Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitations “wherein the first image corresponds to an execution screen of the first application in the” as cited in claims 2 and 14 is incomplete.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 13-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20190261519) in view of Ryu et al(US 20170147189).
As to claims 1 and 13, Park et al(US 20190261519) teach an electronic device(1800) and method further comprising: a first housing(1850)(See Figs 18A-18B; [0290]); a second housing(1810) slidably coupled with respect to the first housing(1850)(see Figs. 18A-18B; [0290-0291]); a display(1830) in which a viewable area to a front surface of the electronic device is changeable from a first size(e.g. shrink or small size) to a second size(e.g. expand or enlarge size) according to a movement of the second housing with respect to the first housing(see Figs. 3A-4A, 14A, 18A-18B; [0146, 0183-0184, 0269, 0290-0291, ]); a memory(340) storing computer-executable instructions(see Figs. 3A-3B, [0145-0146]); and a processor(e.g. 310) configured to access the memory(340) and execute the computer-executable instructions, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions by the processor causes the processor to perform a plurality of operations(see Figs. 1-4A; [0145, 0147 ]), the plurality of operations comprising: in response to changing the viewable area from the first size(e.g. small size) to the second size(enlarge size), requesting at least one first application(e.g. first application(A)) included in a recent task list(e.g. icons, or images or APP(A), APP(B) or 4520 or 4530 or 4560 or 5302, or 5323) (See Figs. 9, 35, 45, 53, 74; [0227, 0269, 0374, 0386, 0389, 0488-0493, 0555, 0557-0558, 0701-0702]) to generate an image including an execution screen(e.g. 910, 920) corresponding to the changed second size(enlarge display screen ) (see Figs. 4A, 4B, 9, 35, 45, 53, 64, 74; [0226, 0228, 0384, 0384-0386]), obtaining, from the at least one first application(e.g. first application(A) or 910), the image including the execution screen(e.g. 910, 920) corresponding to the changed second size(enlarge display screen) while the viewable area has the second size(see Figs. 9, 35, 45, 53, 74; [0225-0228, 0384, 0384-0386]), receiving a user input requesting display of the recent task list( icons or 3530 or 4520 or 4530 or 4560 or 5302, or 5323); in response to the receiving user input, displaying the recent task list including the obtained image(see Figs. 9, 35, 48, 50A, 53, 74; [0230, 0514, 0515, 0555-0558, 0700-0702]).
Park et al fail to disclose the recent task list including a scrollable sequence of a plurality of execution screens corresponding to the at least one first application running in the background.
Ryu et al teach an electronic display device comprising recent task list (633, 635, 650, 680-682, 1070 applications on 1070) including a scrollable sequence of a plurality of execution screens(710, 730, 1070) corresponding to the at least one first application(620, 630) running in the background(see Figs. 7C-7D, 9A-9B, 10A-11B; [0198, 0216-0217,0220, 0236, 0245, 0246, 0256-0257]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Park et al with the teaching of Ryu et al, so as to maximizing content display and provide multitasking system that enhances usability.
As to claims 2 and 14, Park et al as modified teach the plurality of operations further comprises: at a time point at which at least one first application(first application in 910 or a web application in Park’s Fig. 74)(see Park’s Figs. 9, 74, [0226, 0228, 0700-0701]) being serviced is switched from a foreground to a background(first application(910 or 7410) overlapping by message(901) or keypad(7420)) while the viewable area has the first size(e.g. shrink size)(see Park’s Figs. 9, 35, 74, [0195, 0227, 0228, 0700, 0701]), storing the execution screen(e.g. 910) of the at least one first application at the time point as a first execution screen(see Park’s Fig. 3A, 9, 33, 35, 74; [0155, 0156, 0198, 0228, 0230, 0269, 0376] and Ryu’s Fig. 10D; [0250]), wherein the first image(see Park’s Figs. 9, 35, 45, 53, 64, 74) corresponds to an execution screen of the first application(e.g. 5310 or 4501)(see Park’s Figs. 35, 45, 53, 74;[0374, 0490, 0504, 0555-0558] and Ryu’s Fig. 10D; [0250]).
