DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claim 1, amended dependent claims 4-6, cancelled dependent claims 2 and 3, and submitted new claims 12-15.
Applicant has submitted amended drawings to include descriptive labels on the drawings. Examiner withdraws objections of FIGs 1 and 2.
Regarding the rejections of claims 9-11 as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite. Applicant argues a “person of skill in the art would have understood that the charging network can provide AC or DC power to the vehicle. Commercial charging networks use high-voltage three-phase networks to charge multiple vehicles”. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of claims 9-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C.112(b).
Applicant argues that neither Miyakoshi nor Zhang disclose "a first three-point switch is provided, which that electrically connects the second high-voltage consumer system to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor in parallel" and "an (n-1)th three-point switch to electrically connect the nth high-voltage consumer system to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor in parallel".
Miyakoshi discloses an electric vehicle which uses switching unit 83 to connect and disconnect vehicle motor VM and vehicle air conditioner 1 from the high voltage battery 55 and the EVSE 79. Particularly Miyakoshi ¶0008 discloses “control unit has a power supply switching unit that switches between supplying power from the battery to the vehicle air conditioner and supplying power from an external power source to the vehicle air conditioner”, thereby switching unit 83 functions as a three-way switch between the battery unit and the grid power. Miyakoshi’s FIG 11 depicts the layout of switching unit 83 functioning as a three way switch vehicle air conditioner 1 between being connected to battery 55 and the plug 81. Miyakoshi does not teach multiple high voltage devices connected to the battery and grid power using dedicated three-way switches.
Zhang uses a plurality of connectors and switches to connect and disconnect high-voltage devices to the electric vehicle and the grid power. In both Miyakoshi and Zhang high voltage electric devices are connected and disconnected from both an electric vehicle battery using some form of switch. Miyakoshi uses switching unit 83, which as described in Miyakoshi ¶0008 is a three-way switch, to connect and disconnect the HVAC system. Zhang FIG 2B discloses using a switch to connect and disconnect AUX Bus Load 224, AUX Bus Load 226, and MAIN Bus Load 212 to the traction battery 234.
Starting with the structure of Miyakoshi, connecting the air conditioner 1 to plug 81 and battery 55 using switching unit 83, to incorporate multiple high voltage devices AUX Bus Load 224, AUX load 226, and MAIN Bus Load 212 as taught by Zhang in a similar manner to air conditioner 1. This would result in multiple high-voltage loads being connected to the battery 55 using switching units 83 which are three way switches, as detailed in Miyakoshi ¶0008 and FIGs 11-14. It is the combination of Miyakoshi and Zhang which discloses the claimed invention.
Applicant makes no further arguments regarding the prior art of record.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyakoshi et al (JP 2020179707 A1) modified by Reiter et al (US 20090302807 A1) and Zhang et al (US 202001225848 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Miyakoshi teaches a high-voltage device (1), comprising: a high-voltage battery (2), (FIG 1 and FIG 2, ¶0034 "vehicle VH of the embodiment to which the vehicle control system VC of the present invention is applied is an electric vehicle (EV) without an engine (internal combustion engine), and the battery 55 mounted on the vehicle VH is charged")
a first high-voltage consumer system (3), (FIG 1 and FIG 2 vehicle VH, ¶0034 "It is driven and traveled by supplying electric power to a traveling motor VM (electric motor)")
at least one second high-voltage consumer system (4); (¶0034 "FIG. 2 shows a configuration diagram of a vehicle air conditioner 1")
[at least one nth high- voltage consumer system, wherein n is an integer greater than 2 ]
and a charging terminal (6), wherein the high-voltage battery (2) is electrically connected to the first high-voltage consumer system (3) by means of a main contactor (5), (¶0035 "vehicle VH of the embodiment is provided with a port 78 for charging the battery 55 by an external power source (quick charger 79 in the embodiment), and when charging the battery 55, the vehicle VH is charged in a predetermined manner.")
