DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
As for claims 1, 12, and 17, these claims each recite the limitation “…wherein the stateful security policy has a connection to previous data…”. It is not clear what is meant by a “connection to previous data” since the Applicant’s Specification does not define this by adequate description or by providing examples of what is meant by “connection” or “previous data”.
As for claims 8, 16, and 20, these claims each recite the limitation "…a second effect graph…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
As for claims 2-7, 9-11, 13-15, 18, and 20, these claims are ultimately dependent on claims 1, 12, and 17 and do not cure their deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As for claims 1, 3-7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, and 19, these claims each recite limitations involving the use of a “stateful security policy”. However, the Applicant’s Specification lacks an adequate definition of the term or any examples of one. The only definition is found in paragraph [0017] where a stateful security policy may have a connection to previous data and transactions and may return to them. However, the terms “connection to”, “previous data”, and “transactions” all lack adequate description as well.
As for claims 2, 8, 9, 16, 18, and 20, these claims each recite limitations involving “generating a behavioral model”. However, the However, the Applicant’s Specification lacks an adequate description of this step, it does not disclose any detailed algorithms, representative species, and etc., sufficient to convey Applicant’s possession of all embodiments. For example, the discussion of telemetry streams lack a clear description of how this is incorporated into an effect graph/ behavioral model.
As for claims 3 and 14, these claims each recite limitations involving “comparing” a behavioral model to a security model. However, the Applicant’s Specification lacks an adequate description of this step, it does not disclose any detailed algorithms, representative species, and etc., sufficient to convey Applicant’s possession of all embodiments. The process of comparing effect graphs is not adequately defined.
As for claims 1, 5, 6, 12, and 17, these claims each recite limitations involving “enforcing” or “enforce” a security policy against a container. However, the Applicant’s Specification lacks an adequate description of this step, it does not disclose any detailed algorithms, representative species, and etc., sufficient to convey Applicant’s possession of all embodiments.
As for claims 10, and 13, these claims are dependent on claims 9 and 12 respectively, and ultimately on claim 1. Claims 10 and 13 do not cure the deficiencies of their parent claims and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 1-3 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception in the form of an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims recite abstract ideas involving the receipt, transformation, comparison of data. These claims fall into categories such as mental processes, mathematical concepts, and certain methods of organizing human activity. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, the claimed steps fail to recite a practical application. Additionally, the claims merely implement these steps on a generic computer processor without any specific technological improvement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-5, 11-14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Levin et. al, US 2018/029803 A1. Levin teaches:
As per claim 1, a computer-implemented method comprising [0009]:
receiving a stateful security policy ([0032]: a security profile is created for a software container, [0057]: a security policy determines if the security profile is to be enforced against a container),
wherein the stateful security policy has connection to previous data ([0033]: a static security profile is created by analysis of a stored container image stored in an image registry as per [0037], reading on a security profile having connection to previous data, [0032]: security profile includes whitelisted filesystem actions based on the context of the application executed in the container, reading on a stateful security policy);
determining that the stateful security policy applies to a corresponding container
([0043] and [0044]: an event is received by an event detector indicating that a container image in a registry has been changed, as a result a security profile is generated for the container);
and enforcing the stateful security policy against the container ([0057]-[0061]: a security policy determines if the security profile is to be enforced against a container and if so, the execution of the container is monitored for any actions that deviate from those allowed in the security profile).
As per claim 2, the method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining a security model for the container ([0032]: a security profile is created for a software container, [0057]: a security policy determines if the security profile is to be enforced against a container); and generating a behavioral model for the container ([0034]: a security profile is generated based on behavioral analysis based on monitoring of the container at runtime).
As per claim 3, the method of claim 2, further comprising: comparing the behavioral model to the security model; and determining whether the container has deviated from the stateful security policy based on the comparing ([0035]: behavior of the container at runtime is monitored, reading on generation of a behavioral model, and compared to the security profile to detect any breach of the security profile).
As per claim 4, the method of claim 3, further comprising: determining that the container has deviated from the stateful security policy ([0035]: behavior of the container at runtime is monitored, reading on generation of a behavioral model, and is then compared to the security profile to detect any breach of the security profile); and
determining that the container has potentially malicious behavior ([0053] and [0059]: a determination is made as to whether a binary file (e.g. a containerized application) is malicious based on an access pattern).
As for claim 5, the method of claim 4, wherein enforcing the stateful security policy comprises: flagging the container as having potentially malicious behavior ([0060] an alert for the container in question is generated and associated with it); determining which behaviors from the behavior model are different from the stateful security policy ([0053] and [0059]: access pattern of a binary is determined and compared to a security policy); and pausing execution of the container ([0060]: an enforcement action may include halting execution of the container).
As per claim 11, the method of claim 1, further comprising: continuously monitoring the container and the stateful security policy ([0053] and [0059]: access pattern of a binary is determined and compared to a security policy).
As for claims 12-14: these claims are drawn to the system that corresponds to the method of claims 1-3. Claims 12-14 recite substantially the same limitations as claims 1-3 and are rejected on the same basis.
As for claims 17 and 18, these claims are drawn to the computer-program product embodied in a computer storage media thar corresponds to the method of claims 1 and 2. Claims 17 and 18 recite substantially the same limitations as claims 1 and 2 and are rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin and Shuster et. al, US 2019/0310935 A1.
As for claim 6, Levin teaches the method of claim 3. Shuster teaches the additional steps not taught by Levin wherein, in response to determining that the container has not deviated from the stateful security policy, enforcing the stateful security policy comprises: marking the container as conforming with the stateful security policy ([0016]: a machine learning function analyzes security data regarding a container and may classify it into a “normal class” and label it as “safe”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated this feature into the invention of Levin. It would have been desirable to do so since this would provide a user with a rapid means of deciding whether or not to deploy a container in a system and thereby increase the utility of Levin’s system.
Conclusion
The examiner’s email address is: Paul.Callahan1@USPTO.GOV
/PAUL E CALLAHAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2437