Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-18, 22-23, 27-29, 33-34 and 36-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-23 and 27-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brahmavar et al (US 9246364 B2) in view of Ekin et al (US 20150303751 A1).
With respect to claim 16, Brahmavar discloses an electric motor with a rotor (fig. 1, rotor 20) and a stator (fig. 1, stator 18), wherein the rotor is rotatable about a rotation axis relative to the stator (col. 3 ln 54-55 “Rotor core 36 is substantially received in a central bore of stator core 28 for rotation along an axis of rotation X.”), the rotor comprising a rotor core (fig. 1, rotor core 36) formed by stacked rotor sheets (col. 7, ln. 5-7 “Alternatively, half-cores 76 and 78 are formed as a whole core and/or are fabricated from a plurality of lamination layers”), the rotor core comprising magnet receptacles which are each delimited radially outwardly by a radial stop (fig. 12, protrusion 64), and wherein the rotor has a plurality of permanent magnets (fig. 1-11, magnet 56), each permanent magnet being inserted into a magnet receptacle (fig. 2, radial aperture 46), a mounting device with a base body for mounting the permanent magnets (fig. 6, rotor core 20 and first and second end laminations 82 and 82), wherein the permanent magnets are adhesively bonded to the rater core and/or the mounting device, (col. 8, ln. 22-24 “Furthermore, retention material 108 may be used in place of, or in addition to, adhesives to retain magnet 56 within radial aperture 46.”) wherein the mounting device has at least partially flexible fixing elements for fixing the permanent magnets (col. 7, ln 20-22 “the sum of the thicknesses of laminations having connected rotor poles 88 is less than or equal to 2% of the total length of rotor core 36. Alternatively still, the sum of the thicknesses of laminations having connected rotor poles 88 is less than or equal to 1% of the total length of rotor core” and Col. 4, ln 30-31 “For example, laminations 44 are fabricated from multiple punched layers of stamped metal such as steel. “Examiner notes that the slim steel will be flexible).
Brahmavar does not teach “the fixing elements each projecting from the base body in the axial direction into the magnet receptacles and pressing the permanent magnets in the radial direction against the stops and wherein the mounting device axially delimits the magnet receptacles and forms respective axial stops for the permanent magnets wherein the base body forms one or more receiving chambers for receiving adhesive when adhesively bonding the permanent magnets to the rotor core and/or to the mounting device.”
Ekin teaches the fixing elements each projecting from the base body in the axial direction into the magnet receptacles and pressing the permanent magnets in the radial direction against the stops and wherein the mounting device axially delimits the magnet receptacles and forms respective axial stops for the permanent magnets (paragraph 36 “The front and rear end portions of each magnet (8), which is longer than the length of the magnet slots (7) in the axial direction or in other words, longer than the length of the core (2), extending outwards from the rear and front planar surfaces of the core (2) are embedded into the end rings (9) or end rings (9) are injected thereon”), wherein the base body forms one or more receiving chambers for receiving adhesive when adhesively bonding the permanent magnets to the rotor core and/or to the mounting device (abstract “two end rings (9) produced from non-magnetic materials such as aluminum and plastic and fixed on the front and rear planar surfaces of the core (2) by the injection molding method.” The examiner is interpreting the injection of plastic as acting as an adhesive and bonding the magnets to the core).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the end rings of Ekin in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 17, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Brahmavar further teaches the mounting device is integrally formed and/or is injection-molded (and Col. 4, ln 30-31 “For example, laminations 44 are fabricated from multiple punched layers of stamped metal such as steel” the Examiner is interpreting the end laminations being punched as integrally forming).
With respect to claim 18, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Brahmavar further teaches the rotor comprises a fan for cooling the electric motor, wherein the fan comprises or forms the mounting device (col. 3, ln 61-65 “In the exemplary embodiment, electric motor 10 is coupled to a fan or centrifugal blower (not shown) for moving air through an air handling system, for blowing air over cooling coils, and/or for driving a compressor within an air conditioning/refrigeration system.”).
With respect to claim 19, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the one or more receiving chambers are arranged axially below the permanent magnets and are axial open toward the permanent magnets.”