and the high-voltage battery (2) is electrically connected to the charging terminal (6) by means of a charging contactor (7), (¶0080 “controller 73 controls the power supply switching unit 83 to switch to a state in which the electric wiring 91 and the power supply circuit 86 are connected… Power is supplied directly to the device 61 not from the battery 55 but from the quick charger 79 through the path of the plug 81”)
[wherein the charging contactor (7) is connected to the main contactor (5) in parallel,]
that the high voltage device further comprising: a first [three-point] switch (8) that electrically connects the second high-voltage consumer system (4) to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor [in parallel], [FIG 1 ¶0037 "electric wiring 88 for connecting the motor VM and supplying power from the battery 55 to the traveling motor M, the electric wiring 89 for connecting the power distribution unit 82 and the power supply switching unit 83, the power supply switching unit 83 and the vehicle air conditioner 1 The electric wiring 91 for connecting the above is provided"]
[and an (n-1)th three-point switch to electrically connect the nth high-voltage consumer system to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor in parallel.]
Miyakoshi does not teach wherein the charging contactor (7) is connected to the main contactor (5) in parallel, [that the high voltage device further comprising: a first] three-point switch (8) [that electrically connects the second high-voltage consumer system (4) to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor] in parallel, and an (n-1)th three-point switch to electrically connect the nth high-voltage consumer system to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor in parallel.
Reiter teaches [that the high voltage device further comprising: a first] three-point switch (8) [that electrically connects the second high-voltage consumer system (4) to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor]. (¶0032 “A switching arrangement S is designed and coupled to the on-board vehicle electric system BN, the consumer V and the energy accumulator DSK such that, in a first switching position 1, the energy accumulator DSK and, in a second switching position 3”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the high voltage device as taught by Miyakoshi to further comprise a three-point switch as taught by Reiter. Reiter’s three position switch S would take the place of Miyakoshi’s switching unit 83 to connect and disconnect the high voltage consumer devices. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to selectively connect the on-board vehicle electric system to different power sources in order to minimize passive losses due to energizing components which are not in operation.
Miyakoshi modified by Reiter does not teach at least one nth high- voltage consumer system, wherein n is an integer greater than 2 ; [that electrically connects the second high-voltage consumer system (4) to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor] in parallel, and an (n-1)th three-point switch to electrically connect the nth high-voltage consumer system to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor in parallel.
Zhang teaches further comprising at least one nth high- voltage consumer system, wherein n is an integer greater than 2; (FIG 2B AUX Bus Load 224, AUX Bus Load 226, and MAIN Bus Load 212)
wherein the charging contactor (7) is connected to the main contactor (5) in parallel, (¶0066 “auxiliary bus loads 224, 226 may be connected electrically in parallel with one another. In another example, each of the auxiliary bus loads 224, 226 may be connected electrically in parallel with the traction battery 106”)
[that the high voltage device further comprising: a first three-point switch (8) that electrically connects the second high-voltage consumer system (4) to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor] in parallel, (¶0066 “auxiliary bus loads 224, 226 may be connected electrically in parallel with one another. In another example, each of the auxiliary bus loads 224, 226 may be connected electrically in parallel with the traction battery 106”)
and an (n-1)th three-point switch to electrically connect the nth high-voltage consumer system (FIG 2B Aux Bus Load 224, Aux Bus Load 226, and MAIN Bus Load 212; ¶0054 "bussed electrical center (BEC) 236 of the traction battery 106 may be electrically connected to the battery cells 234 and may include a plurality of connectors and switches allowing a selective supply and withdrawal of electric energy to and from the traction battery 106")
to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor in parallel. (¶0066 “auxiliary bus loads 224, 226 may be connected electrically in parallel with one another. In another example, each of the auxiliary bus loads 224, 226 may be connected electrically in parallel with the traction battery 106”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the high-voltage device as taught by Miyakoshi modified by Reiter wherein the charging contactor (7) is connected to the main contactor (5) in parallel, [that the high voltage device further comprising: a first three-point switch (8) that electrically connects the second high-voltage consumer system (4) to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor] in parallel, and an (n-1)th three-point switch to electrically connect the nth high-voltage consumer system to at least the charging contactor and the main contactor in parallel as taught by Zhang. Miyakoshi’s FIG 11 depicts the layout of switching unit 83 functioning as a three way switch vehicle air conditioner 1 between being connected to battery 55 and the plug 81. Zhang uses a plurality of connectors and switches to connect and disconnect high-voltage devices to the electric vehicle and the grid power. In both Miyakoshi and Zhang high voltage electric devices are connected and disconnected from both an electric vehicle battery using some form of switch. Miyakoshi uses switching unit 83, which as described in Miyakoshi ¶0008 is a three-way switch, to connect and disconnect the HVAC system. Zhang FIG 2B discloses using a switch to connect and disconnect AUX Bus Load 224, AUX Bus Load 226, and MAIN Bus Load 212 to the traction battery 234. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce electrical load strain on the high-voltage battery to minimize deterioration and improve battery lifespan.
