot ports 62, 64 and cavities 66, 68; and are incident to the front port 12 and cancellation port 14, respectively, of microphone 2. The dimensions of the first cavity 66, second cavity 68, first port 62 and second port 64 may be selected to provide for an optimum acoustic response with the microphone 2 disposed within boot 53.”, states that the ports and cavities are designed to optimize the acoustic response of the microphone, performing an action of tuning the sound.);
and an electret condenser microphone (ECM) (FIG. 4, FIG. 7, Microphone 2, Column 4, Lines 15-20, “Generally, this description describes a method and apparatus for a noise canceling microphone and noise canceling microphone boot system. While the present invention is not necessarily limited to electret condenser microphones, various aspects of the invention may be appreciated through a discussion of various examples using this context.”), provided between the first tuning chamber and the second tuning chamber, and separating the first tuning chamber and the second tuning chamber (FIG. 7, Microphone 2, First Cavity 66, Second Cavity 68), wherein the ECM has a diaphragm, an upper chamber, and a lower chamber (FIG. 4, Diaphragm 4, Upper Space of Microphone 2 (not labeled), Lower Space of Microphone 2 (not labeled), as well as air gap 5);
the diaphragm is provided between the upper chamber and the lower chamber (FIG. 4, Diaphragm 4);
and the lower chamber communicates with the first tuning chamber, and the upper chamber communicates with the second tuning chamber (FIG. 4, FIG. 7, Primary Port 12 communicates with First Cavity 66 and Cancellation Port 14 communicates with Second Cavity 68).
wherein the ECM comprises, a microphone shell (Fig. 4, Housing 3), a PCB provided in the microphone shell (FIG. 4, PCB 10), and a plate parallel to the PCB (FIG. 4, Backplate 6), and the diaphragm is provided in the microphone shell (FIG. 4, shows diaphragm within the housing), an inner wall of the microphone shell, the diaphragm, and the plate enclose the lower chamber (FIG. 4, Air Gap 5), and the plate is provided with a first sound receiving hole, which communications with the lower chamber and the first tuning chamber respectively (FIG. 4, Gaps in backplate 6, and Port 14).
Isvan does not further teach, the inner wall of the microphone shell, the diaphragm, and the PCB enclose the upper chamber and the PCB is provided with a second sound receiving hole, which communicates with the upper chamber and the second tuning chamber respectively; Wherein the ECM further comprises a damping member, which covers the first sound transmission hole, the second sound transmission hole, the first sound receiving hole, or the second sound receiving hole, and a position of the damping member is adjustable responsive to the damping member covering the first sound transmission hole or the second sound transmission hole.
However, Jingming et al in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, and the inner wall of the microphone shell, the diaphragm, and the PCB enclose the upper chamber (FIG. 2, Microphone Cover 8, PCB 1, Mems die 11, does not label chamber enclosed by the three, but is present in the figure.);
and the PCB is provided with a second sound receiving hole, which communicates with the upper chamber and the second tuning chamber respectively (Column 5, Lines 42-48, "In another preferred embodiment of the present invention, the tuning cavity further includes a second tuning cavity which connects the first internal acoustic port and the first external acoustic port to form the sound transmission channel. Alternatively, the second tuning cavity may also connect the second internal acoustic port and the second external acoustic port to form the sound transmission channel."),
wherein the ECM further comprises a damping member, which covers the first sound transmission hole, the second sound transmission hole, the first sound receiving hole, or the second sound receiving hole (FIG. 2, Damping 13, Column 2, Lines 4-9, "The PCB 1 is provided with the acoustic port 2 and the acoustic port 10 wherein the inner outlet of the port 10 is covered by the damping 13 which is attached along the edge to the PCB 1 by the damping adhesive 12.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of a microphone shell, a PCB, and a plate parallel to the PCB in the layout as claimed, as taught by Jingming et al, with the system as taught by Isvan. The motivation being to provide a structure to contain the microphone system, and to create a proper support structure for the assembly.
Isvan in view of Jingming do not further teach, a position of the damping member is adjustable responsive to the damping member covering the first sound transmission hole or the second sound transmission hole.
However, Qi, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, a position of the damping member is adjustable responsive to the damping member covering the first sound transmission hole or the second sound transmission hole (Paragraph 107, “A damping layer is preferably set in a sound guiding hole 30 to adjust the phase and amplitude of the sound wave transmitted through the sound guiding hole 30.”, Paragraph 81, “the position, shape, quantity and/or size of the sound guiding holes and whether there is damping inside the holes. Thus, the position, shape, and quantity of sound guiding holes, and/or damping materials may be adjusted to reduce sound leakage.” Describes the adjustment of damping layer positions alongside the sound guiding holes, based upon the needs of optimizing the sound waves transmitted.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of a position of the damping member being adjustable responsive to the damping member covering the first sound transmission hole or the second sound transmission hole, as taught by Qi, with the systems as taught by Isvan in view of Jingming. The motivation being that adjusting the position of damping members is well known in sound devices, as it can further improve sound transmission and prevent sound leakage.
