Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 1/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16 and 22 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ueda et al (US 20200251942 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 20-25 and 27--31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Ekin et al (US 20150303751 A1) in view of Uchida et al (US 5829120 A) in further view of Ueda et al (US 20200251942 A1).
With respect to claim 16, Ekin teaches a rotor (fig. 6, rotor 2) and a stator (fig. 1, stator 13), wherein the rotor is rotatable about a rotation axis relative to the stator (fig. 1, and paragraph 34 “rotational axis of the rotor 1”), the rotor having a rotor core (fig. 6, core 2), wherein the rotor core has a plurality of sector portions (fig. 6, pole segment 6), wherein a magnet receptacle, in which a permanent magnet is arranged (fig. 6, magnet slots 7), is formed between each two sector portions (paragraph 34 “more than one magnet slot (7) disposed between the pole segments (6),”), wherein each sector portion has two inner sides and an outer side (see figure 6, pole segment 6 has two inner and outer side), the inner sides each facing an adjacent permanent magnet (fig. 6, pole segment 6), and the outer side extending between the two adjacent permanent magnets and facing away from the rotation axis (fig. 6, pole segment 6 has a surface facing the stator), and wherein the sector portions have concave recesses each formed between one of the inner sides and an extension extending transversely from the inner side (see figure 6, pole segments 6 at their ends are shaped such that magnet slots 7 are concave).
Ekin does not teach “wherein the rotor core is formed by stacked rotor sheets, wherein webs are formed by individual rotor sheets that are formed differently from the other rotor sheets, and wherein the webs each form radial stops or radial contact surfaces for the permanent magnets; wherein the outer sides of the sector portions each curve from their center toward the adjacent permanent magnets with a continuously decreasing radius of curvature”
Uchida teaches wherein the rotor core is formed by stacked rotor sheets (fig. 12A, and col. 4, ln 40-44 “the rotor 10 are formed by stacking a plurality of core-laminations 26 made of magnetic materials such as silicon steel plates and joining them to each other.”), wherein webs are formed by individual rotor sheets that are formed differently from the other rotor sheets (fig. 12A and throughout, integral core-laminations), and wherein the webs each form radial stops or radial contact surfaces for the permanent magnets (see at least figures 8-9 and throughout, magnets are between the gaps of the integral core-laminations which provide at least contact surfaces).
Uchida does not teach “wherein the outer sides of the sector portions each curve from their center toward the adjacent permanent magnets with a continuously decreasing radius of curvature.”
Ueda teaches wherein the outer sides of the sector portions each curve from their center toward the adjacent permanent magnets with a continuously decreasing radius of curvature (fig. 5, end 34b are curved toward center of magnets),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Ekin with the webs formed via individual laminations of Uchida with the curved sheets of Ueda in order to properly secure the magnets in the rotor thereby reducing vibration and vibrational damages to the rotor which increases the rotor and motor lifespan.
With respect to claim 17, Ekin in view of Uchida in view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches the curvature of the outer sides can be described by an inverse cosine function (see at least figure 6-7, outer edge of pole 6 is curved as be described by an inverse cosine function).
With respect to claim 18, Ekin in view of Uchida in view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the width of the magnet receptacle in the region of two opposite recesses is greater than in the region of two opposite inner sides (fig. 6, magnet slots are wider toward the center of the rotor).
With respect to claim 19, Ekin in view of Uchida in view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the magnet receptacles are at least partially delimited in the radial direction by two extensions each of two adjacent sector portions (fig. 6, magnet slots 7 have their boundaries set by the pole 6).
With respect to claim 20, Ekin in view of Uchida in view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the opposing extensions of two adjacent sector portions are interconnected by one or more webs (fig. 7 marked below).
Ekin Figure 7
With respect to claim 21, Ekin teaches wherein the rotor core is formed by stacked rotor sheets (paragraph 34 “a cylindrical core (2) produced from ferromagnetic laminations”).
Ekin does not teach “wherein the extensions are formed by all rotor sheets and the webs are formed only by individual rotor sheets.”
Uchida teaches wherein the extensions are formed by all rotor sheets and the webs are formed only by individual rotor sheets (see at least figure 12, two mutually superimposed integral core-laminations 58 are formed by individual laminations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Ekin with the webs formed via individual laminations of Uchida with the decreasing radius of Ueda in order to increase the strength and integrity of the rotor core while reducing unwanted additional flux paths of fully laminated sheets.