Regarding claim 4, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 1. Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang further teaches wherein the respective three-point switch (8, 10) has a first switch position, in which the second, third, and/or nth high-voltage consumer system is connected to the main contactor (5) and/or to the high-voltage battery (2). (Miyakoshi ¶0035 "vehicle VH of the embodiment is provided with a port 78 for charging the battery 55 by an external power source (quick charger 79 in the embodiment), and when charging the battery 55, the vehicle VH is charged in a predetermined manner.")
Regarding claim 5, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 1. Miyakoshi modified by Zhang wherein the respective three-point switch (8, 10) has a second switch position, in which the second, third, and/or nth high-voltage consumer system is connected to the charging terminal (6). (Miyakoshi FIG 1, ¶0037 "electric wiring 88 for connecting the motor VM and supplying power from the battery 55 to the traveling motor M, the electric wiring 89 for connecting the power distribution unit 82 and the power supply switching unit 83, the power supply switching unit 83 and the vehicle air conditioner 1 The electric wiring 91 for connecting the above is provided")
Regarding claim 6, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 1. Miyakoshi modified by Zhang wherein the respective three-point switch (8, 10) has a third switch position, in which the second, third, and/or nth high-voltage consumer system is disconnected and hence not connected to any of the main contactor (5), the high-voltage battery (2) and the charging terminal (6). (Reiter ¶0032 “A switching arrangement S is designed and coupled to the on-board vehicle electric system BN, the consumer V and the energy accumulator DSK such that, in a first switching position 1, the energy accumulator DSK and, in a second switching position 3”)
As detailed above to reject claim 1, Reiter’s three-position switch S would be substituted in for Miyakoshi’s switching unit 83. This results in a three-position switch which connects and disconnects the high-voltage loads to either mains power or battery power or disconnects them entirely. Functionally this would require the three-position switch to have a third switch position in which the high-voltage consumer system is disconnected and hence not connected to any of the main contactor, the high-voltage battery and the charging terminal.
Regarding claim 7, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 1. Miyakoshi modified by Zhang wherein the first high-voltage consumer system (3) comprises at least one drive unit for driving a motor vehicle. [Miyakoshi ¶0037 "The electric wiring 88 for connecting the motor VM and supplying power from the battery 55 to the traveling motor M, the electric wiring 89 for connecting the power distribution unit 82 and the power supply switching unit 83"]
Regarding claim 8, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 1. Miyakoshi modified by Zhang wherein the at least one second high- voltage consumer system (4) comprises at least one ancillary high-voltage consumer. [Miyakoshi ¶0054 "vehicle air conditioner 1 of the embodiment is provided with a battery temperature adjusting device 61 for adjusting the temperature of the battery 55 by circulating a heat medium in the battery 55 in addition to the air conditioning unit 60 as described above"]
Regarding claim 9, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 1. Miyakoshi modified by Zhang further comprising one main contactor (5). [Miyakoshi ¶0035 "vehicle VH of the embodiment is provided with a port 78 for charging the battery 55 by an external power source (quick charger 79 in the embodiment), and when charging the battery 55, the vehicle VH is charged in a predetermined manner."]