Ekin teaches the one or more receiving chambers are arranged below the permanent magnets (see figure 9, magnet receptacles are axially below the rotor) and are axial open toward the permanent magnets (see at least figure 9, end rings is axially open toward the magnet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the axial stops of Ekin in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 20, Brahmavar in view of teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the mounting device comprises or forms a stop element as axial stop for one or more permanent magnets, wherein the stop element laterally delimits one or more receiving chambers.”
Ekin teaches the mounting device comprises or forms a stop element as axial stop for one or more permanent magnets (paragraph 36 “The front and rear end portions of each magnet (8), which is longer than the length of the magnet slots (7) in the axial direction or in other words, longer than the length of the core (2), extending outwards from the rear and front planar surfaces of the core (2) are embedded into the end rings (9) or end rings (9) are injected thereon; thus, the magnets (8) are provided to be held in a rigid structure in the core (2)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the stop elements of Ekin in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 21, Brahmavar teaches the mounting device has a plurality of receiving chambers for receiving adhesive (col. 8, ln 22-24 “Furthermore, retention material 108 may be used in place of, or in addition to, adhesives to retain magnet 56 within radial aperture 46.”).
Brahmavar does not teach “wherein each magnet receptacle and/or each permanent magnet is assigned at least one receiving chamber.”
Ekin teaches wherein each magnet receptacle and/or each permanent magnet is assigned at least one receiving chamber (abstract “two end rings (9) produced from non-magnetic materials such as aluminum and plastic and fixed on the front and rear planar surfaces of the core (2) by the injection molding method.” The examiner is interpreting the injection of plastic as acting as an adhesive and bonding the magnets to the core).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the receiving chambers of Ekin in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 22, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Brahmavar further teaches the rotor core comprises stacked rotor sheets (col. 3, ln 41-42 “stator core 28 is formed from a stack of laminations made of highly magnetically permeable material.”), wherein the radial stops for the permanent magnets are formed by one, multiple or all rotor sheets (fig. 6, end laminations 82 and 84).
With respect to claim 23, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Brahmavar further teaches radial stops are formed as webs and/or are bent radially inwards and/or into the respective magnet receptacles (see at least figure 12 protrusions 64 are formed as webs), and/or wherein the radial stops each have lugs which project in the radial direction into the magnet receptacles and form a contact surface for the respective permanent magnet (see at least figure 12, radially inner protrusions 64 are formed as lugs).
With respect to claim 27, Brahmavar teaches a rotor and a stator, wherein the rotor is rotatable about a rotation axis relative to the stator (col. 3 ln 54-55 “Rotor core 36 is substantially received in a central bore of stator core 28 for rotation along an axis of rotation X.”), the rotor having a rotor core (fig. 1, rotor core 36) with magnet receptacles (fig. 1-5, radial aperture 46) which are each delimited radially outwardly by a radial stop (fig. 12, protrusion 64), wherein the rotor has a plurality of permanent magnets (fig. 1-11, magnet 56), each permanent magnet being inserted into a magnet receptacle (fig. 2, radial aperture 46 contains magnet 56), wherein the rotor has a mounting device with a base body for mounting the permanent magnets (fig. 6, rotor core 20 and first and second end laminations 82 and 82), wherein the permanent magnets are adhesively bonded to the rotor core and/or the mounting device, (col. 8, ln. 22-24 “Furthermore, retention material 108 may be used in place of, or in addition to, adhesives to retain magnet 56 within radial aperture 46.”) .
Brahmavar does not teach “wherein the mounting device axially delimits the magnet receptacles and forms respective axial stops for the permanent magnets wherein the base body forms one or more receiving chambers for receiving adhesive when adhesively bonding the permanent magnets to the rotor core and/or to the mounting device, wherein the one or more receiving chambers are arranged axially below the permanent magnets and are axial open toward the permanent magnets.”
Ekin teaches wherein the mounting device axially delimits the magnet receptacles and forms respective axial stops for the permanent magnets (paragraph 36 “The front and rear end portions of each magnet (8), which is longer than the length of the magnet slots (7) in the axial direction or in other words, longer than the length of the core (2), extending outwards from the rear and front planar surfaces of the core (2) are embedded into the end rings (9) or end rings (9) are injected thereon”), wherein the base body forms one or more receiving chambers for receiving adhesive when adhesively bonding the permanent magnets to the rotor core and/or to the mounting device (abstract “two end rings (9) produced from non-magnetic materials such as aluminum and plastic and fixed on the front and rear planar surfaces of the core (2) by the injection molding method.” The examiner is interpreting the injection of plastic as acting as an adhesive and bonding the magnets to the core) wherein the one or more receiving chambers are arranged axially below the permanent magnets and are axial open toward the permanent magnets (see figure 9, magnet receptacles are axially below the rotor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the end rings of Ekin in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 28, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Brahmavar further teaches the mounting device is integrally formed and/or is injection-molded (Col. 4, ln 30-31 “For example, laminations 44 are fabricated from multiple punched layers of stamped metal such as steel” the Examiner is interpreting the end laminations being punched as integrally forming).
