DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (JP2004063299A) in view of Mizue et al. (JP2011192482A). Regarding claim 1, Ishida discloses a temperature control apparatus with a case 2 comprising an open front surface (Fig. 3, not numbered), a top surface (Fig. 3, not numbered) extending from an upper end of the front surface rearward, a bottom surface (Fig. 3, not numbered) extending from a lower end of the front surface rearward; left and right side surfaces (Fig. 3, not numbered) extending from left and right side ends of the front surface, and a rear surface 2a connecting rear ends of the top surface, the bottom surface, and the left and right side surfaces, a front cover 2 shielding the front surface, a display panel 4 disposed behind the front cover 2, and one or more terminal portions 14 electrically connected to a module board 6, wherein a circuit terminal coming into contact with a connection pin of the terminal portion 14 is formed on one side surface of a rear end portion of the module board 6, and wherein the rear end portion (Fig. 4) of the module board 6 on which the circuit terminal is formed passes through a slit 7 formed in the rear surface 2a of the case 2 and protrudes to an outside of the rear surface 2a of the case 2. Ishida does not disclose a base board coupled to a rear surface of the front panel and having a front surface on which the display panel is mounted and that the module board is coupled to a rear surface of the base board in a direction perpendicular to the base board.
Mizue et al. teaches for a temperature control apparatus with a case 23 comprising an open front surface (Fig. 2, not numbered), a top surface 36a extending from an upper end of the front surface rearward, a bottom surface 36c extending from a lower end of the front surface rearward; left and right side surfaces 36b, 36d extending from left and right side ends of the front surface, and a rear surface 24 connecting rear ends of the top surface 36a, the bottom surface 36c, and the left and right side surfaces 36b,36d, a front cover 22 shielding the front surface, a display panel 15 disposed behind the front cover 22, and one or more terminal portions (Fig. 3, 6, and 7, not numbered) and that there is (claim 1) a base board 31 coupled to a rear surface of the front panel and having a front surface on which the display panel 15 is mounted (Fig. 2, tabs on board 31, not numbered) and that the module board 17a, 17b is coupled to a rear surface of the base board 31 in a direction perpendicular to the base board 31 for the purposes of providing support to the base board and module board within the case. See Mizue et al. paragraph [0024].
Since Ishida and Mizue et al. are both in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Mizue et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Ishida. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature control apparatus of Ishida to include a base board coupled to a rear surface of the front panel and having a front surface on which the display panel is mounted and that the module board is coupled to a rear surface of the base board in a direction perpendicular to the base board for the purposes of providing support to the base board and module board within the case.
Regarding claim 2, Ishida discloses that the case further comprises: a plurality of partition ribs 20 extending from the rear surface and spaced apart from each other at predetermined intervals (Fig. 5), and a terminal support portion 10 formed between two adjacent partition ribs 20 and supporting the terminal portion 10 from an outside of the rear surface, wherein the rear end portion of the module board 6 at which the circuit terminal is formed is disposed in an intermediate space formed between the rear surface 2a and the terminal support portion 10.
Regarding claim 6, Ishida discloses that the case 2 comprises an insertion guide 8 protruding upward from the bottom surface 2d.
Regarding claim 7, Ishida discloses that a board insertion hole is formed inside the insertion guide 8, wherein the board insertion hole comprises: a tapered portion extending in a direction in which a width decreases from a front end of the insertion guide 8 toward a rear side (Fig. 9), and a straight portion extending from a rear end of the tapered portion to a rear end of the insertion guide 8 in a straight line form (Fig. 9), wherein the straight portion and the slit 7 are aligned on a same vertical plane (Fig. 8,9).
Regarding claim 8, Ishida discloses that a guide rib (Fig. 8, 9, not numbered) protruding from an inner surface of the rear surface of the case corresponding to an edge of the slit.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida and Mizue et al., as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of Youn (KR101811407). Ishida, as modified, discloses all of the claimed subject matter except for a temperature compensation module mounted on the main coupling pin, wherein a first opening that is larger than the slit is formed on the rear surface of the case, in order to accommodate the rear end portion of the module board and at least a portion of the temperature compensation module.
Youn teaches for a temperature control apparatus with a case 201, a module board 210, and one or more terminal portions 220 electrically connected to a module board 210, and that there is (claim 3) a temperature compensation module 223 mounted on the main coupling pin 221, wherein a first opening (Fig. 7b) that is larger than the slit is formed on the rear surface of the case 201, in order to accommodate the rear end portion of the module board 210 and at least a portion of the temperature compensation module 223 for the purposes of preventing short circuiting between the main coupling pin and the sub-coupling pin. See Youn, Abstract.
Since Ishida, Mizue et al., and Youn are all in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Youn would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Ishida. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the temperature control apparatus of Ishida to include a temperature compensation module mounted on the main coupling pin, wherein a first opening that is larger than the slit is formed on the rear surface of the case, in order to accommodate the rear end portion of the module board and at least a portion of the temperature compensation module for the purposes of preventing short circuiting between the main coupling pin and the sub-coupling pin.
Regarding claim 4, Youn further teaches that the temperature compensation module 223 comprises a sensor board 222 having a bottom surface coupled to the main coupling pin 221, a compensation temperature sensor 223 mounted on one side of a top surface of the sensor board 222; and a sub-coupling pin 224 attached to the other side of the top surface of the sensor board 222 corresponding to a lower side of the compensation temperature sensor 223 and having a sub-connection pin 224 coming into contact with the circuit terminal.
Regarding claim 5, Youn further teaches that a second opening (Fig. 7b) accommodating the main coupling pin 221 and at least a portion of the temperature compensation module is formed in the terminal support portion, wherein the second opening is located right behind the first opening (Fig. 7b) .
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other temperature control apparatus with temperature compensation modules.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The improvement comprises (claim 9) a board support rib protruding from an outer surface of the rear surface of the case corresponding to an edge of the slit and supporting the module board.
Claims 11-20 are allowed. The improvement comprises a board support rib protruding from the rear surface of the case.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
August 14, 2026