As to claims 3 and 15, Park et al teach the plurality of operations further comprises: detecting that the viewable area is changed from the first size to the second size(see Figs. 4A, 4B; abstract; [0183-0184]) in response to detecting the viewable area is changed from the first size(e.g. small size) to the second size(e.g. enlarge size)(see Figs. 4A, 4B, 9, 35, 45, 53, 64, 74; [0226, 0228, 0384, 0384-0386]), displaying, a second execution screen(e.g. 920), wherein the second execution screen(e.g. icons on screen 3520 or 3530) replaces the first execution screen(910)(e.g. icons on screen 3510)(see Figs. 9, 35, 45, 53, 74; [0198, 0228, 0230, 0386, 0387, 0484, 0486, 0638-0640, ]).
As to claims 5 and 17, Park et al as modified teach an electronic device for storing a second execution screen(e.g. 920 or 1020 or 5320) independently of the first execution screen(910 or 1010 or 5310)(see Park’s Figs. 9, 10, 53; [0228, 0229, 0235, 0555-0558] and Ryu’s Figs. 10D-11B).
As to claims 6 and 18, Park et al as modified teach the plurality of operations(see Fig. 3 and [0145]) further comprises: displaying in the recent task list(APP(A) or APP(B), 1412 or 3530 or 4520 or 4530 or 5302, or 5323 or 6430) (See Park’s Figs. 9, 14A, 35, 45, 53, 64, 74; [0227, 0269, 0376 0386, 0488-0493, 0555, 0557-0558, 0639, 0701]), both a first execution screen(910 or 1010 or 5310) and a second execution screen(e.g. 920 or 1020 or 5320 )(see Figs. 9, 10, 53; [0228, 0229, 0235, 0555-0558] and Ryu’s Figs. 10D-11B), wherein a second aspect ratio related to the second size(see Figs. 9, 14A, 35, 45, 53, 64, 74; [0181, 0196, 0198, 0228, 0230, 0384, 0484, 0486]), ), wherein the second image corresponds to an execution screen of the at least one first application(e.g. 7401, web browser application) in the foreground when the viewable area has the second size(see Figs. 9, 33, 45, 74;[0198, 0230, 0269, 0374, 0700-0702]).
As to claims 7 and 19, Park et al as modified teach the plurality of operations further comprises: in response to an input selecting the first execution screen)(see Figs. 9, 10, 53; [0228, 0229, 0235, 0555-0558] and Ryu’s Figs. 10D-11B), controlling the viewable area to be changed from the second size(e.g. enlarge size; e.g. 21:9) to the first size(small size, e.g. 18.5:9)(see Figs. 4B, 9, 10, 32, 33, 64; [0187, 0371-0372, 0374, 0376, 0638, 0639]), and switching an application corresponding to the selected the first image to a foreground and display, in the viewable area()(see Figs. 4B, 32, 33, 64; [0187, 0371-0372, 0374, 0376, 0638, 0639]).
Claims 1, 3, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al(US 20170140504) in view of Ryu et al(US 20170147189).
As to claims 1 and 13, Jeong et al(US 20170140504) teach an electronic device(100) and method further comprising: a first housing(110-1)(See Fig. 1; [0051]); a second housing(110-2) slidably coupled with respect to the first housing(110-1)(see Fig. 1; [0051]); a display(120) in which a viewable area to a front surface of the electronic device is changeable from a first size to a second size according to a movement of the second housing with respect to the first housing(see Figs. 1; [0051-0052, 0058-0060]); a memory(150) storing computer-executable instructions(see Fig. 3B; [0081]); and a processor(140) configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions by the processor causes the processor to perform a plurality of operations(see Figs. 3B, 4; [0080, 0101, 0102]), the plurality of operations comprising: in response to changing the viewable area from the first size(e.g. small size, see Fig. 1(a)) to the second size(enlarge size, see Fig. 1(c))(see Fig. 1; [0051-0052, 0058-0060]), requesting at least one first application included in a recent task list(e.g. schedule application, memo application, payment application calendar listing appointments and events, etc.) to generate an image including an execution screen corresponding to the changed second size (see Figs. 1, 3B, 4-5, 7, 14-15; [0047, 0049, 0050, 0101, 0102, 0111]), obtaining, from the at least one first application(web application, a camera application, etc., see Figs. 1, 3B, 4-5, 7, 14-15, [0066, 0072, 0105, 0111, 0118, 0134, 0137]), the image including the execution screen corresponding to the changed second size(enlarge display screen) while the viewable area has the second size( see Figs. 1, 3B, 4-5, 7, 11, 14-15; [0047, 0049, 0050, 0101, 0102, 0111]), receiving a user input requesting display of the recent task list(see Figs. 1, 3B, 11, [0045, 0085, 0175-0178, 0186]); in response to the receiving user input, displaying the recent task list including the obtained image(see Figs. 1, 3B, 11, [0045, 0085, 0175-0178, 0186]).