With respect to claim 29, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Brahmavar further teaches the rotor comprises a fan for cooling the electric motor, wherein the fan comprises or forms the mounting device (col. 3, ln 61-65 “In the exemplary embodiment, electric motor 10 is coupled to a fan or centrifugal blower (not shown) for moving air through an air handling system, for blowing air over cooling coils, and/or for driving a compressor within an air conditioning/refrigeration system.”).
With respect to claim 31, Brahmavar teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the mounting device comprises or forms a stop element as axial stop for one or more permanent magnets, wherein the stop element laterally delimits one or more receiving chambers.”
Ekin teaches the mounting device comprises or forms a stop element as axial stop for one or more permanent magnets (fig. 8-9, magnets are axially stopped by end ring 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the stop elements of Ekin in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 32, Brahmavar teaches the mounting device has a plurality of receiving chambers for receiving adhesive (col. 8, ln 22-24 “Furthermore, retention material 108 may be used in place of, or in addition to, adhesives to retain magnet 56 within radial aperture 46.”).
Brahmavar does not teach “wherein each magnet receptacle and/or each permanent magnet is assigned at least one receiving chamber.”
Ekin teaches wherein each magnet receptacle and/or each permanent magnet is assigned at least one receiving chamber (figs. 4-5 and paragraph 34 “more than one magnet (8) tangentially magnetized, placed in the magnet slots (7) and extending outwards in the radial direction,”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the stop elements of Ekin in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 33, Brahmavar teaches a method of assembling an electric motor having a stator (fig. 1,statot 18) and a rotor (fig. 1, rotor 20) rotatable relative to the stator about a rotation axis (col. 3 ln 54-55 “Rotor core 36 is substantially received in a central bore of stator core 28 for rotation along an axis of rotation X.”), wherein the rotor has a rotor core (fig. 1, rotor core 36) with magnet receptacles (fig. 2, radial aperture 46 contains magnet 56) each of which is delimited radially outwardly by a radial stop (fig. 12, protrusion 64),the method comprising inserting a permanent magnet into one of the magnet receptacles (col. 8, ln 65-67 “each permanent magnet 56 is positioned within one radial aperture 46 by inserting magnet 56 therethrough in an axial direction parallel to axis X”) and adhesively bonding the permanent magnet to the rotor core (col. 11 10-13 “rotor poles 58 are coupled to central hub 140 in any manner that enables torque transmission between rotor poles 58 and central hub 140, for example, by adhesives, mechanical fasteners, etc.”), wherein the method further comprises: using a mounting device of the rotor when adhesively bonding the permanent magnet (col. 11 10-13 “rotor poles 58 are coupled to central hub 140 in any manner that enables torque transmission between rotor poles 58 and central hub 140, for example, by adhesives, mechanical fasteners, etc.”),
Brahmavar does not teach “pushing the permanent magnet into the magnet receptacle during insertion until it axially abuts the mounting device and receiving overdosed adhesive in a receiving chamber formed by the base body of the mounting device the receiving chambers are arranged axially below the permanent magnets and are axial open toward the permanent magnets.”