With respect to claim 22, Ekin teaches a rotor (fig. 6, rotor 2) and a stator (fig. 1, stator 13), wherein the rotor is rotatable about a rotation axis relative to the stator (fig. 1, and paragraph 34 “rotational axis of the rotor 1”), the rotor having a rotor core (fig. 6, core 2), wherein the rotor core has a plurality of sector portions (fig. 6, pole segment 6), wherein a magnet receptacle, in which a permanent magnet is arranged (fig. 6, magnet slots 7), is formed between each two sector portions, wherein each sector portion has two inner sides (fig. 6, pole segment 6) and an outer side, the inner sides each facing an adjacent permanent magnet (fig. 6, pole segment 6 has a surface facing the stator), and the outer side extending between the two adjacent permanent magnets and facing away from the rotation axis (fig. 6, pole segment 6 facing toward each magnet),
Ekin does not teach “wherein the rotor core is formed by stacked rotor sheets, wherein webs are formed by individual rotor sheets that are formed differently from the other rotor sheets, and wherein the webs each form radial stops or radial contact surfaces for the permanent magnets; wherein at least one of: the outer sides of the sector portions each curve from their center toward the adjacent permanent magnets with a continuously decreasing radius of curvature, or the sector portions have concave recesses each formed between one of the inner sides and an extension extending transversely from the inner side.”
Uchida teaches wherein the rotor core is formed by stacked rotor sheets (fig. 12A, and col. 4, ln 40-44 “the rotor 10 are formed by stacking a plurality of core-laminations 26 made of magnetic materials such as silicon steel plates and joining them to each other.”), wherein webs are formed by individual rotor sheets that are formed differently from the other rotor sheets (fig. 12A and throughout, integral core-laminations), and wherein the webs each form radial stops or radial contact surfaces for the permanent magnets (see at least figures 8-9 and throughout, magnets are between the gaps of the integral core-laminations which provide at least contact surfaces).
Uchida does not teach “wherein at least one of: the outer sides of the sector portions each curve from their center toward the adjacent permanent magnets with a continuously decreasing radius of curvature, or the sector portions have concave recesses each formed between one of the inner sides and an extension extending transversely from the inner side.”
Ueda teaches wherein at least one of: the outer sides of the sector portions each curve from their center toward the adjacent permanent magnets with a continuously decreasing radius of curvature (fig. 5, end 34b are curved toward center of magnets), or the sector portions have concave recesses each formed between one of the inner sides and an extension extending transversely from the inner side (see figure 5, recess at second wall 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Ekin with the webs formed via individual laminations of Uchida with the curved portions of Ueda in order to properly secure the magnets in the rotor thereby reducing vibration and vibrational damages to the rotor which increases the rotor and motor lifespan.
With respect to claim 23, Ekin in view of Uchida in further view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the curvature of the outer sides can be described by an inverse cosine function (see at least figure 6-7, outer edge of pole 6 is curved as be described by an inverse cosine function).
With respect to claim 24, Ekin in view of Uchida in further view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the opposing inner sides of two sector portions are at least substantially parallel to each other (fig. 4, surfaces of pole 6 are substantially parallel) and laterally and/or circumferentially delimit the magnet receptacle formed therebetween, so that the magnet receptacle has an at least substantially constant width (fig. 4, magnet slots 7 have their boundaries set by the pole 6).
With respect to claim 25, Ekin in view of Uchida in further view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the width of the magnet receptacle in the region of two opposite recesses is greater than in the region of two opposite inner sides (fig. 6, magnet slot 7 is wider near the center of the rotor).
With respect to claim 26, Ekin in view of Uchida in further view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the magnet receptacles are at least partially delimited in the radial direction by two extensions each of two adjacent sector portions (fig. 7, magnet slot 7 is defined by the pole pieces 6).
With respect to claim 27, Ekin in view of Uchida in further view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the opposing extensions of two adjacent sector portions are interconnected by one or more webs (see figure 7 marked above).
With respect to claim 28, Ekin teaches wherein the rotor core is formed by stacked rotor sheets (paragraph 34 “a cylindrical core (2) produced from ferromagnetic laminations”).
Ekin does not teach “wherein the extensions are formed by all rotor sheets and the webs are formed only by individual rotor sheets.”
Uchida teaches wherein the extensions are formed by all rotor sheets and the webs are formed only by individual rotor sheets (see at least figure 12, two mutually superimposed integral core-laminations 58 are formed by individual laminations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Ekin with the webs formed via individual laminations of Uchida with the curved portions of Ueda in order to increase the strength and integrity of the rotor core while reducing unwanted additional flux paths of fully laminated sheets.
With respect to claim 29, Ekin in view of Uchida in further view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the rotor core has one or more balancing holes arranged on one or both axial end faces of the rotor core (fig. 7, hole 10).