Jeong et al fail to disclose the recent task list including a scrollable sequence of a plurality of execution screens corresponding to the at least one first application running in the background.
Ryu et al teach an electronic display device comprising recent task list (633, 635, 650, 680-682, 1070 applications on 1070) including a scrollable sequence of a plurality of execution screens(710, 730, 1070) corresponding to the at least one first application(620, 630) running in the background(see Figs. 7C-7D, 9A-9B, 10A-11B; [0198, 0216-0217,0220, 0236, 0245, 0246, 0256-0257]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jeong et al with the teaching of Ryu et al, so as to maximizing content display and provide multitasking system that enhances usability.
As to claims 3 and 15, Jeong et al teaches the plurality of operations further comprises: detecting that the viewable area is changed from the first size to the second size(see Figs. 1, 3B, 5, 14, 15; abstract; [0009, 0019, 0069-0070, 0132, 0200-0209]); in response to detecting the viewable area is changed from the first size to the second size(see Fig. 14, [0201]), displaying, a second execution screen, wherein the second execution screen(see Fig. 1(c), 5(c)) replaced the first execution screen(see Fig. 1(a), Fig. 5(a))(see Figs. 1, 5 and [0049-0050, 0105]).
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over and Park et al (US 20190261519) in view of Ryu et al and Garrett et al(US 5,557,728).
As to claims 4 and 16, Park et al as modified teach the plurality of operations further comprises: newly allocating a buffer for the at least one first application being serviced, based on a change of the viewable area from the first size(e.g. small size) to the second size(e.g. enlarge size)(see Figs. 3A-3B, 33, 36, 53, 64; [ 0145-0147, 0180-0181, 0374-0376, 0403-0404, 0555-0558]), generating display data of a second execution screen corresponding to the second aspect ratio in the allocated buffer(see Figs. 3A-3B, 33, 36, 53, 64; [ 0145-0147, 0180-0181, 0374-0376,0403-0404, 0555-0558]).
Park et al do not expressly teach storing the second execution screen of the at least one first application having the second aspect ratio in the allocated buffer.
Garrett et al teach an electronic device for storing the second execution screen(expanded screen) an allocated buffer(70)(see Figs. 1, 3, 4; abstract; col. 7, lines 47-67; col. 8 and col. 9, lines 1-18). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Park et al as modified with the teaching Garrett et al, so stored images could be represented simultaneously on an output display area in such a way that more effective(see abstract).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20190261519) in view Ryu et al, and Jung et al(US 20190346954).
As to claims 8 and 20 Park et al teach the plurality of operations further comprises: receiving an input(input in 1430 in Fig. 14B, [0269]) for selecting the first execution screen included in the recent task list(e.g. 1411, 1431, 1412, 4560 or 4860)( see Figs. 3, 9-10, 14A, 14B, 43, 45, 48; [0146, 0227-0229, 0268-0269, 0460, 0492-0493, 0521]); when a size of the viewable area is different from display size information related to the selected first execution screen, automatically changing the viewable area of the display(see Figs.3, 9, 10, 14A, 14B, 45, 48); [0146, 0269, 0492, 0521]).
Park et al as modified fail to point out for switching an application corresponding to the selected first image to a foreground.
Jung et al teach an electronic device(300d) for switching an application(e.g. 80a) corresponding to the selected first execution screen to a foreground in response to the input(see Fig. 9A; [0134]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Park et al with the teaching of Jung et al, so as to improve the display efficiency and recues the risk of missing important information(see Park et al’s [0269]).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20190261519) in view Ryu et al and Choi et al(US 20100056223).