Ekin teaches wherein pushing the permanent magnet into the magnet receptacle during insertion until it axially abuts the mounting device (fig. 8-9 end ring abuts magnets) and receiving overdosed adhesive in a receiving chamber formed by the base body of the mounting device (abstract “two end rings (9) produced from non-magnetic materials such as aluminum and plastic and fixed on the front and rear planar surfaces of the core (2) by the injection molding method.” The examiner is interpreting the injection of plastic as acting as an adhesive and bonding the magnets to the core) the receiving chambers are arranged axially below the permanent magnets and are axial open toward the permanent magnets (see figure 9, magnet receptacles are axially below the rotor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor adhesively fixed of Brahmavar with the axial stops of Ekin in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 34, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Brahmavar further teaches, during insertion of the permanent magnet, pressing the permanent magnet in radial direction against the associated stop to fix the permanent magnet during curing of adhesive (col. 10, ln 19-28 “In the exemplary embodiment, pre-formed magnets 56 are inserted into radial apertures 46 defined between rotor poles 58. Alternatively, a polymer bonded magnet material is injected into the radial apertures 46 to form permanent magnets 56. In the exemplary embodiment, a non-magnetic polymer is injection molded into the region between rotor poles 58 and magnets 56, in the region between magnets 56 and rotor outer edge 40, and in spaces 106 defined by indentations 102 and 104.”), the pressing being performed by an at least partially flexible fixing element of the mounting device which projects axially into the magnet receptacle (col. 10 ln 38-39 “An annular end plate (not shown) is then positioned on rotor core ends.”).
With respect to claim 35, Brahmavar teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “inserting the permanent magnet into the magnet receptacle until it axially stops against a stop element formed by the mounting device.”
Ekin teaches the inserting the permanent magnet into the magnet receptacle until it axially stops against a stop element formed by the mounting device (paragraph 34 “than one magnet (8) tangentially magnetized, placed in the magnet slots”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the axial stops of Ekin in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 36, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Brahmavar further teaches temporarily using a guide device during insertion of the permanent magnet which forms a guide for the permanent magnet (col. 11, ln 42-44 “One or more magnets 56 are positioned radially about sleeve 138 between rotor poles 58 by inserting each magnet 56 axially and/or radially into radial aperture 46.” The Examiner is interpreting the positioning as encompassing the use of a guide to position the magnets).
With respect to claim 37, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Brahmavar further teaches magnetizing the permanent magnet only after insertion or only after curing of the adhesive (col. 11, ln 59-61 “Magnets 56 may be magnetized before insertion into the mold, or may be magnetized during or after the molding process.”).
With respect to claim 38, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Brahmavar further teaches wherein the mounting device is integrally formed and comprises blades such that the mounting device forms a fan for cooling the electric motor (fig. 16 marked below and col. 3, ln 61-65 “In the exemplary embodiment, electric motor 10 is coupled to a fan or centrifugal blower (not shown) for moving air through an air handling system, for blowing air over cooling coils, and/or for driving a compressor within an air conditioning/refrigeration system.”).
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brahmavar in view of Ekin in further view of UEDA et al (US 20200251942 A1).
With respect to claim 24, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the radial stops are formed as webs and/or are bent radially inwards and/or into the respective magnet receptacles, and/or wherein the radial stops each have lugs which project in the radial direction into the magnet receptacles and form a contact surface for the respective permanent magnet.”
Ueda teaches the fixing elements each extend into the magnet receptacles at least substantially up to half of the axial extent of the magnet receptacles (see at least figure 3, support 1 and inside support 2 take up at least half the cavity 37) and/or press at least substantially centrally onto a radially inwardly facing end face of the respective permanent magnet (paragraph 55 “The permanent magnets 33A, 33B are press-fitted in the support face 1a.” and paragraph 58 “The permanent magnets 33A, 33B are press-fitted in the support face 2a.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the end rings of Ekin with the fixing elements taking up at least half of the magnet receptacles of Ueda in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 25, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the fixing elements each have a head which presses with a radially outer contact surface against the permanent magnet and/or rests thereon.”
Ueda teaches the fixing elements each have a head which presses with a radially outer contact surface against the permanent magnet and/or rests thereon (see at least figure 3 and paragraph 55 “The permanent magnets 33A, 33B are press-fitted in the support face 1a.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the end rings of Ekin with the fixing elements heads of Ueda in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
With respect to claim 26, Brahmavar in view of Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the mounting device has pin-like fastening elements which project axially through the rotor core and fasten the mounting device to the rotor core.”
Ueda teaches the mounting device has pin-like fastening elements which project axially through the rotor core and fasten the mounting device to the rotor core (fig. 9, snap-fit unit 136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Brahmavar with the end rings of Ekin with the pin-like fastening element of Ueda in order to further secure the magnet to the rotor, thereby reducing the movement of the magnets inside the rotor which, in turn, reduces the chance of vibration increasing the motor’s lifespan due to the reduction in vibrational damage.
Conclusion
/R.O.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834