Regarding claim 10, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 1. Miyakoshi modified by Zhang further comprising one charging contactor (7) or one common charging contactor (7) are provided per phase. (Miyakoshi FIG 1, Miyakoshi ¶0037 "electric wiring 88 for connecting the motor VM and supplying power from the battery 55 to the traveling motor M, the electric wiring 89 for connecting the power distribution unit 82 and the power supply switching unit 83, the power supply switching unit 83 and the vehicle air conditioner 1 The electric wiring 91 for connecting the above is provided")
Regarding claim 12, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 1. Miyakoshi modified by Zhang wherein the (n-1)th three-point switch is further configured to be electrically disconnect from both the nth high-voltage consumer system the charging contactor and the main contactor. (Reiter ¶0032 “A switching arrangement S is designed and coupled to the on-board vehicle electric system BN, the consumer V and the energy accumulator DSK such that, in a first switching position 1, the energy accumulator DSK and, in a second switching position 3”)
As detailed above to reject claim 1, Reiter’s three-position switch S would be substituted in for Miyakoshi’s switching unit 83. This results in a three-position switch which connects and disconnects the high-voltage loads to either mains power or battery power or disconnects them entirely. Functionally this would require the three-position switch to have a third switch position in which the high-voltage consumer system is disconnected from both the nth high-voltage consumer system the charging contactor and the main contactor.
Regarding claim 13, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 1. Miyakoshi modified by Zhang further teaches wherein the (n-1)th three-point switch includes a first position that connects to the charging contactor. (Miyakoshi FIG 11 switching unit 83 when connected to electric wiring 86)
Regarding claim 14, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 13. Miyakoshi modified by Zhang further teaches wherein the (n-1)th three-point switch includes a second position that connects to the main contactor. (Reiter ¶0032 “A switching arrangement S is designed and coupled to the on-board vehicle electric system BN, the consumer V and the energy accumulator DSK such that, in a first switching position 1, the energy accumulator DSK and, in a second switching position 3”)
As detailed above to reject claim 1, Reiter’s three-position switch S would be substituted in for Miyakoshi’s switching unit 83. This results in a three-position switch which connects and disconnects the high-voltage loads to either mains power or battery power or disconnects them entirely. Functionally this would require the three-position switch to have a second switch position in which the high-voltage consumer system is connected to the charging contactor.
Regarding claim 15, Miyakoshi modified by Reiter and Zhang teaches the high-voltage device (1) of claim 14. Miyakoshi modified by Zhang wherein the (n-1)th three-point switch includes a third position that is electrically disconnected from both the nth high-voltage consumer system the charging contactor and the main contactor. (Reiter ¶0032 “A switching arrangement S is designed and coupled to the on-board vehicle electric system BN, the consumer V and the energy accumulator DSK such that, in a first switching position 1, the energy accumulator DSK and, in a second switching position 3”)
As detailed above to reject claim 1, Reiter’s three-position switch S would be substituted in for Miyakoshi’s switching unit 83. This results in a three-position switch which connects and disconnects the high-voltage loads to either mains power or battery power or disconnects them entirely. Functionally this would require the three-position switch to have a third switch position in which the high-voltage consumer system is disconnected from both the nth high-voltage consumer system the charging contactor and the main contactor.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Tate et al (US 20100280675 A1) discloses a method for managing electrical charging of an electrical energy storage device which connects and disconnects on-board high-voltage consumer systems to a charging terminal and/or the high voltage battery
Enthaler et al (US 20180001775 A1) discloses a high-voltage battery for a motor vehicle which uses a three-point switch to manage power distribution to consumer electronics.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859