As to claim 9, Park et al as modified teach the recent task list(e.g. 920 or 6430 1420 or 1431)(see Figs. 9, 14A, 14B, 64, [0225-0228, 0636-0639]) including the first application(first application or a camera application)(see Fig. 9, 14A, 64, [0225-0228, 0269 0636-0639]), being serviced is switched from a foreground to a background(e.g. 920 overlap 910), and an execution window(e.g. 920 or capable of receiving a touch input(see Figs. 9, 64; [0228, 0639]).
Park et al as modified do not teach a thumbnail image.
Choi et al teaches an electronic device comprising the recent task list or the execution window comprising a thumbnail image(570)(see Fig. 20; [0183-0184]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Park et al as modified with the teaching of Choi et al, so as to reduced image data(see Choi’s [0183]).
As to claim 11, Park et al as modified teach when displaying the recent task list (e.g. 920, 1412, 1431, 6430) in a second execution screen having the second aspect ratio on the display (see Park’s Figs. 9, 11, 14A, 14B, 64; [0225-0228, 0269, 0639]), the viewable area of which has the first size(e.g. small size), displaying at least a part of the second execution screen having the second aspect ratio in an execution window having the first aspect ratio(see Park’s Figs. 9, 11, 14A, 14B, 64; [0225-0228, 0230, 0240, 0269, 0628, 0639]), and including a scroll item in the execution window having the first aspect ratio(see Choi’s Figs. 1, 12; [0142, 0144]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20190261519) in view Ryu et al, Choi et al(US 20100056223) and Ko et al(US 20180188910).
As to claim 10, Park et al as modified teach the plurality of operations further comprises: while the viewable area has the second aspect ratio(see Figs. 9, 11, 14A, 14B, 64; [0225-0228, 0230, 0636-0639]), display the recent task list(e.g. 920, 1420, 1431, 6430)(see Figs. Figs. 9, 11, 14A, 14B, 64; [0225-0228, 0230, 0269, 0639]), wherein the recent task list includes the execution window comprising a multi-window execution screen image; in response to a first input for selecting a divided area of the multi-window execution screen image(see Figs. 9, 11, 14A, 14B, 63A-63C, 64; [0225-0228, 0230, 0240, 0269, 0628, 0639]), changing the viewable area from the second aspect ratio to the first aspect ratio(see Figs. 9, 11, 14A, 14B, 64; [0227-0231, 0240, 0269]) and switching a second application being displayed in the selected divided area to the foreground; and in response to a second input for simultaneously selecting two divided areas of the multi-window execution screen image( see Figs. 9, 11, 14A, 14B, 64; [0227-0231, 0240, 0269]).
Park et al as modified fail to disclosed an electronic device for switching applications being serviced in multiple windows to the foreground.
Ko et al teach an electronic device(400) for switching applications(440) being serviced in multiple windows to a foreground(see Figs. 4-6; [0054, 0060, 0068, 0082]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Park et al as modified with the teaching of Ko et al, so as to reduced image data(see Choi’s [0183]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20190261519) in view Ryu and Lee et al(US 20160134925).
As to claim 12, Park et al teach the plurality of operations further comprises: identifying a configuration option related to the recent task list(e.g.1411 or 1431 or 1412, 3300) and when the configuration option is a window change function, replacing a first execution screen with a second execution screen (see Figs. 9, 10, 14A, 14B, 33; 0228, 0230, 0269, 0376]), in response to the change from the display having the first size to the display having the second size, when the configuration option is a resizing display function(see Figs. 3B, 4B, 14A, 14B, 33, 47; [0187, 0296, 0376, 0511]), and when an aspect ratio of an image selected from the recent task list is different from an aspect ratio of a size of the display currently being displayed, changing the display size according to the aspect ratio of the selected image(see Figs. 3B, 4B, 14A, 14B, 33; [0187, 0296, 0376, 0511]).
Park et al fail to disclose a recent task list having an aspect ratio.
Lee et al teach an electronic device comprising a recent task list(see Figs. 3, 13-16B; [0226-0231]), a recent task list comprising the first image(e.g. 1440) having the first aspect ratio and the second image(e.g. 1450) having the second aspect ratio(see Figs. 14A-16B; [0069, 0234, 0238, 0241]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Park et al as modified with the teaching of Lee et al, so a user could select a window size, ratio and location as he/she wants(see Lee’s [0031]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al(US 20140340299) teach a flexible display device for sequence display a plurality of pages(see Figs. 3-5 and abstract.
/LUNYI LAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621