Regarding Claim 11, Isvan in view of Jingming further in view of Qi teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Isvan further teaches a sound device (Title/Abstract).
Claim(s) 4, 6, 7, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isvan, US Patent No. 8509459 B1, in view of Jingming et al, US Patent No. 9380377 B2, further in view of Qi, US Publication No. 2021/0160629 A1, further in view of Lee et al, US Publication No. 2014/0112518.
Regarding Claim 4, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not further teach, the housing comprising a case body and a cover plate, one side of the case body providing a side window, the cover plate covering the side window, and the two sound transmission holes are provided on the cover plate.
However, Lee et al teaches, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the housing comprises: a case body and a cover plate (FIG. 4, Plate Type Body 61, Case Frame 20);
one side of the case body is provided with a side window (FIG. 4, Window 10);
the cover plate covers the side window (Paragraph 42, "the case frame 20 coupled to the window 10 and having a constant internal space, a bracket 30 coupled with the window 10 within the case frame 20,");
and the first sound transmission hole and the second sound transmission hole are provided on the cover plate (FIG. 4, Microphone Hole 111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of a case body and a cover plate, the case body having a window, the cover plate covering the window, and the two transmission holes are provided on the cover plate, as taught by Lee et al, with the system as taught by Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi. The motivation being to provide a structure to contain the microphone system, and to create a proper support structure for the assembly.
Regarding Claim 6, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi, in view of Lee et al teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Lee et al further teaches, wherein the directional microphone receiver further comprises a mounting plate, which is provided in the case body (FIG. 4, Fixing Housing 40, Case Frame 20);
an upper edge of the mounting plate is connected to the cover plate, and there is a gap between a lower edge of the mounting plate and a bottom wall of the case body (FIG. 4, Plate type Body 61, Case Frame 20);
and a side of the microphone shell is connected to an inner side wall of the case body and the mounting plate respectively (FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi, in view of Lee et al teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Lee et al further teaches, wherein the case body is a sound transmission cover, or is composed of a plurality of sound transmission brackets (FIG. 4, Case Frame 20).
Regarding Claim 17, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi, in view of Lee et al teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Isvan further teaches, a sound device (Title/Abstract).
Regarding Claim 19, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi, in view of Lee et al teaches all the limitations of claim 6, and Isvan further teaches, a sound device (Title/Abstract).
Claims 5, 8, 12, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isvan, US Patent No. 8509459 B1, in view of Jingming et al, US Patent No. 9380377 B2, further in view of Qi, US Publication No. 2021/0160629 A1, further in view of Lee et al, US Publication No. 2014/0112518, further in view of Huang et al, US Patent No. 9357292 B2.
Regarding Claim 5, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not further teach the housing comprising a case body and a cover plate, the case body providing a side window, the cover plate covering the side window, where one sound transmission hole is provided on the cover plate, the other provided on a side of the case body, different to the side window, and the extension direction is perpendicular between the two sound transmission holes.
However, Lee et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the housing comprises: a case body and a cover plate (FIG. 4, Plate Type Body 61, Case Frame 20);
one side of the case body is provided with a side window (FIG. 4, Window 10);
the cover plate covers the side window (Paragraph 42, "the case frame 20 coupled to the window 10 and having a constant internal space, a bracket 30 coupled with the window 10 within the case frame 20,");
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of a case body and a cover plate, the case body having a window, the cover plate covering the window, as taught by Lee et al, with the system as taught by Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi. The motivation being to provide a structure to contain the microphone system, and to create a proper support structure for the assembly.
Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi in view of Lee et al does not further teach, the sound transmission holes are provided upon different sides of the case body, one upon the side the window is provided.
However, Huang et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor, teaches, the first sound transmission hole is provided on the cover plate, and the second sound transmission hole is provided on a side of the case body, which is different from the side where the side window is provided (Column 3, Lines 4-10, "With reference to FIG. 3, in a modified embodiment, the case 10 has an upper surface 16 and a side surface 17, the upper surface 16 is perpendicular to the side surface 17, the first acoustic opening 11 is formed on the upper surface 16, and the second acoustic opening 12 is formed on the side surface 17.");
and an extension direction of the first sound transmission hole is perpendicular to an extension direction of the second sound transmission hole (FIG. 3, First Acoustic Opening 11, Second Acoustic Opening 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of one sound transmission hole is on the cover plate, and the other provided upon another side, the extension direction being perpendicular, as taught by Huang et al, with the system as taught by Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi in view of Lee et al. The motivation being to allow for a different directionality within the assembly, and a more improved sound reproduction profile.