With respect to claim 30, Ekin in view of Uchida in further view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the rotor core comprises a plurality of openings arranged annularly around the rotation axis between the rotation axis and the sector portions (fig. 7, magnet slots 7), the openings being at least substantially rectangular in a cross-section orthogonal to the rotation axis (fig. 7, magnet slots 7 are substantially rectangular in cross-section).
With respect to claim 31, Ekin in view of Uchida in further view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches wherein the permanent magnets project axially beyond the rotor core (fig. 6, magnets 8 project outside of the core 2).
With respect to claim 36, Ekin in view of Uchida in further view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin does not teach “the webs each have a lug which form the radial stops and extend in radial direction into the magnet receptacles.”
Uchida teaches the webs each have a lug which form the radial stops and extend in radial direction into the magnet receptacles (fig. 13, tips of core-lamination sections 102 at the inner edge 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Ekin with the webs formed via individual laminations of Uchida with the curved portions of Ueda in order to increase the strength and integrity of the rotor core while reducing unwanted additional flux paths of fully laminated sheets.
With respect to claim 37, Ekin in view of Uchida in further view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin does not teach “the webs each have a lug which form the radial stops and extend in radial direction into the magnet receptacles.”
Uchida teaches the webs each have a lug which form the radial stops and extend in radial direction into the magnet receptacles (fig. 13, tips of core-lamination sections 102 at the inner edge 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Ekin with the webs formed via individual laminations of Uchida with the curved portions of Ueda in order to increase the strength and integrity of the rotor core while reducing unwanted additional flux paths of fully laminated sheets.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekin in view of Uchida in view of Ueda in further view of Brahmavar et al (US 9246364 B2).
With respect to claim 32, Ekin in view of Uchida in view of Ueda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Ekin further teaches the rotor core has a diameter of at least 70 mm and/or at most 85 mm (see at least figure 6 and paragraph 34 “brushless direct current electric motors (12) driving the components like drum, circulation pump and discharge pump in household appliances like laundry washing and/or drying machine and dishwasher,” Further Ekin teaches the claimed invention except the specific range of the diameter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select this range of values for the rotor geometry, the diameter, in order to better shape the magnetic flux, thereby increasing the efficiency of the rotor, and/or utilize the motor for specific size constrained applications, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Here, the value of the range of the diameter would have been found after iterating on the motor geometry in order to improve the magnetic flux shape and its application specific size.), and/or wherein the rotor core has a height of at least 15 mm and/or at most 25 mm (see at least figure 6 and paragraph 34 “brushless direct current electric motors (12) driving the components like drum, circulation pump and discharge pump in household appliances like laundry washing and/or drying machine and dishwasher,” Further Ekin teaches the claimed invention except the specific range of the height. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select this range of values for the rotor geometry, the height, in order to better shape the magnetic flux, thereby increasing the efficiency of the rotor, and/or utilize the motor for specific size constrained applications, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Here, the value of the range of the height would have been found after iterating on the motor geometry in order to improve the magnetic flux shape and its application specific size.), and/or wherein the rotor core is formed by at least 35 and/or at most 45 stacked rotor sheets, (paragraph 34 “a cylindrical core (2) produced from ferromagnetic laminations.” Further Ekin teaches the claimed invention except the specific range of the number of laminations. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select this range of values for the number of laminations, in order to utilize the motor for specific size constrained applications, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Here, the value of the range of the number of laminations would have been found after iterating on the motor geometry in order to tailor the motor for its application specific size.) and/or wherein the rotor core is formed by stacked rotor sheets (paragraph 34 “a cylindrical core (2) produced from ferromagnetic laminations.”), wherein two, three or more rotor sheets have webs which each form radial stops or radial contact surfaces for the permanent magnets (see figure 7 marked above), and/or wherein the rotor core is formed by stacked rotor sheets (paragraph 34 “a cylindrical core (2) produced from ferromagnetic laminations.”), and/orwherein the permanent magnets and/or the magnet receptacles each have a width of at least 4 im and/or at most 6.5 mm-n (paragraph 35 “the rotor (1) of the present invention comprises the magnets (8), of which the length in the axial direction is longer than the length of the magnet slots (7)” Further Ekin teaches the claimed invention except the specific range of size of the magnets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select this range of values for the size of the magnets, in order to utilize the motor for specific size constrained applications, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Here, the value of the range of the size of the magnets would have been found after iterating on the motor geometry in order to tailor the motor for its application specific size.), and/or wherein the permanent magnets have a square base (fig. 3-5, magnets 8 are square), and/or wherein the rotor core has balancing holes (fig. 4, hole 10), each sector portion having a maximum of two balancing holes on its upper side and/or a maximum of two balancing holes on its lower side (see at least figure 4-5, there are a plurality of holes 10 as well as unmarked holes above and below the numerated hole 10).
