Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) and 1.84 for failure to identify the sequence in Figure 1B with a Seq ID number (MPEP 2422.02). Furthermore, an objection to the specification under 37 CFR 1.74 is made for failure to identify this drawing view in the Brief Descriptions of the Drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with MPEP 608.02 and 37 CFR 1.121(d) containing the appropriate Seq ID may be submitted to correct this deficiency. Alternatively, the deficiency may be corrected by amending the brief description of the drawings in accordance with MPEP 608.01(f) and 37 CFR 1.74 to identify the drawing containing the sequence with a Seq ID NO.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
The disclosure is objected to under 37 CFR 1.831(c) which require that each disclosed nucleic acid and/or amino acid sequence in the application appear separately in the "Sequence Listing", with each sequence further being assigned a sequence identifier, referred to as "SEQ ID NO." or the like (MPEP 2422.01). In paragraph 0037 of the disclosure there are two sequences that appear without Seq IDs, namely the ATrich tract, and the random-sequence DNA fragment ATCGavg.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following informalities: Mixing statutory classes (MPEP 2173.05). The use of the word “method” in claim 2 appears to invoke a method-based claim, however, you have a product by process structure. Claim 3 is a dependent claim further limiting the product of claim 2, however, the use of “comprising replacing” indicates a method-based claim. Claim 2 could be rephrased as “A recombinant plasmid for manufacturing bio-based materials, comprising: a promoter system and a rbs'- synthetic gene cluster, wherein the plasmid is the product of the process comprising…” Claim 3 could be rephrased as, “the recombinant plasmid of claim 2 wherein the RBS-GFPuv of plasmid pTOL03F is replaced with RBS-synthetic gene cluster”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Napathorn et al. (Invitrogen 2009).
Napathorn SC, et al 2021 discloses, “PCR using the respective primers for the amplification of phaCAB and phaC genes from the genomic DNA of C. necator strain A-04 was carried out to obtain the ligated DNA fragments using Ex TaqTM DNA Polymerase (TaKaRa Bio Inc., Otsu, Japan) for ligation. The fragment was ligated to pBAD/Thio-TOPO R (Invitrogen, Carlsbad, CA, United States) according to the manufacturer’s protocol.” (“Materials and methods”, paragraph “Construction of the Plasmids and Cloning of the phaCAB and phaC Genes”). This disclosure outlines the creation of a recombinant plasmid comprising a promoter system with a pribnow box, a transcriptional activator (aka pBAD promoter), and downstream of the promoter is a Ribosome Binding Site (RBS) and a synthetic gene. The synthetic gene is the phaCAB gene that encodes PHB synthase. See pBAD/TOPO ThioFusion Expression Kit for sequence verifications. Note that the pribnow sequence is denoted as the sequence labeled -10. Note the explanation of the pBAD promoter on page 31 (which details a transcriptional activator), and the instructions to remove the HP-Thioredoxin synthetic gene by using NcoI and PmeI digestion (page 5 for sequences, page 30 for instructions). Note that these cloning instructions leave the upstream RBS intact. This anticipates claim 1 to a recombinant plasmid with a promoter containing a transcriptional activator and a pribnow box linked to a downstream RBS-synthetic gene sequence. It also anticipates claim 8 which specifies the manufacturing of bio-based materials function for the plasmid of claim 1 to include polyhydroxybutyrate (PHB).
The functional roles of the various DNA sequences in the pBAD/TOPO plasmid are outlined in the expression kit manual (Invitrogen 2009) on page 29. Specifically, the -10 region (pribnow sequence) serves as a binding site for RNA polymerase for transcription from pBAD, the optimized ribosome binding site serves to increase efficiency of recombinant fusion protein expression by facilitating ribosome binding, and the functional explanation of the pBAD promoter on page 31 anticipate claim 9. This disclosure indicates that overall activity of the promoter system (as judged by recombinant protein expression) is controlled by the AraC transcriptional activator, the pribnow sequence, and the RNA polymerase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napathorn et al. (Invitrogen 2009) in view of McCall, R et al. (2019).
Napathorn et al. (Invitrogen 2009) discloses the use of a recombinant plasmid using a transcriptional activator to control transgene expression. It does not disclose the use of the specific transcriptional activator, AtxA.
McCall, R et al. (2019) elucidates the function of the AtxA transactivator. Specifically, “Here, we provide evidence that AtxA binds to the promoter region of the pagA gene encoding the main central protective antigen (PA) component of the anthrax toxin. These data suggest that AtxA binding plays a direct role in gene regulation.” (“Importance” paragraph).
Thus, the creation of a plasmid where AtxA is the transcriptional activator is merely the substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results. It is well known that AtxA is a transcriptional activator used to initiate gene expression, and these types of regulatory elements have been used for decades in recombinant plasmids to control transgene expression. Thus, the art teaches the interchangeability of transcriptional activators and the selection of a particular trans activator is a routine design choice. Therefore, claim 6 is rendered obvious.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCall, R et al. (2019) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Patent Number US6537779B1. Claim 6 is rendered obvious as rationalized above. In addition, US6537779B1
discloses the use of the PT7 promoter and T7 terminator sequences in recombinant protein expression. Specifically, they detail, “The T7 terminator sequence from T7 gene 10 was cloned as annealed synthetic oligomers #5 and #6…” (Specific description paragraph 13). Additionally, “The T7 promoter and lac operator sequence was cloned as annealed synthetic oligonucleotides #11 and #12…” (Specific description paragraph 19). Thus, the addition of the PT7 promoter and the T7 terminator is routine in the field, and addition of those elements to the AtxA transactivator would amount to the combination of known elements to achieve predictable outcomes. Thus, claim 7 is obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the 112(b) rejection above is overcome.
Conclusion
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638