Regarding Claim 8, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi, in view of Lee et al, further in view of Huang et al, teaches all the limitations of claim 5, and Jingming further wherein the microphone shell is in interference fit or is bonded via curable adhesive with the case body and the mounting plate (Column 6, Lines 59-62, "A housing is formed by connecting the microphone cover 8 and the PCB 1. More particularly, the microphone cover 8 and the PCB 1 are secured together by the cover bonding adhesive 9, solder paste, or other bonding materials.").
Regarding Claim 12, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi in view of Lee et al, further in view of Huang et al teaches all the limitations of claim 5, and Lee et al further teaches, wherein the directional microphone receiver further comprises a mounting plate, which is provided in the case body (FIG. 4, Fixing Housing 40, Case Frame 20);
an upper edge of the mounting plate is connected to the cover plate, and there is a gap between a lower edge of the mounting plate and a bottom wall of the case body (FIG. 4, Plate type Body 61, Case Frame 20);
and a side of the microphone shell is connected to an inner side wall of the case body and the mounting plate respectively (FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi in view of Lee et al, further in view of Huang et al teaches all the limitations of claim 5, and Lee et al further teaches, wherein the case body is a sound transmission cover, or is composed of a plurality of sound transmission brackets (FIG. 4, Case Frame 20).
Regarding Claim 18, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi in view of Lee et al, further in view of Huang et al teaches all the limitations of claim 5, and Isvan further teaches, a sound device (Title/Abstract).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isvan, US Patent No. 8509459 B1, in view of Jingming et al, US Patent No. 9380377 B2, further in view of Qi, US Publication No. 2021/0160629 A1, further in view of Lee et al, US Publication No. 2014/0112518, further in view of Li et al, CN 106162471 A.
Regarding Claim 9, Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi, further in view of Lee et al teaches all the limitations of claim 4, but does not further teach, wherein the cover plate is a steel sheet with a thickness of 0.2 mm.
However, Li et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the cover plate is a steel sheet with a thickness of 0.2 mm (FIG. 1, vibration transferring sheet 1, See Claim 7, "(1) selecting the vibration transmission plate, and a panel is SUS 304 stainless steel material, (2) the vibration transferring sheet is made into a thickness of 0.08-0.2 mm, the panel into a thickness of 0.1-0.4 mm").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of a steel sheet with a thickness of .2 mm, as taught by Li et al, with the system as taught by Isvan in view of Jingming in view of Qi, in view of Lee et al. The motivation being the usage of a common material within the assembly to promote a more structurally sound apparatus.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isvan, US Patent No. 8509459 B1, in view of Jingming et al, US Patent No. 9380377 B2, further in view of Qi, US Publication No. 2021/0160629 A1, in view of Lee et al, US Publication No. 2014/0112518, further in view of Lin et al, US Publication No. 2010/0054493.
Regarding Claim 10, Isvan, in view of Jingming, further in view of Qi, further in view of Lee et al teaches all the limitations of claim 4, but does not further teach the case body being made of an elastic material or a plastic material.
However, Lin et al wherein the case body is made of an elastic material or a plastic material (Paragraph 52, "Housing portions 200 and 202 and frame 206 may be formed from any suitable material. As an example, some or all of housing portions 200 and 202 and frame 206 may be formed from plastic such as a blended plastic formed from polycarbonate and acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (i.e., PC/ABS plastic).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the case body being made of elastic or plastic material, as taught by Lin et al, with the system as taught by Isvan, in view of Jingming, further in view of Qi, further in view of Lee et al. The motivation being the usage of a common material within the assembly to promote a more structurally sound apparatus.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isvan, US Patent No. 8509459 B1, in view of Jingming et al, US Patent No. 9380377 B2, further in view of Qi, US Publication No. 2021/0160629 A1, further in view of Lee et al, US Publication No. 2014/0112518, further in view of Huang et al, US Patent No. 9357292 B2, further yet in view of Li et al, CN 106162471.
Regarding Claim 14, Isvan in view of Jingming, further in view of Qi, further in view of Lee et al, further in view of Huang et al teaches all the limitations of claim 5, but does not further teach the cover plate being a steel sheet with a thickness of 0.2 mm.
However, Li et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the cover plate is a steel sheet with a thickness of 0.2 mm (FIG. 1, vibration transferring sheet 1, See Claim 7, "(1) selecting the vibration transmission plate, and a panel is SUS 304 stainless steel material, (2) the vibration transferring sheet is made into a thickness of 0.08-0.2 mm, the panel into a thickness of 0.1-0.4 mm").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of a steel sheet with a thickness of .2 mm, as taught by Li et al, with the system as taught by Isvan in view of Jingming, further in view of Qi, further in view of Lee et al, further in view of Huang et al. The motivation being the usage of a common material within the assembly to promote a more structurally sound apparatus.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DYLAN MAGUIRE NEECE/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692