Ekin does not teach “the rotor comprises exactly ten sector portions and exactly ten permanent magnets arranged alternately on a circular circumference, each sector portion having exactly three punch areas for holding the rotor sheets together”
Brahmavar teaches the rotor comprises exactly ten sector portions and exactly ten permanent magnets arranged alternately on a circular circumference (fig. 16, there are 10 magnets 56), each sector portion having exactly three punch areas for holding the rotor sheets together, (col. 11, ln 31-33 “As such, the bridges of end lamination 154 secure rotor core 36 and increase rigidity during punch and interlock, stacking, and/or transport”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Ekin with the webs formed via individual laminations of Uchida with the curved portions of Ueda with the magnet number and punch areas of Brahmavar in order to increase the strength and integrity of the rotor core while producing optimized flux paths in order to achieve a desired power output.
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekin in view of Brahmavar et al (US 9246364 B2).
With respect to claim 33, Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “method of manufacturing an electric motor having a stator and a rotor rotatable relative to the stator about a rotation axis, wherein the rotor has a rotor core with magnet receptacles, comprising: inserting permanently magnetizable components or permanent magnets into the magnet receptacles and fixing the permanently magnetizable components or permanent magnets to the rotor core, balancing the rotor after inserting and fixing the permanently magnetizable components or permanent magnets, the balancing being performed by balancing holes placed on one or both axial faces of the rotor core.”
Brahmavar teaches a method of manufacturing an electric motor having a stator and a rotor rotatable relative to the stator about a rotation axis, wherein the rotor has a rotor core with magnet receptacles, comprising: inserting permanently magnetizable components or permanent magnets into the magnet receptacles (col. 11, ln. 43-44 “inserting each magnet 56 axially and/or radially into radial aperture 46”) and fixing the permanently magnetizable components or permanent magnets to the rotor core (col. 11, ln. 44-46 “One or more end laminations 154 are positioned on rotor core end 12 and/or 14, and rotor core 36 is located in a mold (not shown”), balancing the rotor after inserting and fixing the permanently magnetizable components or permanent magnets, the balancing being performed by balancing holes placed on one or both axial faces of the rotor core (col. 11, ln. 40-41 “. The laminations are stacked and may or may not be indexed to reduce rotor imbalances.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Ekin with the method of manufacture of Brahmavar in order to assemble the rotor such that it would be balanced therefore increasing the lifespan of the motor via reducing unwanted vibrations.
With respect to claim 34, Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “The method according to claim 33, further comprising magnetizing the permanently magnetizable components after balancing the rotor.”
Brahmavar teaches magnetizing the permanently magnetizable components after balancing the rotor (Col. 11, ln. 59-60 “Magnets 56 may be magnetized before insertion into the mold, or may be magnetized during or after the molding process.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Ekin with the method of manufacture of Brahmavar in order to assemble the rotor such that it would be balanced therefore increasing the lifespan of the motor via reducing unwanted vibrations.
With respect to claim 35, Ekin teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the electric motor comprises a housing part, a fan wheel, and/or other component, wherein the housing part, fan wheel and/or other component is mounted before balancing the rotor, wherein the balancing holes are placed through clearances in the component.”
Brahmavar teaches the electric motor comprises a housing part, a fan wheel, and/or other component (col. 3, ln 61-65 “) In the exemplary embodiment, electric motor 10 is coupled to a fan or centrifugal blower (not shown) for moving air through an air handling system, for blowing air over cooling coils, and/or for driving a compressor within an air conditioning/refrigeration system.” And end lamination 154, see figure 16), wherein the housing part, fan wheel and/or other component is mounted before balancing the rotor (col. 11, ln 61-2 “End lamination 154 may be coupled to rotor core 36 before, during or after the molding process.”), wherein the balancing holes are placed through clearances in the component (col. 11, ln. 49-53 “A non-magnetic polymer is injection molded into the region between rotor poles 58 and magnets 56, in the region between magnets 56 and rotor outer edge 40, and in the region between sleeve 138 and rotor poles 58 and magnets 56 to form central hub 140.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Ekin with the method of manufacture of Brahmavar in order to assemble the rotor such that it would be balanced therefore increasing the lifespan of the motor via reducing unwanted vibrations.
Conclusion
/R.O.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834